British Singer ,Estelle, remixes D'Banj's Oliver Twist (Listen) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 January 2012

British Singer ,Estelle, remixes D'Banj's Oliver Twist (Listen)

What's going on here? Is Estelle singing in pidgin English? SCAMMMM! lol

100 comments:

ONYEDIKING said...

This girl is naija 4 life www.gideblog.com

very weird.

Kemi said...

Shuooooo! Estelle dey yarn pidgin? loll. Nice one

Aminu Tukur said...

Haba Linda, is tht rlly Estelle? interesting thgh

Tbaby said...

i love this... she girl killed it

Oge said...

yhh shes nigerian so her singing in pidgin aint no suprise!

I tot I was d only one o. #fingerscrossed

No one said...

Luvly :)

pegomay said...

Scam lol....kai! But I love it....that song's dripping Swagu anytime anyday!

Bnjfman said...

Can't wait to feel it

If that's truly Estelle she sounds weird!

hmmm so so

Homeboy said...

Linda, many thanks for this post. It don't think it should come as a surprise that Estelle is singing in Pigeon English, after all, she is indeed African, alebit, born in the UK. I live in the UK, wherein, my kids were born. Whilst they speak the "Queen's English", they are very much in touch with what is left (that I speak) of my native dialect - but even more so, Pigeon English. They love mimicking the ascent and we teach them to be proud Nigerians - above being British. So, if Estelle brings out the "Sierra Leonean" in her, it shouldn't be an occurrence to be marvelled over - because I am sure, if anything, her Mama for don speak krio well well for am wen she dey grow up, just like the gal dey fit speak Jamaican Patois wey she pick up from the streets of South London, from Jamo people dem - no bi say she don go there before. So my dear Linda, just like Akon dey celebrate hin "African-ness", make we all Africans no take inferiority complex take dey belittle and rubbish our culture, becos say e no posh enof. Question: You don ever see Jamaican peeople, Chinese, Indian etc throw-way dem culture food, language or heritage becos e no sound American or "Bri'ish" enof??? Haba!!! Africa get flenty flenty problem o, in fact eh, subsidy na just the starting point - the tip of the iceberg. Anyway sha, Linda, well done eh, for your correct "unpaid" work. I for personally get in touch make we see how we go maximise the rave reviews you dey get; traffic stats = revenue to the max. To all my Naija people dem, one love from obodo Eliza aka the UK...ol boy o, cold wey dey catch today no bi small thing o!!

this one that NLC is on break, oya gisst us we want gossip na!

Fredilia Ogbonna said...

Who said it's Estelle? Linda hmmm!!! Until I see them performing live on stage, I comment my reserve...

I like. cant wait for the video. lol. Estelle really try o. we need a good diversion with all we are going thru. Thanks Estelle.

ibo boy said...

LOL, NICE! All follow join

Like Estelle but this song is an EPIC FAIL.

It could actually be Estelle cos she has the Ghanaian roots and Ghanaians speak PIDGIN too. However, i still doubt its her.

this is very nice........sote mohits don make oyibo people dey sing with pidgin 2. am impressed...dbanj thats a big one for u there...

its on MTV site http://buzzworthy.mtv.com/2012/01/13/estelle-oliver-twist/

It seems it was some kind of collabo. I don't really like the loud shouting of eeh eeh eeh. It was damn harsh for my ears. I prefer the original song though. It simply rocks!

Linda, thanks for posting this rubbish. How does this video call for attention now?? Take time o!

Looks like she had lots of fun doing the remix. Luv it! Take that Eedris!!!!!!

Lost in translation. She should sing it, not say it. It felt like a reading from a script. There is no soul in it. I'm not feeling it. ......sing it like you know it.... sing it like you mean it.... Sing it like you own it...

You never know. I was watching the new year day fireworks in London,& i heard Oliver twist being used as a song to choreograph the fireworks!!!

I don't like it. I could only listen for 30 seconds and that was it. Shio!

Boo!!! Bigger boo!!!

WTF will she do that

linda said...

She sounds like a razz oshodi market chick

linda said...

Sorry but it sounds so off. If beyonce sing am now I go gree

Lmfao Abeg she done turn to naija girl

Where is she from, bcos this thing no dey work for me

WAR: Amber Rose vs Kim Kardashian said...

Amber Rose Called Kim Kardashian a 'Home Wrecker' 

The rumor mill has been buzzing that it was Rose who caused the breakup between Kardashian and NFL star Reggie Bush. Amber does admit to dating Reggie, but she insists that it was after his relationship with Kim and after her romance with Kanye had ended.

Femiluv said...

Wow

Scam

Naija Talk On said...

Nawa o0. I cant fit shout. What nonsense!
Guys make sure u ff my blog

Lol@ Scam, of course the chick is half SENEGALESE. I like it.

D'banj will give this chic a run for her money...I hate whatever it is she is singing...abeg no spoil d song!

