Nigerian man jailed 14yrs for trafficking teenagers from the UK to use as prostitutes across Europe | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 March 2013

Nigerian man jailed 14yrs for trafficking teenagers from the UK to use as prostitutes across Europe

A Nigerian man has been jailed for 14 years for his role in the 'horrific' ordeal of two teenage girls being trafficked via London to work as prostitutes in mainland Europe.

A court heard Odosa Usiobaifo, 35, from Enfield, north London, was involved in a 'significant' organised crime gang trafficking young women for the purposes of sexual exploitation.

Usiobaifo was arrested after two Nigerian girls missing from local authority care in London were given false passports and tickets and placed on a flight to Spain.

The two Nigerian girls, seen at Heathrow Airport

The 35-year-old, who had collected the girls from a pre-arranged meeting point before they were given the false documents and put on the flight, was found guilty of conspiring to traffick for the purposes of sexual exploitation following a four-week trial at Isleworth Crown Court.

He had pleaded guilty to conspiring to facilitate illegal immigration earlier in the trial. 

The court heard the girls, aged 14 and 15 at the time, had previously been stopped by Border Force officers at Heathrow Airport separately on September 17 and November 23 2011. Both were using false passports which indicated they were adults.

They had arrived on flights from Lagos, Nigeria, and were attempting to travel on to Paris, the trial heard.
One of the girls was refused entry to Spain and returned to the care of authorities in UK, the other is still missing

During interviews with the Serious Organised Crime Agency's Vulnerable Persons Team it became clear that the pair were being trafficked to mainland Europe, via London, for the purposes of sexual exploitation.

They were placed in local authority care but on 6 April 2012 were reported missing to Sussex Police by their respective foster carers.

Investigations revealed that contact had been made with the girls and Usiobaifo had collected them from a pre-arranged meeting point before they were given false passports and tickets and placed on a flight to Spain.

One of the girls was refused entry to Spain and returned to the UK, where she remains in the care of the UK authorities. The other passed through Spanish border controls and is still missing.

Odosa Usiobaifo is seen walking through Heathrow Airport in this image
Usiobaifo was arrested at his flat in Enfield on 3 September 2012 alongside his partner Katie Igha, 25.

Last Thursday a jury found Usiobaifo guilty of all charges but acquitted Igha of trafficking. They failed to reach a verdict on a charge of conspiring to facilitate against Igha.

Senior investigating officer Jonathan Bush, from the UK Border Agency's Criminal and Financial Investigation team, said: 'We believe our investigation has disrupted a significant organised crime group suspected of being involved in the trafficking of young women into Europe through London.
'The ordeal these girls went through was horrific and tragically one of them remains missing.
'Working with Border Force, the police and SOCA we are determined to do all we can to stop the abhorrent crime of trafficking.'

Chief Inspector Jo Banks, who led the Sussex Police investigation into the girls' disappearance, said: 'This was a joint investigation with the UK Border Agency that led to the identification of Usiobaifo, and after a complex investigation showed his involvement in an organised crime group with the aim of trafficking young women for sexual exploitation.

'The two girls went through a turbulent ordeal, clearly aware of what was intended for them, and under the control of the traffickers. We will continue to search for girl who remains missing.'
A joint UK Border Agency and Border Force investigation, codenamed Operation Hudson, has involved law enforcement agencies in Britain and abroad. It is targeting a number of organised crime groups suspected of trafficking young women, via London, for the purposes of sexual exploitation.

Source: Daily Mail UK

76 comments:

ALEX said...

Hmmm.... Nawa ooo

Haba edo boys not again! When will u stop dragging naijas name in d mud 4 heaven sake.if its not 419,its prostitution. If its not child trafficking,its drug peddling. Haba y now! I have said it b4 n i will say it again my sista will never mari an edo man.God 4bid bad thing! 1st 2 comment sha

Abeg τ̅ђe tori too long. 'Nyway, gud τ̅ђe law has caught up wit him

Look at his reptalian eyes! Mtcheeeew!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

The UK is filled with Nigerian prostitutes. They are everywhere; most especially in Pubs and hotels. Thank Goodness, maybe this would serve as a warning to other idiots who plan to venture into prostitution.

