How NYSC Corp member was almost tortured to death in Nasarawa Camp | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 May 2015

How NYSC Corp member was almost tortured to death in Nasarawa Camp

Report not written by me. It was sent to me to share. Read below...
One of the Batch A Corp members currently in Nasarawa state Orientation Camp yesterday almost lost his life at the camp due to extreme torture by security operatives. The Corp Member Bunmi Adeyera (pictured above) with the State Code: NS/15A/0134 and Call-up no: NYSC/NIJ/2015/061287 who is said to be sick was today locked-up in the guard room for hours until he collapsed and became unconscious in the Guard room.

An eyewitness who pleaded anonymity has full details. Read excerpts below:
“To all my fellow NYSC corp members around Nigeria, today, I witnessed how one of my colleagues,  Adeyera Oubunmi  (State code: NS/15A/0134)(Call-up no.: NYSC/NIJ/2015/061287) almost died due to maltreatment in Nasarawa state NYSC camp by security officials.
What happened this morning was that Bunmi Adeyera who is also Platoon 4 leader and was obviously sick went to the Camp clinic to collect some drugs to combat his ailment and was approaching the camp market to get food (since food was no longer available in the camp kitchen) in order to use his drugs when he was stopped by security operatives (Nigerian Police force and Man’O War) and was asked to go back into the camp hall for lectures. He tried explaining to them that he was sick and needed to take his drugs but they did not listen to him, rather he was told to start ‘frog-jumping’.  Bunmi quietly explained to them that he might not be able to ‘frog-jump’ because of his health status.
The next thing I saw was that the security operatives (who were obviously Hausas, because they communicated fluently in Hausa language) told asked him if he was Hausa or Yoruba. When he told them he was Yoruba and he hails Lagos state, they seized his NYSC identification tag and marched him straight to the ‘Guard room’ allegations of ‘being stubborn’ without give him any chance of speaking in his own defense.
This place called Guard room is a bathroom located at the entrance gate of the Nasarawa Camp where soldiers urinate at all time and with no cross-ventilation.
We all watched them take the poor sick Corp member to the Guard Room, and was detained there going to three hours. The next thing I saw was people from the camp medical unit running towards the gate with stretcher in their hands. Behold Bunmi had collapsed and fainted in the so-called guard room.
Even while the Red Cross team was trying to rescue the situation, the soldiers sent them back saying that all was pretence and that when he wakes up, he will return to the guard room.
The doctors battled for his life for about an hour before Bunmi Adeyera became conscious again and was later stabilized.
Every Corp member on Camp including NYSC officials know Bunmi to be easy-going, obedient and friend to all which is more reason he emerged the leader of Platoon 4.
The population of those who went to the clinic to check on him is one that I have never seen on camp although they wouldn’t allow us take pictures of this ugly incidence.
But my question is this why is it that we Corp members who have in good faith and humility come to serve our father land are being maltreated even to the extent of someone fainting. This should not continue.”
Bunmi Adeyera is a graduate of Nigerian Institute of Journalism, Lagos. All attempts to reach the Nasarawa state co-ordinator, Mrs. C.I Uba, proved abortive.

118 comments:

For wat na?

Wicked n evil pple everywia.
Linda u r d pple's online EM-BE-LE-MBE
Pls b kiaful too as u do dis gd work

What the heck

Na wa o.

Gosh!!! Too much wickedness!! And the bastards hav children oo.. Smh!!

What put me off completely was the question 'Are you Hausa or Yoruba'? So would it have made a difference if he was Hausa? I know i risk being jugemebtal but honestly northern Nigerians are ethnic bigots. I served there so i can tell. Thank God the corper survived the very avoidable and unnecessary ordeal.

Unchained said...

Humm...i understand where you are coming from bro. Locking him up in the toilet is unfair. Pls govt should pls call the securities on camp to order.

Aww poor boy. I think I was the only one who enjoyed my stay in nysc camp tho .. the prestigious ede camp, osun. The soldiers were so friendly and funny! The memorable year of 2013.....

LINDOSKI, WE DEY OBSERVE.WHAT A WICKED WORLD

Thank God he did not die...

Been hearing a lot of maltreatment report in camps in Nigeria too. Makes no sense, they are there voluntarily, some don't even need the service, what gives soldiers or police the right to beat up or lock up sick students or maltreat them. Heard they even sleep with corp members to offer preferential treatment.

Oza said...

