Ibinabo Fiberesima sets up foundation for families of accident victims | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 May 2013

Ibinabo Fiberesima sets up foundation for families of accident victims

The actress and Actors Guild of Nigeria president was involved in a car accident in 2006 which led to the death of a medical doctor. She hit his car along the Lekki/Epe Expressway in Lagos. She was sentenced to five years imprisonment for manslaughter in 2009 but only spent a few months there. She came out of prison a completely changed woman, bidding farewell to alcohol, cigarettes and partying. The single mother of three who is now a born again Christian is setting up a foundation to cater for the welfare of families of accident victims. Ibinabo explains:
“I do have a foundation which I’m setting up. In 2006, I had an accident and a medical doctor, Mr. Suraj Giwa died in the process. A lot of things went wrong, I was sent to jail because of the accident.
It is quite painful, it’s taking me this long because I needed to find myself again. The foundation is going to be for the families of accident victims. I’m going to get people to talk to them and to heal their wounds. What I went through, I was healed by the grace of God.”

72 comments:

Oh that is good, thank God for you

hmmmmm quite thoughtful of her.

sexyeyes said...

Good 4 her.

Really thoughtful of her, her experience must really have been life changing.

Ezennaya Ngozi said...

She try linda.oya nxt news if there is any.think I am d first to comment.

Nice 1 ibinabo

Intimate talk with AB said...

Keep it up. You're really doing a great job

Lovely......using her mess 2 teach others a message

Very gud of her, sometimes shit happens for a change. Kip it up

How come she spent sm months only? Just asking

Kudos!!!

this woman just dey fine! I remember her face,she don tey for nollywood

Applaudable! Beautiful woman with a beautiful heart!

lovely idea! more grease to your elbow Ibi

scam

Setting an example
http://richiesmart.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

so touchin

Foul Play said...

Nice way to give back Ibinabo I met you after it all so I can truly say your past will not define your future..IJN AMEN!!!

MacAnne said...

thats really nice of her

hundred percent support I give you for this. Please give us d address when u fully kick off. More grease to your elbow

Hmmmm My president it is well with u IJN.

Good thing she's doing,I wish her And the foundation suCcess. Did she just become born again? Cos lateley she has been wearing loads of "NON BORN AGAIN stuff"*TinkAMVCA* anyways I am happy for her.Ansewe

njoku elsie's blog said...

Nice concept. Go girl.

Bless her. No one is perfect and in Nigeria such accidents yet painful do not really lead to imprisonment in jail. I personally know someone who hit a man that died, no prison time though he was locked up and had to pay through his nose for the deceased burial and family upkeep.
It is well Ibinabo, i heard Dr's family gave you a tough time but its a good thing you are trying to make it up in a good way...

Fact said...

@ Ezennaya Ngozi, go collect 'first to comment' prize for inside ocean... Smh for u!

May God bless u for dat ,U ar worth emulating

Adanna said...

ok den gud thing shez born again

ok nah.alchohol

oisa said...

What a repentant heart, I pray she acheives her vision.

Why dd she spend jst a few months?? Dz our 9jiria!

Eeeyyyyaaa dats so gud, God bless u as u embark on this project

Shinelle said...

Wow a gud move!!! Buh its kinda vague 'accidents victims'...

I dont get it. She killed the Dr with her reckless driving. How come she is forming victim? Anyway we are tired of stupid foundations. Ibinabo when u make money, you can set up foundation. In Nigeria, Foundation is for begging money

Ngozi pls if u don't have anything to say den close up,u can b fighting for 1st to comment in situation like dis.. What have u achieved since u r d first to comment?..Abeg is there an award for that?

vykta said...

thoughtful of her

vykta said...

nice of her, though it doesn't bring back d lost life but it"ll go a long way in saving others

It is quite painful, it’s taking me this long because I needed to find myself again. The foundation is going to be for the families of accident victims. I’m going to get people to talk to them and to heal their wounds. What I went through, I was healed by the grace of God.”

I applaud what she is trying to do, but pls young lady you are and were not the victim of that accident. Dr's Giwa and his family are the victims. So I take exception to the last paragraph particularly the last sentence.......what I went through, I was healed by the grace of God!!!vvv insensitive

Good.

Very good of her ilike it.

What has she done to fix the family she ruined? I don't care what she's going through cos they are still going through shit cos of the shitty life she lived!

