Nkiru Sylvanus & Kenneth Okolie's kidnap: open letter to IG of police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 December 2012

Nkiru Sylvanus & Kenneth Okolie's kidnap: open letter to IG of police

An open letter to the Inspector General of Police, Mr. Mohammed Abubakar, from friends and colleagues of actors Nkiru Sylvanus and Kenneth Okolie

Dear Sir,
Nollywood Actors' Kidnap: Please bring our colleagues back home for Christmas
We write to formally inform your esteemed office of the kidnap, last Sunday, December 16th, of two of our colleagues, enterprising entertainers, Nkiru Sylvanus and Kenneth Okolie. The two actors were in Owerri, Imo State, shooting a movie when they were forcefully abducted by masked gunmen. Some hours later, the mindless abductors contacted family and friends of Ms Sylvanus especially demanding a N100m ransom. Up till now, we cannot fathom the rationale behind their kidnap. And their abductors have advanced none.

Perplexingly, about five days after this untoward incident, no concerted efforts, as far as we know, are being made to rescue these hardworking and patriotic Nigerians who sweat and toil to bring joy into millions of homes and hearts across Nigeria and the globe. Indeed, it is sad and heartbreaking.

It is even more worrisome and befuddling considering that these actors’ kidnap is coming just days after the Police, under your distinguished leadership, valiantly and commendably went all out for the kidnapped 82-year-old mother of the coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister for Finance, Dr (Mrs.) Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala. The result, as we all know, is that Prof Kimene Okonjo was returned home hale and hearty, thanks to the Police, your Police. Are Sylvanus and Okolie lesser citizens? Are they no longer Nigerians who you should be bothered about their safety and wellbeing? Don’t they deserve the kind of police attention that Professor Okonjo got? Does kidnap have another name? Or, has Nigeria been reduced to George Orwell’s Animal Farm where some animals are more equal than others?

We, the Friends of Sylvanus and Okolie, do not think so. We just believe that you probably are swamped with protecting the lives and property of Nigerians during this yuletide season or you are not aware how important they also are as law abiding citizens of this great country.

Sir, Ms Sylvanus is one of the more popularand proficient role interpreters in Nollywood (Nigeria’s globally acclaimed movie industry) with a catalogue of seminal movies that have shored up our rating as a filmmaking nationin the last 15years.Worthy of mention is that it is because of actors like Sylvanus that the Nigerian movie industry has achieved so much reverenceand renown globally. Apart from her acting career, she is also a notable philanthropist who donates as much as she earns to motherless babies and widows.

Mr. Okolie, on the other hand, won the Mr. Nigeria contest in 2010 and went on to represent Nigeria at the Mr. World contest where he was second runner up. In his own way, he has flown the flag of Nigeria in pride on global stages. He is also an actor and singer and model. He is willing to do more to further make Nigeria proud but he can’t do anything in captivity.

It is in the light of our apparent helplessness that we decided to write you this letter to please deploy the same audacious expertise and refined gallantry that have become the hallmark of the Nigeria Police under your watch to bring our colleagues home to their families and fans. Of course, you know sir, that these young Nigerians cannot afford anything near the ransom being demanded and we are scared that if something is not done fast, we fear the worst for Sylvanus and Okolie. That is why we are counting on you sir.

As we earnestly await their return, we hope that you would please, use your office to evolve a winning and redoubtable strategy to protect the Nollywood community from the increasing incidence of abduction as we have not forgotten so soon that veteran screen idols Nkem Owoh and Pete Edochie have traveled that tortuous and unpleasant road before.

We wish to continue entertaining Nigerians and doing Nigeria proud with our art but we cannot do so under an atmosphere of pervasive insecurity and vulnerability.

Please, help us and accept the assurances of our profound regards and promise to continue to be Proudly Nigeria.

God bless you.

God bless the Nigeria Police

God bless Nigeria

Signed

Friends of Nkiru Sylvanus and Kenneth Okolie

Seun oloketuyi  Executive producer Bon Awards
Stella Dimoko Korkus Journalist

Ify okeke  Actress

Halima Abubakar Actress

Gbenga Adeyinka Comedian

Mercy Aigbe    Actress

Laide bakare Actress

Jane odigboh  Actress

Grace Amah  Actress

Ogbechi Asiegbu Actress

Bryan okwara   Model and Actor

Gbenro

Elenu     Comedian

70 comments:

Some animals are more equal than others.
I am not sure if Mr President is aware that they were kidnapped.

