On Sunday 8th of February, David Oyelowo and Carmen
Ejogo will Grace the Red Carpets of the Lagos Premiere of the award winning
movie, Selma at the Rock Cathedral, Lekki Lagos. The Movie, Co produced by
Oprah Winfrey who also starred in the film will be premiering in Africa for the
first time at the Rock Cathedral, Lagos, Nigeria.
The Event as many speculate,
will serve as a homecoming gala for both stars who share Nigerian origin.
David’s parents are Nigerians who live in the UK while Carmen is born to a
Nigerian Father and a Scottish mother both of UK Nationality as well.
The Lagos
premiere is Hosted by the Rock Foundation of the House on The Rock Church and
the United States High Commission in Nigeria.
In a statement, the senior pastor of
House on the Rock church, Paul Adefarasin said “Peace and harmony is important
to us all. Regardless of our ethnicity, religion or political persuasion, our
country Nigeria must remain united and peaceful. This is why House on The Rock
Church, positioned as a centre for Social Justice and Equity has decided to
bring people from various classes in the Nigerian society together for a
remarkable event where we can all stand united for peace at a time like this.
We also seek to remind individuals with the Selma movie premiere event that
regardless of any differences or grievances we may have, violence is not the
answer, thus non-violence must continually be our stance.”
Adefarasin
further stated the need for the Church to be the voice of reason promoting
non-violence in the times leading to elections and beyond stressing that ‘’the
pulpit of God is not for partisan politics but for promoting the Kingdom of
God”.
Among Oyelowo’s co-stars in the movie
are Oprah Winfrey, Cuba Gooding Jr., Wendell Pierce, and as Coretta Scott King,
Carmen Ejogo.
According to sources, The Lagos Premiere
promises to Host Nigeria's Top Actors and Actresses from Nollywood, Top Music
stars and A-List Celebrities from the Social, Media and Fashion scenes in
Nigeria.
The Red Carpet starts by 5pm on Sunday 8th February 2015
Tickets to the premiere are Free but
registration is required at www.afritickets.com/selma
82 comments:
They are all welcome
Nice..
www.ameriesblog.com
Coool
make them fire on
Can't wait to see the movie!!!! Yaay
15 febuhari. can't wait.. jst saying
David.. Have loved you from days of blood and oil! Oprah must really like his works tho, second time they are costarring. Welcome home!
I must be here!!!! This is huge OMG! Big ups to house on the rock, these guys always doing big things!
Awww they are highly welcome
Ok we await you
Aiit we await you
We await der arrival,Morny peeps.
lily, you dey sleep, you dey try ooo, you went to bed by 2:am and work up by 5:am. kai. All the best shaa.
www.udokajane.blogspot.com
Registration will be rowdy...ooooooooo
Hmmmmm, well that's a nice one. Very encouraging.
Grt.good stuffs....
Wonderful ... @filix
The pulpit of God is not for partisan politics but for promoting God's kingdom. Rightly said MOG!
Shaniquapatty@gmail.com
Ok good
Pretty cool
K
Cool ...they are welcum
Goodmornin pple. #happymonday
ok that's good.. buh, who they don help??
Nyc movie. I watched it and indeed I was inspired. Great actor in d person of Oyelowo.
Good.
⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥
David Oyelowos time has come. After starring in blockbusters such as Lincoln,The Butler,Planet of the Apes,the guy has paid his dues. I first saw him in 'The last king of Scotland' 10 years ago where he played a small role of a Doctor. Now he is one of the biggest stars in Hollywood.
Cynic*Igbo*Guy
Aii nice
that's nice. such a good actor, that David.
Liflblog.WordPress.com
LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!
News.
Nice!
Not interested jare....
Cool stuff.
House on the Rock rocks!!!
Pls na for church una dey premiere movie. Una no see genesis cinema. Our actors keeping doing their best. LIB EMPIRE
Nice one and cool.
Thumbs up to them.
Welcome to our land
Vry nice.. cnt wait to c d movie
Ok...we're waiting...
noted
is oprah coming aswell?
Gr8 exposure coming to nollywood.letz seee
good cdoof09@gmail.com
Thats nice...
Wow, cant wait to see them... lovely movie
Dats nice...
Una welcome back home. Linda take note!
im so gonna be der....well at least in my imagination....lol princesslivia89@yahoo.com
MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.
Wow! That's cool.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~
Wow! Nice...
thats a good idea
Its Good.
Can't wait to watch d movie
Oluwaseun73@gmail.com
yass can't wait for the movie .....bring it on
Welcome home homies
¤¤¤¤¤QUEENMAYA¤¤¤¤¤¤
good
they make us proud
Nice going!
Great people
Ohm coming....nice one
Anyi anugo linda! Lolo1
they look good
That's nice and good for more growth in that dimension. www.ikeani.blogspot.com
Ok seen
Cool. As we watch this great movie, may we, clergy and citizens alike, be reminded that it takes courage, sacrifice, and consistency to change the corruption and oppression that continue to hold Nigeria down. In the march from Selma to Montgomery, just like from Lagos to Abeokuta, MLK and other good people were beaten and turned back, three times. in their quest for voting rights. They were relentless!
cant wait to see the movie
Good. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
This Carmen Ejogo. Hates black people but only stars in black movies. Confused mixed race chick.
rick1dude@yahoo.com
GOOD
Linda, David lived in Naija for 7 years o!
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/upwardly-mobile-david-oyelowo-on-going-from-tooting-bec-to-tom-cruises-jet-8483779.html
We welcome you guys