Ekiti State deputy governor, Funmilayo Olayinka, dies of cancer at 52 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 6 April 2013

Ekiti State deputy governor, Funmilayo Olayinka, dies of cancer at 52

The Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Mrs Funmilayo Olayinka, has died of cancer. The 52 year old banker turned politician lost her battle with cancer today in Lagos. She's survived by her husband and three kids. May her soul rest in peace...Amen.

162 comments:

This cancer of a thing should take a break! Beautiful lady! Rest In Peace!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Cancer is a killer disease. Nigerians should be careful cause of their ignorant life-styles.

Dobis said...

Oh no! Sad sad sad! May her soul Rest in Peace!

Ehyah!!may her gentle soul rest in peace amen.

May her soul rest in peace.Amen

May her soul RIP......Amen

Wat a loss; May her Soul RIP and May God give the family the fortitude to bear her loss. May God be with the remaining of us.

May her gentle soul rest in peace.

OMG!!! may her soul rest in peace. so sad!

rest in peace olayinka

babakemi said...

a great woman goes home......sleep well

May her gentle soul RIP

chi said...

Wow!!! So sad...

So sad....May her soul & d souls of faiuthful departed, through d mercy of God,rest in peace.

Eyaaaaaaa! Am first yayyyyyy

Oke Igbo said...

May she rest in peace...

gistmode said...

Oh no...May her soul rest in peace, this is so shocking and sad.

May her soul rest in peace

may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace, amen.

RIP Mrs, such a sad way to die

may her soul resz in peace. it seems ds tb joshua prophecies for ds year is comin TRUE. HE IS A REAL MAN OF GOD

omotayo said...

Woow, Linda you are so fast. This woman died a while ago. RIP

Kelvin said...

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace >Amen

Will miss u Aunty Funmi. May your gentle soul rest in peace.

May her soul RIP. Amin

I thought I was first! *tears*

Dalington said...

May the soul of this wonderful woman rest in God's perfect peace .. you will be greatly missed

wenger02 said...

what a great los.may ur soul rest in perfect peace.

RIP ma'am... How sad. I pray that God grants her family the fortitude to bear the loss.

Whaoooooo may her soul rest in peace

Sapele Babe in Lagos said...

OMG! RIP

RIP maam

success said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace....no wonder her boss gov.fayemi hurriedly left d venue of d vanguard personality award event @ d eko hotel some minutes ago..........

May her soul rest in peace.

chai. beautiful woman. soo sad.

May she rest in peace she was such a lovely woman.

May her gentle soul rest in peace.

R.I.P

We luv u but God loves u more,RIP Ma

so bad..R.i.P FUNMI

Eh yah beautiful woman,rest in peace

RIP my DG #sad face#

*sighs*May God rest her soul and also free us of this killer disease

May her gentle soul rest in peace! Lord have mercy.

Why are you so insensitive?? Oh my God, you are so callous. I can't believe this... May you never weep over a family member. I just lost an aunt and you have the guts to say this? It shall never be well with you.

ikhuoria2k said...

What is going on in this country... E bi like say baba God don vex....

check my blog www.multigist.com

Just seeing the breaking news on STV. Governor Fayemi was still at the Vanguard Man of the year award to honour Rotimi amechi. Immediately I saw the news flash, I just knew that was why Fayemi left the ceremony before it ended.

May Her soul rest in perfect peace

casticsblog said...

Adieu,may your soul rest with the lord,Amen

Waffi Finest said...

Nigeria should enlighten ppl on Cancer awareness. these things cld be identified on time. lost my aunt to cancer too. may her sole rest in peace

DPTV | New Music Videos, Premieres, Concerts and Original Shows

@anon 9:10pm, download brain, if it is expensive, cancer is not a laughing matter.Respect the dead for once.

Wat a loss...I remember her well during those days of My NYSC. In ekiti..which pdp rigged in favour of dat short guy. Was an electoral officer then. May soul Ripp.

May her Soul Rest In Peace

Omg lord have mercy,no more death nau such a beautiful lady,she was an epitome of beauty,so so sad,RIP ma may God grant ur soul enternal rest,and may God also give your family,the entire ekity state the fortitude to bear ur loss,so sad

Mo'ona said...

