Pres. Jonathan declares state of emergency in Adamawa, Borno, and Yobe | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 14 May 2013

Pres. Jonathan declares state of emergency in Adamawa, Borno, and Yobe

President Jonathan has declared an indefinite state of emergency in three Northern states, Adamawa, Borno and Yobe, citing insecurity. He made the announcement in a nationwide live broadcast this evening. With this declaration, the president has given the military the authority to take over the security of the states, though all political office holders in the states would still continue in office.

President Jonathan said the efforts at dialogue with militants will continue but will take extra ordinary measures to maintain peace. He immediately ordered troops to be deployed to the states to arrest and detain suspected terrorists, take over of suspicious buildings, and detain persons suspected to be in possession of arms. On terrorism, he said:
"We will hunt them down, fish them out and bring them to justice. No matter what it takes, we will win this war against terror"
This action is so long overdue. Just wondering why Nassarawa wasn't included.

149 comments:

God plz have Mercy on our nation. First to commonet, oya eat me up

God bless nigeria and long live nigeria.
The good nigerian.

IkwerreBoy said...

somebody is awake lolz

I have never felt this safe as a Nigerian in a long while.
I have never supported my president like I did this evening.
Its obvious from his countenance how bitter and concerned he is. "this is an act of war"
atleast now they know this Dog can bite.

God bless our president,Long live Nigeria.

Duhh

SATINGO said...

declearin SOE nd retainin D̶̲̥̅̊ governors hmmmmm na who cum D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ take charge nw? People deceiving people (PDP)

Oh yes,that's very good of Gej,now ure talkin.

The establishment of Biafran independence from the demonic country called Nigeria draws near. Praise the living God. Nigeria, your end is overdue.

God bless Biafra.

Truthbetold said...

That sounds like a President. I pledge to Nigeria my country...

state of emergency is pretty much needed at this point.
and to his statement...I Pray so!

Best decision Ever mr president though u should have damned the consequences and dropped the govs too

Cianci said...

Declaring state of emergency is not the solution to the problem , rather they should invite the USA and British security support to fish out those involved in all this problems and put an end it.

Bold step though taken late!Bryanlynx

Let's see how it plays

Good step

Yes o.we must hunt dem dwn.Enof is Enof.

we only pray for peace in Nigeria. Let the will of GOD be done.

Let's help each other by sharing our Us visa experiences, the pain we went through, questions asked during the interview, documents needed, pain of hearing the words "sorry your visa has been denied" or joy in hearing the words "congratulation your visa has been approved " and general help for people intending to apply for one

http://usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg/

Ok. We don hear. Next

MAXIMUS™ said...

About time! What? It took him 3,000 lost souls and counting, to make this decision? Gosh! Dude should get his act together and start protecting lives. The military should stay put in those states and do whatever they've gotta do. Enough is enough!

He finally finds his balls.

Normally with a state of emergency, a military administrator will be appointed to overlook the state in the place of the Governor. Doesn't look that way here.

lol..sounds like an episode of 24!
.may God protect those pple there tho

Now he is starting 2 act like d president he is! Let's c how it goes frm here. Good job Mr president!

Correct! No more nonsense! 'Ms Bee'

This should have been done ages ago. Why keep d political positions. I hope it's not too late. May God help us

THANK YOU MR. PRESIDENT YOU HAVE NOW BEGUN TO ACT!!!

its a shame after 3yrs or so he finally takes action. for the first time after the demise of yar'dua GEJ spoke like a leader.

Yinka said...

well, this is a giant step @ a war against ds sinister called boko haram

Abimbola Aje said...

I totally agree with him linda 100%. The north needs some show of force.

God help Nigeria

Gej wil go down in history one of the BEST ever president that has ever ruled this country.i knw many wil nt agree but the fact cnt be hidden..... Lapxz 4rm aba

Better late than never....nice one Mr President...

SOUTHERN BLOG BUG said...

Hahaha! Nigerians think GEJ is weak & a fool nt knowing that he is even wiser than OBJ. Why not Nassarawa or Bauchi? He really wants to get rid of the Governors of these states since they are nt in PDP. Political Tins.

