Nigerian Army uncovers “unprecedented” oil bunkering site in Port Harcourt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 2 September 2015

Nigerian Army uncovers “unprecedented” oil bunkering site in Port Harcourt

The Nigerian Army says it has uncovered a massive illegal oil bunkering site located one kilometre along the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) in Port Harcourt. Stevenson Olabanji, a Brigadier General and Commander of 2 Brigade of the Nigerian Army, Port Harcourt, told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Wednesday in Port Harcourt that thousands of litres of illegally refined diesel were discovered at the site.

He said that army operatives were immediately deployed to the site at Makoba Beach, which is two kms away from the Rivers State Government House.

“About 16:40 hours on Monday, we got an information that some illegal bunkering activities were going on along Makoba Beach. On arrival, our personnel discovered illegal activities which involved bunkering of illegally refined petroleum products and lifting of diesel to local boats. At the site, we found more than 5,000 drums loaded with illegally refined diesel; four tanker trucks containing 132,000 litres of diesel combined, and a barge with 165,000 litres of stolen diesel.

This discovery is unprecedented because since we started our operations 10 days ago, this is about the biggest that we have uncovered.”he said

Mr. Olabanji said that additional 150 drums, loaded with about 3,150 litres of diesel, were also discovered in 21 Cotonou boats. He said 13 suspects were arrested at the scene of the illegal activity. He said the illegal bunkering dump had not yet been set ablaze, in line with the Joint Task Force mandate, because of its closeness to residential buildings and the NPA.

“Our mandate requires us to destroy the site in situ, but we cannot do this because it will degrade the environment and affect residents since it is situated in the heart of Port Harcourt. Our plan is to move them to a safe location for destruction.”

The commander said that preliminary investigation had already begun to unravel sponsors of the activity, adding that the 13 suspects would be handed over to the relevant authorities for further investigation and prosecution. Mr. Olabanji, while urging oil thieves to desist from the sabotage of oil and gas installations, assured Nigerians that the JTF would not rest until it rids the state of illegal bunkering activities.

“Let it be known that the army will not and will never tolerate illegal bunkering in our area of responsibility,” he assured. Mr. Olabanji called on the public to provide the JTF with timely information which could lead to the arrest of oil thieves and pipeline vandals.

(NAN)

50 comments:

Oghene bikoooo... thank God we now have a no nonsense administration ,they will surely deal with them all.

Great discovery

Nice one!

Nigeria is full of thieves, see dere handwork

*cute bree*

Nice job from them

ummmmm wonderful country....

auntie linda u see

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

auntie linda u see

Lady G said...

That's just 1 of many unfortunately.

Lady G
www.gabychronicles.blogspot.com
XOXO

Good job guys. Nice one. God bless our soldiers... Amen.

The change is here and thats fact......

auntie linda u see

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Chai. Bad market

Hmmmmm! It is well with my beloved country. Linda take note!

Hmm!

They shld pls free them.......its in there state, allow them enjoy wot God gave them........no be only una go they thief the money

Bad for the economy

That's very rampant in PH,

#iT wiLL onLy GeT beTTer
#it MuSt EnD in PraiSE

So army is now doing police job?

A job well done
'Presh'

nawahooooo obodo ike

Mihearty said...

Chaiii I wish am the owner. I will just settle them shikena. No be naija again? Hungry soldiers

Lazy people that's what they are known for.That's why they go against Buhari.

I believe there are other things soildiers needs to be doing now like confronting the terrorist than arrest the poor hard working guys in the name of bunkering.

No wonder

And they are just found out?
Go round Abonima,just look around some more. There are lots of illegal bunkering going on, and yes; na the same people wey dey the corridors of power dey operate am.

Sincerely Speaking the mind of Amadioha

Sometimes I read comments not because I want to but just to see STERN comment..
Dude is so mean...Lol

Wicked people. Destroy their evil works oh Lord.

While wailers keep wailing Sai Baba keeps delivering change

Like they didn't know the location all this while

That is why Nigeria will never develop like other.s.....when some people are busy looting , hijacking, thieving , and bunkering the county's wealth ....including destroying of properties and innocent lives. Wealth u get by dishonesty will do u no good and will dwindle away.

Ummie Hajra said...

sai baba!

Bad market 4 those involved

Nice 1

Ikorodu is a place to raid

That is just too damned much!

Henry or what ever u Call urself, you re a tribalistic bigot.......you need to grow up and be more reasonable...

They should find out who the big fish is cos these small boys are not the ones financing the cost of vessels and boats.

1km from NPA, 2km from Government house. U see the real thieves are always in power and places of authority.

I thought u will say thanks to GEJ again. U don't see anything good with what this government does

That is nice one.

It clearly shows that this guy does not have brain at all. U r wat IBO people with call oluku. U r so irrational in ur thinking.

They should stop decieving us, they are known to be highly complicit in these illegal bunkering business so why the sudden discovery of the site. Go to Cotonou waters and see what they have turned Nigerian oil too. GOD WILL PUNISH THESE PEOPLE.

arresting the suspects and seizing the illegal products is one thing , prosecuting the suspects and the seized products kept well or put into good use is another thing , cos if those guys have any oga at the top say in the military or villa trust all this will be a joke and trust me guys we would not even know about it at all and we will all think that all is going well RIGHT B...#sh?t