Abeg u pple shld spare me all dis tales. it still comes to d fact dat coz dey r known in their little way that's y una dey write letter Level pass level dats their case wit okonjo. When ordinary pple r kidnapped or missing how many letter una write? Abeg lynda pass d story to d nxt

The security situation in Naija is sometime the Government have to set as the top-most priority this coming year....Boko Haram,Kidnap, etc

www.naijaopenmouth.com

hundreds of other inocent kidnapped victims that the IGP and his crew havent done anything about it. *sigh*

Sorry here may not be animal farm,but onething is certain we all are, equal is d greatest lie we were told in d constitution. D facts speaks for themselves. Atleast u even av a means of reaching d IGP,many people do not and when they try it will be in futility.
The only time d aviation sector gets attention is when dignitary is involved in a crash.
The only time our roads get attention is when a Governor's convoy is stucked in d traffic.
My dear in our own type of democracy,without RICHES,u can't be REACHED.
I pray d God who doesn't av favourite comes to their rescue.

Gan gan!where's Ms Nnaji's name na?☹ #chika

may God spare them and all other ordinary people in kidnappers hands, Amen

Oh dear, where is charles Novia?? Isnt he outspoken in this type of issues? Or is it only Facebook that he gets boldness to say what he wishes?

Dats d truth oh...dis police pple r bein very lousy to find dem..

"The result, as we all know, is that Prof Kimene Okonjo was returned home hale and hearty, thanks to the Police, your Police. Are Sylvanus and Okolie lesser citizens? Are they no longer Nigerians who you should be bothered about their safety and wellbeing? Don’t they deserve the kind of police attention that Professor Okonjo got? Does kidnap have another name? Or, has Nigeria been reduced to George Orwell’s Animal Farm where some animals are more equal than others"

As if the police really rescued okonjo's mum
Abeg make una give me space

phew! What an epistle. I rily hope he'll b patient enuff to read dis nd do sumfing abt d kidnap

Hmmmmn! All humans are equal but I guess some humans are more equal right? Especially in Nigeria. I just pray they should be found or released soon.

Queen Bee said...

All of u writing letter I advise u either start a prayer and fasting session for them or go find money and negotiate with the kidnappers.....btw what is Rochas doing abt it,tot she's his PA?
But if u are waiting for IGP,it will shock u dat even dis ur sentiment filled letter won't get to him!
Whoever wrote Animal Farm had Nigeria in mind....yes some men are more equal Dan others!its a painful truth!

miss world. said...

Too bad. We all pray dat they are released to their families so dat d joy of d season will be complete in them.

may God spare their lives....

BLOGLORD said...

na wa o! may they be found

"Up till now, we cannot fathom the rationale behind their kidnap"? People are demanding 100m and u re still saying that u don't know why they are kidnapped.na wa for una ooo..
While waiting for IG response, you can also do them a favour - at least 1m each cos not only to put na names as signatory to d letter b am. na so una take pictures with Enebeli (instead of to help him at the early stage)till una leave am die.

There are much more better things you guys can do to rescue them than this cheap publicity. Because writing IG Open Letter at the comfort of your room/office sipping champagne in Lagos will not help them at all.
Also while waiting for IG response, state gov can use their Securities to bring them back unharmed since she is a SA to the Gov.

I pray they should free them unharmed cos Nigerians really need more of Nkiru..

This is indeed a touching letter. How I wish the kidnappers understand that Nigerians need the talent of these two actors and should be re-united with their families.

On a different note, the writers of this letter raised an issue of unequal treatment and attention given by the Nigeria police to cases of kidnapping. I can also ask them to tell us how many of such letters they have written to the police for other cases of kidnapping where the nollywood actors are not victims?

And who even told you that ordinary people are kidnapped???

Lol y bother write all this to pple who don't care about lives..run down nigeria thank God am an american citizen also.

God please bring them home safely....the injustice towards those that are not in the higher echelon in this country is too much.

...and guard and protect them from all harm and evil...and prosper our Nation.

I feel sorry for Nkiru and Kenneth, while she's languishing in makeshift hell on earth, her colleagues are busy writing heavy scripts and posting on the net...this letter has no recipient in the Nigeria of today....what is the answer to 99.9% of all questions? I hear everybody say a resounding MONEY. In Nigeria it is even 100%.

