Air mishap averted on Ilorin-Lagos route | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 December 2012

Air mishap averted on Ilorin-Lagos route

From Vanguard
Smarting from the helicopter crash that claimed the lives of former Governor of Kaduna State, Patrick Yakowa, former National Security Adviser, General Andrew Azazi, and four others last Saturday in Bayelsa State, the nation would have witnessed yet another disaster but for providence, as an Overland Airways flight from Ilorin to Lagos suffered technical problems on take-off.
A source told Vanguard that the flight, OJ 1188, had difficulties stabilising in the air as the landing gear failed to retract after take-off from Ilorin Airport, Sunday.

The pilot was said to have continued the journey to Lagos, with the flight witnessing turbulence as the landing gear failed to retract.

A passenger on the flight said the aircraft wobbled its way into Murtala Muhammad Airport with its landing gear hanging dangerously throughout the flight.

Vanguard could not confirm the incident from the operator of the airline, Capt. Edward Boyo, last night as calls put through his mobile number remained unanswered.

However, Director-General of Nigerian Civil Authority, NCAA, Dr. Harold Demuren, who confirmed the development, said the aircraft on take-off at Ilorin Airport, hit an object which made it impossible for the landing gear to retract after take-off.

He said the pilot was, however, able to manipulate the aircraft to land safely in Lagos, without injuries to the passengers.

53 comments:

Chinenye Rita ifepe said...

"the aircraft wobbled its way into Murtala Muhammad Airport". What's wrong with Nigeria biko?

"He said the pilot was, however, able to manipulate the aircraft to land safely in Lagos, without injuries to the passengers."

Listen to that bollocks from Demuren the DG of NCAA...why couldn't the damn pilot turn around and make a landing immediately in Ilorin?

Very soon, we will all soon start trekking all the way from Lagos to even Kaduna.

All these airlines are just killing people like chicken in this country, Fools and murderers!!!!

WAEC RELEASED HER NOV/DEC 2012 RESULT, CHECK IT HERE said...

To God be the Glory.

We are not ripe for technology in Nigeria. We are too corrupt to speak up when an aircraft is faulty. We always patch and manage. No value for human life. Those pilots need to start declining faulty aircrafts.

Flavour said...

Huh??!wobbled its way 2 lag?all dis airlines sef,naija jst takes evrytyn 4 granted.Maybe dey want us 2start travelling 'Harry porter style.u go by air-problem;u travel by road-armedrobbers,potholes,drunkdrivers n terrible cars,policerobbers n diff kind of hazards.God help us.

June said...

God Help us!

Parle G said...

We have 'mobile coffins' flying all around and we call dem airplanes...smh

BLOGLORD said...

In all thank God a crash was avoided. That would have been a very bad and terrible 2012 closing for the Nation.
Thsnk you lord.

Wow,my heart is beating so fast.thank God nothing happened.lives are not valued in this country.

only God will help d aviation industry....nawaooooooo.

See dis people God saved u or the pilot manipulate his way.ok ooo

ohnyee said...

lol @ " we wil soon start trekking from lagos to kaduna"

ohnyee said...

hey Chukwu nna biko nu. i don vry finish for this year o. i no want o

Lol dem pilot not picking up call for sumthing that serious..only in africa that will happen where money and power is more important to ur lives...

Na wah o! Plane crash don de turn business 4 diz we country fa, him manage reach Lagos n him wnt mak dem tel am say him try,God 4 punish am had it been dat plane crash 4 air, na so dem take kil my Governor 4 helicopter crash, e b lik say we go retire all diz 9ja pilot, com bgin train new ones.

Warri Girl said...

I have said it over and over again, our aviation industry needs serious help

Sha 2 me ...d pilot tried..brave.dat shows he's a professional

Bolintin

We just need to upgrade our technology and train better man power in the Aviation sector so this air mishaps can be reduced.

Pls don't say,waoh,am from ilorin,live in lagos but I go home regularly and my only mode of transportation is overland since my car was snatched on the express,wetin we go do nauuuu,air!!wahala,road,wahala,oga gan o but sha God dey.

And trust our Govt to setup committee if anything happened. Till we get it right,our help is in d name of d Lord who made heaven and earth.

Hmmm...Flying Coffins everywhere in Nigeria..*may God help us

Dee said...

THANK GOD FOR THAT. WHAT SHOULD BE DONE TO OUR PLANES AND HELICOPTERS IN NIGERIA??? I THINK THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD BUY NEW ONES RATHER THAN SPEND SO MUCH MONEY ON UNNECESSARY THINGS LIKE A DINNING HALL IN ASO ROCK.

We need serious prayer in dis country ooo.the devil is a lier

Is overland airlines still flying in this country?? All their planes look like world war 2 propellar airplanes! God save us!!!

We are noT safe on land, we are not safe on air, transport by rail zero even water transportaion is NIL. What is that perfect system we have in Nigeria I beg? Its so disheartening. Thank God the pilot was able to control the situation. I hope God intervenes in Naija governance somebody.

DireDayo

Queen Bee said...

We thank God for this,we will keep praying!
I hope its one of the evil prophecies of TB Joshua averted.....his name should be TB Jeremiah prophet of doom of our time!

God have mercy on us. This is human life we are talking about here o

nero said...

againnnnnnnnnnnnnn

We just need railways working in this counrty, ASAP!

