Kidnappers quized my mother on subsidy payments'- Okonjo Iweala | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 December 2012

Kidnappers quized my mother on subsidy payments'- Okonjo Iweala

Below is what the Finance minister said while addressing journalists in Abuja yesterday regarding her 83 year old mother's abduction and subsequent release...
“I can’t give all the details because we don’t want to compromise ongoing investigations. But I can tell you one thing: my mother suffered a great deal during this ordeal. It was only the Almighty that rescued her from a situation that could very easily have ended tragically. Apart from the emotional trauma of being violently taken away from her family and kept incommunicado for five days in a strange environment, a woman of 83 years was left without food for five days.
“While she was in their custody, the kidnappers spent much of the time harassing her. They told her that I must get on the radio and television and announce my resignation.  When she asked why, they told her it was because I did not pay oil subsidy money.
“They also said I had blocked payment of money to certain components of the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment Programme.”

“These statements are, of course, not true. In the case of subsidy payments, we have been paying all marketers whose claims have been verified by the Aig-Imoukhuede Committee after going through the necessary processes.

“For marketers whose transactions are proven to be fraudulent, the position of the Goodluck Jonathan government is also clear: we cannot and we will not pay. We will not back down on this. We will continue to stand firm.”

“In the case of SURE-P, there is a totally different process that I have no control over. This is the right thing to do. And this, I believe is what the Nigerian people want.”

“This experience has strengthened my faith in the country. The outpouring of love from all over the country has been simply overwhelming.”

49 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

Madam Okonjo, thank God ur mama is back, safe and sound.do the right thing towards moving this country forward while in office.
kapish!

miqos said...

thank god she was released

miqos said...

lets thank God she came out alive

Linda, abeg this na pure lie wey our Minister dey lie. We no be mumu na. Abeg make we hear word. In the words of the great Fela " second base jare"

Are they sayg that no ransom was paid? Naija police rescured her??? Hmmmmm.......

simple baby said...

ehn..."outpouring of love from all over the country"...Mrs. Okonjo is certainly not a LIBer, never heard of Billie Jean

Shamless politician, using every oppurtunity to yan dust.

make she tell us hw much billiom she use save her mother. If nt, hmmm.

Queen Bee said...

So what stopped u from resigning?what concrete thing have u done since being minister rather than cause more confusion in dis country.
About outpouring of love'na only u and ur aides telling u lies about how pple feel about u sabi dat one' !

Indeed, God was sincere enough to use His might to save 83 your old mama Okonjo.... Pls Dr. Ngozi Iweala too should be sincere enough to serve d masses and fight corrption sincerely with her office since she is d "prime minister" bcos there is Nemesis.....Bjay 4 Naija

Thank God she is in good sound health.

Dis womn dey crze...abeg no use style beg for sympathy!outpour of love ko....useless corrupt woman!

Tongues are wagging in Asaba,the family of the suspected mastermind killed has concluded plans to sue the police relating to his murder.highly placed people have already been fingered!we haven't heard the last of this story.#no be me talk am!

Ism surprised that the minister could come out and say its because of subsidy her mother was kidnapped? Kidnappers, armed robbers and the likes will definitely capitalize on the situation on ground to divert everybody's attention

she tink say we be fool, so no naija police rescue her abi, u na no pay any dam 4 her release abi, stupid fellow, se as 83 year woman look like 48 year old person, com my street come see as 50 year old people look

Yomslaw said...

Bobo ni eleyi kè. Sounds like a cooked story! It is well!

she tink say we are all fools, soo u wan tell me say na police rescue ur mother abi? No ramsom of money is being paid abi

See lie...Lmao. This country is so gone.corrupt officials, only God go judge all of una. Ndi oshi, awon oloriburuku oshi. Smh

Sharrap!
This pple de lie?
So u no pay ransom
D old woman just show like dat as I definitely blive nija police no do jack!
Next pls!