May the good Lord grant her soul repose!

Prince of evil, Mr jobless..u are callous, ignorant, insensitive and demonic. Apologise for this statement cos if u have any fear of God in you, you would never make light of sickness or death. You are a disgrace to the womb that gave birth to you. And I pray you stop this rubbish before it gets too late for you.

Τ̅ђe rate @ which ppl die of cancer is alarming.

VIRTUOSITY19 said...

Ahn ahn...I thought it was just recently diagnosed, only just read about it a few days ago! Death!! May her soul RIP!

www.virtuosity19.blogspot.com

May God grant her eternal rest. Amen.

Wow beautiful woman in and out. Hardworking till a few weeks ago. May your gentle soul rest well.

Someone just died and u are happy to be the first to post a comment. You must be mad. RIP pretty woman. Life!

RIP mam,may God Almighy grant ur family the fortitude to bear this irreplaceable loss

baby said...

Omg rest in peace, this cancer is a deadly disease. My bf lost his twin brother to this, my grandma died of this,more research and monetary funds should be chanelled into the research of this killer disease, a little break should be taking off hiv. They shuld also look into genotype situations and oda issues abba.

May her soul rest in the bossom of the lord. May the lord grant the family fortitude to bear this shockimg loss

What a loss...R.I.P

How stupid can u be??somebody just died and u r "yaaying" over ur stupid God forsaken comment.oya collect biscuit na..ode!

Rip ma'am. May Ʊя̲̅ soul find peace with God, Amen

Rest in peace ma.Oh pls Linda,spread d word.chronic diseases are on the prowl.lifestyle changes must be made before we are all ravaged.do away wt junk food,mineral,too much carbohydrates ,eat more proteins,fruits and veggies,avoid open flame barbecue like suya,roadside chicken n plantain,bole,alchohol,cigarette most of all,pls be active.HYPERTENSION,DIABETES,CANCER....incurable,silent diseases dat lead to strokes,kidney failure,death.a word is enough for the wise. Dr olaspecial

Rip ma.,she was †ђξ mom of my ex-classmate lolade olayinka..God pls give her †ђξ grace to bear thee loss..Anen!

This guy ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇ soooo brainless

Wats up wit †ђȋ̝̊ṣ̥ first τ̲̅ȍ comment of A̶̲̥̅̊ thing?

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm may Her soul rest in perfect peace oooooooooo....

Oza said...

Rip!

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOSING WEIGHT AND BURNING FLAT TOMMY said...

I just saw it on AIT. It is well with the family.

You are so sick!
Someone died and all u are happy about is that ure first!
Get ready cos where ure going is hot,very hot!

Insensitive cow

What? Died of cancer? I'm shocked! She was a very close family friend! Can't bring myself to inform my mum, she wud be devastated!

GREAT love said...

So sad. RIP Madam

When we've finally had a solution for gender mainstreaming, cancer came knocking. RIP madam

RIP maam,am afraid of ds killer disease,i lost my elder broda's wife 2 ds disease last yr November and her mother 2009

Haaaaaaaaaa!!! Dis is a very sad news indeed yyyyyyyyyyyyyy dis hooooo lord, lord u understand dis lord u no de best may her soul R.IP and God will be wit de husband and de kids......

Abeg try 2 ignore dis pj of a guy.he will surely get tired.he enjoys it so pls let's not add 2 d fun he is gettin 4rm dis.RIP MA

God pls, help us with a cure for this deadly thing called cancer. What a waste. May her beautiful soul rest in peace.

Blackberry said...

Toobad it wasn't detected early..may her soul RIP, if cancer is detected early,chances of survival is high, women shud undergo mammogram regularly.

Haaaaaaaaaa!!! Dis is a very sad news indeed yyyyyyyyyyyyyy dis hooooo lord, lord u understand dis lord u no de best may her soul R.IP and God will be wit de husband and de kids......

Jsunzy2 said...

RIP! RIP!

Fast Writer said...

Am not happy. So sad.

Eyaah..... A star jst drop from d sky nau,RIP,a beautiful woman wit a beautiful heart .we love bt God Love u most.sleep in d Lord til we meet 2 part no more.o ka milara o

At least she was given the grace to ask for the forgiveness of her sins and accept Jesus which not all wld have So Don't jst write RIP, give your life to Christ.