SAD STORY! AND ALL CORPERS COULD NOT PROTEST SUCH INHUMAN TREATMENT? WHEN DID THE YOUTH SERVICE SCHEME BECOME A MILITARY RECRUITMENT PROGRAM THAT SOME SENSELESS 'SECURITY IDIOTS' WILL ENDANGER THE LIFE OF A CTIZEN WHO HAS BLAZED THE TRAVAILS OF THE NIGERIAN EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM, ONLY TO BE SO TREATED IN THE NAME OF FORCED NATIONAL SERVICE?
The camp authority must ensure that the culprits are reprimanded over this issue, if the story is as told.

Na wa oh! God save us from these monsters in form of humans maltreating graduates. Chai?

Our military men are so becoming insane with their attitudes these days.

They should please redeploy the poor sick guy before we lose him to death o.

...Opico

Omg that's just awful. I served in Paiko, Niger state and the same foolish behaviour was exhibited. Always favouring the hausa speaking folks while tagging the rest as rude. Once u can speak hausa, u can basically get we away with a lot. Crazy people.

LOL YET THESE STUPID YORUBA PPL WILL BE KISSING MALO YANSH THINKING THAT IS THE ROAD TO PROMISE LAND SMH!

Fuck your opinion said...

Nysc.. is slavery hoha!

Nysc is very useless...messed up camps with abominable dilapidated facilities...nd nw dis? It should be scrapped! Btw...dose hausa bloodthirsty muslim barbarianss should be jailed.

Thanks be to God that he didn't lose his life in the process tho

This is unfair, and the necessary authorities should take action.

Hmmmm am just dazed n speechless,supposing diz guy lost his life,d so called security operatives ll release one story that touches d heart to save their digusting as**,we kip experiencing such terrible things from d securities in dz country until severe measures re taken to tackle diz unlawful situations i fear we might kip loosing lives...

I think it is high time this NYSC of a thing is reviewed and such ill-treatment/ practices are stopped.

So annoying! Pls this shouldn't be allowed to die like that. The era of impunity of soldiers is long gone

Kelzdred_believing said...

LINDAMAMA.......NA SO THEM THEY DO OOOOO.. HAUSA MEN!!! AS IF THEM NO GET SENSE.... IF I TALK NOW THEM GO SAY BELIEVING TOO THEY TALK......

Kelzdred_believing said so via tecno for all

Adeyemi said...

The best thing is to scrap NYSC or better still remove camping from it. What we subject our graduates to in those 3 weeks are not palatable at all. And it's not its military training oh so it serves no future purpose.

Quite unfortunate, but sadly things like this happen in camps around the country, some more grievous than this. Something needs be done before someone loses their life.

I'm a batch c corp member in nassarawa state n that their so called camp is horrible..i dnt even wish my enemy to experience it,man o war or wateva they r called are the worst on earth

Serzly d training at dat camp is somtin else.. dey hv reduce it. Somtyms I Wonda of d soldiers in camps, if dey hv hrt at all.

Adeoti Damilola said...

Linda u can lie ooo, which kain tortured 2 death eh. This guy is my platoon leader, Platoon 4. His name is Bunmi, if one of his family member should cc dis headline ow do you think they are going to feel. Linda abeg he was not tortured to death. I was there yesterday evening. Nothing like this happend in Keffi Camp yesterday.

john said...

Nigerians fear too much. compare the ratio of security operatives to the numbers of corpers in the camp. just mob those mother fuckers and they will learn some respect.

May God help us!
Dis stupid Hausa pple!

Wow! Dis is usually wht u see, and get when u hav unprofessional security operatives. Dis is wht I call display of insensitive, and callous zealousness. Wht a shame.

Kesiena said...

All did men on uniform

Kesiena said...

All did men on uniform

Hmmmmmmm

LIVING REAL. said...

I hate the police wit passion, they are just useless.

Someone I know has also complained about the brutality of the soldiers in Nassarawa camp. The Hausa soldiers are extremely mean to them. NYSC should be scrapped.

Something should be done about this

Imagine, graduates suffering n bn controlled by drop out, pry 6 n secondary sch certificate holders. Dis act as 2 stop o

linaluv said...

Those police men nd man O' war need to be sanction what if the boy had died

Ken-Charles Mike said...

I think lives should be respected, as only God Almighty can give breath to a soul.
I don't know weather to call this a act of tribalism, but lets be mindful so we don't take laws into our hands.
For any life you waste, you will give account for.

