David Oyelowo launches scholarship with support from Oprah Winfrey to educate victimised Nigerian girls | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 July 2016

David Oyelowo launches scholarship with support from Oprah Winfrey to educate victimised Nigerian girls

British-Nigerian actor David Oyelowo encouraged the creation of a scholarship to aid girls who have been terrorized and disadvantaged by gender inequality in Nigeria.
The GEANCO Foundation has announced the first ever David Oyelowo Leadership Scholarship for Girls to help victimized young girls get an education. Many Nigerian girls are raped, kidnapped and if they make it back home, shunned by their families.
"We cannot stand idly by while thousands of innocent girls remain under serious threat," Oyelowo in a press release. "With our help, these bright and resilient girls can blossom into Nigeria’s most inspiring leaders in government, education, business, entertainment, and so much more. The way to combat oppression and injustice is to be intentional in calling it out and then seeking to affect sustainable and long-term change. That is what these Leadership scholarships are all about. We seek to nurture a generation of strong female trailblazers whose positive impact will be felt across Nigeria and around the world."
The 40-year-old award-winning actor and producer has long supported GEANCO. He was honored for his commitment to providing Nigerian youth with educational opportunities in 2015.

His commitment extends further with the Leadership scholarship. It will have initial financial support from famous sources. They include Oyelowo’s wife Jessica, Oprah Winfrey and pro football Hall of Fame quarterback Warren Moon. Capital group Janus Funds and entertainment company Participant Media will also fund the grant. Additionally, the actor will actively participate in providing funding, administration and promotion for the grant.

Three leadership scholarships will be provided for the 2016-2017 school year. Offers for subsequent years will be determined by the amount available and total funding received. Anglican Girls Grammar School in Abuja, Nigeria will educate this year’s recipients. The all-girls boarding school emphasizes science and math in its courses. It also provides a safe, nurturing environment for students. Other renowned schools will be chosen for future scholarship recipients.

The scholarship will have initial financial support Oyelowo’s wife Jessica, Oprah Winfrey and pro football Hall of Fame quarterback Warren Moon. Capital group Janus Funds and entertainment company Participant Media will also fund the grant. Additionally, the actor will actively participate in providing funding, administration and promotion for the grants.

Source: Atlanta Black Star

25 comments:

May God help him

I nominated Ese Oruru. Her mother school look after her baby and let her go back to school. Even though I don't think she will be safe in Nigeria.

starshine said...

Really nice of him

Wow that is a welcome development hope others will follow his foot step. By the way Nigeria girls Nigerian Girls every where, what of those senators that are marring underage what happens to them?

Genny's Blog said...

Nice one!

/***********************vry nice

More blessing for dem

By

Nice initiative! Linda take note!

Thank u for d good work in trying to help ur people God bless u..this is the kind of news I like to hear 1st thing in d morning

Is that real picture or photoshoped picture?? Why is Oprah holding him like that... Or are they married?? Am jst commenting on the picture because I dnt read the epistle

...... Liber maniac.....

Weldon pls the boys too need such...linda BIKO...

@Muna, I understand u are to lazy to read bt u can spend hours bang, olodo

now Oprah knows how to support Nigerian causes after hating on/ignoring Nigeria bcos she 'prefered' South Africa, mtchwwww..! Ride on David& Jessica Oyelowo.

good one

Very good of him

May God continues to bless Oprah.

perfect God said...

Your reward is from God

Ele Blessing said...

Nice venture but who are the girls he is referring to? The kids used as house girls all over Nigeria or what? I am just wondering how you would administer a program like this when you are working with a population that cannot be readily identified.

stephike said...

AGGS up grammarian! Champion in all good things!!

Bcos you have short concentration span to read... dumb girl. Did you know they both acted a film together? You don't bcos u will never know