Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 11/25/2012 - 12/02/2012

Friday 7 December 2012

Photos from Omotola's reality show official launch

It held on Wednesday December 5th at Wheatbaker Hotel in Ikoyi. More photos after the cut...

Mint Scandal: N2.1 Billion Worth Of N1,000 Notes Missing

From Leadership
The board of directors of the Nigeria Security Printing and Minting Company (NSPMC) met yesterday over the scandal that rocked the establishment where it was revealed that a whopping N2.1 billion of newly printed N1,000 notes have mysteriously gone missing.
The board meeting, chaired by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) governor, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, decided to expand the investigation and audit the production of other currency denominations to ascertain the quantity of money that has actually gone missing over the years.

Wendy William's shades Beyonce

Two days ago on her show, Wendy made a comment about Beyonce that some of the singer's fans aren't happy about. Wendy said Beyonce sounds like she has a fifth grade education...

Wendy was talking about Beyonce's new documentary on HBO when she remarked,
"I am a Beyonce fan. I'm gonna be watching this documentary cause fortunately one of the TVs in our kitchen has closed captioning so I'll be able to understand what she says. You know Beyonce can't talk. Beyonce sounds like she has a fifth grade education. She can't talk. Honestly. We really do have the closed captioning for times like that."

Man Allegedly Ressurects After 7 Days In Mortuary

For those who believe such stories...enjoy...:-)
He was murdered. After about seven days of inquiry into his ‘death’, his relatives went to the mortuary with a coffin to take his body but were shocked to find him alive. Lazarus Oluwafemi Agbolahan Makinde, now an evangelist shares his story.
To hear him, especially through the telephone receiver, you must be determined and very patient. The first time this reporter called him, the impression that initially came through as the voice was barely audible, was that he must have been tired out or had some ailment. It was indeed difficult deciphering the near whisper.

Sunny Neji gives I-Phone 5 to TASUED student on his birthday

Music star, Sunny Neji penultimate week gave out the new I-Phone 5 to Wole Fagbenro, a fresh graduate from Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) on his birthday. The music star called for birthday poems on his Facebook and Twitter accounts with the reward of the new I-Phone 5.
Wole emerged the winner of the poem competition and has been presented with the phone. This was the content of his poem;
"Many have come claiming to be Mr. Fantastic, but nothing ever rivals to a classic. Through the changes, when many remained static you showed great consistency and went unchained.

Bisi Ibidapo Obe shows off daughter

Sambo Asks For Extra N9b For New Home/Office

The Senate Committee on the Federal Capital Territory has rejected plans by the Federal Capital Territory Administration to spend additional N9bn on the provision of infrastructure at the yet-to-be-completed residence of the Vice-President.

The committee, which visited the building site in Abuja on Thursday, refused to accept explanations from FCTA officials that N9bn more be sunk into the project.
Chairman of the Committee, Senator Smart Adeyemi, who led members of his committee to the site, said such a huge amount was unjustifiable in the face of abject poverty in the country.

Opa Williams off to India for surgery

Nollywood producer and founder of the comedy show.."A Nite of A Thousand Laughs" Opa Williams, has gone to India for surgery for an undisclosed ailment.
Let's all say a prayer for him...

Fred Amata finds love again

Years after ending his relationship with actress and current AGN president Ibinabo Fiberesima (they have a daughter together), Fred Amata has found love again. The actor is in a serious relationship with Mor Okonkwo, a single mother of two in her early thirties.

Fred and Mor met about a year ago in the US...but only started dating a few months ago. I hear they are already talking marriage.

Mor is a Soul/Jazz artiste who used to live in the UK and even contested in singing reality show - X Factor UK a few years back. She's currently a management consultant and also runs a catering company.

Man accused of killing pregnant lover

From  PUNCH
The family of a lady, Gloria Akpan, has accused their daughter’s lover, Ita Eyo, of killing her in his residence in Ayobo area of Ogun State.
Gloria and Eyo both from Akwa Ibom State had been cohabiting since March 2012 before the sad incident occurred on November 3. The lady was six-month pregnant before she died.
A family source, who craved anonymity, said when he spoke to Gloria on Friday, a day before her death, she told him that all was well, adding that it was shocking to learn that she had died the next day.

