Nigeria heading for civil war - Wole Soyinka. Do you agree? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 January 2012

Nigeria heading for civil war - Wole Soyinka. Do you agree?

“We see the nation heading towards a civil war,” Wole Soyinka reportedly told the BBC World Service in an interview on the state of the nation yesterday.

Is Nigeria heading towards a civil war? Please share your thoughts

42 comments:

Loudmouthed said...

Whatever it is, Jonathan thinks we are dumb. He better take control of the situation and return the fuel price back to normal and also reduce Govt spending on themselves. Very annoying government. We refused to be fooled, #enoughisenough

Occupy 9ja said...

Yes!
Boko Haram has fired the first shot

By the grace of God there wont be civil war...GEJ should cut down their excesses (salaries, benefits, allowances) so as to make things right...leadership is abt selfless service. i support subsidy removal but that shld still not make the fuel price high...insensitive politicians!!!

Its most likely going to lead to civil war at the rate things are going. An uprising was inevitable.

i hope not but there is a probability of war. that's why there are no protests in the east. ojukwu foght for us and he's now dead, so as far as the east is concerned they have been the worst hit by Nigeria as a country, so even if na civil war east no join for protest upon all the suffer dem don dey suffer for years up till this day, even by their so-called governors.

Yes and I hope Linda and other middle class proponents of these protests are the ones in the forefront of the war instead of poor nameless Nigerians. However, by God's grace, things won't spiral completely out of control!

Femillionaire said...

Nigeria is too divided to fight a war as one bloc unlike what happened in the 60's. I don't see the possibility of this... Unless of course they stupidly eliminate Goodluck and replace him with their own. If that happens, can count on the Niger Deltans to form their own republic and the Easterners, Westerners and Middle Beltans would follow suit. Is it the northerners that will fight everybody? Can they succeed if they try it?

Wole Soyinka has once again shown the limits of his understanding, how can he claim that the situation @ hand will lead to a civil war? Why do people still listen to this ignorant loon? It is comments like this one, coming from this coward, that can nurse such destructive ideas in the minds of his feeble-brained followers and lead to chaos in Nigeria. SMH!!

my eyes are red hot . said...

Most definately not --- we are not heading for civil war brros oooh wetin be your contribution to the masses problem , how have you created employment ------- you could always use your diplomatic passport at benin repubic to grra out but we cannot . As a noble prize winner try and make it work after all your children are in one government or the other .

If not a civil way, a coup or some sort of putsch!

The truth is Nigerians have been pushed way too much and have been pushed around for too long, as a result they are ready for anything right now... If d situation calls for, then civil war it is. Period!

This man shuld go and park well, why can't he tell his Daughter who is working in Aso Rock and his Son who is also a commissioner in Ogun State to resign

it took the libyans 42 years to get to this and where is ghdafi today....and it has taken 50+ year for naija to get to this

WOLE SOYINKA IS THE GENESIS OF RADICALISM IN NIGERIA PLS PEOPLE SHOULD NOT FORGET HIS CONTRIBUTION TO CULTISM AND THATS IS WHY WITH ALL HIS KNOWLEDGE AND WISDOM HE ADDS NOTHING BENEFICIAL TO A POOR NIGERIAN. NOBEL PRIZE WINNER MY FOOT!!!!!

All of u saying that there civil war is not a possibility are ignorant and definitely do not know ur history. Wat do u suppose will happen when the govt refuses to back down nd the masses also refuses to back down? Wat do u think will be the out come of this economic shut down, wat will be ur reaction if u go to bank whenever it is they open and u are told u can't get ur money becos federal govt reserve don't have any? Pls how do u ola on pacifying Boko haram, wat do u think the Niger delta retaliation is all about. All u inciting this protest should know that blood shed is a definite so stop the ignorance this is not a game, this is serious. No one is praying for a war, as a matter of fact God forbid that there should be such in Nigeria becos we won't make it, but the truth of the matter is it is a big possibility at this point!

there may be no civil war but however they country would not remain the same after this......

there is going to be so much suffering within the next 4yrs as never seen b4 in the history of nigeria.......

1. parents won't be able to feed their children anymore or pay their fees

2. many students will withdraw fro school

3. unemployment will rise like never b4

4. poverty will rise like never b4

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Well not until someone categorically states that they want to seceed and want a seperate state/country..until then its the peoples revolution..the pain is the same from North-East-West-South..we all feeling the heat!!

a civil war is better than living in this hell on earth called Nigeria! Let every tribe and every ethnicity break up to form their own nationality & govt.
Nigeria is a failed state, and it's about time we put an end to its existence!!!

ENOUGH is ENOUGH...let the WAR BEGIN!!!!

Latest video by boko haram

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtjpzg9n7Vc

I think sovereign national conference is d only solution to d un fortunate state we re in, we need to set new rules of engagement in order to co-exist peacefully.

Is it verified that he said this?
And to Anon 2:35PM - we complain about bad leadership but when people who are qualified join the govt, we vilify them.

