Photo of the day: Homeless man feeding on sacrificial food | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 March 2013

Photo of the day: Homeless man feeding on sacrificial food

If you live in Nigeria, then you should be familiar with this. Often times we see these plates filled with food and left on the side of the road. It's called Ebó - a ritual offering or sacrifice as dictated by divination, which sometimes involves the offerings of cooked foods.

This homeless man was seen yesterday at Bakara Junction, Palm Groove, Lagos feeding on ritual food and even packing the rest inside a Nylon. Sad!

141 comments:

Are we going to call this poverty or what?

daniel said...

and our so called leaders are living the good side of life..

Eyaah!!! Atleast he saw something to eat.

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

It's freaking Nigeria so what do we expect? Lots of poor people down there. Anyways it's his life. Africa is really a dump tbh. This is just an eye-sore.

God will help him.

Why should devil eat all the food when man dey hungry! Lol!

Jeez!! This is overly gross on all levels! May God not let us be in such a state of impoverishment, IJN, Amen!

I will always give the little i have to those who are suffering, Lord, i just feel like crying whenever i see ppl in this state

Jeez!! This is overly gross on all levels! May God not let us be in such a state of impoverishment, IJN, Amen!

If na mad man, nothing wil happen 2 him.

Queen Bee said...

Abi now!
He's Thanking God for the food even if the devil had to bring it!

@linda I hope u get to help me out and not posting it only???

Hahahaha, and wen I was younger, I use to actually believe that the gods take the food o.

Sharp guy,ts sad though

lolo said...

If he is this low to eat ritual food,how lower can he go?nothing will happen to him, at least he saw something to eat.pray God lifts him up.so sad.

Lifeless gods, abeg eat d food jare.

Ritual my foot,bros relax make u eat even drink water sefl

Dats a manna from heaven sent to hiM.he should be the happiest man 4 that day

This is just sad...

9ja! Instead of giving these foods to the homeless they think is more appropriate to offer them to their lifeless-stiff gods that do not exist....may God have mercy on them.

CelebritySpook Blog said...

He has to survive somehow, doesn't he? If only the presidency could do something about the homeless, rather than spending billions of our Naira on dinner parties and resurrection parties, then this part of the world would definitely be a better place

Abii ooo. Psychotic bitch

And d liars will come n say d gods ve answered them by eating d food,nt knowing it ws eaten by a human like them

So sad! Btw,Linda post ur Daddy's bday pics nah *pouts

D food go waste if e no chop am.

@Lincoln Olalekan u are just a dumb head this man is said to be a homeless man.so why ask a dumb question like? Pfft

It's so sad to see that the guy has no other alternative than to eat the Sacrificial Food, and yet we have the Ministry of Poverty Alleviation in Nigeria, and so many other programmes splashed around everywhere in the name of eradicating poverty, yet people are still suffering this bad. That being said, this guy is obviously the baddest guy. #brown Lexicon#

abiola said...

The Ancestors Have heard the prayers of the person dat put the 'ebo' there

JustPorsh said...

Bad condition!

http://justporsh.blogspot.com

Ehyah pple are really suffering in this country. Lord Have Mercy!

Wetin em go do? As the gods did not come out to eat nko? That food will just rot there, so he thought he could save it. Lol

honestly it has gone out of hand and our leaders have forgotn there heavy promise during election

well d gods cant eat. why waste a gud meal? Abegi,knock urself out.

I don't blame him,who knows if d person dat offered d sacrifice has eaten before offering to d gods.

Bukky said...

There is poverty in d land and he needs to survive.

God help him...

queency said...

U don't have to blame him cos u don't know d kast day he has eaten........ Seeing dis is even a privilege for him, cos I don't tink a man dat is feeding and living well will want to do such. It is well with our country

And I hve not said thank u lord today. Lord u re more than enough for me

Eyaah na wa ooooooo
Gold help him.

Shame 2 dat god who eats d. Samething as I do but worst of all has neither d hands nor d money to cook himself a. Decent meal. Oga abeg chop d chop. U're a bigger god. 'for ye are gods'. I'm talking scripture.