Iyanya's Kukere breaks record for downloads on callertunes in Africa

Kukere has broken the record for highest download for a single caller ringback tune. 3 million subscribers across Nigeria in just a few months....and counting! No Nigerian artist has hit one million, so this is a huge feat. Iyanya got a huge cheque from MTECH yesterday...

Johnnie Walker Men of the Year award taking place this Saturday

Johnnie Walker the world’s Premier Scotch whisky is partnering with Mode Men for this year’s Men of the Year Awards.

This year Mode Men will be having its 5th Men of the Year Awards and it will be hosted by Stella Damascus and Chris Attoh.

Mode Men promises that it will be a night to remember and plans are in top gear for the event, which is happening on 8 December 2012 at the Oriental Hotel in Lagos.

Mr and Mrs Ekeinde at launch of Omotola's reality show

Omotola and her hubby pictured at the cocktail launch of her reality show - The Real Me, which held on Wednesday December 5th at the Wheatbaker Hotel in Ikoyi. Hoping to bring you pictures from the launch party...

INEC De-registers 28 political parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission yesterday Thursday December 6th announced the De-registration of 28 political parties.

Find the statement the agency released below...
"In the exercise of the powers conferred on it by the 1999 Constitution (as amended) and the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), the Independent National Electoral Commission has today, Thursday, December 6, 2012, de-registered the following political parties:
1.  African Liberation Party (ALP) 
2.  Action Party of Nigeria (APN)
3.  African Political System (APS)
4.   Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)
5.  Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)
Why were these parties de-registered? INEC didn't say. See the remaining 23 parties after the cut...

New Music Premiere: Drey - My Time To Shine

His name is “Drey”, signed to REVOLUTION RECORDS as a producer and musical artist. His uniqueness in production (dreybeatz) is the future of music.
Inspired by the likes of Timberland, Neptunes, Ryan Leslie, Ryan Tedder and many more, Drey has sworn to redefining music production in Nigeria, Africa and the world.
Besides music production, Drey is an amazing Rap artist whose lyrics are to die for. Drey is here to stay and his new single “My time to shine” Ft: Houston Grey is a testimonial to this.
Drey would like you to listen to his first single below...

Thursday 6 December 2012

Rita Dominic's The Meeting enjoys positive reviews at the cinemas

Following a show stopping movie premiere last month,The Meeting is exhibiting its true potential again as a crowd puller drawing remarkable reviews from moviegoers since hitting the cinemas last weekend.

For the cinema audience, it has been sweet romance since the movie hit the cinemas in style, large number of them have been showering accolades on the cast and crew of the popular movie.

Nice try, Rob!

Very predictable Master Kardashian. Now he's claiming his tweets were not about Rita Ora...and blaming the media for assuming it was. Below is what he wrote on his twitter page, which he has since deleted. In fact he has wiped out everything he's ever written on Twitter...
Just so we are clear I never once mentioned ‘Rita Ora’ in any of my tweets or even used the word ‘whore’ and I never would. I Respect Women.
Sad that the media created negativity for a young artist new to the game that is working so hard to make it. Never mentioned any names.
I speak truth. I'm a very Real dude and everything I say I mean…But never called anyone specific a whore and said any names. You all did."
Nice try, Rob! Meanwhile, Rita Ora has explained the reason they broke up. See it after the cut...

Abacha loot:Switzerland has returned $700m to Nigeria- Swiss envoy

Nearly 15 years after the death of General Sani Abacha, Nigeria’s former military ruler, the Swiss Government has said that it has so far returned to Nigeria the sum of $700 million stolen by the late dictator and deposited in several Swiss banks.

The Swiss Ambassador to Nigeria, Dr. Hans-Rudolf Hodel, announced the figure at a media briefing in Abuja on Tuesday.

Hodel also hinted that his country had begun proceedings in Geneva against one of Abacha’s sons -Abba, for allegedly sponsoring a criminal organization but did not give further details.

See Genevieve Nnaji as a 2year old

I got the photo from her Instagram page. She uploaded it there with the caption - back in 1981

Gabriel Aubry suicidal over Halle Berry?