For instance, If I work very hard as a medical doctor and rise up the ranks to be a minister of health, what is wrong with that?

linda....pls check dis out..Soyinka might just b right after al

prophetgene.blogspot.com/2011/12/spirit-of-sudan.html

#OCCUPYNIGERIA(legally n prayerfully)

..Bozé

linda pls post it too..tanx

...Bozé

THAT WILL BE NICE. NIGERIA IS TOO BIG TO BE ONE. THE BIG ETHNIC GROUPS ARE CHEATING THE SMALL ONES. TAKE A CUE FROM GHANA. YOU NEED TO SPLIT INTO AT LEAST 12 COUNTRIES
KWEI

One idiot is calling WS a coward etc go and read his anticidents before u open your dirty mouth to talk rubbish bastard oloshi village idiot.somebody who single handedly entered Biafra to confront Ojukwu during civil war?there is no need to reply u bc you are an ignoramus period

Continue killing Igbos and Christians in the North and see what happens.I really don't know about civil war but Nigeria gonna break up one day so that bokoharam can proscribe education in their own country

Ahoy Cap'n!

Dis guy wey dey yab soyinka no get sense o!,in fact ​U̶̲̥̅̊ dey sick for head....if tlk sey ​U̶̲̥̅̊ get brain ​U̶̲̥̅̊ go sabi say wetin d guy tlk na true....​U̶̲̥̅̊ beta go pray to ur God say mk GOD tk control ​U̶̲̥̅̊ juust dey open mouth like salanga dey yarb person idiot oshi sio.....

kcee said...

Abeg make them wait. I no dey ready for any war ooo !!!

Wolex I'm not impressed, yearning dos and shit-stirring as usual. Your're no longer relevant!!

Vic said...

I want to agree with Wole Soyinka but I pray that there will not be war. Let's focus on getting these greedy leaders out of the government first and greedy and selfish leaders will apply to the different ethnic group in the government. Also, let's focus on how we can fight the extremist group, Boko Haram.
Civil War is the last thing that we need at this point. We need to get together and focus on the IMPORTANT ISSUES at hand.

olusegun said...

God will surely see us through dis. Amen

A civil war is right up that bastard's alley.. Is he not a proponent for Oduduwa republic?

May God punish him and his family for generations yet to come.

Bastard

kingsley said...

Let's stop deceiving ourselves. We are not better or different from the Rwandans or Sudanese. This country is full of bullshit that draws the impeding crisis fast. If you are intelligent enough to think fast, you should know that Obasanjo and Jonathan have programmed this country to collapse and war. Afterall the Ijaw man believe that oil is their property. So if i were you, i will start thinking of an offshore account, so that when it happen, I will run away like the treasury looter. I was in Rwandan when the madness started and it just started like this. Shi ki na!

i dont know about civil war cos we are to divided to start one except if the Hausas will take on other tribes, which is not possible. but a serious uprising is imminent or a military take over if the Government does not listen to the masses! Hope GEJ sees this o and change his ways b4 its too late.

If things continue the way they are, then it is only inevitable that a civil war ensues. As it is there are several groups actively seeking for a dissolution to the Federation of Nigeria. Their reasons;
1. The country is far too large and diverse to be successfully administered as one
2. Nigerians do not seem to believe in the concept of 'One Nigeria' so instead of shedding innocent blood, why not peacefully (via a referendum) seperate?
3. Boko Haram seems to run the government, if so then they should take control of their region and leave southerners and the middle-belt out of it, there has been too much loss of young as well as old southerners sacrificed to a fight they know nothing about.
Perhaps they have a point, but I am a Nigerian. I believe in Nigeria and I believe that if we all work at it, we can change this country. Perhaps simplistic of me but that's my opinion. The saddest part is that all these divides and differences that our leaders claim may divide us were if not created then certainly increased exponentially by said leaders. The average person in Nigeria, whether north, south, east, west or middle-belt lives in peace and would just like an opportunity to prosper in his/her country but our leaders will not allow it, that is why the country's issues may blow out into another civil war - because our so-called leaders are greedy, corrupt and narrow-minded vampires intent on sucking the very blood out of Nigeria.

how to make money internet said...

we don't need any war for now

I am convinced all the dramatis personae have assembled to make the americas prediction about nigeria in 2015 a reality. For example, theres is a gej who will not go back on his words and the boko haram who are determined to rock the boat and also the nlc/tuc and the cheated masses who would not take the shit any longer. The kings the obis and emirs are looking on as usual God help us.

So what is wrong with Odududwa republic??? Free from Boko Haram and illiterates/houseboys without shoes ruling us.

We have serious issues. With these Boko Haram idiots, I support North and and South peacefully path ways. Is not as if the South doesn't have its problems but at least we can't leave with their quest for a Sharia state.

Yorubas are not courageous . They open their mouth wide when they talk. They would say "woo' , 'File' but run away when fighting begins.t The Ibos would rescue Nigeria.

I rebuke anyone that says that they'd be war in Nigeria in Jesus' name! Do you not read your bibles and see what it says about the power of the tongue?War indeed! Wole Soyinka is a Board member of FRSC of Nigeria a govt agency, he is sitting pretty and eating hefty. Do not mind him and his cultish(pirate) ways. The should come up with solutions to our nations problems not sit on the sidelines and yap.