Am short of words!!

Sharpguy,no dullin @ all

the person wey put the ritual food no try at all, i'm for put water or at least a bottle of soft drink to accompany all that food , what is this homeless man gong to drink now?

LOL @ Nigerians till clinging to their ancient superstitions! Who else do they think is eating the food they stupidly put out? Evil spirits? LOLLLL!!!! It has been wild animals and homeless, hungry people for years! Hahahahahahaha.

Belushress said...

Haa! U are the one seeing an homeless man, the man may be a spirit in human form, for all u know.

Nawao. God dey

Nawao, God dey

Ehn! Wen d ode's that put it dere stupidly believe their 'gods' will come and eat it nko? He is their god now...... Abeg leave d man make he chop jare.

And akwa ibom governor is giving tuface and wife two Toyota prado suv...may God help!

Wat a pity!

feel bad for him, may God come to his rescue

Na human being dey chop Ebo na,no be new tin abeg,all join,the Bobo sha see food chop...αnd the Lord shall supply all our needs,thus sayeth the LORD.

browny said...

I think he is a mad man frm d lk, no normal person Will do dat in Nigeria.

Lol...Humans go first chop before spirits....

RICH-WiFeY!!! said...

It's well......

Hmmmm may God help us from poverty!!!

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOSING WEIGHT AND BURNING FLAT TOMMY said...

YEA TIZ RAMPANT THIS DAYS

GREAT love said...

This is so bad, this country called nigeria some people go thru hell to eat, its common in some part of the country. with this It seems dis person has a mental problem.

Dr.Cee said...

they expected a god or an idol to come eat d food nah
#na him ma sharp guy come act as d god na#

Nothing go do am as far as he carry good mind chop d food nothing go happen 2 am.

W̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊t̶̲̥̅̊i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ person knw no,no go kill am...poverty is a raging lion...hmmmmm

who do you think eats all the so called "ebo" before? homeless and mad people of course and sometimes birds and animals. its time people who make the sacrifices know that it aint any spirit eating them or accepting them as they claim.#homelessmadbirdsanimalmustchop#

NEKS said...

Sad!!

I don't think d 'gods' are gonna come in human form to consume d food so hez doing the job on their behalf,at least d environment would have less waste.

Nigerian leaders hope u saw this,and how do u people even sleep at night.may God have mercy on u all

What's the wow for?

Maybe d sacrifice was ment for him.

Wat I pity

the same country where a politician just gave me $40,000 cash to fuck him... pele ooo, you should have been born a yellow paw-paw woman.

Ritual wat?!!!! Do all these things still exist ? Stone age peeps.

Oyee mashara said...

And the fools that put this on the roads will say "Ebo ti Gba" because it plates are empty. What a life of lies those fools live. I only pity the homeless that feed on these.

Wat a pity

d gods provided him food,so let him eat jare

JSBunny said...

Hunger don make am damn the consequenses!

Absolutely nothing will happen to him. Pls they should continue so homeless people will keep seeing food to eat..mcheew

Only in Nigeria

http://ajetun.blogspot.com/

Manna from above.

Dr. Pinch said...

Please what else will you call it? The guy never chop and he sees free food to eat.what a silly question, do you think if he lives in ur kind of house, drives in your kind of car and eats your kind of food, he will prefer to eat ritual food? It is poverty and nothing else.

knightslaurel said...

and the ritualists will be happy that the "gods" have accepted their sacrifice. powerless gods that's what they are

Our churches should do something about this. http://www.studyclue.com/

And a governor is giving cars out to tuface and his wifey

My friend, somtn don do am already - for him to evn stoop so low

wetin black man no know e no go kill am

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL free goat head pepper soup!!!!! My father (when his was young) told us stories of how he used to drink the HOT drink kept in the shrine in his fathers house!!!!
Crazy dude, needs help *sad face*

The worst solitude ȋ̝̊̅§ to b destitute of good leadership: Nigerian ȋ̝̊̅§ a country full of selfish A̶̲̥̅̊₪d̶̲̥̅̊ greedy leaders, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ W̶̲̥̅̊ȋ̊ƪƪ surely turn a deaf ear to dis. Nawa O☺oº˚˚˚

Wat one does not knw, does nt kill him

Sm over christian people do dat bt dat is aru. Abomination.

