Protesters burn down INEC office and other buildings in Niger state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 January 2012

Protesters burn down INEC office and other buildings in Niger state

Riot broke out in parts of Niger state this morning as protesters took to the streets. The INEC office along David Mark road in Minna, the Governor's campaign office at Mobil Roundabout, Senator Awaisu Kuta's house, PDP vice chairman Barr. Tanko Beji's chamber and IBB campaign office were all set on fire by irate protesters a few hours ago.

The announcement by head of service in Niger state asking workers to resume resulted in the violent demonstrations.

45 comments:

May God bless d pple dat did dis. Amen-Aimuan Evans Aghayore

This is not play play.. Govt thinks they can fool us again like before.. the arabs have opened our eyes... How people can dey kill.. We are at it this time and no going back.

hi linda ikeji,would like 2 work with u,check my blog,http://gdolzincentives.blogspot.com really looking 4ward 2 hearing from u

They can riot for fuel subsidy but Boko Haram can come and kill people any time. What dirty hypocrisy. So life is less important that your increased poverty. (as you were still poor before they removed the subsidy)

Ooooh why INEC office now? This tif tif people now small talk go say na billion somtin naira to rebuild it. Pls avoid anything that will give this corrupt govt an excuse to tif more than they are already doing.

Govt doesn't know anything yet. The next step will be that protestors will target all the corrupt people's residences and burnt hem and their ill acquired properties. Enough is enough! We must put an end to corruption and let this nation move in the right direction.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

This is just the beginning..those that don't want in this case for their children to sleep they too wouldn't find sleep!!..this goes way beyond pump price increases not to be confused with deregulation or oil subsidy removal..people pls spot the difference

Emeka said...

It is becoming obvious that we are no longer occupying Nigeria but tryn to burn it to the ground. I must say that anything achieved through violence will always be maintained by violence. Lets not lose sight of what the true struggle is and give in to the whims of some selfish few. Please Naija folks, lets keep our inner beasts in check ooo. A word is enuf for the wise oooo.

Silly northeners doing as they are told. They are even more radical than the intelligent southerners. Neither they or their leaders can ennuciate how it is affecting them. They were just told to "gwo"

I luv dis action. Pls guyz proceeds to gov's house. Imagine d FG sayin no work no pay if dey did not resume work today. I pity Gudluck coz he does not knw wat he has landed himsef into....mchewwww

Wow this is so uncouth. Do people actually think this kind of behaviour will fix anything. Take a look at the London roits, did the burning and looting change govt legislation over there. take a look at the Arab spring, aren't most of those countries still dealing with some form of military rule and instability.

What a lot of people don't realise is that by doing this they are damaging the economy and we will self implode. We won't progress. The international community will view us as barbaric and unstable.

In short Nigeria is turning into a failed state. When NATO abi America come and take over don't be angry at them oh. You are begging for it. .

Lord pls have mercy on us,and show us d right way.

Please they should also hurry up to the minaa hill top mansion where the evil genius lives and burn dat thief mansion built with d naija masses money and not forgeting AL- AMIN school owned by d bastard's wife.Mohammed and Aminu babaginda av not worked for any part of their cursed lives and they are billionaires and dat is money made from subsidy our sweat.i am 32 years with no regular job and i hate dis corrupt leaders from shagari down to jonathan..pls remember d governors also e.g tinubu,odilli,ibori,saraki,daniels,modu sheriff,atiku burn their houses

*bitter naija youth*

i saw this coming ....... Jonathan is a bigger fool than i thought.

God bless Nigeria , next place to burn is aso rock

Bunch of destructive animals. Smh

ONYEDIKING said...

Is now or never thank's to the arabs for opening ou eyes www.gideblog.com

Typical aboki's just created another avenue for people to chop money. What part of protest is burning public properties...and private ones as well?

Thats right, it remains aso rock, houses of cabals.

Linda we to need to keep you updated too on the latest news please post the story and if the youths shut down the oil production then the world will react as the price would go up and places like America where presidential election is coming up…. I tell you obama would fly in with airforce one immediately to tell the wicked GEJ to take the price back to 65 naira. Let the boys shut it down and then jona and NASS would know that it don pass play finish. See link below to post on your blog as this is what naija needs shut down the whole oil production!!! naija really means business those who have died would not die in vain.

http://www.momentng.com/en/news/5931/strike-niger-delta-youths-vow-to-shutdown-oil-facilities.html

Son of Babylon said...

I have always said that if buildings are not burned down, they will not take us serious. So many government buildings need to be burned down and if we can kidnap a few of the government officials, then Badluck will pay attention.

God punish d pple that did this.....anon 1.45pm take note.ever heard d adage that says never throw a stone in d market place....*hisssss*u can't use violence to solve any issue

Nigeria, what an interesting place.

of course, INEC follow join in forcing GEJ on us.

GEJ MUST GO!

I don't care about fuel subsidy again

david mark road??? Kinda funny they name roads after thieves.

Niger state! Na there way be that.

After murdering so many people in a church on a christmas day, they need to do justice to what is left. Mumu people.