Actor's guild it is time to put your money where your mouth is then after that you must apply pressure on the government to make the necessary securit changes. You people wield unimaginable influence in the caucus...you dine with them if not, how come they shared millions to you guys during the elections?

My Prayers are with Nkiru and Kenneth's families for positive outcomes...

Warri Girl said...

I hope after this long letter the Nigerian Police would do something.

Dont mind that Jobless Charles Novia with his Hunch back,and four thirty eyes

Gbam!

Stucked in traffic? Bonario you can do better... Lol!

GBAGUAN!!! "Humans are more equal" ur ova sabi haff catch u....4rm Bonarios Comitee of friends

Na only where tonto dike dey d guy dey sharp mouth.#na crush tinz

TRASH TRASH TRASH! AS FAR AS IM CONCERNED NIGERIA IS DOOMED. IT HAS BEEN BOILING IN HELL FIRE EVEN BEFORE I WAS BORN AND NOW THE FOOD IS READY! THE KIDNAPPERS ARE VICTIM TOO!

ADANNE.

This does not look like ordinary kidnap as in pay me 100million and i release u..
Somebody is punishing this girl for daring to have a mind of her own. Mark my word. This is going to end up tragically! Those who dine and wine with d devil must obey his rules. Read btw d lines.

Lol! Did you say prayer?! How many years will Nigerians pray for Nigeria and its people?

Ordinary people are kidnapped. My uncle was and he's not a celebrity or government official.

Why should it matter if he's aware or not. All the others they kidnapped doesn't even make headline news let alone attract the presidents attention.

The letter itself shows the division in nollywood . Not even one a list actor signed .The superiority in question started in nollywood . God forbids one was the a list role interpreter amongst was kidnapped, nollywood would have been more involved .while I pray for their safe return , I use this medium to urge the entity called nollywood to get their act together . The essence of having a union is to be a support system to your members when they need it....

Your head dey there jare!
Valerie.

Chop Chop said...

This is double standard. Some people didn't have to write letter yet Fed, state nd local govt resources were deployed to locate one elderly person. Oduma!

It is well

Ordinary people are kidnapped everyday in OWerri. That u don't hear it doesn't mean it doesn't happen

If dat guy no give d girl belle by d time dey release dem den he be slacker o.am sure say na d same room dem go put dem *winks*

Hmmmmm,dis dude kenneth dey enjoy oo,5days alone wit Nkiru in a dark pardlockd room wit all ds cold,na belle Ooº°˚ ˚°Âºoo º°˚˚°Âºoh,pls IG mk una do somtin oo,Rochas gv dem d ransome mk dem free yur babe,enuf of all ds osho free frm kenneth*tongues out*

Ordinary pple r kidnapped o! I'm a banker n u don't want to know how many ppl in d industry, in telecoms, oil n gas hv been kidnapped. God save us all

Corleone26 said...

I always dig ur comments mate... onpoint
Its as simple as dat "without riches u can't be reached.

Are these not the same actors and actresses driving big jeeps? Erecting mansions? Why can't they pay the said ransom? It's not like they don't have the money. Nkiru drives a car worth over 5m, dates a big time politician and is a politician herself. What is these fuss all about? They were kidnaped! Boko haram have killed lots of people! Aluu4 were killed in cold blood and the govt didn't cough! Friends and family of Nkiru and Kenneth, if una dey wait for govt Nkiru and Kenneth go grow white hair before them release them. These actors sef what have they done to facilitate the release of their colleagues? Na to sit for ac write letter be the thing? Abegi

Cecilia said...

Queen Bee, why do you talk from your behind? Who told you she's Rochas' PA? Abi you be him PA too? Get your facts right o Nne? Moreover, she wasn't even on an official assignment when she was kidnnapped. S

LudaKris said...

My brother leave Police o. They are only your friend when you bail person.

palo said...

I am sorry to break this news friends of Nkiru, ur epistle will not changee anything, u guys should go and gather money negotiate and pay †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ ransom,shikena that's what others have been doing, †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ IG/NPF/Government do not give a hoot about ur friends.come to think of it isn't Nkiru a part of †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ govt?
Nigeria is a country where her citizens provide †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ basic amenities themselves,govt will never do anything for u, so take †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ hint.

pity dem oo

pity dem oo

True talk bonario. Imagine d helicopter crash, all we heard is that the governor of kaduna state, d former cso and "Four others" where involved. D term four others worries me. It's as if d four others, re not relevant. Can't dey mention there names like others, aren't dey human beigns, don't dey have families. I don't blame dem

Pls everyone can reach the. IGP. He has always maintained an open door policy.

slimfit said...

