Photos: Nigerian police removing remains after killing protester in Ibafo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 January 2012

Photos: Nigerian police removing remains after killing protester in Ibafo

A protester was killed in Iabfo during the #occupyNigeria protest in Ibafo yesterday. The victim was in a 14-seater bus en route Ibafo when he was hit by the bullet from a policeman said to have been shooting randomly.

In this photo, you can see the Nigerian police taking his corpse away...wow! I hope this Government is seeing this?

13 comments:

The protesters are not innocent. And this is not what happened. My family members almost died yesterday at this Ibafo and this was because the Ibafo protesters were stonin n destroyin cars and threatenin to kill civilians. They refused to let the civilians enter Lagos. If at all dey were unhappy about the fact people were travelling, they should have prevented them from movement till 6pm, as done else where. But no, dey started destroying, chasing, looting and killin d travellers. People lost ther kids, lives, cars, way home just cause of Ibafo residents/protesters. If not for the police, all people tryin to enter Lagos would have been killed. The police brought them into Lagos at the end. So if for anything, the police saved lives

were these policemen trained at all? shooting at the people they are paid to protect.They probably thought they could cover this up, that no one would find them. God will definitely judge ,but before then, we the Nigerian people will ask for their heads.

The situation at ibafo was not a protest but rather extortion. The youths there, backed by the elders blocked the roads and forced the travellers to give them money, some even went as far as damaging vehicles.

Anon 10:44am: seriously,what re people looking for,travelling w̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥n̶̲̥̅̊ dey heard there is nationwide strike,everyone has been told Τ̲̅ȍ stay @ home åπϑ only come out if u wanna go for d peaceful protest,dont get me wrong,A̶̲̥̅♏ not supporting those looting on d high ways,A̶̲̥̅♏ J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ saying,y α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ some people S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ damn annoying..d oda tym,I was watching tv åπϑ I saw a man saying he has Τ̲̅ȍ go Τ̲̅ȍ work cause he doesn't cause he is not a civil servant like d hike i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ petrol price is only affecting d civil servant..Imagine if everyone decides Τ̲̅ȍ go Τ̲̅ȍ work,how will T̶̲̥̅̊h̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊ strike be successful,Aω will d fed govt know Ώє̲̣̣ can't take all this rubbish anymore? If u re told dere is natinwide strike åπϑ u think u re wiser than odas åπϑ u Çãñ go about ur own private business,then u should be ready Τ̲̅ȍ face what comes ur way..People should J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ learn Τ̲̅ȍ act as one åπϑ stop acting like Judas Iscarot..My 2cents!

As the the NLC rages in on and the death toll increases across the nation,innocent protesters are being mowed down by trigger happy policemen,touts,looters and hoodlums seize the opportunity to unleash terror and mayhem in the name of 'protests', people are in a state of trepidation,staying at home and locking your doors is the obvious safe thing to do, the atmostsphere in the air is tense and volatile.
Even in the midst of all the chaos and confusion,some HEARTLESS and SOUL-LESS employers are still insisting their workers show up for work,with the threat of termination!!! UNBELIEVABLE! this goes to show how far some people will go just to turn a little profit,not even concerned about the safety of their workers!! lagos for example is a hotbed for protests going violent, but apparently the chairman of PETROLOG GROUP has not been following the news, for had he been he would have not given directives that his employees show up for work amidst the turmoil, either that or he is incredibly wicked, most of his workers come as far as the mainland to work at PETROLOG GROUP in victoria island. Imagine the dangers they will probably encounter on their way to work!! meanwhile the chairman basks cozily in his mansion secure behind his tall and electrified fences.
Let me use this medium and urge employers and business owners HAVE-A HEART, dont endanger the lives of your employees! many of them are the bread winners of their household. Have the fear of God!

Linda i wasnt at ibafo but yesterday i tried to pass the jakande roundabout at lekki expressway on my way home from the protest rally when i met another protest rally. Unfortunately it wasnt an nlc or tuc protest but rather hoodlums, criminals and abegros from jakande estate and lekki beach axis just harrassing cars unecessarily. Street thugs taking advantage of the situation and using it to extort innocent civilians. I can tell u that if not for the police, who came go disperse them, i wouldnt have gotten home yesterday and to think i came out to support the rallies. So please be aware that some of these cases are not protesters fighting the genuine fight but thugs taking advantage of crisis and using it as a means to engage in free criminal activities. Long live naija, and the genuine fight for the emancipation of the great nigerian people!!!! #OCCUPY NIGERIA LEGALLY!!

What do u think will happen if d see it nig is a place were d police can do anything and get away with it even with a pic

We're making progress, Nigerians did not rush the body and dismember it for food...

Phew...

SMH at dunce who said employers want workers to show up to make profit... how about wanting workers to show up so the company can break even? or do you think when workers don't show, other fixed costs e.g rent magically vanish?

Eyaaaa. The guy probably voted Jonathan. RIP.

Angel Michael said...

This is so sad. My major worry is that these police men may succede in their attempt to bury the evidence by secretly disposing d body of this inocent Nigerian.
These police men must be brought to book. The commisioner of police of Ogun state and DPO of that area must produce d body of this slain nigerian or be held responsible

hmmmm said...

Linda be very careful with some of the news o. As of 8am this morning hoodlums were robbing people around eko bridge. The akpogbon end of the bridge. The police made some arrests and one thug even stabbed an officer. If the police had used deadly force on the stabber, he would have been at fault by some of ur reports. Pls let us be careful with some of our unverfied reports that is damaging more than helping to get a solution

how to make money internet said...

what is the state gov doing about this.