Water don pass garri ooo...Shooo!!!

This government is dumb! They had better get things under control before the revolution finally sets in.

GOOD FOR D STATE. IT'S NO LONGER A CHILD'S PLAY. NIGERIANS MEAN BUSINESS NOW UNLIKE OTHER STRIKES THAT D GOVT HAD THEIR WAY. THIS IS D MOTHER OF ALL STRIKES. NIGERIANS, DONT BE INTIMIDATED, KEEP D SPIRIT GOING FOR IT'S NOW OR NEVER.

Nice, for some reason i love this...since they wont give us wat we want and share the money, they shld use dat money and rebuild d buildings! Am loving dis...dis type of vilence is needed to send aa message (they shld just nt kill pple no more) NIGERIANS HAVE HAD IT! ENUF IS JUST ENUF

GEJ just informed us that there will be 25% cut in BASIC salary of all political office holders. Let's analyse the package of a senator. Basic Salary (BS) – N2,484,245.50
Hardship Allowance @ 50% of Basic Salary – N1,242,122.70 (I love this kind of hardship)
Constituency allowance @ 200% of BS - N4,968,509.00
Furniture Allowance @ 300% of BS – N7,452,736.50
Newspaper allowance @ 50% – N1,242,122.70 (Which kind newspaper be this, abi na online or hard copy?)
Wardrobe allowance @ 25% – N621,061.37
Recess Allowance @ 10% – N248,424.55
Accommodation @ 200% – N4,968,509.00
Utilities @ 30% – N828,081.83
Domestic Staff @ 35% – N863,184.12
Entertainment @ 30% – N828,081.83
Personal Assistance @ 25% – N621,061.37
Vehicle Maintenance Allowance @ 75% – N1,863,184.12
Leave Allowance @ 10% – N248,424.55
One off payments (Severance gratuity) @ 300% – N7,452,736.50 (Once they get fired.)
Motor Vehicle Allowance @ 400% of BS – N9,936,982.00 – Every Four Years
Senator’s Salary per month – N2,456,647.70
Total = N29,479,749.00 Per Year
Allowance of Nigerian Senator: $1,500,000/year. 25% of basic is a little over N600k. (They will forfeit 600k out 29 Million? Is this guy 4 real? Or he's a bloody comedian/papa ajasco. What a farce!!!

REVOLUTION IS THIS

d labour leaders shld be arrested 4 dis destruction,cos a competent court of law has declare d strike illegal,lk at wat dey hve caused

kcee said...

At least the reaction will make them realise they are serious. It is just sad that some states are not that bothered.

Ceezhar said...

Haba,wich one now!!!we want a peaceful protest nt one dat will b tainted with violence and destruction of propertys.wy inec office and oda buildins now?!!!

nigerlites,why shld we allow oppositions to use their thugs 2 destroy our state for us,nlc u allowed hoodlums 2 hide under ur umbrella 2 destroy our country,god will neva leave u unpunished

Pls can someone tell Gej that he is just fulfilling prophecy and the resultant effect of what heis doing is deadly.
He can still change his mind and appologise to
Nigerians.if only you can bow to this counsel though i know you will not bulge just like in the days of pharaoh.Nigerians should know that is not about noise is about every Nigerian that voted for Gej to go on there knees and repent because they said they neededGej and God gave him to them so noise will not solve the problem rather God's mercy will.just like story of King Saul.

GEN GEN!!! Na so e dey take start small small o! Before you say Jack Robinson...Abuja will be a ghost town.

@January 11, 2012 6:38 PM hahaha i don laugh tire at your descrption even papa ajasco get mor sense than jona beleive me

Ritamaly said...

This is not the way foward. Distroying ur property will land u in buying it back. So why distroy it? Just keep praying God wil intervian

now am very convinced dat GEJ ia badluck to anyone he associates with. Wen he was deputy gov in Bayelsa state, it was his badluck dat exposed Alamasiegha and chased d man away from seat of power. His badluck killed Yar adua. Now GEJ wants to use his badluck to destroy Naija. You wont succeed o. When I saw you @ RCCG camp during your campaign, i really thot you were a sensible man o. Now dat u won d election, u av stopped going to d RCCG camp. Instead you want to inflict pain on Naija peeps. GOD will destroy all ur wicked plans IJN.

grace said...

pikin wey say him mama no go sleep, him mama go sleep for ontop him back. GEJ now na morning 4 you.!

oshash said...

@onyediking,i think u shld be thanking LIB readers for opening ur own very eyes.cos i vividly remember u wer happy with d fuel subsidy removal&was always speaking in support of d govt.now,i can see u'r been more enlightened about d whole thing.naija govt cant just be trusted.they'v been milking us dry all these while&GEJ is so xception.

@ anon 10:31 nd 10:39 u guys must b silly nd lack undstandin. U av 2 read again nd understnd d cause of d violence. Labour did nt say 'go on strike nd destroy properties'. Dey wanted peaceful demonstration 4rm d masses bt some pple turnd it in2 something else. So nt time read nd understnd b4 u comment!!