Sea Turtle Captured in Eleko Beach... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 January 2012

Sea Turtle Captured in Eleko Beach...

My sister and her friend went to Eleko beach recently and witnessed the capture of a sea turtle (abi what is that?) that had been washed ashore by the waves. It was captured by some - local beach boys, who said they planned to kill it and sell the meat. They surrounded it, tied it with a rope and it was when they were gauging its eyes out (to prevent it from escaping because my sis said the animal really fought its captors) that my sis walked away because she couldn't bare to watch the torture...but she took some pics before leaving.

Is that animal edible biko nu? Na wa o! Continue to see more photos...

71 comments:

THAT'S IT I AM OFICIALLY A VEGETARIAN!!!

nnennai said...

Na hardship. Pp go eat anything. See now

onecertainlady said...

why dont we have RSPCA abi whatsyamacallit in 9ja na? this is so inhumane! kai

This animal looks scary! I wouldn't want to eat this. Is this what poverty has driven people to? God forbid!!

Fisayo said...

I fear Nigeria my country.....

Linda, this is "anjonu" lol. But, OMG, imagine eating this thing. hey, God. I actually feel bad for the animal. People that eat this will probably feel the difference in their bodies. I feel sorry for the animal. They should have set it free.

PETA, green peace, wildlife conservationists, where the heck are ya in the midst of this animal cruelty? This poor animal.........wait, sorry, this is Nigeria, you capture it, you eat it I guess.
But a sea turtle? having eyes gouged out is so painful, for any living thing.
I eat meat so I wont get too preachy......

Producer$

So disgusted. Its just like when a whale was washed ashore on bar beach (I think) a couple of years ago. I heard a lot of people got their knives and buckets for that one.

Its very unfortunate thatd̶̲̥̅̊τ̲̅ our people lack conservation ethics largely due to ignorance.poor creature.some might not get a̶̲̥̅ chance to behold this specie inΩ̴̩̩̩̥ their lifetime

Bush man go eat anything. they really should have set it free.

ONYEDIKING said...

hi is dis guy's going to eat dis www.gideblog.com

oneblackboi said...

Wait o, dusnt that animal look scary enuf... Haw person go wan chop am, naija sha..

Which kain PETA?
HUNGA not HUNGER don finish our brohers and sisters. Siddon dere dey yarn PETA

Linda seriously I am beginning to detest the ridiculous and extremely graphic pictures u have been posting on ur blog lately! Seriously alot of people are complaining and this is getting rather irresponsible of you! If you don't post decomposing /infected female genital parts, you post bodies of respectable actors as they lay lifeless or bodies of innocent slain victims of occupy Nigeria protest or the remains of innocent aquatic animals... Yes they are living things too!!!! I definitely will not be visiting this blog again! please learn to be responsible! You are obviously going to delete this post!whatever you do,I know you have read this message!!!

eke is my hobby said...

Not an animal lover by any chance but cruelty to animals hurts my soul. This is terrible. Poor poor sea turtle. Wish I could have saved u. Goodness naija has raised some animals in human skin. Why will they do that and what in this creature looks appetizing? Urg a thot of them making suya meat out of it just crossed my mind and I just threw up in my mouth! That's it, not eating out anymore!!!

Since this was 'caught' in Nigeria, we can pretty much assume that the parts of the turtle meat would have been excreted by some individuals. In many other countries, this turtle will first be identified by a qualified personnel, and kept for further research or humanely returned to its habitat. Which leads to the question: what is it with us that places little value on LIFE? We extinguish life the least opportunity we have!

Fressia said...

This is sooooo unfair! I'm in tears right now, poor thing. #Yinmu. But seriously who eats turtles! WTF!!!!

This is an endangered animal... SMH...

Ignorance and poverty = disaster

Son of Babylon said...

OMG, what have we turned to? People are now eating dead animals that are probably poisonous just to survive but yet we are fifth largest oil exporter to USA. We need a revolution to stop the rot and start afresh.

