Photo: Teenager arrested for killing his friend over seat in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 May 2015

Photo: Teenager arrested for killing his friend over seat in Lagos

The Lagos state police command has arrested 19 year old Enugu state indigene, Tochukwu Anosike pictured above for killing his friend, 15 year old Imo state indigene, Nonso Monyasa, during an argument over who would occupy a seat at their shop where they are both learning a trade in Lagos. 

Punch reports that the young men had been friends in the last two years after the suspect moved to Lagos to learn a trade in the same shopping complex where the deceased was also an apprentice.

On the day of the incident, the deceased had gone to meet Tochukwu to take his seat which they jokingly dragged. Suddenly Tochukwu became angry over the argument and punched his friend in the stomach. The deceased died less than an hour later.

Tochukwu was arrested and taken to the police station where he said he never punched his friend with the intention of killing him. He said they had always engaged in such friendly physical combat before. He pleaded for forgiveness

"I have always lived in the village. My father died when I was in primary five. When I finished my secondary school in the village in 2013, my brother, Anayo, brought me to Lagos so I could learn a trade. I met Nonso (Monyasa) here when I started work as a sales apprentice and we became good friends. But on Sunday, Ejike, who was Nonso’s boss, came to pick a seat in my shop and asked Nonso to take my seat for himself.” he said
The suspect said when the deceased picked his seat from his shop, he (Nonso) punched his lap which resulted in his phone getting damaged

"I told him my phone had developed a fault because of the punch he gave me, but he walked away. I went back to my seat and told him the next time he did that, I would beat him up. He said I could not beat him. He came and hit me with blows, and I gave him a punch in the stomach. He held his belly and went inside their shop,” he added. Nonso died afterwards
A family member of the deceased said medical examinations showed he died of internal bleeding. He however said the deceased family have requested that the case against the suspect be dropped as they are not interested in pursuing any legal matter

“When we rushed him to the hospital, the doctor said he suffered internal bleeding, which killed him. The boy’s family have been informed in the village and they   told me to withdraw the case because they are not interested in pursuing court matters.”

Source: Punch

92 comments:

R dese ppl high?

Killing a person cos of seat?

Na wa o, one should surely learn on how to control one's anger. Dave now Daniel Craig

COLLIN said...

Igbo people tho.....

My goodness,

He should fixed a fight with floyd mayweather instead. Wrongful use of talent

RIP young man

Ibo traders and their muscular display of power, hope other traders learn from this. Rip to him.

Careless death, rip

Admire said...

Nawah ooo all ds 19yrs children(adults) d crimes dat u guys are committing s rili getting out of hand..

Ah! Ibo people and violence.

*** mynameisSkelewu

Chaii, what a pity

Ee ya... the boy's family are peaceful poeple, and it wasn't intentional, but gut you get single bone o! rest in peace Nonso

It wasnt intentional at all..... They should just free the dude....

All u do these days is copy from miss petite naija blog yet u don't acknowledge. Change ur ways woman

what is it with fighting for bench/seat? God heal our land of anger and frustration.

E tedd said...

Talk more hit less you don't know who is about to join his or her ancestors

Don't think his intention was to murder his friend. They can only try him for manslaughter

Austin said...

one of many reasons i don't engage in rough play/combat.

Uhmm,,Just hear him..Murderer!

Eiya God bless d family.. well twas nt intentional sha

OMG! Just b punched killed him. God save us frm untimely death.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

See what Anger and poverty can cause, we dnt hear such stories abroad , #Get 500 Real IG followers in for days add 33551665

Police would just twist a story, someone that didn't read the whole story would want to hang the accuse. They had a misunderstanding fought and one ended up dead simple.

#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

What a waste,It's a pity.

Eeeeeeeyah! I don't think he meant to kill him. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

Thursday morning sadness.

eka said...

hmm;
what anger causes
l guess he realizes that now while chilling in d police den

Awww accidental death, so sad for them both! Unfortunately this guy has just learnt that violence doesn't solve everything.

S.M.K said...

Werey Rey oo...#LibAddict

Strange things happening in Enugu of recent

Eiya violent is neva a gud idea,next time guy u will always run frm cases like dis...

Ese npaniyan o, RIP 2 d poor boy n d frnd shd thank his God dat d family r nt doing any case against him

Why don't they want to pursue the case? Oh well, count down to when this bastard starts bragging on the streets of how his punches are strong enough to kill. Igbos are all kinds of weird.

He must have the hand of the keeper (underworld). The punch must have been massive

Evil pple everywia

Ayobami xoxo said...

Awww, knowing boys I know this is rough play gone wrong..... Ndo Tochi and poor Nonso rip son...

Eyaah mind the kind of play u can play with ur frnd, may his soul rest in peace. Amen,

awwwwww.....an expensive joke turned into death.......Its a good thing the family of d deceasedis nt taking legal actions.........

May the soul of d dead rest in peace...Amen...

Mosiwomeka said...

Please #SaveMeka
He needs a new kidney.
Meka is an OAP with Rhythm FM Abuja.
He needs to go to India for a transplant to continue living.
Right now, he goes for Dialysis twice a week and each dialysis is 50k.
Meka needs about N10M
Nothing is too small and nothing is too much.
God bless us all.
Please let's help #SaveMeka by donating via Zenith 1004157460 Akerejola Meka or FCMB 242796901
We can do this! Lets do this!!!

N.I.X said...

Poverty of the mind.

And you killed him hmmmm. The way people kill these days over irrelevant issues is alarming.

Please visit my blog Www.trendwithgloria.blogspot.com

Deedee said...

DIS STORY SOUNDS FISHY, IBO PPLE WITH DIA RITUALS HMMMM.

