Some group wants Beyonce to drop her $50m Pepsi deal. Una try! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 December 2012

Some group wants Beyonce to drop her $50m Pepsi deal. Una try!

The Center for Science in the Public Interest is urging Beyonce to drop her $50 million deal with Pepsi because soft drinks contribute to obesity and other health problems in children and adults...

An open letter from the director of the CSPI to Beyonce,
Beyonce you have  a unique position in the cultural life of this country and are an inspiring role model for millions of young people.
Your image is one of success, health, talent, fitness, and glamour. But by lending your name and image to PepsiCo, you are associating those positive attributes with a product that is quite literally sickening Americans.
Talk to the hands...in Beyonce's voice. Hehe. See the rest after the cut...

I imagine that it must be hard for anyone to turn away $50 million. But this endorsement deal strikes me as particularly inappropriate, considering your popularity with America's young people and the extent to which Pepsi and other sugary drinks promote disease.
The New York Times attributed to you a statement that this endorsement agreement allows you “to work with a lifestyle brand with no compromise and without sacrificing [your] creativy.” It seems to me that this deal is actually an enormous comprise. In fact, I would characterize this as an even bigger compromise than your accepting $2 million to perform at the 2009 New Year’s Eve bash thrown by Hannibal Gaddafi, the famously violent son of the now-deceased Libyan dictator Muammar Gaddafi.
You realized that that arrangement was in error and wisely donated those proceeds to charity, I respectfully urge you to reconsider your arrangement with PepsiCo. If you move ahead with your promotional activities, you may wish to consider donating your proceeds to a hospital, diabetes organization or another reputable charity involved in the prevention or treatment of soda-related diseases.

73 comments:

If I hear!! They should go and educate people on how to control their diet and leave Beyonce to continue making her money jor!

Big money and morality don't go hand in hand.

Mtchewww, ONI serious gan

Stupid!she's nt telling anyone to overdo so....

I refuse to continue reading *angry who ever wrote dat letter is an agent of badluck nd destruction he/she doesn't wnt her progress 4 she to drop a deal of $50million God punish devil nd yes am taking it personnal dat person is wicked

kobikes said...

The poverty stricken director should collect seat here ...*\___...
If he knows he wants to help with prevention of these soda related diseases, he should fight for the companies to be shut down & leave Beyonce alone. #chinch

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

Hmmm!!! As if they would turn down the offer if it were them..or have they forgotten that every human(celebrity or not)has his /her own problem to cater for.anyway its up to beyonce to decide

Femiluv said...

"I imagine that it must be hard for anyone to turn away $50 million." No kidding! They should go and sit down abeg

dona said...

heheheh.....hmmm health ke on top 50 million, beyounce no mind them joor abi they will pay you 100m

this is pure trash....the Americans should watch what they eat and drink...if Beyonce jumped into fire..would they?!!!

Who would turn that kind of deal down?Haba! There's nothing like too much money joor....

Chinenye Rita Ifepe said...

This is laughable..that's like saying Cadbury should stop producing chocolates because kids are suffering from toothache. Mba!
That's someone's means of livelihood

How come its now that Beyonce got d endOrsement that they all of a sudden realised that coke n pepsi is a manufacturer of diabetes? Hypochrites! When Madonna had it they kept quiet. Let me tell u folks,so many processed foods and drinks cause diabetes and cancer! They know abt this,but they allow big business lobby to get their way! Fools!

CSPI does a lot of good policy work ... let them be. It is watchdogs like these that keep companies and government accountable

WAEC NOV/DEC 2012 RESULT HAS BEEN RELEASED, CHECK IT HERE said...

Bad belle people. Abeg they should leave her to make her money. What nonsense.

Sounds more like telling R Kelly to stop f*cking underage girls.

beewhy said...

Hahahaha this must be a joke! And what is Beyonce's problem with people who take stuff in excess to the extend of obesity... Mtcheeew abegi beyonce should tell them to talk to the hands jor.

This is for Bona my man.I know you will be here soon sssoooooooo kisses and no long thing... you are my dbanj for sure.

June said...

No reasonable reason!

Haba!I no blame them.Beyonce too has a funny posture.can't u see d droppy tummy?but I can't leave a 1Mill let alone 50!

BLOGLORD said...

Am just imagning someone telling me to drop a 50million dollar deal.
ehn? if i hear am?
Na that time i go know say my enemy don get mind show face for my front de talk. the holy ghost koboko wey i go take flog am no be here.

Joy Kaduru said...

This your face ehn. Na wa

hotmum said...

With or without her endorsment, American kids will still drink and get obesed. So they better let beyonce make her $

Lmao!!!its already signed,too late!