Now that's a president talking, I just hope it wount be a dfrnt story 2maw....it shld be war against terrorism and nt amnesty...thumbs up 4 d very ist tym

Amen in Jesus name Mr. President the Lord is on our side we will win this war and hunt them down enough is a enough. They want to turn Nigeria to sharia country God will not allow them rather He will punish them with every single person in their family.

Ride on Mr Presido and don't allow those scumbag's ridicule your administration.

I applaud this great step made by Mr. President. However, why retain the public office holders? That makes your state of emergency declaration sound like a mere political statement. We all look forward to seeing faces and names of these terrorists. God bless Nigeria.

Linda.., there hasn't been any bomb blast in Nasarawa state. Jus this funlani herdsmen fight in nasarawa n mostly in benue state.

bubbles said...

Amen oo as we continue to pray@ GEJ. This is one of the best news this week, can u imagine the boko fools changing the nigerian flag to boko flag in borno.

Now why the hell do we need to spend my tax money bringing the north back into Nigeria when they want their own country? Nigeria, you would regret this state of stupidity, sorry I mean emergency. Let the north have their own country. You would see all the idiots who keep blaming Zik for fighting for a united country commending this state of emergency. As for me, I need a refund of my tax money, with interest. God damn Nigeria.

GREAT!!!

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!

juganut said...

D fear of Asari Dokubo or wat. Well it had 2 b done. If only somtin lyk dis can b done on corruption in naija.
In anoda comment: screw bonario n pc! Gaylord fuckers!

Nassarawa is not governed by a PDP governor

About time! Took him how many years again?

Yeye people

THEOGEJ.. said...

My broda ЂƠ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡w I wish I knw Ў☺ΰ..Ў☺ΰ have jst spoken my mind

And so it begins, the end of Nigeria. Biafra, thine time approaches.

God bless Biafra.

PS
Post my comment woman!

Jbankz said...

War Against Terror(naija film)season 1.yeye pple wif dia supa stori mouth.nxt stori jare

THEOGEJ.. said...

Mtcheeeewwww ȋ̝̊̅Ƨ̷̜̌̋ adamawa not PDP state??shut up ppls if Ў☺ΰ dnt hve anytin τ̲̅ȍ contribute

anonymous# said...

About time Jona.

Took so long... I jus pray peace gets restored in nigeria but wen i tink of d innocent blood dats bin shed? Lord av mercy on ds country.

Okay so the Governors stay from what I read on BN. Mmmmmm

THEOGEJ.. said...

Ȋ̝̊̅Ƨ̷̜̌̋ a bold step in a right direction,,GEJ have 100percent of my support,,kill dem all

Like for real? After several souls have been lost, I almost feel like he shouldn't even do anything again, weak government. Now Nigeria is one of the most terrible country to be in cause he didn't give immediate solution. Good decision sha,..... Sha make sure your so called troops have good and sound strategy for the mission cause to Nigerian military and paramilitary oficcers its all about shooting gun. I wish all the soldiers GOODLUCK tho

go to section 305 of the constitution. there is no place where the president is empowered to remove a democratically elected governor. in fact the governors of the affected states are in the know and can even tell the president to declare state of emergency

SOUTHERN BLOG BUG; Nyako is in what party then? Get your facts right.

southern blog bug ur a big biger bigest fooooooooooooooooool infact idi moredan stupid a nonentity u shuldn't be speakin in this blog muntulla,as for Gej his probs is dat he is 2 dull cos this shul av been done 2 yrs ago nd by now other govs would hav been up nd doin thou the problems ar enormously great but with God all thins ar possible @westino

Dear compatriots,
1.    It has become necessary for me to address you on the recent spate of terrorist activities and protracted security challenges in some parts of the country, particularly in Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Gombe, Bauchi, Kano, Plateau and most recently Bayelsa, Taraba, Benue and Nasarawa states.  These unfortunate events have led to needless loss of lives and property of many innocent Nigerians including members of our security forces.

