Is staying away from social media a sign you're abnormal? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 August 2012

Is staying away from social media a sign you're abnormal?

That's what some psychologists want us to believe. They are saying that if you're a certain age and you stay away from social media, then its 'suspicious' In Oyibo land, you're most probably a psychopath.
Below is something I found on Daily Mail
The German magazine Der Taggspiegel went so far as to point out that accused theater shooter James Holmes and Norwegian mass murder Anders Behring Breivik have common ground in their lack of Facebook profiles.
On a more tangible level, Forbes.com reports that human resources departments across the country are becoming more wary of young job candidates who don't use Facebook.
 The common concern among bosses is that a lack of Facebook could mean the applicant's account could be so full of red flags that it had to be deleted. 

Slate.com tech reporter Farhad Manjoo wrote in an advice column that young people shouldn't date anyone who isn't on Facebook.
'If you’re of a certain age and you meet someone who you are about to go to bed with, and that person doesn’t have a Facebook page, you may be getting a false name. It could be some kind of red flag,' he says.
Manjoo points out that these judgements don't apply to older people who were already productive adults before social media became widespread.

I personally kinda find this a little silly. Some people are extremely private and don't want their business, photos on the WWW...that doesn't make them dysfunctional, or does it?

What's your thoughts on this?

71 comments:

LemmyVedutti said...

lol....kinda crazy for them to say that...buh why person go stay away from netwrokin sef...lol...just saying

Ayeni Oluwaremilekun said...

No, some people are just so addicted to social networks, that if they are not online its as if life has come to an end for them

they are totally wronggggg!!! am nt on any social media bcos of privacy concerns.............

that is hw dey feed the world wit cabbage nd claim is research or findings, me 4 one am sooooo xtremly private nd wuld nt wnt 2 b seen on internet. capishhhh

dz anonimous is d best thin eva cos i wnt want 2 xpose myself 2 public...

WHAT!! that's just plain ridiculous I left FB because I got tired of everyone in my business. But I know I'm not dysfunctional.

I dont kno for certain if it means ure dysfunctional but i do kno for a fact dat if a guy asks me out i check out his fb profile i even go as far as googling his name. U cant b too sure dis days.

I dont have a fb account or twitter or my space or anything.

I am perfectly normal thank you.

LOL awon way-ray

I'm not on FaceBook neither am I on Twitter. I'm definitely not a psychopath just because I don't follow the multitude.

I don't use facebook or twitter. I must be a psycho. LOL. Really, these people are reaching....

Joy sayssssssssss
All these suggestions are preposterous. I actually respect young people who don't have Facebook. I refuse to have a Facebook because I would not contribute to another persons success to my detriment. What does Facebook offer me? Connections? You have my email and phone number.
This social media mentality is appalling. they should go siddon jare. I would think that sociopaths have Facebook so they can seek out their preys. Are you sure Mark Zuckerberg is not paying this people to spew out such gibberish?

Linda you want our opinion but I think you have forgotten that you have stopped posting comments.. So annoying, the comments are just as interesting as the blog. Pls start posting comments quick instead of waiting so long

ade said...

i agree a lil thou.
The girls i know thats not on fb is dating many guys.
And the guys i know not on facebook are weirdo and stubborns lol...
i know it sounds silly but been conscious of your environment is import. Except a country like nigeria where internet is still not as cheap/available, you cant judge with fb account.

Lmmfao....am not on Facebook so does that make me a psychopath too? pathetic as people. Smdh

This is what I think.

This is just a way of brainwashing the public to think its abnormal to not have an account on any social network sites.

They need people to sign up on these sites for easy tracking/ monitoring.

This is what I think.

This is just a way of brainwashing the public to think its abnormal to not have an account on any social network sites.

They need people to sign up on these sites for easy tracking/ monitoring.

happyhausabunny said...

Dis does nt make sense in anyway. I dnt av a facebook account bt I'm normal! As a matter of fact I quit facebook cuz of sum certain dude who kept stalkn ppl!

Linda forever arguing with 'sane reasoning'. Need we say more. Go ahead and date a 'private person' like you said. Nonsense.

Flavour said...

Dis is jst plain nonsense. Am nt on facebook,twitter n all,does dat mean am a psycopath waiting 2 unleash terror? Hell No. Oyibo n deir useless analysis.mtshewwwwww

If you’re of a certain age and you meet someone who you are about to go to bed with, and that person doesn’t have a Facebook page, you may be getting a false name. It could be some kind of red flag,'
I can't stop laffing ohh.....

Okay my hubby doesnt do Fb does that make him dysfunctional?and what do u call those wiv multiple fb profiles wiv different names?

Its very silly as u have pointed out linda, I was on facebook before and had to de-activate my account and I have been out of fb for about 3years now and I have a perfect functional live as an extrovert sef and besides d reason I left fb is cuz I find it to be too porous,ppl stealing pple's pictures, impersonating them and also I feel if u wanna make d kind of money that line up d streets of the white house, its best u keep ur life contained....not exposing it randomly

No Linda it's not silly. A research is not conducted to be 100% correct. So that conclusion might work in some cases, more especially in the Western society where depression is on the high side. There are many other things that come to play in their arriving at that conclusion, so we shouldn't refer to it as being silly.