Sory u not and wats this sh*t abt ist to coment anyway

Blackberry said...

First to comment? U must b a jambite or still a student

@ Ezennaye,bia dis girl or lady can't u̶̲̥̅̊ see u̶̲̥̅̊ re not d first to comment? is Linda going to buy u̶̲̥̅̊ a car or take u to dubia for being d first to comment? Hmmmmm

healthy eating tips said...

That's right. Truly a way to serve the society in her little contribution and perhaps to console her hearts from the memories of her accident by doing something great. After all, it wasn't intentional.

Souljagurl said...

Nice 1.

Am New said...

Info is power, thought she was jailed for drug trfficking! Nice try. @u wat can she do to console d family?? Only God can nd i pray u dnt find urself in such situation.

G̶̲̥̅U̶̲̥̅̊Ď‘ more grease to ur elbow

Wow dats nice of her

Blackberry said...

Shud she resurrect the dead?...she has moved on wether u lyk it or not...n very successful now.

lwkm..@ anonymous 14.17pm

Very totful....Nice 1 babez

ANYA IKENGA said...

I hope u don't drunk drive again? Restitution is the way to go. Keep it up.

adorable said...

That's very good n thoughtful of her

Oh my! Thank u sis. U really are a changed person

Awwww nice one dou. Hp it Will be for real n nt to get publicity

Omo TLips said...

Nice 1 Madam, may God see U̶̲̥̅̊ thru

Kudus what she did was very bad but she is much better than I thought, and obviously has a conscience .i commended. U Ibinabo .

Really thoughtful, we need philanthropists.
About this first to comment ish, aft being d first has it changed ur financial status? #raised brows#
~Amyyy

"....What I went through...."!So what could you have gone through? Compared to what his widow and kids went through and are going to go through for the rest of their lives miss thing? You must really think "what I went through..." Is enough penance for what you 'did'! So this foundation is for those who take precious lives while living irresponsibly? Isn't that what it'll mean if it's about what you went through? Amazing! I don't have a name for your kind.

Abeg she shud shatap, i witnessed that accident, i was at queens drive waterside when d doc's car flewup like some carton and this happened at VI o, so u can imagine d impact. After All these yrs she sets up one crap?! What did she go thru? Partying and wearing T-shirts at dead actors burials?? Pls chop shit. Jail fit u well...till today i can't get that image off my head all cos u were drunk. Okpo.

--Teeteelahyo--

That is good of you.may God reward u.

I don't like ds woman.. So sorry Ibinabo bt don't jst fancy u.

You shouldn't be out dre at al. You should be somewhere in ur closet! Stop showing that wicked face of urs at every chance u get!

You killed someone out of ur carelessness (since u wre drunk while driving), got away cos u've got ogas at d top n then u are here showing ur face n causing the families of d bereaved untold agony n pain as d more they c u out dre d more they get sad for nt getn justice!

You knw u are guilty, jst take several seats!
Born again my ass!

MinimainiMO*

This goes out to everyone who has one shit or the other to say about her... Who made u guys judge over her, she's now a born again and God gave a second chance to make things right, the only way she can give back to the society that she once wronged is by opening a foundation and she, saying she went tru a lot wen she killed someone, she meant if she could have gone tru those pains she wonder what pains the doctor's family will be going tru n for her it was God's mercy that kept her all tru so pls stop critising every good effort someone wants to do. What have u too done to inpact ur society? Let's just pray she keep up to her promises not start wishing her all sort of things. Ask yourself if she were to be your sister or brother who had lived the life she onced lived who I have wished for her to be locked up in jail for life? Let's learn to love everyone equally. God bless u all.

Change is good and bad. We all learn the hard way or the easy way. She leaned the hard way. I think she derserves a second chance at making things better for others. I know the doctor didn't get a second chsace, but that is for God's jugdement. Let us give her s second chance because everything happens for a reason.

Olodo it is lately not the crap you wrote!

Olodo...it is commend not commended.

Eida said...

Exactly my thought! She's broke, looting on her mind.

Nice move Ibi,those of u condemning her shud stop it,she had made dat mistake in d past, noting can change it nd she gats 2 move on,wat do u want her 2 do if nt settin up a foundation like ds, abeg leave d poor woman alone joor..................Lydiaabby

KILLER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!