2.   The recent killing of security operatives by a cult group in Nasarawa state is particularly condemnable. I have directed that no effort or expense be spared in identifying and bringing to justice all those who had a hand in the killing of the operatives.

3.   The activities of insurgents and terrorists have been reprehensible, causing fear among our citizens and a near-breakdown of law and order in parts of the country, especially the North. We have taken robust steps to unravel and address the root causes of these crises, but it would appear that there is a systematic effort by insurgents and terrorists to destabilize the Nigerian state and test our collective resolve.

4.  Since I returned to the country after cutting short my visit to South Africa and aborting a planned state visit to Namibia, I have received detailed briefings from our security agencies. These briefings indicate that what we are facing is not just militancy or criminality, but a rebellion and insurgency by terrorist groups which pose a very serious threat to national unity and territorial integrity. Already, some northern parts of Borno state have been taken over by groups whose allegiance is to different flags and ideologies.

5.   These terrorists and insurgents seem determined to establish control and authority over parts of our beloved nation and to progressively overwhelm the rest of the country. In many places, they have destroyed the Nigerian flag and other symbols of state authority and in their place, hoisted strange flags suggesting the exercise of alternative sovereignty.

Pls ff me @tweetercabal

Are you also ready for a civilian war and the military taking over the rest of Nigeria????? Be careful what you wish for!!! This is the beginning of trouble!!!

Love that mr. President,Adamawa is PDP so who told u he wants to get rid of the governors?don't say what u don't know my friend.

ADDRESS BY PRESIDENT GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN, GCFR ON THE DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY IN BORNO, YOBE AND ADAMAWA STATES IN ORDER TO RESTORE PUBLIC ORDER, PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY IN THE AFFECTED STATES OF THE FEDERATION

MAY 14, 2013

Dear compatriots,

12.  Following recent developments in the affected states, it has become necessary for Government to take extraordinary measures to restore normalcy. After wide consultations, and in exercise of the powers conferred on me by the provisions of Section 305, sub-section 1 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended, I hereby declare a State of Emergency in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states.

13.  Accordingly, the Chief of Defence Staff has been directed to immediately deploy more troops to these states for more effective internal security operations. The troops and other security agencies involved in these operations have orders to take all necessary action, within the ambit of their rules of engagement, to put an end to the impunity of insurgents and terrorists.

14.  This will include the authority to arrest and detain suspects, the taking of possession and control of any building or structure used for terrorist purposes, the lock-down of any area of terrorist operation, the conduct of searches, and the apprehension of persons in illegal possession of weapons.

15.  The details of this Proclamation will be transmitted to the National Assembly in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution. But in the meantime, let me make it clear that within the purview of this Proclamation, the Governors and other political office holders in the affected states will continue to discharge their constitutional responsibilities.

16.   I urge the political leadership in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states to co-operate maximally with the Armed Forces and the Police to ensure that the exercise succeeds. We call on the citizenry to co-operate with our security agencies to ensure a return to normalcy within the shortest possible time.

17.   I am again approaching our neighbouring countries, through diplomatic channels, as done in the recent past, for their co-operation in apprehending any terrorist elements that may escape across the border.

18.  Nigerians are peace-loving people; these sad events perpetrated by those who do not wish our nation well have not changed the essential character of our people.

19.  I want to reassure you all that those who are directly or indirectly encouraging any form of rebellion against the Nigerian state, and their collaborators; those insurgents and terrorists who take delight in killing our security operatives, whoever they may be, wherever they may go, we will hunt them down, we will fish them out, and we will bring them to justice. No matter what it takes, we will win this war against terror.

20.  I am convinced that with your support and prayers, we shall overcome these challenges and together, we will restore every part of our country to the path of peace, growth and development.

Long live the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Pls ff me @tweetercabal

Mr. President God will give you the grace to over come all your enemies that want to spoil this country for you they want people to think you are not capable to be a President, go God is with you and you will hunt them down all of them in Jesus name

Abimbola Aje said...

Linda, I support the state of emergency 100%, those guys need strong hand, and the govnors of other state should ensure that these crimals don't flow into their state as a result of the heat.