Ogasah said...

Nice post. Reminds me of when I was a teen in GRA Benin; my buddy and I would ride around on our bikes and collect money left at crossroads. Soya money we called it. Lol. And no I am not mad or dead or crippled. I may be doomed to die but who isn't. :)

The bad side of life in a system called capitalism (Aside): what would happen to this man? NOTHING! The followers of this 'faith' should take note!

Terungwa blogs @: akaahanterungwa.blogspot.com

Yet president Goodluck and his government are busy throwing parties and building multi-million naira houses. Smh.
In other news, Linda have you heard that Oscar Pistorius is on the verge of committing suicide. Its all over the news. Quite sad!

Even stray dogs eat them.

xavier said...

Lmao@belushress,spirit my foot....u stil belong 2 d stone age...hahahaha....dats y d whites r advancing more dan us,all dis spiritual balderdash won't get us very far..ebo sha,abeg e...nonsense...its ur boy xavier

Please let's stop judging our leaders all the time. What have we done to help these people amongst us. I remember wen I was very lil, my mum will cook food and take us with her to apapa to share food for the beggars there, that was how I truly learned 2b a giver in any way I can. If we want to see any change, it starts wit the man/woman in the mirror

Greenmomma

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Eeyah!!....sorry man, God is going to deliver you from satanic bond. I'm so heartbroken. How I wish I could help him.#sadface#.

Some of these people are from neiboring countries!No means of identification.Its rare for a Nigerian to feed on such. Linda pls post my comment.

nahmebiko said...

The man is already mad... so there's nothing the food can do to him that hasn't already been done. Well done, ojare! Better than allowing the food to rot and waste.

...I wonder

Gozzy said...

It's jst sad...dre are a lot of pple like dis.

Aah might not necessarily be poverty, I went to an FGC nd I knw two or three students who ate such. They'd even buy bread 4rm d mini mart if the 'ebo' happens 2 be solid pap(eko) and akara. They'd throw away d 'eko' and ve a nice feast of bread and akara and call it food 4rm d gods

abeg make d man eat the food person dey hungry food dey waste, if the country is ok will the man do such picking food by d road side, God will help him

Amen oo....

Its quite sad to see him eat that. May God never allow us be in that position.

But my issue is Nigerians.... this happens everywhere (in the UK, Americas,etc) so please before you criticise your government, think well. It is through your comments that the world gets an impression of you and judge you based on that.

HealthWiseNigeria said...

Please check out my blog www.healthwisenigeria.blogspot.com

Confused.com said...

What is wrong with the poor eating it? Surely if you leave food out for some Sango or Yemoja you don't expect the deity to personally come down to consume it with fire or water? It would naturally be eaten by those less fortunate as expected??? And hence you have done a good deed?

Why would one expect the food to remain uneaten and rot?

bubblytgirl said...

hardship plenty 4 naija o God help us

Anon10:20, u're d dumb one, like serzly do u dribble bullshit automatically or are ur thoughts processed in any way by ur neo-cortex? I really pray ts d former b'cos if its d later then God help you. Will remember u in ma prayers

Fake! My father once told me heat ate one of the so-called ebo when he was a poor kid. He did not believe in all these superstition, and he lived till a month before his 80th birthday! - If you are a Nigerian, one of the first thing you need to defeat is FEAR that comes with our culture

itunes said...

dont blame d man.. hes just fightin 4 his precious life

SAD!!!

God help us o

God don butter him pray, "give us this day our daily bread..."

So its nw d fault of d govt dat a poor man picks fud by d road side?cn poverty b totally eradicated?NO!aint eva possible....ur extremely hungry witout moni or any means of gettin sumtin 2 eat,u see dis kind free fud 4 road,no chop oo,dey luk d fud make hunger kill u or beta stil wait 4 d govt 2 come n spoonfeed u.peeps b blaming d govt evry lil tin.Nigerian govt don suffer sha,na wa oo

Well u ryt. I agree wiv u, unlike Billie Jean dt is sarcastic but wiv humour and intelligence. Ur sarcasm brings out d stupidity in u.
Start to make reasonable , well balanced opinions.
#stevebond007

Riley said...