Smh! All this are the things that amount to making that Nigerian passport an eyesore to foreign authorities, obtaining a visa to another country from Nigeria is something else, I just pray our Nationals in the diaspora change from all this, because that bad stereotype would rub on the innocent Nigeria folks out there too.

Thunder Fire u. Spoiling our name.

Izykel Folaranmi said...

this man deserve to be hang cos trafficking is inhuman he does not deserve to live again

Hmmmmmmmm Edo peeps n prostitution business!u can't f***kin stop em

Yes because he has commited a crime now he is a nigeria had it been dat he won gold in d Olympics he would have been british. Fire burn dem bloody hypocrites

Benin people sef...smh

This is just sad.. Hope the teenage girls are safe tho. ***sherryl***

See him face sef......criminal.

This is just too much for one country....Nigeria this Nigeria that hmmmm

I can't say anything now, before I say one and my oga at the top will say another... Ww.idiot.Daz all! #straightface#

LOL!! UK sha with their soft sentencing. If na here in Yankee that dude will get Life imprisonment!!
With 14yrs in the UK he'll be out in 7yrs with good behaviour. Thats beans! 7 years in yankee is for attempted robbery. Attempted oh...not even that u did it lol

Dis man shld have bn sentenced to more dan 17yrs na haba!!!.PRINCE JOBLESS where art thou

miss dejavu said...

Horrible

Rudeeladiva said...

Nigerians SMH!

Vanessa said...

Why can't the authorities arrest those that actually pay for the services of these poor girls forced into prostitution? Without a market, evil men like these won't be able to do this.
I know that prostitution is legal in some countries, but arrests should be made on those that use TRAFFICKED girls!

Best way to make money online said...

Hmmmm, naija man again. Wat is happenin to ma beloved nd fellow citizens of naija. Pls let's embrace God nd we will have d strength to overcome al sorts of temptations. http://visitors2cash.com/ref.php?refId=74982

Yomslaw said...

Is that agent Jack B apprehending d guy?

And he has a girlfriend, and she knows what he does and she is with him. Women, have u no shame? You frolic with yahoo yahoo, cocaine pushers, ritulalists because of your insatiable tastes for the good life. Before anyone attacks me, I am not referring to the women drake or ne-yo sang about in their respective songs. Big ups to hard working women who don't condone criminality just to live the good life. And to the useless man who decided to facilitate in the prostitution of little gals, I pray they label him a sex offender so that hs image will be tarnished and then they should deport him back to our dear country where he will get raped in kirikiri prison by other sex starved men

When they first caught the girls in 2011 why didn't they deport them back to nigeria ? Why keep them in Uk under foster care when the girls have parent. Abegi. The girls want to be prostitute because they knew what was happening and after the first trial and failed attempt, they still went for the 2nd fake passport . Mweeech.

He deserves life jail.

SENATOR BREEZE said...

14+35=49....well, not too bad for him, he can stil get a second life. I wish dem nak him like 35 years so by D time he come out, he go don grow grey hair and weak to start all over again. Stupid fellow!

DownUnder said...

I hope they are not treating those girls as victims because they were very aware of what was happening and consented to it.

HK said...

He should be shot in the hand... he's a traitor

@anon 11:09. Its lyk u r so an educated illiterate. Hw cn girls of dat age wants to be sex workers if nt pressure 4rm dia madam? Pls beta think b4 u write next tym!

Benin people never fail to show themselves all over the world. Truly sad. SMH

The girls are probably Edo girls since Usifo is from there. Fucking around is their stock and trade. Incidentally these girls actually knew what they were about to get into and actually went all out looking for it. The way I see it, it's actually the girls that have used the guy. Unfortunately the daft guy is going down for it. The guy na Okpe.

happyigbotiger said...

I know edo pple will not be happy when they read d story and see d guy's name lol

Dis is wickedness,he deserves life jail

It's a disgrace that oyinbo's have to protect nigerian women from useless nigerian men involved in trafficking..what happened to our own police na?

