Meeting between Government and Labour today ends in deadlock | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 January 2012

Meeting between Government and Labour today ends in deadlock

The meeting between the President, some sate Governors and Labour this evening has ended in a deadlock. Labour says compromise is being made but no agreement has been reached.

Discussion continues on Saturday. Strike continues tomorrow...

90 comments:

why our leders are so useless like thes? It shal not be well wit all of them. (AMEN)

Since they are not listening it's War!!!!

i hope that it would be back at 65 naira so that those who have died would not die in vain and it is strkie continues and if NLC and TUC think that they would negotiate anything than 65 naira or below and come to tell us the poor masses nonsense then the strike would continue with or without them and we would now know that they are part of the wicked people who don't want progress...linda well done

Its time 2put them in there place

THE BEST BROADCAST SO FAR by chinua achebe----GEJ.. .the man who won an election few months ago on his Claim of having no shoes as a boy.....the son of a fisher man fromOtuoke creek has bluntly refused to listen to voice of reason....and I wonder what is wrong with this man...have you forgotten thechild of whom you are......what are you doing in the midst of Sanusi Lamido, Iweala and Allison Madue......ke......Er e ki ni Aja n ba ekun she.....(what game would bring a dog and a tiger together) what good advise would you get from these spoilt brats).....Sanu si....a grandson of the emir and son of a permanent secretary.....a noble blood with a university degree in sharia from SUDAN.....he was never as hungry as you were...You are even an infidel where he is concerned .....Yourassociation can only mean trouble.......a nd then Iweala........t he daughter of a Professor and king in ogwashi ukwu and.....An IMF returnee....... everybody in her family went to harvard.......s he had ice cream for breakfast while you were walking barefoot looking for fish in the sun of ogbia.....come on!what are you doing with her............ .And then diezani madueke ......the daughter of chief Agama andwife of Admiral madueke......wh at are you doing around these people........p lease listen topeople who are just like your father.....fish er men,boat maker ,mechanic,tailo r,okada man etc who would suffer greatly from your stubbornness. Listen to people like you who had no shoes.....like femi falana,Chinua Achebe

one tin i do understand is dat Ebele is just dere is not d one rulin as a president.....very dull in apearance e no get mind 4 all dese questions need to b asked

they have no choice,they must dance to our tune.

God bless labour.

Ray said...

pam

Segun Olabode said...

Enough of the name calling and accusations let's start to proffer solutions mine is thus; Government should revert to 65 Naira and use the consumption value of febuary 2012 since we are in mid January to calculate subsidy payment with civil society, TUC, NLC, selected clergy men and academia monitoring and let's see if we really pay 1.3 trillion Naira for subsidy if its found out that we do the subsidy ahold be removed if it's found out that it's about 400billion then heads should roll starting from the president.
Solutions please. Linda you can please start this trend so we don't just go out and suffer for noting.

Cordialprincess said...

What were u pple expecting,i didnt even raise my expectation abt outcome of the meeting.i really tire 4 dis government.obj was bad but gej is worse.4 funny jokes,visit www.jokeswithprincess.blogspot.com

Breaking News on fuel subsidy removal سایهنیست نقش دیوار و چشم خیره ما نقش سایه دگر نمی دان نور اگر رفت سایه. ر رفت سایه پیدا نیست نقش دیوار و چشم خیره ما نقش سایه دگر. If I hear anything else, I'll let you know. Please be patient.

JOBS IN NIGERIA said...

NAH,NAH,NAH,Not so good,not so good at all.

tnt said...

Everyone seems 2 ve a price tag in Nigeria, hope labour leaders won't sell out like one of predecessors.

When the gods want to deal with someone, they first of all make them MAD! Jonathan is obviously MAD!
It shall not be well with him and all of his generation!

OCCUPY NIGERIA!!!!! NOW OR NEVER!!!!! CHANGE HAS COME TO TOWN!!!!!!

If d man u elected in to power suddenly becomes useless & stupid then i ll say dat u re mad for voting 4 him in d first instance. Frm Raja.

May God arise on our behalf it shall not be well with jonathan and his cabal.