You said it Linda, sad indeed!! So, instead of showing your so-called celebrities and their new cars which nobody cares for, why not use your platform to highlight the plight of such issues in your country, challenging people to do something about it. Remember, it all begins with a little drop.

tozounited said...

HALF BREAD IS BETTER THAN FULL CHIN CHIN...LOL

Vivian Maduekeh said...

So sad...Although a lot of us have food to eat yet its not safe for consumption
Join the fight for safefoodandwater in Nigeria.
www.safefoodnaija.blogspot.com

Wetin concern our leaders and person wey chop sacrifice now? Nigerians love shifting blame. How many homeless people hav u fed or given a job? We don't hav d best leaders in d world but they're not to blame for the inability of the average nigerian to help his less priviledged brother. On the last day God won't judge d leaders for ur actions, He'll judge U

Ode,afta dey go don remove 50% of ur lifespan!no b only 40k dolls!ole omo

Prince jobless, u're entitled to ur opinion, even if ur opinion sounds like it was formed in a hollow mind, inhabited by rodents, it's still an opinion.

I'm sure d presidency is also to blame for bad weather. How many homeless people hav u given food or shelter?

Leaders dis leaders dat,hw many pple can d govt satisfy...d moron talkin abt naija n Africa,doz homeless dat live in graves n eat 4rm dumps r dey in naija?...pathetic bozo

Which one is only in Nigerian? So there aren't any homeless people outside nigeria abi?

Stevolala said...

He is the Irumole. The food is really
meant for him.
So the sacrifice has been accepted by the gods.

I'm sure d presidency is also to blame for bad weather. How many homeless people hav u given food or shelter?

40,000 benjamins for ur cunt alone or is he buyin somtin else....nw u neva kno say ur moda inlaw na winch abi?pity!gr8 pity

Lol... thats what yoruba movies did to us

Thanks dear.@ Greenmomma

There are homeless pple everywhere in d world even America nd d UK. So stop blabbing

U so silly even is the UK there are loads off homeless pple even pple with homes who eat from d gabbage.
Silly little boy

Free de man who see food make he chop,na. Him luck

Bunmi said...

It's not a new thing na,
As a kid , I know many young boys who used to eat it steady....especially the egg.
Nothing dey happen

Linda, you sometimes use my comments for scarifies. It's okay, as far it makes you rich.

Sharon Sexy said...

Wtf is dis,poverty is a disease,May God him ijn Amen.

food na food as far as de space 4 ur stomach which de worry u don fill thank Baba God 4 His provision no be everybody wey live 4 house sef de eat dat kind food.Nna m nke bi n'eluigwe dalu oru.

Classic looooooooooolz!!!

owen nduka said...

Uhm, deres a caption dere sayin "homeless man feeding on scrific........" Nd also a picture so y are some peeps still askin jamb questions nd talkin trash...if he doesn't eat it, huz goin to.....na d "so called gods" or u?? Abeg pack well ma oga eat confirm!

peks said...

O boy dis guy don mad o

Its not a mata of stupidity, its crystal clear dat he is a hungry fella. No 1 wuld dare do dat in publik if d condition hasn't gone haywire... He had no oda choice. Its time fo us all to help d needy in our li2 way, let's stop d habit of ' I don't care' while som spent unnecessary bills on liqour, gamble, parties all in d name of popularity. Dbst popularity u can gt is to help d needs...good reward coms afterall.The only person who will lead dis country to a satisfactory status is he who God himself appointed. The truth is, d reach fo d reach and d poor fo d poor. God Bless Nigeria.

dont get it twisted its the gods eating their food...

Peculiar Magazine said...

this is poverty of the highest order lol

THAT MAN IS CRAZY......... ONLY A CRAZY MAN WILL EAT EBO O

Alaga Michael said...

what do you expect na today him don dey use am as him food alaga-donjuan.blogspot.com