Photos: #OccupyNigeria Protesters March Through the Streets | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 January 2012

Photos: #OccupyNigeria Protesters March Through the Streets

From the North, to the South, to the East, thousands of Nigerians came out today to protest the subsidy removal, as nationwide strike begins. Continue to see more photos...

27 comments:

Let's go Nigeria! We must not give up. Nigerian politicians have taken us for a ride for too long. Enough is enough!

crazylifemeetsdee said...

I am so proud of the Nigerians that went for the protest.No more suffering and smiling.OCCUPY NIGERIA...

P.S look at Jide kosoko's abdomen.Is he pregnant? and linda please I want to to see your own protest pictures...

michael said...

i took some pix too @ the Osogbo protest. I'm soo proud of Nigerians....ppl turned out in large numbers.... Thank you Nigerians #OccupyNigeria #CutDownGovernmentWaste

Platform of entertainment said...

Well, i hope all this protest wont be in vain.

linda thank you soooo much for bringing this news and God would continue to bless you more and more and your parents would eat the fruit of their labour my sister ride on continue to bring the news i tell you do not underestimate the power of the internet.

the police man that shut the protester in yaba has been arrested as the pictures were loaded on to the internet by fashola's orders and i just want to commend the action gov for his quick thinking ride on gov fashola and linda!!!

Guru Eko Akete said...

I see you all. One Nation Under GOD. Bravo Omo Odua

I feel so proud to be a Nigerian today! OccupyNigeria!!

HATER IS BACK!!!! said...

all a WASTE of time!

it's when something affects the rich in this country that is when they support the poor!

we can still survive! it would simply cut down people's extravagance!

Up Naija!

INDEX said...

THINK IT IS TIME FOR NIGERIA TO THINK TWICE AND REALLY KNOW WHAT THEY WANT....WE HAD BEEN RULED BY A CABAMOCRATIC GOVT FOR LONG....

INDEX said...

THINK IT IS TIME FOR NIGERIA TO THINK TWICE AND REALLY KNOW WHAT THEY WANT....WE HAD BEEN RULED BY A CABAMOCRATIC GOVT FOR LONG....

Nasiru El-Rufai who distroyed Nigerians properties and sources of livelyhood without compesation while sparing those of the rich and infuluencial now after failing an election leads a protest.. Mschewww.. Its peoples right not to join..

this is real hilarious mehn naija dey try. on ngozi i tell you she is busy giving interview left right and centre defending the subsidy removal while deinzel is hidding. the aljazera tv ngozi interview on sunday was the most stupid one imagine she became 4 ministers in that interview; minister of finance, health, labour, works and she even became the head of the army as well it looked like she seems to know what is wrong in other sectors but not the one she is appointed to which is finance, she really had no clue what a big shame on her.

i am sorry for ngozi as the good reputation that she built up in years before she came to jona would be tarnished overnight.... let her run run run there is fire on the mountain!!!

let oga jona brass up for doctors are threating to start their strike by the end of the week as that is the ultimatum given by them to jonathan then the trouble has just begun as he whole general hospitals in the country would be shut down

it is only a stubborn fly that follows the corpse to the grave GEJ a word is enough for the wise

its sad that the international media (esp america)dont give a shyt what is going on. I feel sorry for nigerians. I will remember you in my prayers. You started the year very bad. Please remember to pray always - this is not normal.

Satan is having a strong hold on your nation. He will not dare with my praying nation. We eat prayers - its our live. Even a 10 yr old knows how to prayin tongues where am from

Am so impressed with this turn out. I hope we wont be discouraged until we get what we want. Because GEJ wud be telling himself dat we wud soon get tired and give up on the protest. Linda, I didnot see you in the picture na. Abi you are occupying Naija tru ur Blog?lol. Me i dey occupy in London.
I can see the likes of Jide Kosoko &co. By the way, Where are all the Nollywood peeps GEJ gave national awards too? Are they not protesting

uche said...

“We Shall Start Stoning The Economists In Official Corridors.” – By Reuben Abati In 2009

Rueben Abati
By Reuben Abati
Just three years ago, Dr. Reuben Abati, now Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, was so incensed by the “joke” called removal of fuel subsidy that he evinced the possibility of jungle justice for proponents of the idea in the corridors of power. Today, he has changed his mind. A man has the right to change his mind. But the people too have the right to remember; to remember where, when, and how the rain of betrayal and treachery began to beat them…

Dee dee said...

I am proud of them. What will come out of this? We shall wait and see.

WOOOWWWWWWWWWW SEE PEOPLE ! PROUD NIGERIA KEEP ON THE GOOD WORK!!!

anon 10:01pm so why dont you ignore this post or better still avoid reading linda's blog? pls dont let d people that have died in this protest haunt you. it is really not compulsory to comment on blog posts. gbegborun a.k.a notice me..na u speak in tongues pass!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Only just managed to leave 9ja had to leave for the airport at 5AM..nuff people actually slept there...very soon foreign flights would not be allowed in/out of the country..this is a serious meltdown and people ain't playing!!
Linda you def feeling the pulse of the nation at the moment..everything appears secondary now..this subsidy must go..imagine the shock just as we were tucking into our xmas jollof rice just dropped the bombshell!!..and this affects everything across the board.that's the way 9ja works..everything revolves around the price of petrol!!..that goes up everything else goes up DOUBLE!!..and how convenient of Jonathan not to slash the pay of the House of Assembly and Senate House!!
Okonjo's American theortical economics can never work in 9ja..

Str8FrmDaHips said...

How come the Dummy GEJ ain't talking about building new Refineries or getting tenders worldwide to build them (stick point)??..this is the core to our success as a oil producing country!!..
Who is GEJ trying to fool..Deregulation is BAU(business as usual)just more open...obviously he's scheming to open it up to his friends/wives and not just the current cabal..it's still importing our own crude products..so how does that benefit us long term??..at the moment certain individuals are getting subsidized fat cheques for empty tankers..what a sham!!

I'm proud of my people. This will not be in vain! Amen. Kudos Linda Ikeji

tunmi said...

I see Bimbo Akintola, Jide Kosoko, Ronke Ojo. Una well done.

This protest is more than the removal of fuel subsidy. It is a protest against the waste and corruption in Nigeria. This protest is scaring the politicians, and I am glad for it.

I joined other well meaning Nigerians today at Gani Fawehinmi park. It was great, peaceful and very organized. I employ other patriotic citizens of this country who reside in Lagos to join us again tomorrow (Tuesday) by 9am. If we speak in one language, our voices will be heard. Please ignore the fool *Kemikal* on LIB who thinks protesting is meant for the poor only cos I was inspired by one of my employees who said to me "Madam, how do they want me to survive with a wife and 3kids?" That was the motivation for me. God bless Nigeria!...Meggy

This is it, letz go the Arab way... What must B must B.

From the first day of the Nation wide strike till now,no such things like Protest in South East,even if we are to Protest not for the Fuel Subsidy rather for The Boko Haram killings.....which will still come up.Good Luck is the Best President so far in Nigeria.