May his souls find peace and most especially,God will sure bless Nonso's family for withdrawing the case

His Oga don use am do money medicine o..this guy is just unfortunate to have been the victim of the death of his friend.

painful and premature death. May his soul RIP. I don't think his friend had intention of killing. Thank the deceased family understands. People should be care with the kind of friends they keep, temperamental things.

This is not ordinary. It is attach to another thing.

Aunty gwegwegwe 1 of SDK/ Blogosphere said...

Idiot omo jati jati omo rede rede! Useless tribalistic bigot

DO NOT FIGHT! I REPEAT DO NOT FIGHT!!! You do not know the state of health of everybody you see, many people walking around today r not well, one blow can send dem to the grave, this story is just a typical example. Try and live peaceable with all men, walk away if it gets all heated up.

Honestly,something smells fishy here. I comment my reserve

chioms said...

Play gone wrong.
But this issue of seat kwanu. Abi no be seat carry those two sister go kirikiri?

Like play like play

Boys and rough plays...RIP to the dead

Collins people tho.....

Rest in peace dude!

Esang said...

what a pity an unfortunate situation

Good one..lol.

Is he iron man?

Lol!@ collins people tho.....RIP to d dead,i dont think the guy meant to kill him,pple shud learn to control their anger.

Maybe

kinky babe said...

Collins u are stupid for saying dt,i know dt u are ofe mmanu Yoruba tout.same goes to salifu ebiojor see name and to u skelewu u all are ofe mmanu touts u dnt knw anything. Anon 9:31am you are a coward if not y use anonymous,is yur generations dt are weird den Deedee wt about d yorubas "nkita ara" like u. meaning mad dog like u.Thans anon 10:20am good advice don't mind ndi ofe mmanu yorubas

Leonard Folarin (100L Dept of Mass Communication, Caleb University,Lagos) said...

This piece of information delivered by this medium (New-Media) satisfied my curiosity.. With the brief crowding of information in the first paragraph and other detailed information in the following paragraphs, it is obvious the writer used the Inverted Pyramid Format of information presentation... the captivating headline drew my attention to read more. This is a complete piece of information conveyed through new-media with the right method of information presentation.

Leonard Folarin (100L Dept of Mass Communication, Caleb University,Lagos) said...

This piece of information delivered by this medium (New-Media) satisfied my curiosity.. With the brief crowding of information in the first paragraph and other detailed information in the following paragraphs, it is obvious the writer used the Inverted Pyramid Format of information presentation... the captivating headline drew my attention to read more. This is a complete piece of information conveyed through new-media with the right method of information presentation.

how do people just get up and kill, haba!!!!!!!!!!!

Igbo shah, why don't you love your children? If igbo fathers treated their children with affection instead of spare parts, your men would grow up to appreciate and respect the lives, dreams and determination of themselves and others.

This is an igbo thing, because igbo men are notorious for being emotionally devoid of love, they cannot not love and they unfortunately dump these values of emotional unavailability on their children and it becomes a vicious cycle.

That's another poor igbo mother, who's labour pains and risk of child birth has just been extinguished. Wickedness.

This is a spiritual case,d family must have done their homework and find out that nonso wasn't kill by tochukwu. Out of d 2 master one of dem must have kill nonso spiritually for ritual. They only use tochukwu physically Rip Nonso

femi said...

Rip

femi said...

Rip

Nt only igbo pple abeg oooo

O my God! It was clearly unintentional. Thank God d victims family dropped d case.

awww. A friendly banter gone wrong and may Thunder fire al d pipu saying igbo "pipu n violence" yorubas, who fight reach una with bottles n knife. iriots!!!. Linda make i no find dis comment.

That was unintentional, but unfortunate. RIP to Nonso.

IED, Intermittent Explosive Disorder

The best comment so far

Yoruba people and their juju. May be one alhaja or baale dey watch as the two boys dey play, come use juju turn ordinary small blow to death. Tufiakwa for them.

chosengospel said...

@Anon 12:10, Igbo this, Igbo that. Can't you read? The boy said his father died when he was in primary school, that means nobody to take care of his education, do you want him to become "alaye" instead? Is it not better for him to learn a trade and be useful to himself? Because you're priviledged to have people to take care of your education should not make you to talk any how.
Was it not a Yoruba lady that butchered her husband for no reason in Philadelphia USA? Was it not Yoruba people who don't travel home because of fear of been killed by witches and wizards? Reason why most Yoruba people plant bottle in Lagos.Should I continue? Evil is not a native of anywhere, it happens when it wants to happen, just like there are good people, there are equally bad people every where and bad things happen every day, just pray and cover your families with the blood of Jesus.

@ ebiojo, talk is cheap, keep yapping, that's what your people are known for. Talk, talk and talk.

Who told you? There's is worse, so many shootings by psycho people here in America.

This is why its important to control ur temper, bcos u don't kw who is a walking corpse dt is waiting for a little push to kick d bucket.God help him

Its obvious u didn't read the Post, its a clear accident

Point of correction. Yoruba people don't travel home because most of them are home. Daarh!

Cas_paul said...

D family can't drop d case,some1 died...its now d state against d accused.

The autopsy would have made things clearer.
The boy died probably because of an inherent condition aggravated by that punch.
Even blunt abdominal injury following an accident won't cause internal bleeding that can kill you within an hour.

Very strange to plan to take d time 2trace him from d village 2Lag, then wait 4d " hit" day..2 start telling horror stories in disguise, hmm

Ur father!

Thank you.

Anon @4:57 u are clearly senseless for thinking and writing such rubbish. Rip to dead.

mzmaris said...

I only blame ur parents for their mistake...efulefu