Faces of the 5 Police officers killed by the sniper in Dallas | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 July 2016

Faces of the 5 Police officers killed by the sniper in Dallas

A newlywed and a Navy veteran of three tours in Iraq were among the five Dallas police officers killed in a sniper ambush on Thursday night. The victims were identified on Friday by officials, relatives and the media as Dallas Police Department officers Senior Cpl. Lorne Ahrens, Officer Michael Krol, Sgt. Michael J. Smith, Officer Patrick Zamarripa, and Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) police officer Brent Thompson.

Seven other police officers and two civilians were wounded in the shooting at the end of a protest over this week's killing of two black men by police in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and a suburb of St. Paul, Minnesota. The Dallas shooter was a U.S. Army reservist who served in Afghanistan.
Transit Police Officer Brent Thompson, 43, worked for the Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) system since 2009 and was the first officer killed in the line of duty since the transit system formed a police department in 1989, DART.

Thompson spent more than four years in Iraq, working for private U.S. military contractor DynCorp International as a police liaison officer who supervised Americans training and mentoring the Iraqi police force, according to his LinkedIn profile. Thompson got married to a fellow DART officer only 2 weeks ago.
Thompson was also a father and a grandfather from a previous marriage.
Patrick Zamarripa
Navy veteran Patrick Zamarripa, 32, served three tours in Iraq and was killed in the attack, his family told Reuters. He served in the military reserves as well as working as a Dallas policeman.

His uncle, Hector Zamarripa, said by telephone that Zamarripa was a proud Mexican-American who leaves behind a wife, their toddler-age daughter and a stepson.

Although he did not speak much Spanish, he went by the name Patricio among his Spanish-speaking friends and relatives.
Michael Krol
Michael Krol, a 40-year-old officer with the Dallas Police Department, was killed, according to a statement from the Wayne County Sheriff's Office in Michigan, where Krol worked as a deputy in the jails from 2003 to 2007. "We are saddened by the loss of the dedicated officers in Dallas - one of whom was a former member of this agency - and also the wounding of the other officers," Wayne County Sheriff Benny Napoleon said in the statement.
Lorne Ahrens
Senior Corporal Lorne Ahrens, a 14-year veteran with the Dallas police, was one of those killed, the Dallas Morning News reported. Ahrens, a 48-year-old California native, was married to a Dallas police detective and had two children, ages 10 and 8, the newspaper reported.
Michael Smith, 55, also died in the attack. He served in the military as an Army Ranger before joining the Dallas police in 1989. His family said he left behind a wife of 17 years and two daughters, ages 9 and 14.

May their souls rest in peace.

40 comments:

Rip

Rest in peace to dem

Eddy ogbunambala said...

Amen

What a pity?R.i.p to them all

Eayah

I never supported the payback strategy it wasn't worth it despite all,the deed is done RIP officers

Where are those people supporting the killing of these innocent officers... Hope you guys are still feeling good seeing their pictures and knowing they left both aged parents and even suckling baby behind..... My heart can't stop bleeding for innocent lives bn wasted day in day out around the world.... May their souls rest in peace.... Amen

.make the world a better place.
.Start from your own little way

Good for them. Next time they should think twice b4 shooting a black person. Useless pipo

So far na white glory b to God,no b only black go dey die

I only regret dat the officers dat killed those blacks are not the ones dat were killed. Linda take note!

Okkk....RIP

Sigh, police killing, people killing police... Dunno which is worse,our Nigerian police or there police

ADeSeWa said...

Eeyah

ADeSeWa said...

Eeyah

May their souls rest in peace. They have finished their rase.

Ss2 girl allows two male teachers have a piece of her with camera on, [click here to download]

obietrezy said...

Let their families feel the same way alton sterling's family felt. Nonsense... jor oh

May their souls rest in peace Amen. Linda BIKO...

Eyahhhh I feels so sad abt this...smh

Killing people protecting your life

May their souls RIP... #BlackorWhiteWeMatter

May their souls rest in peace

No life is more valuable than another..we ar all important..Rip to them

Nwanne payback sogodi ofuma.....odigolu ndi ocha too much biko. Si gbakaa more anya.

RIP. It is so wrong. They may all have been innocent.

Nwanne biko si wetuo obi

Police deliberately killing innocent black since ages without justice and we keep shouting blacklivesmatter but no changes. Enough is enough. Eye for an eye. I believe this will really show them that black lives really matter.

Don't forget that those life's that was lost due to rasict police murder also left parents behind and one was even killed in the front of his four years old daughter. Let them stop killing innocent black/brown people and there will be peace.

eya condolence

Why should we justify the death of these officers, some are saying payback which I think is a stupid thing to say. Why revenge when it won't bring back the dead. Let's learn to live in love abeg and pray for this world cos it is becoming chaotic everyday both home and abroad @maunne

A lesson to the racists. May their souls RIP

#Alllivesmatter....RIP

Jude Akinwole said...

Really sad developments unfortunate developments unfolding... They need to tackle this racial profiling issue head on! God rest their souls

You are a big fool.

The black victims that have died since time immemorial nko?? Didn't they leave behind children and aged parents?

henrygee said...

This is sad... Feeling so sad about this.

get linda ikeji's mobile app for iPhone, iOs and Android

http://mikiguru.com/linda-ikeji-how-to-download-linda-ikeji-mobile-app-android-ios-apple/

If #alllivesmatter definitely #blacklivesmatter too. No death is justifiable but it has gone out of hand..this is a bold statement that it is blood that flows in white and black people @ maune the two blacks killed have parents, children and loved ones too..at least now we all will trade carefully cause next will be the cops that pulls the trigger and his whole family getting 6fit...remember the gun that was auctioned few months back? it was the gun that killed a young black male whats more insulting than that...No live is worth it but in this, that's collateral damage cuz this is war against blacks with your republican president... it just so painful that they can't come home cuz here standard of living, politics, religion is ......

Very big one

Arsenal said...

Sad indeed.
I blame the racist cop for this innocent souls.

Twingle Tangle said...

No pay for white racists policemen. The police in most of their states are institutionally racists. The guy who shot and killed black teenager Travon Martin even auctioned off the gun he used for a high price and with fanfare. The heart of the racist white America is dark indeed.