From The National Enquirer
Halle Berry’s former beau Gabriel Aubry is so desperate to win her back that friends fear he’ll kill himself if he’s frozen out of her life forever – and leave a suicide note blaming her for everything.
Gabriel’s heartbreak is the shocking reason behind a vicious, bloody Thanksgiving Day brawl between the spurned male model and Halle’s fiance Olivier Martinez, say sources. “Gabriel’s crying all day and saying he can’t go on without Halle,” a close family friend told The ENQUIRER. “We’re really worried he’s going to do something drastic.”

The Lagos Christmas Shop Opens!

The most wonderful time of the year, Christmas, is here again and we are pleased to announce the opening of The Lagos Christmas Shop at the Silverbird Galleria, Lagos.

Since 2006, it has been The Christmas shop’s custom in Abuja to provide an amazing one stop Christmas shop to help our discerning customers create an idyllic Christmas atmosphere in their homes and offices.

The shop has now decided to share the experience of the last six years, for the first time in Lagos.

Eti Osa-Lekki-Epe Expressway: Tolling to commence at TP2 Dec 16

Lekki Concession Company (LCC), has concluded plans to commence tolling at  the Conservation Plaza (TP2), the second toll plaza situated along the Eti-Osa Lekki-Epe Expressway between Chevron HG and Oluwa Nisola House, with effect from 12am on Sunday 16, December 2012.

Toll tariffs at the Conservation Plaza will be the same as the Admiralty Circle Plaza
Okada - N50.
Authorised commercial danfo buses - N80
Salon cars and tricycles - N120
SUVs, minibuses, pickup trucks - N150
Light trucks - 250, heavy trucks - 350

If you'd like to cuss anybody out for this toll, then please call - 0800 22 555 22.

Mikel Obi signs new five-year deal with Chelsea

John Mike Obi has signed a new five-year contract with Chelsea, tying him to the club until 2017.

Wankathon: Masturbation contest held in China

It was actually held to celebrate safe sex on World AIDS day on December 1st, nevertheless, it's disgusting! Ewwww! lol. 

The organizers said the contest was to celebrate HIV risk-free sexual freedom and and it was sponsored by sex toy manufacturer, Aihuirun.

10 male participants wore masks to hide their identities and hid their genitals with buckets where they would eventually ejaculate into. If you can comfortably masturbate in front of nine other guys then...search yourself! :-)

New Video: Asa - The Way I Feel

Innovative Global Heineken® Bottle Berths in Nigeria

Whatever Heineken® engages on it does with innovation and style in line with its premium quality and packaging. To this end, the world’s leading international premium beer has just unveiled its new global bottle in Nigeria. The brand, which constantly looks for opportunities to set new world standards to provide its consumers with utmost quality, did not disappoint as it held a spectacular World Premiere of the bottle at the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino in Lagos which attracted high net worth personalities.

Wednesday 5 December 2012

Tonto Dikeh kinda apologizes to Yvonne Nelson for stealing her man!

These actresses and drama. Lol. See Tonto's full tweet after the cut...

RIP Aluu 4

Exactly two months ago, on Friday October 5th, four students of the University of Port Harcourt were brutally murdered in the Aluu community. We are still awaiting justice for them! Rest in peace, guys!

Iyanya breaks Yvonne Nelson's heart, dumps her for Tonto Dikeh

This is not rumor o. Its fact! Iyanya's four months relationship with Ghanaian actress Yvonne Nelson has ended. The two went their separate ways after Yvonne found out Iyanya was also involved with another actress, Tonto Dikeh. The relationship between Iyanya and Yvonne started in July this year and ended about a week ago. The one with Tonto, well, Iyanya and Tonto have been friends for a while, but they started getting real close in the last couple of weeks...

Yvonne has been venting on Twitter all morning...see more Tweets after the cut...

Enebeli Elebuwa dies in Indian hospital

Former Actors' Guild President, Segun Arinze, has confirmed the passing away of veteran actor, Enebeli Elebuwa in a hospital in India.

Mr Elebuwa died in the early hours of today Wednesday December 5th in the hospital in India where he was flown to a few months ago by the Delta State government to receive treatment for an ailment. He was 65. Truly sad! May his soul rest in peace. Amen.

