David Beckham announces retirement from football | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 May 2013

David Beckham announces retirement from football

After 21 years of playing football, David Beckham has announced his retirement at the age of 38. The footballer who is worth about $220million, captained 115 games for England, and played for Manchester United, Real Madrid, LA Galaxy, AC Milan and PSG. He's the only English player to win a league title in four different countries. In a statement Beckham said:
"I feel now is the right time to finish my career, playing at the highest level. I want to thank all my team-mates, the great managers that I had the pleasure of learning from. I also want to thank the fans who have all supported me and given me the strength to succeed. Nothing will ever completely replace playing the game I love, however I feel like I'm starting a new adventure and I'm genuinely excited about what lies ahead. I'm fortunate to have been given many opportunities throughout my career and now I feel it's my time to give back.'
He will now work as a sports ambassador.

71 comments:

wow! I am not a football fanatic but I dare say David Beckham was surely a great player.
He is done!
#A round of applause!

You have served football well! The only English man to win 4 league titles from different leagues- (EPL, La Liga, Ligue 1 and MLS cup) What a feat!
Happy retirement Beckham!

... and yes, its time to enjoy the fruit of your hardwork!

bitchplis said...

6 epl,2 fa cups,1 la liga,2 mls, 1 french league,1 champions league, 500 haircuts.David Beckham,not d most talented but the most blessed footballer...

Gistyinka Blog said...

Gudluck to you david beckham,pride of united.well life spend More trending news,gist and more here at www.gistyinka.com

MacAnne said...

nice!!

SOUTHERN BLOG BUG said...

This dude is a living Legend. Bravo!!

A true legend. This marks the end Of An Era:
Sir Alex Ferguson
David Beckham
Paul Scholes
Jamie Carragher
Michael Owen
Stiliyan Petrov
Michael Ballack, All retiring.

Tee B said...

Everyone is retiring sha. Arsene Wenger, how far?

Tips: How to Whiten your teeth at home

TheChronicled I like this man

oooh my husband!!! this man is HOT!!! Vicky is lucky!!

Good 4 him. Leave wen the ovation is loudest. There is sometin 2 learn frm this act which ever way u look at it

Eya!

Let the retirement game begin. Who is next?

SLEEKREEK said...

Good for him.....

Yes u r a legend. Bend it like Beckham. Just 1 word 4 ya 'FINALLY'. Just sayin...D Curious1

He is gunning for Man U coach #yimu.

That his life time goal

Did he win anything with the 3 lions? *thinking*

Oh I love me sum David.
2 sexy!
Grrrrrgggghhhh..
Billie jean

shai said...

A living Legend that's what u are Beckham! The only man that won EPL, La Liga, Ligue 1 and MLS cup..... U rock!!!

Congratulation

Oby Azike said...

About time, love! Need to make way for younger players

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

Wish him the very best

Bia nna! E nwekwa olu ozo? Abi Linda dey pay you to keep this blog busy. You're in every post. Ogini Di?
Julit.

Blackberry said...

To me he retired 5yrs ago......

End Of An Era:
Sir Alex Ferguson
David Beckham
Paul Scholes
Jamie Carragher
Michael Owen
Stiliyan Petrov
Michael Ballack
All retiring.

ANI SUNDAY said...

HE'S retireing not as most talented"BUT"BLESSED footballer.

Lmao! @ 500 haircuts...u kray!

lolng.blogspor.com said...

rich man

At last!!!

Fola said...

Respect to a true leader and role model in the game, MUCH achievement
minimal scandals,glorious career, perfect way to bow out.......hats off man

Retirement game indeed

Good for him oh. But u sure say nor be one force dey drive all these English players?

Chai!!!!! Nna see legend... Sexy footballer

④thمواطن said...

David beckham in one word #LEGEND

NG said...

Abeg go n eat ur money,alow oda up comin ones to mak d remainin money

lloyd oliver said...

We've heard that before... After he won the title with LA galaxy, he annnounced his retirement only to return and joined PSG.Well, I hope this time he has retired for good, because it seems the huge tax and ostentatious life this guys live coupled with the economic melt down all around the world keep making this guys return to football after announcing their retirement(e.g Paul Scholes).