Hmmmmmmmmm.

The FG should look into dis matter, enough of dis nonsense. Linda take note!

I am currently in d camp. D soldiers here are still cool buh d man o war officials r just goats. Heard abt dis case yday and ws really angry cos dis guy is such a cool guy.

Useless soldiers instead of combating boko haram they are their torturing corpers that came to serve their father land. Useless HAUSA soldiers.

#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE

Learn to obey command. There is time for everything in camp, u don't use the time for lectures to go and eat. If u should do that then don't let the security notice u because they are there to guard u .

Hmmmmm

QUEERNAIJA said...

Jesus Christ!!!!! This scares the sh*t out of me, stream 2 will favour me IJN. Thank God he's alive, Nigerian soldiers like to feel like gods, Now imagine ordinary Police (50 naira theifs)and man O war Chai!!!, Naija graduates don suffer. They should thank their stars he didn't die.

mzmaris said...

Thank God for his life...he will finish his service in praise...no yama yama story....only d stench from that place should be enough to kill someone....he even tried..3hrs...me and my big nose no go reach one hour...hausas and their peanut brains..these so called security officials in camps sef......their punishments r usually bizarre and outrageous

mzmaris said...

Thank God for his life...he will finish his service in praise...no yama yama story....only d stench from that place should be enough to kill someone....he even tried..3hrs...me and my big nose no go reach one hour...hausas and their peanut brains..these so called security officials in camps sef......their punishments r usually bizarre and outrageous

olayiwola jones said...

NYSC, is a waste of time and Resources aswear..

phatgal said...

na wao

I finished from the nigerian institute of journalism and I've known Bunmi to be very easy going and well mannered. Plus he's a likeable person. Be
Bunmi my love, pls be strong sogbo.. you have just few day to go. Pele namesake*Ehugs*

silo swag said...

Too bad!

Na God go punish all of them. Useless pple!!! Dats ow dey usually do to non-hause pple. I wish d boy a quick recovery.

janeexclusive said...

Well,am nt surprised if it happened,bcos those aboki officers are like dt.we had a case similer to dis in kubwa camp FCT last year.a militry officer broke a corp member's head..

Journalistic practice. The corper seems to cooked up the story himself

Oby said...

Hmmmmmm, we must not hear this oooo. Nothing must happen to this
corper or any of them.
I advise that the relatives or parents of this corper should just find a way of removing him from that camp. Security operatives that should be protecting the citizens are maltreating them.

May God have mercy and save His own

This is very common at the nasarraw nysc camp, crazy soldiers. Dave now Daniel Craig

Ayobami xoxo said...

Chai!!! Bunmi u'll nt die in Jesus name. You will finish ur service yr n this incident will b mere history in your life.
Apparently all we have is God and ourselves in this nation where 'security' officers don't value lives... smh

E teddy said...

Disciplinary measures should be taken against those foolish men that call themselves security personnels,how on earth will they do such,and the annoying part of the whole story is that they will never let you speak

Nawa ohhh,Nigeria army nd brutality.. pity for d guy tho

uwagwu fidelis said...

NYSC should be scrapped cos its no longer relevant to its set objectives of uniting the nation irrespective of ones tribe, language and religion. Enough of this nonsence. If not God, this Corp member would have died in the hands of these highly illiterate security operatives from the north.

AKYNS said...

Please whoever knows the exact reason for N.Y.S.C should shed more light here because i wonder why military recruits would torture a graduate because he is not Hausa.I believe this should be broadcast and rebroadcast until there is a solution to this. This is so callous.

So they are still in d system of maltreating na waoh i thought it has changed when i served abt 11yrs ago it was ds same maltreatment i wonder why they established NYSC bc i was like how wd i v suffered in school for yrs in order to become somebody in life after which they wll ask me to go n serve my nation only for me to go n serve punishment for 3weeks is it a crime to go to school abeg govt shd stop all these infacy if i v my way there wont be any NYSC at least its not a guarantee for employment after all d punishment u ll stil come back home to start looking for job.

Imagine, graduates suffering n bn controlled by drop out, pry 6 n secondary sch certificate holders. Dis act as 2 stop o

nife said...

Chai Linda, is not something serious d way u painted it. I av a brother in same camp nd same platoon.

This should not be ignored oooo, those soldiers should be dealt with

*nostalgic* Magaji Dan Yamusa camp! These Nysc soldiers shld really be careful! They are too britual at times...