Jesus wept... This is a leatherback sea turtle, it is a critically endangered species, plus the flesh is too oily and fatty for good consumption...

The poor thing probably came ashore to lay eggs.

SMH IN a normal nation it would be helped to get back to sea after being treated, in Nigeria, it is tortured and then killed.

Wiki:
The leatherback sea turtle (Dermochelys coriacea), sometimes called the lute turtle, is the largest of all living sea turtles and the fourth largest modern reptile behind three crocodilians. It is the only living species in the genus Dermochelys. It can easily be differentiated from other modern sea turtles by its lack of a bony shell. Instead, its carapace is covered by skin and oily flesh. Dermochelys coriacea is the only extant member of the family Dermochelyidae.

A hardened people....

Kai......... dem for look for Aquarium worldwide wey go buy am. It looks like an endangered specie. Na big money dem want eat ooo. Naija People

Phillip Emmanuel said...

This is not right. Can't count how many dogs we have saved off the street. So much, there's no room for more!

Who will preserve nature for heaven sake. (Sad for the animal).

This turtle is probably a 100 years old and scientisit here in the states could have probably researched it and giving good money to collect it from these men...

This is one of the major problems in Nigeria, no organizations or foundations that give people options to do the right thing... What if the meat from this turtle is poisonous or something.... Sad!

Kemi said...

Just gross. That animal should have been sent back into the water. Reminds me of a couple of years ago when a beached whale appeared in Oniru and people went crazy with axes and buckets - hacking the poor thing into pieces all in the name of free fish.

I almost vomited. God, i think some law shld be place for protecting animals. Haba.

Dee dee said...

RSPCA and animal cruelty organisations??? In Nigeria???...even human lives are lost everyday in Nigeria with little or no justice, talk less of an animal. Poor thing, some people are soo wretched with only their greedy intentions as priority.

It should have been set free,is it even edible?

Over the years poor Nigerians have become so unfriendly to sea creatures beached out to dry land...simple reason...poverty. Very pitiful. Dr. W

When we eat ourselves, what else will we not eat? Abi we don forget our man Clifford Orji so soon?

na so we de chop our money in raw form just like kpomo! Do u know I was at the zoo not too long ago in Canada and I talked with the life conservation people, they are looking for a big turtle like this to buy but haven't found, they are ready to pay some good money for it and these idiots are hear eating this one, it even looks like a rare specie. Na so baby whale comot for bar beach my people carry cutlass butcher the thing, how sad, na so ignorance de make the poor poorer.....mcheeeew

It looks really scary!! I though sea turtles were supposed to be kinda cute!

Mena UkodoisReady said...

awww

visit: http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2012/01/occupy-nigeria-nigerians-we-must-wake.html

Hmm... dont worry. all of them that ate the meat go soon kpai lol. Read article on how http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/stories/animalsnature/seaturtle/

Goodness me, I feel sorry for the folks that bought the meat.......yuck!

Agh! Nigerians! I am not suprised. Nothing works in our dear country. If that was the US, animal conservationists will take that turtle and study it. We have NO respect for life. Our hearts are so hardened. We kill ourselves, kill God's living creatures, kill, kill, kill. We are not moved by the sight of bloodied or butchered dead bodies. Be it that of animals or humans. Its like, we have no souls.

I love animals and a society that maltreats helpless animals most likely maltreats the poor and helpless humans in their midst as well. It is no wonder in Nigeria children are treated badly, the poor are treated badly yet we claim to love God. In short, we have a mighty long way to go as a people and I wonder if we would ever get there.

Galore said...

@Anon abusin LINDA u ar outta ur fuckin Mind.....shay na by force say make u com ds Blog?...if u think u dont like what she has be postin,,then take a walk boo....the graphic ds,the picture that?..see ur mouth,,ova sabbi......@Linda i want to take u out,,am a Lady,,but i want u to feel the effect a woman can hv on you....just hv the feelin,,,d Love..u wud neva regret it....and also the sex inclusiv,,so sweet,,gentle and fun......

kai person go chop this for "mama put" joint e no go know say na turtle... kai life don reach that side.

