Teenage girl accused of pressuring boyfriend to commit suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 September 2015

Teenage girl accused of pressuring boyfriend to commit suicide

A teenager accused of manslaughter sent text messages which appear to prove she pressured her boyfriend to commit suicide, it has been reported.
Prosecutors say Michelle Carter, 18, knew she could go to jail if police found her messages on Conrad Roy III's phone.
She is also accused of asking him to delete the texts from his phone, which were later found by investigators.
Carter, who was 17 at the time, allegedly texted a pal after her boyfriend's death saying: “(If the police) read my messages with him I’m done. His family will hate me and I can go to jail."

The teenager is charged with first-degree involuntary manslaughter over Roy's suicide in a supermarket car-park in Fairhaven, Massachusetts in July last year.

According to prosecutors, Carter pressured her boyfriend to go through with suicide for almost a week before he carried out the act, the Washington Post reported.
She is believed to have counselled him to overcome his fears, researched methods of committing suicide painlessly and lied to police, his family and her friends about his whereabouts.
Carter also very publicly mourned Roy's death on Facebook and Twitter, just three days before she was indicted.

Authorities accuse her of being a wolf in sheep’s clothing despite frequently speaking of her “love” for Conrad online.

In a police report obtained by local newspaper the Sun Chronicle, a detective said at the time: "Not only did Conrad tell Carter in several of his texts prior to his death that he was scared and didn't want to leave his family, she continued to encourage him to take his own life, and when he actually started to carry out the act, he got scared again and exited his truck, but instead of telling him to stay out of the truck ... Carter told him to 'get back in.”

Carter, who organised a charity softball tournament in Conrad’s memory, tweeted that the fund-raiser, called Homers for Conrad, pulled in more than $2,300 for mental health awareness.
"Life can be tough, but helping others makes it easier," she allegedly wrote under the account @michyc47.

Carter's lawyer argues that the charges should be dropped because her messages are protected by free speech.
According to attorney Joseph P. Cataldo, Carter was “brainwashed” into supporting Roy’s plan for suicide.
He was quoted as telling reporters: “He ultimately persuaded a young, impressionable girl. Eventually he gets her to endorse his plan.”

Mirror UK

35 comments:

Blessing Patrick said...

May God judge her. I wish her what she wished him.Rip to d dead

Blessing Patrick said...

Sweet linda, happy new month and the best this ember months will offer. Lots of love

ghord said...

I don't tink the girl is at fault!,he wanted to die before he ask in the first place.

Linda do you sleep atall??!

Hmmm...

Terrible...

Imagine how stupid sm1 can be, a girl pressurised him into commiting suicide, that dude no get brain at all...
He shld continue to RIP then, since he can't slap out d demon disturbing d stupid girl....

#iT wIlL ONlY GET BEtteR
#it MuSt EnD in PrAiSE

Imagine how stupid sm1 can be, a girl pressurised him into commiting suicide, that dude no get brain at all...
He shld continue to RIP then, since he can't slap out d demon disturbing d stupid girl....

#iT wIlL ONlY GET BEtteR
#it MuSt EnD in PrAiSE

It's not possible fa

elo tasha said...

Another crazy news

Post a comment

Eyah

Abegi...she should be tried and the full arm of the law should take its course...seriously some of this peeps should try living in africa where we have bigger problems like trying to survive.

Nawa oooooo

Uhmmmmm nawa o!
Auntie linda see o

Uhmmmmm nawa o!
Auntie linda see o

Imagine I told u 2 put ur hand in fire and u went on 2 do so. Are u nt de biggest fool of de century?

Some people are really sick. When there are 17 year old's this sick?I wonder why people take it upon themselves to bash up kylie who is doing what almost everyone did.

Jeez! This girl nah winch o. How wicked can she be

Is the boy an idiot?!

dudette said...

When you understand the law it could be manipulated to favour u....imagine the girl's lawyer, well he's doing his job I guess!!

Hahaha funny people every were.a girl send him a massage pressuring him to commit suicide which the idiot did,they should leave that girl alone.
Sound funny but its real.

Na only for oyinbo people side we go dey hear dis kind stories. Nna na wa o! Linda take note!

Hmmmmmm...
Msg protected by free speech indeed.
Dis act is unacceptable.

Happy New Month!

Job 22:21, Submit to God and be at peace with him; in this way prosperity will come to you.

Henceforth these shall b ur portion's; completeness, wholeness, good health, peace, safety, soundness, prosperity, perfectness, fullness, rest, harmony and the absence of agitation or discord in ur lives.

God bless Linda Ikeji, all LIB reader's and ur household's! Sweet kisses and luv y'all.

Welcome 2d month of September!

Long Live LIB!

how can one human being ask another to kill himself and he did

Madness!

You're an idiot.

Funny indeed!

easy nana said...

he's a fool

This one na case? Abeg life tire the guy before... Next story, please.

This is what happens when u r foolish and stupid in love.

This is crazy....