Goodluck has finally woken up frm his sleep

Linda, why do you want the President to include Nassarawa state? Are the Eggon Ombaste a Boko Haram group, please try and educate yourself to what is happening in Nassarawa state first before you offend people with statements like that
And NO I am not from Nassarawa State
Post my comment!

Why do we need d british and d US here, are dey living with us here? Look Nigeria future will be decided by Nigrian.

Marcel Duplexis said...

Rubbish! SoE without putting Military administrators in place? OBJ put Gen Olurin in Ekiti in 2006 & Gen Alli in Plateau in 2004! GeJ is just biddibg 4 time;he's not serious at all!

Evryfin about this country is a mess!Y retain political offices after declarin state of emergency?somfins nt jst goin rite

Castic said...

Oh God show us ur mercy.
Naija till l grow old

when u declare a state of emergency in a state, it means the Governor of such state can no longer guarantee the safety of lives and properties, since he is meant to be the chief security officer of that state... So, retaining his power in a state of emergency situation is ridiculous.... If ur gonna let d military function well, u have to give em absolute power... All d same this move is long overdue

What useless state of emergency is this?You did not sack or suspend the polical offices and you want it to work.Its mere wasting of time.The politician are going to undermine all the security arrangements.Let's wait and see.Jonathan is trying to thread cautiously because of 2015.

Timcy said...

Mr president this thing dey sweet my belle. However let us keep our fingers crossed and see how things unfold.

Wow really long overdue. Now he's talking like obama after the boston incident, I hope action follows

So, the have fixed his brain in his skull! Thank God!

Ride on Presido... God bless Naija.

Hahah.. Tuff guy talking tuff..'We'll HUNT them down'..I guess he got inspired by Asari or did Obama call him....Toothless BULLDOG..

Let me know when its safe to return home from London.

madam said...

God forbid you igbo bigot! In Jesus name!

At last u made me proud. You must be firm and fearless to rule this volatile nation. You can as well declare same in bayalsa, adamawa etc we need to feel safe in this nation and mr. President the main duty is on you. That's y we voted u in. Kodos. Lumbado miami

Noel said...

What is this "first to comment" all about? Is there any price attached to it?.........it seems that people just write it to upset others? mstchewwwwwww!
On the matter of SoE, fingers still crossed.

Its 'They' not 'The'..you that have brain in your skull..ewu!

Amen to that!

Queen Linda, those who took his calmness and high level of tolerance as weakness should be prepared for more surprises to come. Our President is very much in charge but we always expect him to apply the same military strategy that we are used to over the years, thus anything short of force is considered weakness. Long live the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria....God bless Nigeria!!

Of course,dis is wht he shuld v done long bf now.

BIAFRA BIAFRA BIAFRA

amir dantala said...

Simply put state of emergency replaces a member of the bourgeois class with another member of that class to achieve a bourgeois objective.. It changes nothing

wow.... So funny.
So our ceremonial president want to act now or deceiving Nigerians.
I pray u act according to ur word ooooooo toothless dog.
More power to ur elbows

Mumu. Something he should have done long time ago. Mscheeeew

smiley said...

Its seem Bamanga Tukur wants to frustrate Nyako abi using Jonathan to play the game abi, sha Nyako please am waiting for ur own action o. You hav nothing to loose xcpt dat both ov u(nyako) n Bamanga Tukur want you children to be governors abi, well it wunt happen n remembr not to deliver PDP presidential to Jona. God is watching u all.Nonsense Democracy Y don't u resign n let d military be in charge of d whole country

Hahaha so funny. Boko rams don get too much liver oh.....God will deal with them.

Queen Bee said...

@dog can bite indeed..A Toothless bull dog he is!
Hope this act makes a difference.

Good,sum1 is actn like a leader....mscheww. Wot I dnt understand is dem retaining offices.

Jovoflavour said...

Thumbs up, Mr President! Those screaming 'remove the Governors too if its a true State of Emergency' are the same opposition who will say the President is not Constitutionally-empowered to remove Governors. Wise move!