@ anon 5:25pm Abeg Abeg Abeg!!! Park well jor! Ur mate dey protest fuel subsidy removal, u dey protest linda post... Dem force u to look d graphic pictures? Abi na by force? Pls let's hear word jor! Mssssshhhheeeewwww!

too bad for the poor thing, bt come to think of it, i do wonder what some people see in crab that they eat it, so thay could just take it as being the same family bt a larger one......lol. how hilarious

stunned babe said...

Seriously?!!! They actually gouged out its eyes?!! Thats is so mean! How far could a turtle this size have gone? Who eats this stuff anyways? Must we eat everything?

I'm certain there are several aquariums all over the world that would have flown down here to buy this reptile with some serious $$$. Ignorance sha! Nigerians wont eat the one that will land them in the hospital!

Whick kin animal be dis? Abi na baby alligator. I no trust naijas, some will still eat it. When u turn into something else or ur body dey feel funny, na ur fault.

This is rather funny, an endangered specie lands on our shores and what we do?

We eat it? My people suffer for lack of knowledge, well I don't blame them. Its our innate laziness to make assumptions that has gotten us into this mess.

I hope the turtle eaters have not all fallen sick!

Its a female sea turtle,was probably looking for a place to lay her eggs. She no knw say na wrongest place she choose.

mama somtee said...

Trust nigerians to them dis na bushmeat oooh , what won't they eat dog meat , snake , monkey , carmel , whale , uuna no dey carry last for bad thing na so so first , what level of seeming poverty ------only here in nigeria , only here !!!!!

Please read this article. It talks about maltreatment of animals in Nigeria

Chai! See what GEJ has done to pple o, poverty eeeeeee

BunBun4life said...

What a bunch of filthy shitbags! I hope the next time they kill and eat a monkey, they get monkeypox.

No one said...

Good Lord!!poor thing, I'm sure if a dinasours magically decide to resurface planet earth>> Naija,it will be extinct again before National Geographic or Discovery can whistle... Yes,they are humongous and ferocious but I assure you that they are no match for the "Naija hunter"

It is poisonous!!!

NaijaScorpio said...

Nigerians are hungry...lol.

Shegreeny said...

9ja sha we can form, see some people comment like say Na bad thing. Na meat and as the country is concerned there are no laws against eating it, turtle meat is a delicacy in some countries. Rats, bats and snakes are eating in many counties including Nigeria. Outside Nigeria people would pay top dollar for this meat. Abeg make una park well.

Linda well done!

Endangered gini? Even the human beings in Nigeria are all endangered species, dying daily of poverty and hunger. In the jungle, chop or be chopped!

MYPAGE said...

Well, our Nigerian nation has not come to the level where by people are animal´s right conscious.The bible made animals for us to eat so from this point of view the turtle could be eaten afterall, tortise/turtle and crocodile are eaten.From another point of view, if laws were in place in Nigeria, the turtle which is a rare specie from its look should have been given up to authorities who would in turn compensate those who caught it.By killing and eating this animal, history has been destroyed for them and Nigeria as a whole!

Poor turtle.

Are they illiterates or what? In a civilized country the police will arrest you for killing it.

Since it may not be a crime to sell it in Nigeria then whoever caught can it can sell it to a zoo in Europe for a good price. Awon Ode! Money don come be that. Chinese pandas are in the UK.

okonelvis said...

Abeg all of u should keep quiet! If na una so called bushmeat,I'll be cool as if u know the what they go through in the hands of hunters. Abeg boys chop ur thing and I tell you some them won't mind eating it if it were in the dark. Dem 2 envy!

hairfruit said...

‎​who will save this ƒor human sake. How i wish i was there, i could have done something. This specie might be rare in the world. We need NGO to tackle such thing next time. Really painful. The animal enter the wrong society.

okonelvis said...

