Michelle Obama mistakenly describes herself as a 'busy single mum' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 April 2013

Michelle Obama mistakenly describes herself as a 'busy single mum'

US First Lady, Michelle Obama raised eyebrows with her brief slip of the tongue yesterday Thursday April 4th when she described herself as a 'busy single mum' during an interview with a Vermont CBS station.

She caught her mistake immediately and explained: "You know, when you've got the husband who's president, it can feel a little single, but he's there,". She then described herself as 'busy working mom."

The First Lady was answering questions about the difficulties that working parents can have when they try to balance their office lives with their home lives. "Before coming to the White House, I was in that position," she confessed. "Working, driving kids to practice, not having enough time to shop or cook, not having the energy." You can watch the video HERE

104 comments:

moi said...

First???

Lmao shez learning 4m Dame!
Veev!

Okie atleast not only patience jonathan dey get slip of tongue

Oh well...i do hope it's indeed a slip of tongue. Or is there something brewing underneath the placid and calm facade of the white house? Well...aint nothing hidden under the sun.

Lucinda.

Just a slip of the tongue, well, propaganda lovers can dwell on it and magnify it out of proportion if they so like.

No last

*Smiles*.I feel her o.The nature of my husbands job makes me feel like a busy single mum at times.

Na mistake sha

Very smart woman,look at d way she corrected herself
Shows she's a REAR GERM.

hipsy said...

So no be only Dame tongue dey sleep, both michelle own too. Abbi she don drink water 4rm Dame cup?

The girls look gorg as always!

itsebunite.wordpress.com

Michelle "Dame" Obama!!

datsharpguy said...

OMG...so she has joined d league too. Am sure if Dame shld see diz,she wld b like tank God no b only me sha

Michelle "Dame" Obama!! Michelle "Dame" Obama!!

Mischievous said...

Lol @ Dame Obama, abeg abeg! U pipu should nt spoil her fine name. It shows she's smart to have corrected herself without any more blunders...

If na dame jona.now una haters go full everywhere

1 RULE OF A FLAT STOMACH CLICK HERE said...

hehehehehe stresss

Hopefully it wasn't a freudian slip and things are well in the Obama household!

June said...

She just called to tell me, Dame is her role model

Rear germ kwa? Na RARE GEM I know o! Lmao!

By the way,Lin u r on fire today o! Posting comments almost immediately. Keep it up! :)

Rear germ kwa? Na RARE GEM I know o! Lmao!

Nobody's above a mistake! She made one,The Americans are not printing Shirts, they didn't produce Songs because of what she said! But here, a General Commandant NSCDC made a mistake, people started doing all sorts, Nobody's perfect! We need to accept ourselves & forgive one another, Mama B

@ bonario, I tink it shud b “rare gem”

Tosin Swaggerlicious said...

Lovely family

Please visit my blog for daily updates
http://homesicknigeriangirlintheuk.blogspot.co.uk/

Bona! 'Rear germ' kwa?! It is rare gem oh

WTF ....#reargerm#???

@Bona germ,,,,,, or u mean gem? U are welcome

Oh well.....

Bonario Sax!!!!!

We all make mistakes.pls stop the critics.

olivia said...

Its a mistake dat she immediately corrected afterall,we are all humans n can make mistake

You won't blame her if you've got a very tight schedule as a wife and a mum coupled with a very busy husband that is rarely at home....it sure does fill single @ times (from experience)....in between, there's absolutely no basis of comparism btw Michelle and Dame P cos sleep and death are incomparable!

Rear germ??? Wtf!!!

@Bonario. Stop acting. You were the one who used the word 'stucked' sometime ago. Your English isn't perfect.

Hmm Obama needs to start praying oh! Especially with all the attempts on his life!

Mz.Yadrel said...

No be only GERM, na BACTERIA..........

Hahahahaha! Ur nt crious oh! Bona SaX

Olu said...

Of course the job of the president of USA is very demanding. With all the meetings and all worth not.
We perfectly understand you, Michelle Obama. Does anybody even think a very hard working president of any country will have time for his own family?
We are not talking about our self-proclaimed-once-shoeless-but-found-otherwise president Jonathan here, who knows nothing more than traveling all over the world enjoying himself while Boko Haram is raining havoc down our throats.

She's saying d truth.Wwomen wif busy hubby endure alot. Sometimes I feeling like a single mom cos my hubby is a busy bee.*wink*

jeffchika said...

All join...

Mama said...

Linda u are a big amebo.....and so what? Being married to the presido is like being a single mum tho Obama dey try sha......you other amebo s can go ahead and make a mountain out of a mole hill with your upside down mind....

Rear? As in bottom? Loool.

When it comes to the white. House, it becomes "a slip " bt other pple like dame and my Oga on top it becomes a national embarrassment. Y

Eze Chukwumereze said...

Well women can be very passionate about their kids, that they get carried away and forget that there is a man involved. It was mother's instinct that gave away the slip of tongue.

Uncle Bona Bona... You no dey quick forget sha! Rear germ!!#rotfl

LMAO. At least she didn't say she's a busy single widow *coughs* Dame Aso Rock you dey hear?

Shinelle said...

'Busy single mum', 'my fellow widows'.. All dis first ladies sef...

Its very allowed joor afterall our very own dame is a widow

sparkle said...

Out of d abundant of d heart the mouth speak. guess she is lonely too.

SUNSHINE said...

Smart woman.
I adore her.
Unlike our very own PGJ.
LOL

R u guyz slow? wat don't u understnd? 2 me she is a busy single mum cos her hubby is never around chikina!

Bonario such sarcastic sense of humor.. I got that.. Nice try by the way.. @Michelle obama's comment, its definitely a slip of the tongue.. #She's one of role models... I have a good list of them.. Considering adding Lindiweeyy.. *big grin*.. #Dr Kaodi#..