VIA MY LENS said...

Bad roads+faulty aircrafts=Corrupt government

OMG!!! Thank God there were no casualties, it would have been disastrous! What is really going on na?

Cardoso Kb said...

Why dint the dam!! Plane make a turn around ang capt Edward would be feeling like a star, I landed them to safety rubbish

we hav dear devil pilots,who want to assume d position of hero,pls dear pilots,we passengers r not lab rats,help us help our country by declining to fly a faulty air craft,wen u do notice its fautly after taking off do us a favour,turn around n make a landing please we beg u.dear non challant nigerian govrnment,pls as we try to fix nigeria,hlp us fix it 2 n all d crappy **it...wobbled its way to lagos...bt y?

"NCAA, Dr. Harold Demuren, who confirmed the development, said the aircraft on take-off at Ilorin Airport, hit an object which made it impossible for the landing gear to retract after take-off." WTF dd u jes say hit an abject??

1?w@ kinda object?
2?on da runway?

sha nawoooooooo

I think it'll be better if we have a 'long queue' for just one good airplane @ every airport than having a lot of faulty airplanes that claim lives on daily basis.

Don't we enough financial resources that can buy a good airplane?

Na wa oooooooo

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

I am really laffing my head off no be this idiot demureen dem be suspend wen the dana crash occur so im dey yarn say plane wobble to Abuja so plane na bicycle.
its very obvious dat they are all liars how can a plane hit and object and still the pilot continues onward flight with out retuning back to the airport for check. na wa o soon Nigeria Air force one go hobble from Abuja to u.s i hail this great country o

It is because of this kind of situation that made me prefer travelling from Lagos to Maidugri on a bike. Why is it that U will NEVER hear that a plane travelling from Nigeria to another country had a problem orwas was manipulated to land, its always local routes in Naija. Problem dey this land no be small thing.... i no fit shout

Hmmmmmm......Thank you Lord! But Seriouly some aircraft are supposed to stop flying....Ahahahah!!! Kilode? All is well!

If an airline could be operating a faulty airplane, had a plane crash and few weeks later the same airline is awarded the best in the polity then all Local Airlines Aeroplane in Nigeria are flying coffin and It all bores down to corruption and bad government.

Overland constantly has problems and if not that people that fly them dont come out to say it, i'm shocked they are still flying. Nigeria sha!!!!!!

Demuren or what is he called would be an idiot to have encouraged such pilot to continue the journey. Such aircraft should be landed back at the Ilorin airport with immediate effect. we don't value lives in my country why? so sad!!

These guys are not serious sincereLy. Do they pack stones or log of woods on the runway? The DG and the Pilot should be ashamed of themselves.

ISpeaksDaTroof said...

Foolish Nigerians, they dont understand that corruption trickles down and affects every facet of life. They had the opportunity of a life time to elect a man in the person of Buhari to cleanse the system and put Nigeria back on the path to greatness, but what did they do? Elect a a known inept kleptomaniac that wasnt even gracious enough to honor even a single debate to tell the Nation why he was better than the other candidates. Instead he sat down with Dbanj, nodded his head a few times then promised them an airport each in every living room and they foolishly endorsed him. You guys havent seen nothing yet!

Only God can help us in ds bad country. Everyday, bad incidents. If U̶̲̥̅̊ go by air-problem;u travel by road-armedrobbers, policerobbers, #50 bribe by Mopols. Here comes anoda ''pilot problems'' n diff kind of hazards. God help us. Does ds contributes to T̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ moving forward of ds country ? T̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ President should better RESIGN!

God! Pls save Nigeria. Death by plane crash is the worst way to die bcuz d people are burnt alive..and families go thru pains to identify their loved ones. Let God intervene for us,the masses, so dat all these corrupt leaders wil fear God nd do the right thing. From a gal dat lost relations in Dana plane crash.

Its like dese airlines r takin turns in messin up. Yesterday was Aero's turn. Frm Lag to Owerri,one of dier engines dropd, dey had 2 go bk 2 Lag airport 2 land wit jst one engine. God help us.*Sallysparkles*

Guys pls watch auw u post. Ur comments, overland is still 1 of d best indegenious airlines in NG. Go and check there track record.

Lmao Harry porter style....intact twilight style sef

I swear I heard that wobbling! I live nt too far frm Murtala, and I hrd a plane dt was as louddd, and then remembered Dana and am like chaii! Ds ws hw some pple dey dia house jeje wen it happened.. To God be d glory!!!!!!!

Ill leaders

Cheap Flights to Lagos said...

Air travel is considered one of the most comfortable and fastest means of transport. Most of the individuals wish to travel by airplanes but are not able to avail these services due to their high prices.96

Why didn't the pilot turn back? And the yeye man said he made it to lagos without injury to passengers. That pilot should do his suicide missions alone. They will rather risk a crash than cancel a flight so they won't miss that revenue. Tueh! God forbid!

Why won't Overland be one of the best? They flew to Lagos knowing it couldn't retract and yet you call them one of the best. It gives an insight into their safety policy.
Anyway Dana won Best Airline Award after the plane crash that claimed the lives of all on board and some of those in their houses so Tukeke planes and companies na dem be "best" for Nigeria. I hear una.