Ehya My dear former Mr NIJ, Pele, God is your strentgth...

This so called NYSC is pointless and a waste of time and resources. It should be scrapped.

I think they should scrap this NYSC nonsense. Or they should stop sending people's children to the North

Al thanks he didn't lose his lyf,dey would v clearly started d diff btw 6 n half a dozen.lawless country.mtcheww

Na only lnside camp them Deyget power.once u are out, u r dead to them.......Fuck Nysc

As In. #SpeedyRecovery bro. Ino go beta 4 those Security IDIATZ

Hmmm na wa oh! May God help us oh, what is all this hausa mentality language ish now? Must everybody be an hausa? Or speak hausa language? They should stop their madness oh!

first they wanted to know if he was hausa or yoruba. then having confirmed he's yoruba, he was punished. but yorubas and hausas are friends. thank God he's not an Igbo,,,, they would have killed him.

gosh that was too bad, why on earth will they be this wicked....

You are very stupid and foolish at uyeh. He was not feeling fine nd have to eat so he will not collapse and you. There saying rubbish.he his my friend he his cool, friendly

Good.

Laylaah939 said...

Wicked souls!kai 9ja

Too bad.

Omojolowo Femi said...

I camped in that place called nasarawa. the military men dont treat us like homo sapiens. sebi na only one occurence happen. during my time plenty plenty ppl faint like wen u spray insecticide for where ant dey live.
e get one guy wey dey do agidi, after one hour for guard room na clinic come carry am. e reamin small wey him go turn corpse.

the commandant na werey. he did despicable tins to us ehn. THE FEAR OF COMMANDANT IS THE BEGINNING OF WISDOM.

Thank God he did nt die, bt I am not supprised at that wicked act ! That is their nature.

Uye or what ever your stupid name is you most be very foolish and stupid and even worse than a barbarian to say what you wrote. Some one that explained and was sick and later locked up in the toilet is that hygienic or what? If you don't have what to say shut your rotten mouth up. FOOL.

Magaji Dan ya Musa Camp. served in the state. enjoyed my service there though. Every corper that wants to served peacefully should request that he/she should be posted to lafia the state capital. its always safe there.

If you were in camp yesterday, how come you didn't know our platoon leader was taken to the guard room and he fainted there. I was taken there last night bcos I wanted to collect my phone at Mami market. Go there and see how that guard room look's like. Some military men on camp just want to exhibit power simply bcos they are ignorant and they should stop endangering our life bcos of their ignorance

Brutal*

What a wicked world! Do you want to make mony online via bulk sms? Then visit
wwww.smsjustinthyme.com/bulksmsblog/index.php/15-how-to-make-money-online-bulk-sms

Your father is the stupid one

My dear am in stream 2 too o and this scares me to shit

power77 said...

we lost all files and want to recover them call 08058171229, we will do justice to formatted, deleted and crash hardisks.

Nah. Not a good move. Protest till our leaders give a law against it and wen such happens nd a soldier is dealth wt wit jail term or death,the rest will learn. Voilence can't change errttin biko.

Those security operatives at camp r heartless. Some even go as far as harrassing females sexually. I remember when a soldier threatened me at camp simple because i told him i was married and couldn't date him. Nawah.

Obviously, you are a retarded fellow. How dare you say such! I'm sure if it was your son that nearly died you will still say such.

juarry said...

Let to me I will advise the NYSC scheme be scrapped out, it's a waste of one year meant for hustling

Oga stop sounding like you are doing the nation a favour, which one is ''why have we who chose to serve''. This is paramillitary training and it comes with the hardships. Stop bitching. Sorry for the young man, hope he gets better.

Y will u just conclude dah dey r Muslims.. Dey might not even be Hausa's for all we know... Most military men speak Hausa..u shldnt be too quick to judge.

OBEY THE LAST COMMAND IS WHAT THEY TELL YOU...

I HAD A SIMILAR EXPERIENCE WITH THESE POWER DRUNK GOONS IN MY TIME IN CAMP AT ISEYIN, OYO STATE. THEY WOULDN'T LISTEN TO A WORD I HAD TO SAY. I WAS SICK AND ON MEDICATION AND HAD TO STAY SEATED WHEN A SO CALLED DIGNITARY ARRIVED. THEY PROCESSED ME TO THE FIELD IN FRONR OF THE ENTIRE SEATED CORPERS AND WERE TRYING TO DRILL ME. I BLUNTLY REFUSED AND TRIED TO EXPLAIN HOW ILL I WAS...

