Civil Society Groups to drag Jonathan to ICC for crime against humanity | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 January 2012

Civil Society Groups to drag Jonathan to ICC for crime against humanity

A protester killed at the Onikan area in Lagos yesterday. Another one injured by a stray bullet

For the loss of several lives in the current fuel subsidy removal protests across the country, a coalition of 25 civil society groups have agreed to file a complaint against President Goodluck Jonathan at the International Criminal Court (ICC) in the Hague for crime against humanity.
An official of the Save Nigeria Group, Yinka Odumakin, told the press: 
A decision has been agreed on, to take the President and the Inspector General of Police; Afeez Ringim before The ICC for the unwaranted killing of ordinary Nigerians on a peaceful protest. Everyone who is responsible for the killing and ordering of the killing of unarmed civilians must be brought before the law.

29 comments:

Crimes against humanity??? Have these people ever read the statute of the ICC??? Nigerians are so quick to use terms that they do not understand. Quoting the Rome Statute of the ICC explanation what crimes against humanity are:

"...they are not isolated or sporadic events...inhumane acts reach the threshold of crimes against humanity only if they are part of a widespread or systematic practice. Isolated inhumane acts of may constitute grave infringements of human rights, or depending on the circumstances, war crimes, but may fall short of falling into the category of crimes under discussion."

You can accuse Jonathan of grave infringement of human rights but not crimes against humanity.

I have no clue why I went on that rant... I guess it comes with being a lawyer, I just couldn't help myself. I hope these civil society groups have a good lawyer who will advise them on the right charges to bring towards President Jonathan. Bringing the wrong charges will only waste time and resources.

End of epistle.

Loudmouthed said...

very good!

Yes there must face the ICC badluck for that matter.

Why do they strip dead or injured people naked?It is embarrassing. Why don't just give them some privacy?

Linda, this is where the "read more" feature should come in. It should be optional for readers to click on and view these pics. It is disrespectful and unpleasant to post gory pictures like these without regard to the victims. Would u like to see a pic of ur sister in dat position been paraded recklessly for public consumption? Please respect yourself.

I don't understand why nigerian police are so dump.how can they shoot at unarmed citizens knowing fully well that they will also benefit from the success of the anti corruption protest. I overheard a police tellin a bike rider that since Govt has removed subsidy, bribe has increased from 50 to #100. Its like they like it that way.SMH

for what now,i think this people are insane what has gej done ehhhh when abacha was killing innocent nigerians nobody said anything or when obj was committing crime against humanity.i just think this people have nothing important to do.

This is just Ridic, d police men dat shot these individuals should be brought to justice, i doubt that the president ordered the police to shoot protesters. why do we have to go all the way to the HAGUE!!!! We have a criminal justice system in Nigeria

This people are clueless. Who killed the protesters ? Who ordered the killings ? THis Save Nigeria Group just think we are all fools without brains. The police shot the protesters , and the police should be charged in investigating those responsible for the criminal acts.

We are Gradually becoming another Libya with a Gaadafi.SMH.

The no.1 problem facing Nigeria today is BOKO HARAM, and Badluck Jonathan & his govt. just added themselves as Nigeria's no.2 problem!...Badluck Jonathan & Boko Haram should be killing & blowing each other off, and letting innocent Nigerians enjoy their peace of mind & a stable Nigeria!
Our country Nigeria, is NOT BROKE, and neither do we need subsidy removal...We need to cut the size of the Nigerian govt. and cut our politicians salary, and their benefits & estacodes...our country's resources & wealth is being wasted due to corruption & cronyism!!
Even a 2yr old knows this is our problem...why not Badluck Jonathan?!!!

Crime against humanity??? No, the real criminals are the protestors who have taken to the streets in their thousands to demand for something that they have no entitlement to; instead of fighting against fuel subsidy removal, they should be campaigning against corruption, lack of transparency within federal ministerial apparatus, lack of job opportunities for young people, lack of power and a poor transport, medical and social welfare infrastructure. For every Nigerian who seems to have taken to the streets, there are at least 10 who have decided to go back to work, meaning that this strike will soon be over. I doubt Jonathan will back down from his decision because he knows if he does, it will mean the end of his presidency. As for taking the government to the ICC, Nigerians have one again shown themselves to be ignorant fools- it is not as though the government has embarked upon a systematic campaign of brutally repressing these demonstrations- more to the point, I think Jonathan is too soft- he needs to stand up and deal firmly with these demonstrators through the use of force if necessary.

Nigerians need to work harder and think more coherently and imaginatively, otherwise little Ghana will overtake Nigeria to become the economic powerhouse of West Africa

Miss West Africa Cameroon said...

I pray things really get better.i cannot imagine people are dieing already.Cameroon is praying for you all

Linda I like this ur new blog design oh!! Especially the new interface to reply a particular comment!!! Nicely done....

Annonymous 5:43 am , Said what was on my mind, do they have to strip this dead people naked?

JOBS IN NIGERIA said...

May our country never be like Libya.

So they want to bring Jonathan for the killing of the innocent. What about the governors of the state where the police killed the innocent wouldn't they be more responsible for their police men. This shifting of focus is the reason why these protests might not achieve their intended goal.

@ Anoy 2.52 and all the others who keep complaining....its Linda's "OPINION" its her blog...If she chooses to put up pics that are offensive to you, close the page haba is it so hard?

You have to realise that the era of social networking, whether Linda puts it up here or not, that pic will still be circulated via bbm or fb.

im so sick of pple ranting bot their "OPINIONS" over how someone shld run her blog, get off ur a** and create ur own blog the way u want it....berra still stop visiting Linda's...

Msssheeew
Rant over.....

Save Nigeria Gang ... Another name for CPC.

You are a pocket Lawyer. Charge & bail lawyer. Go back to Law School. Did you not know the worth of human life.

your comment is senseless. IDIOT.

What anon 2:52 said was a POLITE suggestion. Can't remember him insulting Linda. There's still something called constructive criticism so pls stop sounding holier than 'Linda'. Thnx

Obviously we need to consider u as d insane one...........pls go and check d real meaning and scope of DEMOCRACY!

There is no harm in trying. I wish them luck

MY VIEW said...

Constructive and objective criticism is what we need.When I read some comments here, I cannot help but feel some political undertones.
If you run for and did not win an election, go home and get ready for another time. Thank God, it comes every four years.
Jonathan won this election and he has four years to be here.No matter what people say, he is not be going to be impeached.
If you think you can do better,show us how and get ready for the next one. You may win.Pushing Jonathan down, using Boko Harem etc, will not make you a Nigerian president! Nigerians cannot be fooled!

I luv it linda..you who say the post pic is not ok why can't you stop reading linda blog..create urs and do wat u want there...God bless the protester.Amen.we have 2 fight 4 our right.God bless Nigeria.Amen

See what the FG are causin, luring the lives of an innocent people is not fair at all.

i think we should start differentiating Rioters from Protesters. The incidents at Obalende involved a gang of rioters, not protesters. Ajah and Lekki area were also over run by gangs of touts smashing windshields and extorting money. If police shoots bullet/tear gas to protect law abiding citizens and bullet hits pesin, why would yo blame the police and not the idiot rioter?

una go jst come hear blow blow grammar finish,curse curse una sefs,afta evritin notin go change.