I dont understand this arrengement.Will the ellected governors be sharing the same office with the military?will the military have the power to award contracts?who takes orders from who?This arrengment will fail.Full military take over is what we want damn the consequencies.how can you explain that over 40 ppl were killed in benue?how can u explain d situation in Nasarawa?We need dis democracy to step aside for sometime.No were is safe,Kidnapping is a very lucreative bizness in the south east.The muslims are killing in the north,South south is another hell of a zone.May God help Nigeria.

Queen Bee said...

He's declaring a SOE,and he's still talking about negotiating with the Mofos?
Can GEJ ever stand for anything?
if u go out to war,go all out man!
Coward!!

Its about that time! Way to go sir!

Really? Now? After almost all the northerners are DEAD? * rolling my eyes, literally *

When they have almost killed the whole nigerians

My dear shut up.

Someone's balls have finally dropped.

enjoydubai said...

"We will hunt them down, fish them out and bring them to justice. No matter what it takes, we will win this war against terror"

This kind of TALK is coded in yur DNA Unc Jona! We want action.
Action speaks louder than voice!
Biko, borrow a leaf from President Obama.

@ Linda, police were also killed in bayelsa not only nasarawa state.

I smell coup coming soon...

This is probably anoda way of manipulating pple to vote him in in 2015

Dante said...

Smiley u are as confused as our president Goodluck Jonathan, abeg go and sleep!!

your papa pennis.

Mr. President is protecting his political interest of actualizing his 2015 ambition to be re-elected at the expense of the Nigerian state. The decision to retain the governors of these states is flying in the face of common sense and defeats the purpose for which SOM is meant to achieve. Kudos to him for barking at all.

God bless U̶̲̥̅̊ 4 saying amen to dat

LawAbidingCitizen said...

Honestly,its bn long overdue. A sect of lay abouts with the exception of their leaders who r cowards hiding in shadows,too afraid to make themselves known,cannot and should not be allowed to bring a country like Nigeria to her knees. Enough is enough,let those who make peaceful resolutions impossible be crushed under the mighty arm of the law.

Woowww, I weep 4 d future of dis country, majority of d commentators here re so uninformed.

The north needs to feel the full strength of the Nigerian military and by so doing learn that they can be made to obey and subjected to the collective aspirations of the state. No one has the monopoly of force.
Thank you Mr president! Long overdue.

9jagurl said...

Na today?
Did l just hear a weak and clueless Bulldog barking...? YES!
Why declare SOE after all the woos?
I still believe in Nigeria.
I don't just believe in the President or any word that oozes out of his trembling lips even now...
Jona, take a far backseat jare!
You are just too dull and weak to lead...

*drops mic*

tnk God nasarawa wz nt included...

freeman said...

Its a matter of time

Nigerians are all fools . Why is he taking the step Now? To deceiv us so he can rule again. Theres re other important things to do. Nigerians if u like don't vote wisely.

Jay said...

Don't even talk about help from d US army or whatever.d countries they have tried to help are still crying till date.see iraq,d country has been damaged beyond repair and still d war rages on.d Nigerian army can fight this war if they are properly equipt,and they know d territory.Mr President,over to u.

Fuck you idiot....atleas praise him

Pls we dont need dem

jason stl said...

Biafra will surely come soon

dear sly said...

If I know u eh....I 4 just call u marry u once!!!!....4 diz comment

Jay said...

But they are also terrorists so nassarawa shld be included!!

There is no style in this Government. Dishing out rules τ̅☺ suit some fat cows!!!. Take the Govnor out of the office and set a sample f☺я̩̥̊ others. The Govnors, in the North are just playing politics. They love violence and that has been their style f☺я̩̥̊ the past 30years. None of them are sorry f☺я̩̥̊ ωђã†̥ they mistakenly set up. If Duracell is G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅ why do ‎​Ɣ☺ΰ‎​‎​ need a Tiger Battery. Mr. Prezident u̶̲̥̅̊ got no style of governance. Playing politics with 160Million Nigerians. Wake Up

STUPID MAN, IN A STATE OF EMERGENCY YOU REMOVE ALL POLITICAL OFFICE HOLDERS AND FULLY HAND OVER TO THE MILITARY BUT CORRUPTION HAS EATEN DEEP INTO THE SYSTEM.....WHY WASNT PLATEAU NASSARAWA AND BENUE INCLUDED?