Music Meets Runway taking place December 24th. Get your tickets today!

Lagos are you ready for the biggest show of the year? Following a successful Music Meets Runway 2011 edition, the show that brings you 10 Designers, 10 Artistes all on 1 Runway is back and it is going to be bigger, better and even more expolsive. You don’t want to miss it!

Music Meets Runway (MMR) is taking place on Monday December 24th at the Expo Centre, Eko Hotel & Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos. Tickets are limited, so get yours today!  

Continue to see how you can get your tickets...

Vice President Namadi Sambo to get a N2billion home

Our Vice President is getting a home worth N2 billion from the government of Nigeria. There's a N50bn budget for the Federal Capital Territory and N2bn, according to the FCT Minister Bala Mohammed, is going into the construction of the official residence of Vice President Namadi Sambo, while N300 million is for the construction of the official residences of Senate president David Mark and his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu; the Speaker, Aminu Tambuwal; and his deputy, Emeka Ihedioha.

So my question is; if they are building new homes for these people, where were they living before now? First a N2bn 150-seater banquet hall, now a N2bn home for the VP. This is the priority of the Government of a country where more than half the population live on under $1 a day. #Standingovation

Oh and Julius Berger is handling the home construction, with 20 months as completion period.

Comic actor Victor Osuagwu set to wed longtime partner

Victor Osuagwu and Roseline have been together for 13 years and have four children together but they didn't really officially get married, though he paid her dowry a while back, and I hear there might have been a court wedding, (not really sure). But anyway, they've decided to make their union official, as they will be getting married this Saturday December 8th (white and traditional wedding) in the bride's home in Choba, Port Harcourt. The wedding will hold at St.Paul's Anglican Cathedral, Diobu, Port Harcourt, while the reception party would hold at UPE primary school field, Choba, Rivers State. Congrats to them.

Beyonce bares her pregnant belly in documentary teaser video

Beyonce announced last week that she was partnering with HBO to release a self-directed documentary about her life. Yesterday, she released a sneak peek, complete with her bare pregnant belly shot. See the video after the cut...

Mrs Folorunsho Alakija is the richest black woman in the world?

That is if you believe Ventures Africa, an African business magazine and news service. According to them, Oprah Winfrey is no longer the richest black woman in the world, Mrs Folorun Alajika is. Forbes said in November that the billionaire oil tycoon is worth $600 million, but Ventures Africa put her worth at about $3.3 billion. They said her 60 percent stake in a $10.74 billion oil well is worth $6.44 billion.

VA also claims that Mrs Alakija's real estate portfolio is worth over $100 million, and that she acquired a property at One Hyde Park for $102 million, and also owns a Bombardier Global Express 6000 jet which she bought earlier this year for a reported $46 million.

See their full report HERE

Iyanya and Emma Nyra's hot new photos...

See more photos after the cut...

"I can't stop using cocaine' - Majek Fashek

"People must talk. But they make you popular; that's the truth. You cannot fight the press, you cannot fight the media. They are the ones that will tell people what is going on, so I cannot fight the media. They said I'm crazy, I use cocaine. Well I still use cocaine. I dey blow my nose, I dey smoke my igbo. As I speak to you, I have cocaine in my pocket and in my house. I still dey use am. I can't stop. How will you play music with a 'normal eye'? You can't be a good musician playing without getting high. Pastors dem dey high too. The truth is that you can't be on the human level and give the message. The humans are looking up to you, so you must be super- human to live up to their expectations." Majek Fashek

Mike Adenuga donates N500 million to flood victims in Bayelsa state

Nigeria's second richest man, Dr Mike Adenuga yesterday Tuesday Dec 4th donated N500m to flood victims in Bayelsa State.

Yes, you read right. N500 million. And his son, Paddy, is still single. Just thought to put that info out there *cough*. So, anyway back to the report, the Globacom chairman gave the N500m draft cheque to a delegation that visited him at home yesterday, including the governor of the state, Seriake Dickson.

Dr Adenuga said he made the donation to support the on going effort to rehabiliate and resettle flood victims in the state. Our only hope is that the money is used for what it's meant to be used for. Bayelse government, we are watching in 3D glasses..:-)