Mrs okonjo u will ave to thank God that ur mother is back safe & nd sound . Not all are lucky as ur mother

It is advisable to do not difficulty getting a many bogus, but nonetheless inexpensive UGG for Men Boots.
アグ ブーツ通販,rightly a number of imitation providers demonstrate so good that other
people may perhaps not absolutely recognise the boots usually are fakes.
アグ ブーツ激安, acquiring this way warranties that one could even now show stylish with
no putting a dent in your budget. ugg ムートンブーツ,Your feet will understand the shift, nonetheless.
ugg ムートンブーツ,They might truly good sense tepid and sweaty added to they might stink badly when the footwear are taken out.
Also visit my web link:http://www.bootssekai.com/
Also visit my site - アグugg クラシックミニブーツ

zoe said...

You are right!! Ohh Silly Billie Jean.. E yaff suffer. Lol

Let's just forget about the reasons now and thank God she is back now.

Abegi! Move aside! Cheap liar!

Heheheheh..our leaders r too useless mtchewww

Pls madam minister, use same connection free sylvannus nkiru....what a country!

you are in reality a just right webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing.
It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick.
Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you've performed a excellent task on this subject!
Also visit my web blog ... causes of stroke

This woman is full of lies

Can I just say what a comfort to uncover somebody that truly knows what they are discussing online.

You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
A lot more people really need to read this and understand this
side of the story. I can't believe you aren't more popular because you most certainly have the gift.
Feel free to visit my weblog ; Christian Louboutin Outlet

Warri Girl said...

Madam minister thank God your mum was returned safely back to you but as for the issue of blocking payments.....hmmmmm I sense something fishy going on.

Lol..That Billie na somefin else.

Y do dis pple like deceivin us..Do dey still think we r nt wise...I pity dem, all we nid is REVOLUTION..make we give dem poison chop one by one, and kill dem all...

Y don't u guys saying its a lie learn to keep ur rotten mouth nd stop insulting d woman. Dt is the tru story she has put up + I don't think she asked for any of ur opinions nd she doesn't even care about u or ur fvcking thought, the point is, her mum is alive nd she paid no money. If u nt happy about dt, go fvck urself.

so all dis kidnapping of other people na because of subsidy abi???? Abeg second base jare!! So na because of subsidy dem take kidnap dat nollywood actress? na because of subsidy dem take kidnap Oulowle Rotimi wife? Ngozi just wan prove say she be "honest" Naija, abeg we all know say u dey chop money, so no pretend at all.

cicy said...

LIB which is the only world u know consist of the tiniest fraction of Nigerians.
So hush for a second and think before u keep disgracing urself.

cicy said...

Useless corrupt anonymous!

cicy said...

What are u on about, drunkard?

cicy said...

The killing wiLl Start from u, my dear.

cicy said...

Well said.

cicy said...

Its clear u're suffering from madness, just blabbing like u need ur drugs right now.

Something in me just don't believe the story....looks somehow fabricated

Thank God the old lady is safe

Traveller said...

nobi the experience strengthened your faith at all as nothing good can come out of that mess,na only the money were una dey steal fit strengthened am...Ole pple.

I wish say na u dem even kidnap.after putting nigerians tru ur yeye lofty subsidy dreams.u dey get mouth talk. As corrupt as d country. Mmssshh!!

Okonjo Iweala,Okonjos' wahala!

doctor said...

A prophet will never be acknowledged in her country. Its been happening since time immemorial. Jesus still is not acknowledged by the Jews. For once in our dear country some of our leaders are leading us right. Madam more grease to your elbow. Your work will speak for you

Is actually also important for a greater heel shoe being well fitted.
This short article may possibly supply some the information that have to consider.
A few by means associated 12 inches diverse. This is almost a consistent on
the supply of Beyonce and in addition Jess's little related Ashlee. http://www.banktown.org/cgi-bin/aska.cgi

Feel free to visit my site: ヴィトン 財布

You made some respectable factors there. I seemed on the internet for the issue and found most individuals will go together with together with your website. http://eurospinz24.ru