1.Oando Nigerian Plc. – N228.506 billion
2. MRS –N224.818 billion
3. Pinnacle Construction-N300 billion
4. Enak Oil & Gas –N19.684 billion
5. CONOIl – N37.960 billion
6. Bovas & Co. Nig. Ltd. – N5.685 billion,
7. Obat N85 billion and AP; N104.5billion.
8. Folawiyo Oil - N113.3 billion
9. 8.IPMAN Investment Limited- N10.9billion
10. ACON - N24.1billion
11. Atio Oil-N64.4billion
12. AMP- N11.4billion
13. Honeywell-N12.2billion
14. Emac Oil- N19.2billion
15. D.Jones Oil-N14.8billion;
16. Capital Oil - N22.4 billion
17. AZ Oil- N18.613billion
18. Eterna oil- N5.57 billion
19. Dozil oil- N3.375 billion
20. Fort oil-N8.582 billion.
21. Integrated Oil and Gas- N30.777 billion.
If GEJ paid these pple and companies this sum of money and still have enough to still pay the wages of all the legislators,hons and house of reps, Then there is money in this country called Nigeria. He doesn't need to remove oil subsidy to build our refineries, roads, health, educations,create jobs for us, the youths. GEJ made it sound like, Nigeria is broke when we're not. GEJ needs to cut all the legislators, hons, house or reps 'cos they are not representing the pple that put them there but themselves. Scrap all those fake govt agencies! Alot of pple are suffering even with the strike yet the govt officials and GEJ are having a merry day!This is so unfair! alot of lives lost both by boko haram, police and thru depression.i must commend all those who came out to protest under the sun and unsafe environment.My prayers goes out all those who lost loved ones and families going thru hell at this time! God pls help my country and let not the death of those men, women and children be in vain!( in tears)

Jezzzz, suldnt Millitary just take over? Since dey dont wanna listen to us, dis aint democracy at all.

Compromise bawo? Those labour leaders want †ђξ full subsidy to continue bcos they also glen off †ђξ money too. Whether nlc & tuc likes it or not, wε †ђξ citizens of Nigeria will continue to occupy till all our demands are met starting with an irrevocable return of pms pump price to 65naira & thereafter face †ђξ wanton & senseless extravagance of all govt arms & offices. Henceforth, †ђξ details of all govt spending & project executions shall be made available for public perusal.
Wε have to build this nation together & on †ђξ foundation of truth. NLC & TUC can go hug †ђξ nearest transformers. Occupy Nigeria wε shall. God bless Nigeria

Ritamaly said...

Let's start thanking God His goodness. Wen u thank God He wil do more

Nigerians stop talking any how,U̶̲̥̅̊ insult the Govt and talk abt war? Do U̶̲̥̅̊ know what ur saying? Ask ur grandmum or mom depending on ur age what the last civil war was like U̶̲̥̅̊ will never say war again, what we owe our country is prayers and God should take control and guide, not to talk anyhow. Nigeria must move forward, subsidy or no subsidy.

Bedrock said...

God help us

GoodLuck Declare war! Nigeria Fuel subsidy said...

This is ridiculous! Here is making me go ga ga! Now war? Come on Nigeria! Nigeria president Jonathan Set for War! punch newspaper declare!

ABC Transport Scholarship Ends 31st January 2012-Apply Here said...

This is ridiculous! Here is making me go ga ga! Now war? Come on Nigeria! Nigeria president Jonathan Set for War! punch newspaper declare!

Jay-Z Featuring Blue Ivy Carter "Glory" said...

This goodluck boy is dividing Nigeria ?

op said...

Hope they will not say btwn 65 n 100 cos naija govt are olay

Don Chuckie said...

LET US OCCUPY UNTIL THEY COMPLY!!!

God help our dear country,linda ur doing a great job!!!keep it up&all d best.

The meeting ended in a xeadlock and they are to reconvene on saturday. Can someone please tell me why they couldnt reconvene tomorrow? Why must it be on saturday and not friday if they are a serious government. I hope NLC and TUC do NOT sell out. The first demand is N65 per litre before we even think about anything else. That is the condition for bringing the government and the nigerian people to the roundatble to discussion on how to make them accountable to us.

We need to become more closely involved in the decisions and actions government is taking on our behalf!

Our request
1. Let Mr President come out with solid, well presented Blueprint on how to increase local refining of fuel. We need an action plan and road map assuring us that all the companies issued licenses for refining crude oil would have built refineries within the next 36 months. Same applies to the 3 refineries contracts awarded to the Chinese.