This epistle beat my imagination. Don't tell me all this is meant for IGP. It will take ages before a response will be given to this kind letter. Surely the IGP is on top of the situation. Naija tinz

Story. Either make provision 4 d money or pray abeg.its not what anyone wishes for a loved one, imagine the families of these victims right now. So sad! God pls help bring them back

VICKY DARL said...

God pls,bring them back home

Al wel sd n written bt do u think dey wil even think about tlk less of take action. Like u rightly sd dey r actors to dem just actors n nt important to dem. U dey compare Minister mama to dem. U ppl shld just snap out of it n cintribute money nw n negotiate wit d kidnappers n get doz ppl out or beta stil push all d buttons u av in state govts n federal to speedy things up. May God kip dem n favour dem in Jesus name

Any LIB reader that does not want them released or that has sent negative comment will be kidnapped,then we will expect ur comment onLIB.Nonsence .

Wisely said...

Why in the world do you think that the police rescued prof Okonjo? You are totally wrong they didn't aid or participate in her safe return.

Hey!!! Poor dem ooo. My God,Nkiru dat nos how to cry. How will she start dis cry now? At dis time of joy. Nottin will happen to dem. My lord is dere helper in time of need. Na dis tin wey we de talk about govt providing job for youth. In lagos now fashola hs started it wit okada riders without making provision for dem, so tell me why won't any one wake up one morning and decide he wants to kidnap people like linda to make mony for his fmly. Linda pls don't b cross wit me is only a joke ooo. Enemy will not c u in jesus, amen ooo.lol

@Anonymous 3:34; Gosh!!!! Are you this poor in your comprehension of English? Smh... Why are you segregating a part of my statement? Here is my full statement again- "All humans are equal but I guess some humans are more equal right?" So what's wrong in that? Get a life! Mtcheew!

@Anonymous 3:34; Gosh!!!! Are yo0000u this poor in your comprehension of English? Smh... Why are you segregating a part of my statement? Here is my full statement again- "All humans are equal but I guess some humans are more equal right?" So 0what's wrong in that? Get a life! Mtcheew!0

Na me! said...

When my dad was kidnapped, AIG that we knew personally asked us if they had made contact for a ransom, at which point we realized that we had no business with the police, and were better off trying to negotiate with the kidnappers. Its been over 2 years, and kidnapping has been going on since then, not only in the SE and SS, but also in Lagos, Delta, Abuja sef.

The kidnappers will always start off high, they know no one will pay them that N100m.

My dad's own sef then was N20m abi N30m, and we ended up at somewhere between N3-5m. Kai naija! Money wey persin no get, but we thank God for human life!

My dad is just a regular person, no celebrity or govt official either!

Na me! said...

Police didnt rescue Prof Okonjo o!!!!! The family paid ransom, forget what you see being published! It had absolutely NOTHING to do with the police.
Police that will be asking for bribe, and money for the investigation. All the money you are spending on them, might as well add it to the ransom. NONSENSE!

Na me! said...

Also this letter is a waste of time. If every person that signed, donated N200k, they will be making progress.

The kidnappers will prob want/settle for N5m for Nkiru and maybe N3.5-4m for Kenneth.

What we should do is pray for them here, after having a loved one suffer from it, not something I'd want anyone to go through.

I just heard they have been released n are both in good health. Linda biko confirm mbok

Hmmm! I only pity de victims cos 4 de nigeria I knw notn gud is coming out

@ Prince Charming
No mind am, e no dey read book so e no read Animal Farm. Na only Gbaguan e sabi. See as e type am in Capital letters come say "ur over sabi haff CATCH you". English Teacher, no teach us nonsense abeg.

Lingua Franca said...

Rochas tell u say e no be him PA? U sabi wetin PA mean sef? Na you dey talk from your behind. All these people way dey correct others when dem no sabi, na wa for una.

Trapezoid Limited said...

Kidnapping is now very rampant in our society. Nigerians have to be very aware of their environment. Situational awareness is a skill that can be taught. Please visit trapezoidlimited.com for more information on this. Trapezoid is a background check company in Nigeria