Abeg make una stop this formings.civilised world ko! As if u've all traveled before. In ur so called called civilised world,don't they cruelly pill of skin of fish that u eat as shushi and u won't see anything wrong with that.or back home here do u know what ur so called bushmeats go through in traps before they die. But everyday u lineup in bushmeat bars. Ride on boys!

No one said...

Wow,did I really say "a dinasours"?,I meant dinasours o, I swear,I sabi english

This is so sad. As someone pointed out, its a leatherback turtle and at the brink of extinction. Only God knows what other endangered animals Nigerians have ignorantly killed.

kween said...

Kai.. This is so annoying. Why not just push it back into the sea? Must they kill and eat everything that washes up to the shore? Haba! First whales and now this. Poor creature. The kain hunger wey dey wire some people be like swear.. Who on earth would buy its meat? Perhaps wretched urchins like them. Msheeew!

http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/stories/animalsnature/seaturtle/

Wale said...

That was a beautiful animal just murdered! But people are desperate and hungry..God help us!

i'm a zoologist and sea turtles ordinarily are not what u wud consider food because they are marine reptiles and considering we dont know d history of dis animal, it will be potentially dangerous to feed on it. But i guess the level of hardship, penury,desperation n abject poverty in our country has got 2 a point where people are willing to do just about anything to survive including eating and sellin an unfamiliar creature's bodyparts... wish JONA is seeing dis..sooner or later ppl may bcome cannibals to survive if d peril persists...just a tot

ooh! Naija dis z ignorance at d peak imagine dis rare giant sea turtle hardly seen in most zoo's. They should sell it 2 any zoological establishmnt or univ. Zoo instead of killin it at least d price of dat1 shld be $2,000 or more.

kemmeye said...

Another reason why im ashamed to be a nigerian too many illeterates there. smdh

eeewwwwwwwwwwwww...it looks demonic...like sumn u'll c in a bad dream bbrrrrr

Power Station Malaysia said...

Many P Pl in Nigeria have eating there future yet we complain about subsidy Na wa oooooooooooooo God Have Mercy and Grace on your Ppl Jona hope say you day see this one..

But the latest news may slow turtle hunting: Dr. Nichols and other scientists have found that sea turtles (family Cheloniidae) absorb a lot of pollution from the ocean, including pesticides and heavy metals like mercury and cadmium. These toxins are health hazards for both turtles and humans and can cause permanent damage to their bodies. Sea turtles also carry the bacteria salmonella, which can cause severe diarrhea in people. Research shows that many people get sick and even die from eating sea turtle meat

If you’re from the United States, chances are you haven’t had sea turtle on your dinner plate. “My daughter is four, and she thinks eating sea turtles is gross,” says Nichols. Besides, all seven species are protected by the United States Endangered Species Act, which makes it illegal to harm or kill these amazing animals. “But there are kids–-and adults—around the world who do still eat them,” explains Nichols. “Our first goal was to save turtles; now we want to save people too.”

He wants to get the word out to people who still think turtle steaks or soup make good eating. And he wants people to understand a bigger message: that we should protect the oceans. “The health of the ocean, the health of the animals in the ocean, and our own health are all connected. For a long time we didn’t really make those connections,” explains Nichols. “Now it’s clear that a clean ocean is really good for us too because of the food we eat from there.”

Fast Facts

There are seven species of sea turtles.

Most sea turtles live 15-20 years, and some may live to be 80.

Their favorite foods include jellyfish, algae, snails, and seaweed.

Sea turtles live mostly in the water, coming ashore to lay their eggs and return to the water. With people taking over beaches around the world, sea turtles are having a hard time finding safe spots to lay their eggs.

Many sea turtles die when they get tangled in fishing nets or eat things like plastic bags that probably look like jellyfish to them.

this is crazy!! these illiterates could have made a hell of money selling this turtle.f**king idiots!