LUCKILY I DID NOT FAINT IN THE GUARD ROOM BUT THEY QUITE NEARLY BEAT ME UP FOR "DISOBEDIENCE"

Wow! How rude, any way sorry

Gen.Cedrick said...

This story from the looks of things is over exagirated by the writer who I believe to be the said Bunmi, who must have written this piece. There is no way such kind of treatment would had been carried on, on the said Bunmi.
Look at it from this angle. The said reporter, who claimed to be a fellow corp member, should also be in the hall, but followed the said Bunmi as if he was expecting something to happen. There is a red flag there. He even followed till he was purportedly looked in the guard room till he was taken to the clinic, and was visited by a band wagon of sympathisers.
I think for the first place a corper should not be maltreated in any way so ever. But the case of the fabricated stories added to make it look so dramatic and tragic, I raise a red flag to that...

Gen.Cedrick said...

This story from the looks of things is over exagirated by the writer who I believe to be the said Bunmi, who must have written this piece. There is no way such kind of treatment would had been carried on, on the said Bunmi.
Look at it from this angle. The said reporter, who claimed to be a fellow corp member, should also be in the hall, but followed the said Bunmi as if he was expecting something to happen. There is a red flag there. He even followed till he was purportedly looked in the guard room till he was taken to the clinic, and was visited by a band wagon of sympathisers.
I think for the first place a corper should not be maltreated in any way so ever. But the case of the fabricated stories added to make it look so dramatic and tragic, I raise a red flag to that...

Soldiers et al are thugs. What else do you expect from em? something similar happened at sokoto! batch c... a soldier named yakubu went to girls hostel, chased some our.Met one sleeping... and. naked. instructed her to get up and get dressed while he was standing there... lots happened at wammakko camp... na ladies suffer pass sha!

Inspired by Ola said...

The Nigeria media will not allow this die down. This is high handedness and should not be condone. This is humanity inhumanity to man. This matter should be immediately investigated by the authority and adequate punishment commensurate to the atrocity meted out to the perpetrators.

Adams Cedrick said...

Stream 2 will be quite different, cos it will be those in borno state that will come over and trust me, they are cool.. (heeeeyyyyyyy, evil spirit). Trust me u will enjoy it. I served in nasarawa batch C stream 2 last yr.

Enny said...

Uye, you are hurting because the responses you got were "rude". Trust me it sure beats being ill and locked up for three hours in the name of discipline! It's Barbaric period and should be condemned in its entirety. When the shoe is on the other foot I'm not sure you would be laissez faire about it!

Enny said...

Uye, you are hurting because the responses you got were "rude". Trust me it sure beats being ill and locked up for three hours in the name of discipline! It's Barbaric period and should be condemned in its entirety. When the shoe is on the other foot I'm not sure you would be laissez faire about it!

Enny said...

Am a corper serving in kogi and I know dis is how dey maltreat corpers in camp. Even me wen I was in camp, I went to the camp clinic I was place on medication and bed rest in my hostel (due to the camp clinic bed were all occupied) but yet those security still came to my hostel to chase me out to the field under the hot sun... was just in the field sitting on bare floor and crying my eyes out

OMG!!!!!
Nigeria is pathetic,NYSC is so BROKEN!!
Why am I feeling like we kinda volunteer ourselves to riffraff to torture and agonize???
What's more vexing is that news like this will be every where and non of these so-called officials will look into it....giving the idiotic and illiterate man o'war whatever power they feel they have to exploit.
are we really serving our father land here???

OMG!!!!!
Nigeria is pathetic,NYSC is so BROKEN!!
Why am I feeling like we kinda volunteer ourselves to riffraff to torture and agonize???
What's more vexing is that news like this will be every where and non of these so-called officials will look into it....giving the idiotic and illiterate man o'war whatever power they feel they have to exploit.
are we really serving our father land here???

Ask Plateau state 2014 Batch A corpers to tell you worse! We slept in d cold grass in Plateau state, Mangu camp frm 1am to 3am bcz we whr "indiciplined" according to the commandant. ..

Linda keep eating my comments, I thought you were braver than this. From the looks of things you r just a hustler....

They are hausas..and the truth remains,thats what this did, it happened on several occasions not with bunmi Alone. If u are hausa u'r free