Once this Blueprint has been published, Mr President should engage the public through consultations - town hall meetings, debates, opinion polls, adverts, street storms, etc.

2. The implementation of the fuel subsidy removal should be done in phases to cushion the adverse effect on the masses. We suggest as follows: Fuel price should move from N65 to N90 in April 1 2012, from N90 to N120 in March 31 2013, from N120 to N140 in Sept 2013.

The proceeds from each phase should be estimated and tied to specific infrastructure projects, not white elephant projects.

Every single project awarded (be it a SURE project or building refineries) MUST be in the public domain and must be allocated strict time lines and penalty clauses. Weekly or bi-weekly progress updates MUST be published in at least two national dailies and should be verifiable by independent reviewing bodies made up of at least one Regular Nigerian, a member of the AU human rights body and a member of the international human rights organisation.

This will give room for accountability and discipline on the part of Government in fulfilling its promise! Just thinking out loud and don't want TUC/NLC negotiating a less than ideal temporary palliative.

Ebipade Preye.

hmmm...wat compromise cld dat be? lemme guess, fuel price will be reduced to N100, N90 or N80?

Tbaby said...

It's war? we are not praying for that biko...too many pple have already died.

I don't think this man call GEJ get any human feelings I bet his a devil..

eyitemi said...

Linda please give us gist I am having withdrawal symptoms. Nobody said u can't blog about occupy Nigeria as well. Remember that this is not a political blog oh. We are bored.

The Great Oracle said...

Oya! E don happen. Compromise? Meaning make every1 no say street rage go soon end. I bet on a disappointing note. If all my workers no report 2moro 4 work, some1 else go occupy their seats come Monday bcos i bet d strike would have bin called off.

Gbangan! Blog ranting begins!

I think d r fightn hard to protect their Ego. Atleast u dnt expect them to give in easily. D wldnt want to appear cheap hence flexing of muscle is allowed.

Ofcourse d will flex muscle a little nah!

war!!

What compromise? On N65 we stand!

pls inform labour that no agreement has to be reached anymore. for the innocent souls that the FED GOVT have killed, we shall remain on the streets till all bad leaders are swept out. Why would we allow such to happen? In the midst of boko haram killings on innocent souls, the FED GOVT is announcing such thing instead of tackling the security issues. as though that was not enough, police also killed loads of innocent protesters. NO is what we are saying to the government. We have to show the innocent lives that have gone that this is for them,jonathan has to go alongside his bad accomplices pls.

But Jona looks like a good man, i think he is being used without him realising it

ONYEDIKING said...

Since they are not listening dey is no going back www.gideblog.com

Naija Talk On said...

A mother that says her child would not sleep' would also not sleep! Only tym wud tell.

These morons should repair those refinaries

Teju said...

This is so unfair,we Nigerians tolerate too much!..

Thanks Linda for the update. 234next and NN24 that were making so much noise b4 now have been loudly silent since the struggle began.

Nigerians, we are doing so well with this protest. But trust some people to try and use it for their selfish interests. There really shouldn't be any violence or burning of anything, lest we are referred to as unserious hoodlums. Speculations that some are being paid to cause a commotion are abound. I hope you know that if you do such, you are sacrificing the slight chance of a better future of a whole country for a just thousands or whatever.

I just hope that the labour people are actually going in there to demand for a better nigeria altogether and not some bogus deal. May God grant them success in the dialogue

No retreat no surrender except Badluck is ready to listen else it's a War

Na Wao This is Real Suffering. God Help Nigeria
MAKE MONEY TO PAYONEER

Is only God dat wil save us 4rm d hand of our wicked bad leaders.

Joseph kunda said...

Na waaaa 4dis govt ooh,they are d one destroyin d image n name of nigeria. Imagine d president that was seen by international organisations n nationz as d best n widely accept leader,d peoples choice doin a thng lyk dis 2 his people,wat wil they take nigerians4...hmmm.

Let's leads this to war and kill all of them n then we can re-build our nation..they aren't ready to listen to us becos they have nothing to lose.

I dnt blame govt functionaries, they dnt pay 2 fuel their official cars. CBN governor once said (@ d town hall meeting) dt he couldnt remember hw much he paid 2 fuel his car lately

Otis Redding said...

That's a shame! Anyway, I thought as much. I predicted a Mexican standoff. I pray this situation is over soon and the government would proclaim like Gowon, 'NO VICTOR, NO VANQUISHED'. God bless the republic!!!