Jes sad really. How is it that there is a clear picture of him thoroughly beaten on the right, yet no one was able to stop such madness? Sad

na craze dey worry am na!

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

rubbish!!!!! how about people just like their privacy and on the false name part do these reporters know how may people use false names or have a secondary account with a false name mschewwwww just looking for 15mins of fame

Yeah, call it extremely private. That's one of the charachteristics of psychopaths. Any young person of a reasonable age that knows about social media but absents himself has a problem. It may not be psychopathy. It may be neuroticism or something worse. Psychologists read the psycho-social pulse of the society. We should never sound silly...

Blackknight! said...

Anybody within a certain age group who is not on facebook definitely has something to HIDE.

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

dem dey craze

They are only succintly promoting Facebook, probably because of its recent dwindling fortunes. The research should have been directed towards individuals that decline from Social Activities and not those who value their Privacy.
Thats the reason why i signed up on the PERFECT INTERNET where my data is safe, You can do same via the link below.

http://tinyurl.com/bqyh6hx

Janded said...

He is just a sick f**k and nothing could have saved him but Jesus.

Well it acctually makes alittle sence,seeing that we are in a digital age

Ikunkun Babbles..... said...

Yes ooo, my oyinbo friend and her husband are in their twenties and they don't have facebook...during a camping trip na so dem begin tell me different stories...apparently the government is tracking all of us through facebook and the world order is going to change 2012, the have a lot of canned food stored away for the end time, they are getting their own well cos everything is going to be shut off, they already have an escape plan/route for when shit goes down.....

na so i just dey look them as dem dey yarn dia story!! say Ori awon eleyi ti daru for reals and I should av known when y'all said you don't have facebook!!!

I definetely agree,any body below 35 who isn't on facebook and esp isn't married is definetely shady

Extremely silly, I'm not on fb coz am jst not interested! Am always getin dis "like for real look" wenever I say I'm not on fb..mayb coz am georgeous, very young and free spiirited!..am not on twitter too..jst bbm...but wat dose oyinbos are sayin is preposterous!

Nimma said...

I think they have a point

LucidLilith said...

Nope! My husband does not use social media and he is normal. If I could, I would stay away from social media ... but I am on the computer a lot so I do all my stuff online. It is a matter of convenience.

This imbecile was on adultfriendfinder.com so what point are they trying to make? Or is that site not a "social network"? They should go for psychiatric evaluation themselves.

fucking sckrewd fucked up analogy!i own no twitter, facebook, bb or iphone and i'm good alright!noncense and ingredient!wat does d so called social media promote apart from vices and moral decadence!children be gettin all f's in waec and shiit!

I deactivated my facebook acct cause loads of peeps were interfering too much nd chatting loads of crap. Does this make me abnormal? Oh gosh! I'm so scared I tink am abnormal oooo.or perhaps I'm a serial rapists, drug addict, or just plain mad nd I don't even know it. Stupid article, abeg jorrrr. *rolling eyes and still smoking my dunhill cigarettes*

ThisWorldIsNotMyHome said...

Please!!!! To me, if you have all these social media accounts, ou are psycho. If we keep on believing what these psychologists are saying, we too will end up just as crazy because doesn't it take a crazy person to know and understand another crazy person????

How about, I am not on Facebook because I stay in contact with my friends and family by phone and that's how I like it? How about I don't want just anyone all up in my life. How about I don't need any person to be commenting on my pictures to gain satisfaction. The psychologist couldn't think of any other reason why someone doesn't have a Facebook account? Come on!!!!

It kind of does but that school of thought doesn't work in nigeria cos not everybody really loves computers or something but in a country like the US where the tech is really standard and networking could perform a lot of wonders....if u are not on any social network, then definitely something is wrong with you....does anybody agree with me?

Instead of being cynical try to analyze what they said.Most of these crazy people, keep away from others.They seat by themselves at lunch and do not want to engage in conversation.These kinds of people will most likely not be on social media.You are educated and i am sure you know he is not pointing fingers at every person that is not on social media.Pls try to act like the graduate that you are.

Thank you so much for this comment! When the people who made this point were doing their analysis, I wonnder if these jokers saying otherwise believe they were actually refering to people from third world and fourth world countries like theirs! Smh....

Show me ur friends and I'll tell u who u are.

I knew after leaving the white house, things would go down this way.

Ana emenu! I left facebook cos it was constantly causing trouble between me and my boyfriend cos people I don't even know were sending me messages. Does that make me abnormal? Abegi!

I quite agree with this review cos most young people i know that were on facebook and then had to deactivate their accts have issues and all, and i would be weary of any one especially a guy that comes my way and is not on any social network, funny thing is, i knew a guy who when i went to his facebook profile had just abt 6 friends and almost all were female and it turned out he wasn't a good guy, Lagos hustlers looking for girls with jobs to scam.

Princess of Zion said...