Whoever that wrote that letter is clever by half. He/she wants to use cunny cunny to make Lady B to give charity some money. You have failed!!

Linda don't say that u forgetin its not nigeria she might drop it if it makes sense...plz don't compare her to our nigerian celeb.live from ATL

ohnyee said...

abeg this people should gerraway joor.

Chrisbrizzy said...

They should go and sleep and leave her alone. 'Your image is one of health, success, fitness and glamour' I am not her fan but this has certainly drawn me close to her. Celebrities should learn from her and Brandy.

Hi Libers, talking abt soft drinks I had a bad experience wit one, few days ago I bought soft drink and saw some very dirty particles inside de drink and dis is nt de first tym its actually de third tym, first tym I saw cockroach inside my drink dats after I'v taken almost all of it I treated myself, after few months I bought another drink and saw some dirty particles inside and I returned it, n now dis one again all 4rm same bottling company. Pls libers wots ur take on dis issue, pls no insults.

No b small tin o, God punish devil, shey na diebetis patient she b ni, abeg mak dem lock down 50 million dola no b moi moi o

Warri Girl said...

Bad belle people. They should watch what they eat and drink not blame beyonce

Sometimes I wonder if it's money that divulges us Nigerians of thinking a little. Just a little. Linda, you too. Infact, every system gets the type of leaders they need, bc these leaders come from the.. My point is that if we can't think of nothing much beyond money then we are in for it.

People look up to Beyonce, so many young black ladies want to be like her. And when she endorses something, to an extent it makes it trendy. She herself, how many of those does she consume - little if at all. In developed countries all sources of obesity are cheap, way cheap. Eg Macs etc. Even New York state had to stop sales of soft drinks in big cans/volumes.

Next, can someone pls look @ d current increase of kidney failures, diabetes, cardiovascular disorders in Nigeria. Every week/month, we are called to help someone. Go to hospitals and see the thousands that didn't call for help and are dead. 10/20 years ago, it wasn't this bad. What changed? Somethings among which diet and exercise is prominent.

She has d money, but believe me, so many people will die bc of it. Esp, as that product get larger access in developing markets and countries.

Hmmm I no fit shout o....

Ok as a brand, "Beyonce" has never represented or spoken of any health stuff.. In fact she has come up to say stuff on how much she loves soul food, chicken and others dat people would regard as fattening.. Dis director should just go and sleep and stop spoiling somebodies market jo..

True.. But Beyonce doesn't have anything against d drink.. I want to think she even drinks it from time to time.. So they shouldn't try and put her on the spot

One word*jealousy*

Damie Alabi said...

Happy for beyonce jare. They can like to protest abt the endorsment.make d pepsi sha reach naija cos me I want to drink from it.obesity or diabetes make dem drink \'agbo\' local herbs

Dee said...

LINDA NO NEED TO EVEN READ THE COMPLETE STORY THE HEADLINE IS ENUF FOR ME, NA REAL TALK TO THE HANDS #INJENNIFER'SVOICE...THEM DEY CRASE??? NO BE 50NAIRA WE DEY TALK OH $50MILLION ABEGI MAKE DEM CHOP SAND AND STONES BIKO....

Queen Bee said...

What's that?
Cigrattes have been dangerous to health from time being,
infact the only satisfaction it offers is addiction!
and pple have been promoting it!
y haven't dey stopped the production?but rather dey will say 'smokers are liable to Die young'after every ad.
So if Pepsi is that dangerous' they can give a caution 'Pepsi is dangerous to health' and let the woman be!
Silly talk out of selfishness and envy!

miss pepe said...

YEYE TALK

this is daft.... every human being has what is called a WILL....Even God doesn't force his will on us( and God is the BIGGEST celebrity in the world), he shows you the way and leaves you to make a choice. this is why true Christians say not MY will but yours Lord. Beyonce is selling a product, you have the will to say yeah I'll take it or NO i won't.

Duke said...

If she drops it Rihanna will do it and those that will drink will still drink, so they should leave her to eat 50mil, that one they want to do is enemy of progress afterall she has already done a job for pepsi b4. Abeg beyonce no gree.

God punish devil! can u imagine dat? Aguo gbukwegi bu Director of poverty. No be only drop d deal mchewwww

SUE JORDAN said...

OH PLEASEEEEEEE....

Beyonce, my girl don't mind them they're enemies of progress. PepsiCO was there since, is it now dat they realised dat it's diabetes?

$50 millions for integrity and to save the life of others ooo....what am i going to do ooo...