Madness doesn't start wen u run around d street, it starts wen u don't kw wat 2 say @ d rite time u insensitive idiot!

U guys should pls give him a break..he is clearly a child trying to pass down his opinion the way he knows best.
He is probably trying to say a lot of people take medical checkups for granted and they never catch the cancer till its really bad.

@Roli said...

A great Woman has gone to rest,Lord Have Mercy,May her Soul RIPP

@ anonymous 9:38 Please stop being soo religious..why do u have to bring God into this.. Yest u have the guts to be sooo insultive..why not have the fear of God in your first and take back your insults..its soo unnecessary because he hasn't said anything that is to much.

So Sad,R.I.P!!!!

But really, we Nigerians have to take this cancer issue more seriously. We take it too likely!!

...my next locker neighbour, rest in peace...

baba sege...

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace ....We've lost an epitome of beauty ...

Madam said...

Shebi the first lady go rest now???
The competition was too much, all the and co dressing and all. It was like Feyemi had two wives.
May her soul rest in peace...
If na person do this one, your end will be far worse!!!

May her soul RIP.so sad

oh dear! I usually do not pity politicians but I sure do feel so sad for her loss. my heart goes out to her kids. rip maam

May her soul Rest In Peace, So sad

Gigantic putrid a-hole!!!

may her soul rest in prefect peace

What a gr8 loss RIP gud mum.

Are u mad?

#TEARS#

Don Collins said...

Two bad may her soul rest in peace

What he said is actually the truth. Do you want to see more people lose their lives to cancer??

Don Collins said...

I think Everybody shud be careful on how you live ur life cos dnt knw 2moro

Very deadly disease, lost my mum 10days ago to cancer, she just clocked 60yrs old, she went thru so much pain towards her last few days that she had to b jammed with numerous pain killers. RIP madam deputy.

blog troll said...

May her soul RIP

Simmiw said...

May her soul Rest in Peace

RIP...

Rip

My Aunty , my heart is so heavy!! Still saw you not long ago

It's really Sad, may the Lord grant her family the fortitude to bear this great loss, rest in Peace ma.

Politicians ought not to die because they steal public fund to do all sort of charms and carry multiple convoy to live long?death is inevitable.RIpieces

RIP Ma life is short went to school with her daughter

Seriouly, what did this guy say that is wrong now??? Nawa ooooo. Be like sum people cum here just for trouble

@anonymous 11:03 its not what he said.. its how he said it. Why say Nigeria no with their ignorant lifestyles.. so was madam ignorant or all the other thousands of people that lost their lives to this disease ignorant.. and were they only Nigerians. Prince Jobless you are the ignorant fellow here. Hope you drown in your bile of hate, ure obviously a bitter and frustrated individual, who feels bad cos u feel like a nobody. Jesus loves you even though no one probably does.

Make this cancer rest abeg. Clara Oshimhole, Mariam Babangida, my Aunt now This beautiful woman. May her soul rest in peace

Dnt worry u are the 1st...among the idiots!

winnyzinteriors-Great furniture deals!!! click to check us out/visit our showroom! said...

So sorry for ur loss.

Oh dear. This is scary. Lost my dad and one of my favorite secondary school teachers to cancer last year. You think of Steve Jobs, Hugo Chavez, it gets scarier. You think of those who detected it early enough , e.g Tito and Abidal of Barca and pray it does not prove stubborn. RIP Madam.

First ko, last ni. Lunatic.

Hmmmmmm. Vanity.

Sometimes you wonder how easy it is to detect some cancers early, e.g pancreatic, bile duct, ovarian, colon, even throat cancers. Long list when you think of all the parts of the body. According to the Enugu State governor, he was told it was nothing at first.

Very beautiful woman. Death be not proud. Death where is thy victory?. May the good Lord grant you eternal rest. Death has lost because henceforth it has no power over you. RIP

(S)He is Surely a mad fool

Too sad,may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Sorry for ur loss.