I wouldn't say so! Although it is very rare especially in this age and for people under 60!

Why you don't need to settle for a cheater- www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/men-and-infidelity-part-2/

My thought exactly. Well said.

Fou fou foul ; these pple are just looking for a reason to let that monster killer go . They have forgotten that before fb, twiteer et Al, people have been socialising. Now, the social media has made some of young pple to get involved in some other vices and some are addicted to the extend they even skip schooling . Let them say whatever they want, a bad person will be bad whether or not they are on the social media..and by the way, no socialisation can take the place of person to person-human (without computer, phone) interpersonal interaction.

Oh, that's silly. What about the "Canadian Psycho" who was on an international manhunt and was arrested in Berlin a couple of months ago for dismembering an innocent college student in Canada? The killer was really involved with the social media. I believe he had 30+ Facebook profiles, Twitter, YouTube, and a blog(s). So, this whole, "People who don't have a Facebook is suspicious" is false. I know a lot of people (and I mean young people in their 20s) who deactivated their Facebook accounts and miss the face-to-face interaction with people.

Moopygall Ray Rice Jersey Adam Vinatieri Jersey Anquan Boldin Jersey Dientwicilt

billige beats by dre kritisk emner Du brug dr dre beats
billige beats by dre important emner Du kræver beats by dre danmark
beats by dre afgørende Faktorer Du ønsker beats by dre danmark

dr dre beats kritisk Faktorer Du kræver beats by dre danmark
beats by dre danmark important Faktorer Du kræver billige beats by dre
dr dre beats afgørende ting Du brug beats by dre danmark

fohzjebpcx

uggs sale NetWeiple
www.uggoutletcity.com NetWeiple
cheap uggs NetWeiple

ugg sale NetWeiple
ugg outlet NetWeiple
uggs for sale NetWeiple

ugg outlet NetWeiple
uggs sale NetWeiple
linjunxing.tumblr.com NetWeiple

www.bootsoutleter.com NetWeiple
ugg boots for cheap NetWeiple
cheap ugg boots NetWeiple

www.cheapestbootsus.com NetWeiple
ugg boots cheap NetWeiple

cheap ugg boots Fashionable bottes ugg to make your feet snug ugg boots sale Uggs United kingdom Sale present earlier than doubtless dreaming www.uggsbootsoutletonline.co.uk

It is additionally the same statement which for your reasons regarding selling and also supercharge the particular promoting projects on the group in addition to to help relive your appreciation from the workforce, reliable will also be renowned by using football along with footballing coaches and teams Fees increase every semester for no reason at all, and usually students pay these fees after mild protests and are subjected to further payments as penalties for damages incurred during such protests Hockey items, epically, discount national football league jerseys could be bought on-line as well as from the sporting activities store It is very painful The internet is now flooded with businesses selling do-it-yourself green electricity how-to manuals, typically accompanied by grandiose claims of how inexpensive and straightforward it is to create Otherwise, you apparently end up afraid with the added fees you accept to pay forsome numbersNo Bengals quarterback has worn , who led Cincinnati to its first Super Bowl in the 1981 season
It is the favorite game of many and huge numbers of people gather to see the game This is wherever his midrange weapons come in for fast releases, specifically Matt Forte and Greg OlsenShare your answer On customer site can find a wide selection of cheap Wholesale NFL Jerseys only the highest fine quality at affordable prices It is always smart to do some research online in advance Offer affiliate membership to online marketers and pay the commissions on the sales? they created through their promotional efforts

Roddy White Black Jersey
Peyton Manning Orange Jersey

?The father of the kid was trying to put on the TV and somehow it was not starting and the little girl child was watching the entire scene while she was sitting in the sofa with her father grabbing a bowl of popcorn Football fans love nfl jersey because they have become a classic piece of fan apparel that you can see throughout the stands at any pro game Washington is at Dallas on Monday in the NFC EastIt's Wholesale nfl jerseys something they're going to wear often, so in order to last the jersey has to stand up to repeated washings Guide can tell only from where and how the data should be collected and can not tell how to arrange the data in the thesis This is never absorbed by the body, and is interwoven throughout the tendon to reapproximate its tension prior to the rupture

Youth Andrew Luck Jersey

buy cheap valium much 5mg valium - long term effects of valium in the body

generic ambien buy ambien withdrawal relief - cheap generic ambien online

vimax, vimax, vimax

vimax reviews, vimax reviews, vimax cock growth

is also known as the hunger and short engagement Peradventure they are professionals in [url=http://www.ddtshanghaiescort.com]beijing massage[/url] the counter-spy but on thevision and

Josh, I鈥檓 sorry. I don鈥檛 want to mis-portray your religion.
[url=http://www.abercrombiemilanois5s.com/]look at here now[/url]

How does this medication work? What miss it do in standing of me? Sildenafil belongs to a assemble of medications called phosphodiesterase personification 5 inhibitors. It is utilized in vengeance in behalf of the treatment of erectile dysfunction (humankind's impotence). It helps to effect and victual an cheap viagra pills online enough in spitefulness of activity.