D super hotness, too fine a man... im just too overwhelmed by his beautythat I'm short of words. Happy retirement Becks, the ffinest footballer ever!

soladunn said...

i guess hes paid his dues to football

amazing stuff on my style blog when u click

What a good way to retire.God abeg naaah bless me now so that I can also retire early in life cos all the efforts I have put into Lagos hustle don pass playing football for 30yrs sef. Good environment matters o. Enjoy your life man and look after your family including your two dogs.

Mimi

LWOW

To a legend I av come to know in football d only human blessed enuf and genetically designed to bend it like no one can. Weldone becks ur unmatched exhibition of great football skillls an sportamanship at its best aroused a penchant to d game. Truly no one can bend it like beckham

Oh yes he's been enjoying it.

Beckham once said "If you had told me as a young boy I would have played for and won trophies with my boyhood club Manchester United, proudly captained and played for my country over 100 times and lined up for some of the biggest clubs in the world, I would have told you it was a fantasy,". Foootball will surely miss your deadly setpieces. Wish you all the best Becks of Life

IkwerreBoy said...

please go... I'm not a fan of his soccer career dunno why but I like him as a person

Well done david u hv made football popular dan any1 in d world, u cn nw go 2 hollywood

Not the most talented but most fortunate and blessed player. After playing football for 21yrs, I think you've done well....You are good to go. All the best in your future endeavor

Oh David, i love dis guy so much, he's a big inspiration to so many youths...you have undoubtedly left indelible marks in the sands of time....football-wise. Wish you all the best in your future endeavour.

Great career, very media savvy and an icon of some sort. What a week of retirements!

Arsene W. Oya ur turn. RETIRE plssssssss

Oh shatap, wuh du u bloody no bou talent? Mtswww!

becky d greatest footballer in d history of succer. Master of freekicks n dead-fall specialist! i love u beckham d great! We all will mis u.

we ar waitin for yobo and aitegbeni and co. bravo legend B

Nice 1 beckham

Though you did not win a trophy with Milan, i will do this just for playing in the red and black jersey;
FORZAAA DAVID!!!
We Rossoneris will always love you... Goodluck!

Since the Boss, Sir Alex, is retiring I guess his boys need to follow - Scholes, Becks, Rio,... Only Papa Giggs has defied Biology. Enjoy, our dear No. 7!

Editor said...

Im don try sef. Kudos guy.

bigphemi said...

Baba(ferguson) retire all hin pikins sef D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ff A̶̲̥̅♏ retire...its Ϟϑτ̲̅ a smal tn

Oh i love this man, he has a good marriage and i repect that. God bless u Beckham, happy retirement!

Ohhh How i used to L♥√ع to watch David Beckham,he used to be so handsome(he still is) and skillful..Wow you ran good race in your career,you made yourself,your family/friends and most of all your country very Proud...welldone David!!!

PRETTY GIRL

Yeah he is done playing but thinking bout something. Right now there's space for coaching in few clubs. And some might need a legend like Beckham for a coach. Well lets just fold our arms and see what happens next.

True.
My husband b4 b4

True.
My husband b4 b4

David beckham is one of d most successful athletes of all time. his name sells tickets n jersey. He is a brand on his own without football sef. Even if he plays rubbish nobody is going to drive him away. I'm pretty sure he's walking away on his own

NEKS said...

Lwkm!!..it is well with your soul jare.

manymen said...

The actor quits the stage when the ovation is at its loudest. End it like Beckham. Great man.

Sure, One of the greatest of all time..A living Legend..I wish you can one day be the manager of our great alumni Man U..Wishing u all the best in ur future endevour.

Freekick maestro...I salute!

kestar said...

He iz indeed a wonderful player... He iz worthy to b named amongst d list of football legends!!!

kestar said...

He iz indeed worthy to b listed amongst football legends...

papilo is an uncle to dis guy in reality,when will he retire?,as for becks,dnt lyk hm cos he married my dreamgirl,.and he's tatoo freak,got 'bout 50 below belt*mtchew*

papilo is an uncle to dis guy o,wen wil he retire sef.as for becks am nt a fan,he married my dreamgirl and he's a tatoo freak,.and i guess hollywood invasion is next,watchout...can't forget d boot saga wiv sir alex at old traffold*great player my a** /mchew/