Lool. Nigerians causing chaos everywhere

Stupid man. I hope he serves all 14 years. That should slow him down. Once he comes out in the year 2027, UK officials should deport him back to his village, straight.

mrolajyde@gmail.com said...

As usual,some of us are so wicked that we insult vunerable victims who made a wrong choice,but still suffered in the long run.
Some of us nigerians seem to enjoy seeing other people suffer to the point where we cant just shut our evil nasty mouths.Instead we have to open up and scorn and make fun of another persons misfortune.
It goes to show where our problems really lie deep down.
WITHIN OURSELVES.

Loooool, i get. Its d nscdc guy.....best video yet. Daz all

Feel free to show d world how ignorant u r. Ur stupidness obviously knows no limit. U shld search for more of this stories in uk news websites nd u will half understand y dis girls cnt run u idiot. Every yr in d uk at least one EDO guy is jailed for dis.

Ignorant fool. U shld ask y they didnt do smthn nd since linda didnt put it up u research it urself b4 u come online to disgrace urself. Linda's posts r nt bibke verses u know, she cnt post everythn

Uk law means he will only serve 7yrs dats half of his sentence and may come out early if well behave in prison

Lol!that man is just an embarassment

Queen Bee said...

With all the say no to trafficking campaign thru movies,jingles and all,why won't pple just turn down dis offer of 'I am taking ur daughter abroad to school' ...its obvious they are all lies!!!
Its quite unfortunate that some families have been deafened' by poverty and blinded by covetousness!!

Y re u so dull,must u attack a tribe afterall the heading is a Nigerian man not Edo man

quickest way to make money said...

Sharrap, is it not wen ur sista finds d husband dat she will marry, dnt bring curse upon ur sista, 1 man's sin does nt speak for al, evry man for himself. Repent frm ur myopic tinikin cz it cld hav been any1. U dnt knw wat u ursef myt be tempted to do in d future so broda its nt hw well u stat bt hw well u end. Cheers

fatima said...

Foolish man. They'll use his own daug too. Rubbish!

Am not proud of my country,always one bad news to another

Hahahahahahah haba why we dey blame d man?? D blame shld start from d girls parents in nija esosa don bulid house for GRA wen u omoredion wan go abroad go bring moni come build house too esosa knor be ur mate?? So dos girls are fully aware of wat dey were goin to do with approval of deir parents dats just d sad story for edo parents and deir girl child not all edo peeps dou (calabar girl say so mbok)

Agbaya like you!which tribe aint corrupt?mumu answer me!

wazobia said...

Stupid tribe called Edo..it"s in there blood.

Chypeppy said...

I support you bros

Edo pple KWENU!!! Others de do Oº°˚ but mennn una too much for bad things IS there no labra work, lezzy ppls with currupted minds, see boko killing ur bros n sis for north, E no do u, u still d kill ur yonger once of 14 yrs. Repent my EDO frnds. DD

U're ugly sha

Nigerians are just making it more difficult to travel arround the world freely and with respect. Pple like ds nd many more hve wrecked nigeria nd think they can do same with the uk, hmmnnn you may not be caught now but you will be caught some day. There are so many countries dt does nt want to see the Nig pprt. Ie Australia nd some states in d Us but God will help our country.

Peculiar Magazine said...

chai 49yrs not bad tho lmao

peculiar said...

Nigerians keep destroying the country's image globally why?

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

Gbenu oshi so un...ode shi! So bcos of one man sin and few odas inclusive now means all Edo/Benin pple ar bad also or dat dey also indulge in such evil practice(s) huh?

U dnt Hλ√ƺ to generalize ur judgement ok oda tribes too including where u Monkey comes frm too also have dia own lapses too....infact ΐ†̥ƨ not abt tribe ok itz an individual thing, oda tribes too also indulge in this shady deal too!

And btw...Edo pple sef no need u n ur sisters ok...if una no gree marry dem, beta pple dey wey dey die for dem! Isi-Ewu!!!

"The good i wish to do i do not do,the evil i do not wish is wat i do.Miserable man that i am".Said the Apostle Paul.Imperfect blood running in us all.Hmmm.

