Buhari blames wicked manipulators for escalation of subsidies of petroleum products | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 August 2015

Buhari blames wicked manipulators for escalation of subsidies of petroleum products

Press statement from the presidency
 President Buhari Tuesday in Abuja blamed past administrations for the current situation in which Nigeria is forced to spend billions of Naira annually on alleged subsidies for petroleum products. Speaking at a meeting with the Chairman and members of the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission, President Buhari expressed the view that the escalation of petroleum subsidy payments over recent years was due to the deliberate neglect of the nation's refineries, oil pipelines and other related infrastructure to allow the importation of petroleum products and corruption to thrive.
The President, who restated his huge disappointment with the way Nigeria's oil industry has been run since he left office as Petroleum Minister and Military Head of State, said that he was convinced that if the development of the country's domestic refining capacity and petroleum products distribution network had kept pace with national demand, there would not have been any need for the huge subsidies currently being paid to importers. "They allowed the infrastructure to collapse so that their cronies can steal by bringing in refined products from overseas," President Buhari said.

The President urged the chairman and members of the RMAFC, who availed him of their view on the vexed issued of petroleum subsidy payments, to go "back to the drawing board" and come up with more humane proposals to rescue ordinary Nigerians from the "wicked manipulation" of the country's oil industry by corrupt operators.
President Buhari also warned that severe sanctions will be visited on any individual or organisation that violates the directive on the payment of all national revenue into the Federation Account.
The President said that the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, the Nigerian Ports Authority and other MDAs which previously relied on the laws establishing them to retain all or part of revenues collected by them, did so illegally and must now comply with the Nigerian Constitution by paying all revenues to the Federation Account.
President Buhari, who also chided the RMAFC for approving excessive remunerations for some political office holders, urged the commission to seek a proper interpretation of its powers and address the public outcry against the unreasonably high payments.
Garba Shehu
SSA to the President
(Media & Publicity)
August 25, 2015

37 comments:

Oooooooh my....!
Dem palaver

Fix power, fix petroleum, fix education, fix corruption and become the president Nigeria will not forget.

Well now is de time to make amends

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

johnnie said...

Well said Mr President

Great, PMB has directed them to review the salaries of public. Office holders including those senators and Reps

So this fulani man is still blaming.

Hunger dey ooooooooo! I wan faint o

Etsako Pearl said...

Well Said Baba!

There is the need to put things in order. What Nigeria needs is a system that works.

Sir, just be doing what you can. Don't talk/blame too much. Just be struggling.

Man wey sabi. U have our support (the masses), please do the needful sir.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Ask ur mother if she's still not blaming ur father for leaving her....

Proper way of governance...carrying everyone along. Making effort to implant his vision to the brain & mind of all players. We are definitely making progress.

Sai Buhari!!!

Nawa o

The only thing president buhari during his tenure is blaming people.

Nigeria must survive. Whether the Devil likes it or not. Linda take note!

The only thing president buhari has archived since he became president is blaming people.

Idiot work and stop the blame game.

Incompetent fool always looking for whom to blame. Baba go slow.

He should continue blaming. Onye ara kporo onwe ya president. Mtcheew

Now we have heard... Let's start working now

Kachi said...

PMB unfortunately sees himself as the only upright person in Naija. Nigeria needs strong institutions not strong men.

He will fail woefully if he doesn't make laws that cements his reforms.

Gbam

Ur father is d idiot...who didnt teach you what situation analysis is!!!
Even Obama still blames d Bush admin for unnecessary wars and spending!
Did he lie?
Fucktard!!

Mr. Stretch said...

Nigeria finally got a worthy Captain to set sail with the accurate co-ordinates!! Long live Nigeria! God bless President Buhari, the real MVP! Yes boss!

10/10

Sparkles said...

Dis country hope it worked wel

Unfortunately the only people that curse the president on every blog are the same screaming marginalisation. My advice,if two or more tribes are complaining about you, don't you think it's high time you changed your ways, mind, orientation and conscience. It won't get you guys anywhere. Hmmmm you know yourselves.

What a shame. It's a big shame that this mallam buhari keeps blaming people after 3 months in office. Why is he not inventing solutions to the many problems? These were the same people who set up massive campaign against the removal of subsidy during Jonathan's tenure......occupy Lagos etc. If buhari thinks he can't handle that position let him hand over to osinbade.. ..one chance president without school certificate or basic economic knowledge! Let him continue the blame game...as we speak the economy is on standstill as well as other sectors because saint buhari is waiting for angels to come and apply for ministerial jobs in naija

Dennis said...

Dear Mr. President, I love you i pray that the almight God will see you through this process of reconstruction of Nigeria and her economy. This is infact a process making a new Nigeria. Thanks and God bless you.

Dennis said...

Mr President, Please go ahead . May God be with u.

I jus wish our leaders can tink this way

bumzie said...

#receive sense

bumzie said...

#receive sense