Na look we dey look, but they seem to be so in love, mean Obama n herself.

Pls visit this Christian blog www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com
It's a Christian blog that will enrich your life. God bless you.

Itz a mistake,itz nt a big deal nd as 4 u linda y dnt u lyk postin comments av I offended u?

She has said it. Perhaps there's something to it... There's no smoke without fire.

Patience Jonathan own no be slip of tongue...rather her own na tongue of mass destruction

Germ as in bacteria..

SMH

This i call sleeeeep of tongue.

And they said Dame is the only first lady that speaks blunder

A.R.K said...

Rare gem not a 'rear gem' @ bona .
It appears part of her true feelings leaked . There might be issues between her and her husband being kept off the public. In trying to correct herself she still made it clear she feels single (most likely lonely) sometimes .

ykay said...

Linda pls Stop twisting people's thought !!!

She must definitely be feelin like a single mum,b4 such words slips out,she's abit lonely too..eyaaa

Mass destruction lwkmd

Pascalboy said...

What is this rear gem of a thing that cannot be corrected, its rare and not rear@ bonario! Mrs obama is so intelligent to have corrected herself immediately!

30DB4FA6 said...

She immediately corrected her self hmmmm verry smart woman buht if Ω̴̩̩̩̥α shemhe wud leav it @ "dats all" less concern †☺ correct Ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇ gbagaun

Laffing seriously @' rear'. U even used capital letters! FYI, d spelling is RARE.@ michelle, slips r allowed jare, afterall u r human.

NWA LINDA-IKEJI said...

Linda do u know why Alamieyeseigha was granted presidential pardon, Goodluck was his deputy during his tenor as a governor, so why cant u imagine goodluck granting that bastard a presidential pardon.

Timmy said...

Great. @ prince charming. You comment jst to exhibit ur thesaurus perusing prowess. Pls, dis site isnt for show-off, make sensible comments, and most of ur big-grammars dont really fit in. Hope u get corrected. Timmy.

her girls are pretty

LMAO! Am sorry to say but that was one very Dumb mistake #DISAPPOINTED#

Pretty Girl

ejikebiggerdick said...

Hehe, Dame? I'll rather speak like Dame than learn frm Dame...Lmsao

ejikebiggerdick said...

One word ''EWU!''

Bona is joking about a love letter that said REAR GERM.. gosh u guys! lighten up jor!

Out of d'abundance of d'hrt...d'mouth speaketh

erica said...

Errr...ok.

U don't just make a mistake like dat tho..yet again it cud be a mistake or dere iz sometin goin on in the white house

ejikebiggerdick said...

HahaƠ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡☺Ⱦᵜ `°•.¸¸.•°` `°•.¸¸.•°` `°•.¸¸.•°``°``°•.¸¸.•° hohoho so funny..shoeless man sure finds it hard to believe his wife...can't be unconnected to bedroom activities

Pls loosen up...Bonario was just joking around and stealing quotes from Yemi Sax supposed "Proposal letter" where he said "Rear Germ"....Buslady

God bless you for getting Bonario's Joke jare...some people that didn't get the joke has started cursing him out...LOL...forgetful Jonzers...hehehehehehe..BTW...Linda please post my comment, its getting annoying abeg...Buslady

Rear Germ was a sarcastic Joke nah...haba!..

LMAO....you don't forget easyily Bona...lolzzzz....Buslady

Tania said...

Hey Timmy. Leave him be. How does his 'thesaurus perusing prowess' affect you? Getting a headache from it? You can skip to the next comment. #Just saying .

Tongue of mass destruction? DRY!!!

Does not even correlate. Rme
STFU!!!!

Nnenna said...

Omg..I dnt even wish 2b Dame

Nnenna said...

She speaks the way it touches her..sobs

Dis na wetin mr shem a.k.a oga @ the top for do during is interview e for shaply correct himself.

missy said...

My friend kip quiet dia!hw can u even begin to compare d two??mcheeww!

missy said...

For her to easily describe herself as a single mum..hmmm,hope she's not havin 'presidential stress' in her marriage sha.

missy said...

Just watched d video,I liked d fact that even after d 'slip' she corrected herself smoothly n still kept her cool...

If na Aunty patience now una fun don talk

Miss Turner said...

Bona knows what he is saying ”rear germ” and I understand too. Sax things lol

She can never be equated with Patience abeg,she said because of the work of presidency she feels like a single mum,having to do all the chores alone.

Eida said...

Can someone please enlighten me on the advantages of beign the first to comment? I still find it strange how excited people get about it.

What the hell is "All worth not"?! (to name one)
Why can't people write correctly on this site??!!
I sure hope these same people are not the ones complaining about the lack of employment opportunities in Nigeria.
And don't get me started on 'text- speak' it's ridiculous!

Hahahahahaha

Opirite Abel Briggs said...

You can see that making mistake is a natural phenomenon, everybody makes mistakes irrespective of who you are and where you are, so you people should stop making irritating comments about our first lady when she makes mistake.
Secondly, "my oga at the top" is also a product of mistake, not knowing how to place words at the right time...so Nigerians stop all these mockery of our leaders!

Mr Koboko said...

@Eida, they are brainless goats.

Eida said...

Mr Koboko, LoL @ your name.

@bona,it is owkai nw.stp tryng τ̲̅ȍ redeem ursef...we gt ur point(or we prbbly dnt) bt jez stop tryng so hard to lighten it up.mks us only more interestd

The RARE GERM used by bonario was gotten from the propossl letter written by Yemi Sax to his wife to be. How forgetful can y'all be? Make una free the guy abeg.

visit their website propecia online - propecia side effects help