@ Wazobia...8:32 AM, UR OWN TRIBE IS STUPID. THE EDO TRIBE IS NOT STUPID AND HAS A RICH CULTURE. THAT ONE EDO MAN COMMITTED A CRIME DOES NOT MEAN ALL EDO'S ARE BAD. PROUDLY EDO AND BINI.

I'm telling u, this country is slowly crashing...we need some serious cleansing, even war torn countries do. Produce the kinda mumus nigeria is manufacturing

--Teeteelahyo--

The fake passports should be traced but when it involves people related to the police evidence is squashed like tomatoes. Sometimes, they are stolen passports. The British police are not as honest as they used to be.

Henry Yarhere said...

What is happening with Nigerians in the UK?

Let get talking.since edo ppl ave being stigmatize with ashawo,the yoruba,igbo women in uk.dey do same ashawo biz,clean mouth enter house.the igbo,yoruba women.wen dey go dubai,say dem wan go buy goods.oh I hear you.no be ashawo dem dey go do.even for naija dem no dey hide am.abeg remove d sand from ur eye first.I am proud to b edo precisly bini.

Or-Say said...

The problem Nigerians have is within us Nigerians. I can count how many times I have seen an Edo name for bad things. Its mostly other major tribes, but why is this different? Just see how we use our tongue to condemn our own fellow tribes (Nigerians) if its Ibo or youroba I dont hear or see insults.

With people like you guys in Nigeria, there is NO MOVING FORWARD.
I live in the states, and I most say the people I am ashamed of is not the person who does the crime but the people who condemn. Mehn!!!! Nigerians.

For y'all turning it into an Edo matter, I have news for you. Come to Benin on a weekend and out of 10 weddings, 6 are non Edos coming to marry a Bini girl.
Everybody knows that, a Benin girl once married stays faithful. I cannot say that for many tribes.
As for the Edo girls prostituting in Europe, they are mostly young, illiterate and come out of very impoverished conditions. Most of them before they are taken outside the country have never visited Benin City, talk less Lagos. I have never seen any Edo girl fresh out of youth service saying she wants to go to Europe to prostitute.
And if you say what about runs? Tell me any tribe in this country whose university daughters do not do runs.
And yes I am Edo and I have traveled the whole of Europe, seen these girls, felt embarrassed, but consoled myself cause I have never seen any that is educated. Am not justifying human trafficking or child prostitution, but there is a context to the business. We hear the same stories about Eastern Europeans, Chinese, Thai etc. crime does not come from any tribe, religion or race.
Linda time to elevate the minds of your readers.

Or-say u have not been reading this blog at alLllll coz if u have u would have noticed how igbos r routinely talked down

May god punish after the uk police r done wit u bastard!

Pls pls Benin gals are notorious for prostitution. Fact

Hhahahhaaa haba dats harsh noww hhahaaa

Abeg eee. Don't say day ohh. Even after Marrige dem still dey waka waka

@Anonymous 12:31AM,SO THERE ARE NO PROSTITUES FROM UR TRIBE OR SHOULD I SAY NO LADY UR TRIBE SLEEPS AROUND OR HAS A SUGAR DADDY. I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW UR TRIBE. IF U DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY, KEEP QUIET......PROUDLY EDO AND BINI

Dem still dey waka waka after marriage as say Yoruba or Ibo?

It is funny how shallow minded ppl re, am glad d guy. Was caught but to conderm all edo ppl is like a sinner stoning d biblical prostitute. Am a proud edo/bini pretty babe who is married to yoruba. If my hubby didn't deem me fit he wouldn't have married inspite of myopic ppl like sm of u. Bini women re forever faithful but can anyone say that for majority of yoruba ladies? Infidelity is a way of life to them and even their men don't mind. So which is worse? Infidelity by a yoruba married woman who does d act for cos she cant say no or close her legs to her nighbours hubby frnds or prostitution by a young edo girl who wants to get rich quick to help her farmily . Not that she is loose but the quest and greed in their community

Why was my comment not listed

anonymous xanax side effects getting off - xanax generic online