Dr. Otis Redding

Initium said...

#Occupy Nigeria Toronto Protest Jan 14th 2pm Yonge & Dundas Square

We hope and pray the meeting will produce a better result,which will benefit a normal naij citizen.However for nigerians that are praying for war should know the cold war has started with the Muslem group making act of war statements.U not going to war with the govt but with ppl that attack u.

At this point i just want to go back to my life subsidy or no subsidy

bloglord said...

yes ohhh! pengasson is joining in on the strike by 12midnight sarurday via sunday morning.
oya na...useless insensitive govt. i thot it was govt for the people, by the people n of the people abi how was it said again? Jona's own is govt enforced on the people n we say NO WAY!

I hope labour won't go in there with their own agenda??? Afterall they are don't represent the unemployed. Anything short of our expectation is void. Its every day strike for the unemployed anyway, so nothing to loose.

What the heck is this! Does d govt. Want us to keep on losing billions everyday. Insensitivity is really a curse!

KenBig International said...

God let Nigerian story not to be told as Egyptian

teju said...

Good morning,we didnt expect too much from the NLC.however,the success of the last couple of days cannot be credited to the NLC but to us Nigerians.this is the most successful and publicized rally in the history of Nigeria.we have stood as one and with one message only!we donnot want this corrupt government anymore!it is interesting for them to ask us to fast when they are still eating with all 10fingers and cutlery included.the people on the streets are you and i that most probably can afford to pick most of our bills.but the truth is that the ones that cant will eventually turn on us as we are nearest to them.wuse 2,bourdillon,minna etc is out of their way.please,this is not about what "deals" NLC allows themselves to get.we are out here for ourselves.in 2/3 years when we can see infrastructures on ground or near completion then they can ask us to fast.thank you

teju said...

It saddens me that when we get an appointment from the government our tone changes.i have watched with dismay TONY URUNTA embarrassing himself.less than a year ago he couldnt stick the government.Now he cant seem to praise them enough

Shut ur traps!what do u all know abt Governance

D labour leader is doing their best let‘s praise dem becos jona jona eba is evil in nigeria.

Galore said...

#65 or Nothing............Occupy 9ja i represent.....DAY 5..
@Linda thanks for the Post,,,wen i read in @9ja gossip and @Vinna that d they hv agrred on #65,,i immediately came on ur blog,,but u did nt release any statment on that,,so i know,,It can neva Be..........Keep it up,,The Lord bless you

i laff in chinese!! n who r dose dat said GEJ was weak,slow ,dull? Evn OBJ couldnt stand labour during his tenure n now d irony: i dey wait o ...

Every1 has told the govt that we will not crash now.is there more to this?

So long is d govt is still standing der ground on d subsidy let all so stand ours to 2 d protest nd d killings will not go in vain

Linda! you dey fear? you no post my comments!

That's ä good one my dear...

if jona think say him go win this fight na lie him talk as the masses are ready for him with or without the nlc and tuc and i hope they do not take anything below 65 naira and not above... very greedy man only him wants to feed on 1 billion in 12 months we shall see if he would get that money

linda have you heard? those who produce the oil are shutting down midnight on saturday so there would be no oil production until further notice that is very good jona,ngozi,dienzel and sanusi go no say water don pass garri abi make i say cassava bread

adamsbelex said...

no going back........adamsalimi.blogspot.com

Jonathan had said he doesn't care if a REVOLUTION IN NIGERIA IS THE RESULTANT EFFECT OF FUEL SUBSIDY REMOVAL. He said so that's why he ain't flinching. He strongly believes d populace will get tired including labour and tuc and back down. Now they r negotiating and b4 u know it, reps of d people will compromise, NIGERIANS will then remain d laughing stock and finally done for. labour and tuc leaders ain't my heroes at all. Prove me wrong.

Fearless! said...

One Billion for food??? Som1 shud ask Jona whether na Gucci Beans or Louis Vouiton Rice, Vera Wang water, Hugo Boss garri abi Jimmy Choo plantain dem wan dey chop ke? Person wey be sey hin papa na fisherman & go waka tire b4 he chop..

Omo oju ori ola ri!

I really find it disturbing that he had the gutts to say this in public.

grace said...

i am convinced that some commenters on this blog are paid by GEJ to ooze out trash from their mouth!

