Man U defender Rio Ferdinand retires from international football | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 May 2013

Man U defender Rio Ferdinand retires from international football

After 16 years of playing for England, Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand, has announced his retirement from International football to concentrate on his club career. Ferdinand started playing for England in 1997. The footballer explained why he quit England in a statement released today:
'After a great deal of thought, I have decided the time is right for me to retire from international football. At the age of 34, I feel it is right for me to stand aside and let the younger players come through, which allows me to concentrate on my club career.
'The team looks in great shape and there is an influx of young, talented players coming through the ranks which bodes well for the future.

'I regard it as a great honour and a privilege to have represented my country at every level from Under 17s upwards. I have always been very proud to play for England. I would like to wish Roy and the team all the best for future tournaments.

'A big thank you to all the fans, managers, coaching staff and players that I have worked alongside - the journey has been incredible.'

31 comments:

England is sure gonna miss you. Now it would be to concentrate on the reds and retire there too hopefully!

awww! quite thoughtful of him to give space for younger ones.
and over here calamity Yobo is still angry with Keshi for not including him in the squad for Eagles next match.

chy girl said...

Yea man, u nid to. U did serve england. Great footballer.

Let other young talents come up but its good he left space for others. Did guy is gonna b hot next season

Make osaze odemwingie just do the same thing honourably for his country instead of bullsh*t all around,remember rio has an issue with his national team,coach and team mates but he act with maturity..make our players learn from dis abeg..Goodluck to rio #Teamunited

Happy retirement Ferdinand

For me, he retired the day Terry was given a mere 4 match ban for racially abusing his family..

for ur breaking, hottest n smashing sport news.. visit us @ http://okusamiitunu.blogspot.com/

Ferdinand became the youngest defender to play for England when he made his international debut as a 19-year-old against Cameroon at Wembley in November 1997.
He played in three World Cups - 1998, 2002 and 2006 - but was ruled out of the 2010 tournament in South Africa because of a knee injury. One of the best defender the English game has seen

i love rio

My BF anytime, anyday...luv u loads

No Rio in Rio. Legend!

Brainless frog eyed old tin lyk u, he didn't retire frm football dat u shud b wishing him "happy retirement" He just quit playing for his country, he will still b playin for his club-Man U. So wot u saying "happy retirement" for?

Oversabi! Who ask u? arms Akimbo abi Akinbo, idiot!

The guy is a terrific defender...Master,I hail!

Bless you anon 4:03

Plus agbaya Mimi, this your picture looks like you come from the deepest part of kenya. See your large nose and teeth..

We dont need him to retire at ManU jor,he is old cargo

Don't mind the mumu all he knows is to hold nations cup that he didn't even contribute up to 10% in lifting!

Nice ferdinand.........I wish u well on ur club career

Must u abuse her ?? Egoccentric mug!!! I bet u are on ur very cheap bb phone typing away like ur God forsaken life depends on it!!!!

Jeezzzz. Must u call him names...people like u make my skin cringe!!

Omo Tlips said...

"Brainless frog eyed old tin", "deepest part of kenya". Ha ha ha ha ha , abeg, make una take am easy, Haba!!!

Anon 6:49. Which one be your own oo?? Yes, I'm typing on my very cheap bb. How is that your problem??
Biko kwa, everybody is entitled to his or her opinion.... If e pain you please kindly drink hypo. ( ˘˘̯)

Yeah,right...junkie

tc said...

Anon 4 02 and 4 53....for una mind una don correct person! Fools..... Mimi u beautiful jare! And I love dem eyes'

happy for him....he retired on a high......

Good for him.....

Prayers! Yet when he sees calamity yakubu, he wets his pants

theodora said...

nice one....

Anon 8:44 why wuld it pain me?? That u are busy abusing people on a social blog like this. You ma frnd is one dedicated fool!! If ur job is to come to blogs and talk bonkers like this, then ur lyf is defo on a huge spiral fall!! Anu mpama!!