Ikwerre are Igbo, get used to it. Stop letting the anti Igbos deceive you. My two cents

Shut the fuck up

Chop Chop said...

That's presidential! Thank you.

Good one mr president, but.... I hope this has nothing to do with d 2015 election...... U know d rest, God help us all. *post my comment o*

President Jo copied and pasted Obama's speech on terrorism. LMAO

He had to wake up after asari dokubo's threat. Lol

@Anonymous May 14, 2013 at 10:21 PM
My dear, fuck you.

Thank GOD for JESUS Biafra wil soon come

@madam Biafra is God's will. Jesus will not answer your prayer. Do not use God's name in vain.

AMnesty...now you will hunt them down..which one Mr President ...am confused...abeg..choose one

This "Home Grown" State of Emergency will fail as all other policies of Jonathan Administration,why retained the Governors and all other political office holders? Cant Jonathan understand that GOD has abandoned him and no mater what he try, it will fail. God help Nigeria

Thank you Lindo...why the FUCK wasn't Nassarawa included!!!!!??

oh Adamawa,my land of beauty and sunshine.Lord protect us all!

3states without adding d main states..whAt abt Kano and Kaduna? Dose r d main states..tnx Mr. President bt do some more.

Linda dear Nassarawa does not deserve to be included, while bc what happened there was sort of political. the Governor wanted to use the police against a group of people going about there affairs peacefully just bc this grup is warning up against him for the 2015 elections. or havent u wondered why no such troupe has been deployed by any northern gov against boko haram. D gov of nassarawa and the commissioner of the state who ordered the troups that led to d massacre of our beloved police officers shd be brought to justice

is a late call mr president

Linda am from delta state but hv asked Q over the nassarawa case. Nassarawa doesnot deserve to be included. because the people who are peaceful but for the boko haram Governor who wanted to use the police and his powers against a group fighting for justices and fair play. The blood of those police men will forever be on the Gov who is the chief security officer

theodora said...

I pray that this strategy will go a long way to the restoration of peace in our land

THANK GOD our president is awakeoooooo

Ma Mr. President finally protrayin his title...#dancingalingo#
Its high time he stopd relyin on gudluck nd patience and act like a tough C-in-C he ought to hav bin..
I jst hope dis goes far....make e no b forwarded broadcast from Obama...***eyezrolling***

If the soldiers start working,some human rights org will start complaining.Hope GEJ sees this thru n not shake

Where in the constitution does it say dat??

talk2kunle_fineguy3000 said...

State of emergency is a welcome development but the issue of the sitting Governors still at helm of affairs of the affected States is not appealing because it was because of their inabilities to see to the end of these insecurities in their various States that the State of Emergency was declared.Therefore,they are not supposed to be in the office but Sole Administrators should be appointed to avoid interference.Let this State of Emergency be extended to both Kano and Nasarawa States.

why mentioning Nas?? Why not KD?? Nas is not a BH state.

Wat made u fink kad is d' main state wen u dont kw difference btw d' states.

Ahaaaaaa! The oga at d Top has woken Up!

This president is an idiot, he didn't deploy troops to Nassarawa and kano but sent them to Adamawa. THIS IS NOT A SOLUTION.

What has these so called troops done for Maiduguri (Borno) and Yobe state. State of emergency will only cripple us (northerners) further, in Yobe/Borno right now young women are raped by these stupid military men, they go round entering pple houses doing "search" (stealing gold/jewelry), they shot young boys on sight saying they are boko haram members, there is no mtn , glo or other telephone network in these states, no way for people there to communicate.

I am a northerner who lives here in Lagos but my parents are based in Adamawa and I think this fool (GEJ) needs to go.

Imagine if this happened in Lagos.