Fearless! said...

"NLC says N90/ltr GEJ says N120/ltr. Pls who asked NLC to negotiate this on behalf of 160m Nigerians!? its reversal or nothing! NLC wants to sell us out again WE SAY NO!!!
Labour is in labour and we pray they give birth to N65.00 or we abort their pregnancy. Occupy their lines NLC EXECUTIVES:08036660006, 08080900623, 08023341545, 08127233363, 08065601863. NLC ABUJA:08065505797. Tell them N65.00 or we #occupy them too!
Labour came out to say last nite that compromise was being reached.....we don't want compromise, WE WANT CHANGE!! WE MUST NOT STOP NOW!!! ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!

Nigerian are fed upn I am fed up!!!

Fearless! said...

​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºLmaoº°˚˚˚°º‎​°º‎​=))
At "aborting labour's pregnancy"

Linda is it not a shame… we hear madam patience has travelled to Europe for medical reasons and they are hear talking with the corner of their mouth ngozi wahala in particular that they would build health care so it means the naija hospitals were not good enough for patience abi and on top of the insult upon injury it is our money she is using for this frivolous travel for health reasons and we are paying!!! We the poor masses who cannot even afford naija health care let alone overseas health care would have to suffer and in some cases even die because of lack of equipment and good hospitals I mean common jona listen to yourself speak only a few days ago you said overseas travel would be reduced and today your wife is going out to Europe with all the trouble that is on ground well it just shows your insincerity to the poor masses AS DO AS I SAY BUT NOT AS I DO attitude and the same goes with ngozi wahala who also travelled to the USA not long ago for common bronchitis and she talks with the corner of that her yeye mouth that we will build health care and this and that you would never hear her say we have done this or that always we will do this or that; nonsense!!! let the strike continue we shall not be fooled any longer!!! I am someone who earns 1.5 million naira a month as a professional but I still consider myself poor when I look around and see the level of poverty I knew it could not carry on like this as it has gone on for way tooo long and well done Linda as I always look at your blog everyday no matter how busy I am in the office keep up the good work as you have really enlightened us the poor masses in Nigeria to know exactly what is going on….

Jona should really be ashamed of himself I mean Nigerians all over the world are staging their own occupy naija and he has that useless hat he put on that his head which is not making him think very well and those devilish agents he has around him ngozi and dienzel which are the ones ruling naija for now…when the oil production is shut down were no money is coming into naija then they would sit upright by force!!!

When Ngozi came the 1st time she said after wiping of the paris debt there would be development in naija during OBJ era we did not see anything and I just wonder how naija can open its treasury and allow this woman to pay almost $18 billion dollars at once without shedding an eyelid it baffled me and now she has come a 2nd time to say the same old story it shows how wicked she is. Dienzel who came the 1st time as minister of works what did she do nothing she went crying on TV on the benin ore road and through out her tenure she did nothing and now she has come back again as petrol minister and she would also do nothing. I am just not sure why GEJ have to go and recruit them for round 2 when they had no record to show that they performed during their 1st time. Shame on the pair of them for contributing to the death of those innocent protesters!!! the strike must continue enough is enough as it took libya 42 years before they woke up and it has now taken naija 52 years before we woke up!!!

For my side ...even if fuel comes down to 65 or whatever I think we still need to occupy Nigeria to tell the Government and the politicians that we are tired of corruption and that they have not done anything good for people of Nigeria for the past four yrs since Jthan won his election....It all about failed promises from politicians ..I'm fade up wz that simple...GOD SAVE US

Fredilia Ogbonna said...

As the strike continues, so does my house arrest/compulsory holiday. Since I am not yet entitled to leave at work, I take this as God's way of answering my prayers. *winks*

even if it is reduced to 66 naira we no gre it is 65 naira or nothing

grace said...

which country allows its labour to be on standstill for 5days and counting, without doing nothing about it? its now i believe that jona is true true an olumba man.

This oil subsidy removal is like' Telling a man living in a mud house to leave the house and promising him of a 3 bedroom apartment in 3 years! you tell the man to live on the street and wait for the promise! The govt since it came into power, has done nothing for the common man. is it now that the govt will do something?

i look forward to see what labor will do, please don't betray us and if you ever did that i will bomb all the labor office in Nigeria

U shut d Fk up