YINOTINTO said...

these Americans and their nsogbu. things that dont ever happen in Naija. anyone can promote anything as far as good money is involved. America i hail thee!

It is a parent's duty to watch what their child or children eat and drink. It is not Beyonce's duty. Beyonce's duty lies with Jay Z and Ivy Blue only. Beyonce, collect your 50 million dollars jare. Bad belle people.

Did she tell them her second name is VOLTRON - Defender of the Universe? I laugh in Chinese.

This Beyonce too greedy sef, shebi she's rich

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

Linda this is a very straight forward bizness jiggas wife is a business woman let the group offer her 5om and she will drop the deal wit Pepsi.
idiots 50m na beans

Yes she must use the money for charity ahahah, isn't she a role model

Queen bee said...

This girl na thief ooo, 50 million ke, dollars for that matter

Buhahahaha, so funny

Just Me said...

she dosen't have to drink it all. she can have a sip nah and dash the rest out and say she is an ambassador of face of pepsi. Free the sexy mum, she knws what is best for her.

IVORY CHI said...

BUSINESS IS BUSINESS

BIKO THESE PEOPLE SHOULD LEAVE BEYONCE ALONE!!!

LET HER ENJOY THE FRUITS OF HER HARDWORK AND LABOUR

Bad belle pipo! If I hear...

cicy said...

Shut up, Rug rat!

Linda post my comment

Sometimes I wonder if it's money that divulges us Nigerians of thinking a little. Just a little. Linda, you too. Infact, every system gets the type of leaders they need, bc these leaders come from the.. My point is that if we can't think of nothing much beyond money then we are in for it.

People look up to Beyonce, so many young black ladies want to be like her. And when she endorses something, to an extent it makes it trendy. She herself, how many of those does she consume - little if at all. In developed countries all sources of obesity are cheap, way cheap. Eg Macs etc. Even New York state had to stop sales of soft drinks in big cans/volumes.

Next, can someone pls look @ d current increase of kidney failures, diabetes, cardiovascular disorders in Nigeria. Every week/month, we are called to help someone. Go to hospitals and see the thousands that didn't call for help and are dead. 10/20 years ago, it wasn't this bad. What changed? Somethings among which diet and exercise is prominent.

She has d money, but believe me, so many people will die bc of it. Esp, as that product get larger access in developing markets and countries.

cicy said...

Poverty stricken "Queen bee", pls get a life!

Queen Bee said...

Kk now...dia is anoda profile name Queen bee,issorite!
Don't u tink its cool if u get a better name?
nyway I see urs with a small B',so there is a difference incase u post more fucked up comments Dan mine', dey will know it isn't me!
And u cicy?don't u have any other thing to do dan follow after pple's comment and abuse dem?
You are obviously stupid and dumb dats y you never hav anytin to say Dan come after others.and even ur insults are not creative enuf!so improve on it, u hear? Foolish fool!

What's Your own? Mumu oshi.. Comment on beyonce's deal and leave her the hell alone! You fine,na im we no see Your face? Gorrila!

GbengaGOLD said...

The sad thing is, for too long, Coca-Cola and Pepsico have allowed themselves to be blamed for the epidemic of obesity that has struck the West. Laziness and a complete neglect of healthy livestyle is the cause of obesity but these groups want sugary drinks to take the fall.I say the big beverage makers unite on this issue and take a solid stand on the issue. Ask Americans to take their own lives in their hands and learn to exercise more. Stop blaming beverages

If to say na taylor swift get the deal dem for write this yeye letter?drop ko drop ni orobo if u like drink pepsi if u no like drink small stout.

Dey r mad! If Soda contributes to obesity, den dey should refrain kidz from drinking it and start makn dem drink water abi ewo loshi. Go on soun Beyounce, notin do u!

They are not putting her on the spot and they do call out other celebrities from time to time. we think beyonce was singled out because Linda ikeji reported her own

She signed an agreement with the organisation to encourage obessed kids lose weight. So its not like they are complaining.

Pls linda how much r they offering her to down the deal. Enemies of progress

To and fight your gun laws and not Pepsi. Pepsi is ok if in moderation like everything else.

Ebelebe. So if queen b drops this deal, people would stop drinking Pepsi and obesity will be exterminated? Ezi okwu

most of the people that comment on linda ikeji's blog are too stupid and ignorant to know that just because 50 mill is involved doesn't mean you should give up your morality. the person who wrote the letter has a point... she is a role model, whatever she does and support people will follow consciously and unconsciously...

Chop Chop said...

Let CSPI write JEJ that looting affects the quality of life in nyja. Linda, alafia lo?

lol

You are the stupid and ignorant one