Anon 9.27, 9.38, 11.58 and others, pls relax. All the dude was trying to say was that people should me more attentive to their health. Cancer doesn't come in a day. It starts as something small and years later, it kills. I feel Prince Jobless was trying to say that Nigerians generally are ignorant when it comes to health issues considering what we are exposed to on a daily basis. May her soul RIP. Amen

Deji said...

I think what Prince Jobless wrote is not that bad, only the way of presentation is casual especially at this trying time for the family of the Dept gov of Ekiti state.

May her soul rest in peace!

may her soul rest in perfect peace

D toils and turmour in dat state sha...1 sad news 2 d oda. RIP MA

DADDYSWIFE said...

RIP Ma'am

9jagurl said...

May she RIP!

RIP Boss Lady!

I dont blame all these pple that come here to type 'first to comment' at the wrong time and for the wrong reasons. It shows how childish their brains are. Come to think of it, this blogsite is now so full of kids with shallow minds. they refresh every second and comment rubbish all in the bid to be the first regardless of the news at hand.
RIP madam, rest in the bosom of the Lord.

So rude of u... Think abt life death is inevitable be you a politician or not.Speak no evil of d dead. She's a great woman. Ask ppl dat av met her while alive.

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace, to all those people who made negative comments should be watchful of what they say or saying something they do not know anything about. Anyone can have cancer even YOU and even people with cleanest lifestyle

RIP in perfect peace ma'am. May the good lord give your family the fortitude to bear this loss. Please let us all be more proactive in doing our annual physicals and preventative care.

RIP MAAM.

She died in a London Hospital not Lagos.

@omotayo, the woman died yesterday morning

ARIANNA said...

Cancer is one of the worst things that's happened to mankind.
Plz ladies(and guys too) its always advisable to check up atleast once a year. Ever bothered why even the rich with all their money die of cancer? Sometimes its late detection especially cervical cancer(2nd most common) in sexual active women, which does not give any symptom until it's gotten to late Stage 3 or 4.But if detected early can easily be treated and same applies to Breast cancer which is the No.1 killer. Please and please the screening is so cheap and in some places free. Let's not die of ignorance

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. It's really sad she died this way. May God almighty grant her family members the fortitude to bear this terrible loss. She was a good woman.

OWEN said...

MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE. IS SUCH A GREAT LOSS.

May her soul rest in perfect peace.

Ekiti has definitely lost one of its finest. Our dear Deputy Gov, you will be very much missed. We love you but the Good Lord loves you most.

We thank God for the gift of you and of how you served our people with such diligence and grace. May He rest your soul.

Our thoughts and prayers are with your family and loved ones that you left behind.. Not forgetting our dear Governor. RIP Sis. It is well with your soul...xx

so sad, aunty funmi u were more dan an angel, so painful, still felt d pain when i visited uncle lanre, may your soul rest in peace, dis cancer is just takin precious people away, hve lost 8 people 2 cancer now

Such a beautiful lady ! May God grant her eternal rest and comfort her immediate and extended family. May her family never lack IJN.

Aunty Funmi.. ur death is too sudden for us to comprehend. You lived a an enviable beautiful life. The expression on Grandpa's face today made it more realistic that a hole has been bore in the family that no one can fill. The no dulling moment grandpa and ma are all torn and really dont knw if i can have them to be whom they used to be anymore.
Go take a rest aunty.. and may u meet with your God. Adieu.

Hello Debbie can you please help with places we ladies can do the cervical cancer test in lagos? And how much pls. Thanks God bless u

May her soul rest in perfect peace

Nigeriajobszone said...

Wow! cancer is slow killer

Pleaѕe lеt me know if you're lоοking fοr a writeг for yοur
weblog. Yοu have some гeally gоοd
posts anԁ I think І would be a
goοd assеt. If yоu evеr ωant to
take somе of the loаd οff, I'd reallу like to ωritе sοme content for уour blοg іn exchange for а link
back to mіnе. Pleаse send me an e-mail if intereѕteԁ.
Thanks!

Feеl fre to ѕurf tto my homepage :: memory foam mattress topper

This is a tοpic that is closе tο my heart...
Besst ωishes! Exactly whеre аre yοur contct details though?

Rеvieω my blog ... splendyr instant wrinkle reducer cream