I kinda like it...good job Estelle :)

Is Estelle Jamaican? Nice remix!

Not bad.!

Lilyjean said...

Lilyjean Wow,she really tried.I love it esp d hook part "don don don don don".nice Estelle,I always love you.

Oge (NR) said...

Lmao... so who do I blame? Vanessa Amadi lol... haha that Nigerian company is getting to Estelle... still love her though

How's it a scam? Eh?

Although d year 2012 just started. Dis is d most dump song of the year 2012-Aimuan Evans Aghayore

Nuffin, and I mean absolutely nothin compares to the original. Sorry Estelle.

Lol, nyce1 from Estelle, she's so funny.., struggling wit her tongue, is nt easy 2 speak or sing wit pidgin nau, wen nt waffarians(Nigerian)*wink*

Eme Achanga said...

lol..funnyy...i like kanye..h dey for paris?sorry but she sounds funny.well,im loving it coz for once since this subsidy wahala,i have something to divert my attention.chaiii..i love my african boys....lol

Estelle's cousin said...

that is because she is half senegalese on her mother's side of course she can speak pidgin the girl is of west african origin

she has officially destroyed a good song!!!

she is half senegalese (mom) and half grenadan (dad)

memyself and i said...

ESTELLE FANTA SWARAY born of a senegalese mom and a grenadian dad in london her middle name Fanta is definitey senegalese/gambian and her surname Swaray is also a common surname in Sierra Leone so she may have roots there as well interesting that all her names are from her mom's side Estelle is french and senegal is a french speaking country and her middle and last names are west african

Linda,leave that thing,estelle na sierra leonian papa and mama born her,her pigin sweet pass your own.I love it,it is even a tad better than the dbang one self

TINA said...

I rili lyk dis concept.9s job and kip it goin.

TINA said...

Waoh!dis is rili 9s.

huh? what's going on here? her tone and pitch are way off. are we sure this is estell? **confused look**

kambinachi said...

but linda, i have to commend you. your news is always hot off the mill. as it's happening, na hin you dey report am; it's like you have live satellites all around the internet...lol

@Linda

If Sauce Kid can sound American, Matt Damon can sound South African (Invicta) and Don Cheadle can sound like a Rwandan (Hotel Rwanda), then I see no reason why Estelle (a mixed Senegalese and Grenadan) cannot understand and speak broken English which has many similarities to Patua, the local language spoken by many West Indians.

Estelle is Ghanaian isn't she? So the pidgin shouldn't be a surprise.

shaun said...

This is not bad ,at least we can hear the lyrics clearly.weldone estelle !

I actually prefer this version to the original tho. But how sure are we that this is estelle. Itsvactually very possible cos she's a jamo babe and is signed to john legends record label and by extension, kanye west. So the hook up wont be hard.

Don Ibro said...

Lol... !!

Me likey

Lol Estelle...

ola wealth said...

yeah it is real!!! thats my babe, the grammy award winner Estelle singing D'Banj Remix..it made big news on abc news yesterday

Splitting Issues said...

Loving this!!! Thanks Linda. Nice one!

Beautiful!.. nothing is great as been honored by your peers, Dbanj has just been honored..especially by a grammy winner..

Linda stop acting ignorant. If Ron Kenoly the gospel singer can sing in Yoruba and even Bono sang in Swahili, then wat is the big deal that Estelle can sing in pidgin. They are artists, they almost have this special brain that allows them to pick up languages easily when they sing. That apart, I dont believe it until I see the vid

seeing is believing but bigups to dbanj for real o

AMAZING!!!!!

MmaY said...

A miss please tho she tried wit d pidgin................xxxx

I cn jst imagine her facial expressions *lol* thumbs up though

People people please, Estelle is of Senegalese and Grenadian heritage, NOT Ghanaian or Sierra leone.

Abeg who get the link for styl plus new song?

Son of Babylon said...

Thats nice

Why is Estelle singing in piding makes it a scam? alot of arabs understand pidgin, dudes in Asia sev dey speak pidgin...So why cant she? Pidgin na for only naija abi?

this ain't estelle jor

girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! which level of scam be this

~Yv said...

hahaha she try shaa. The lyrics are kinda of lame and do not flow as well but good try

Nice 1 must say.well done Linda!
www.justjobsng.com

Weldone Estelle!! U sung this song very well. According 2 wife of one president call peshey

anon 10:45am West Indian/Caribbean pidgin is spelt PATOIS not PATUA

Are you aware that Dbanj stole the tune from American singers? I will try to find the rightful owner...

Dbanj is a copycat. He lacks talent. When I heard the original tune some months ago, I almost 'fainted'. Nigerians were treated like fools and taken for a ride.

#TrueTalk..

This really is Estelle

http://buzzworthy.mtv.com/2012/01/13/estelle-oliver-twist/

Linda get your facts right, its obvious Estelle is only doing a remix and not a copy cat of the song. so she is no scam like you put it. big ups to Estelle!!! love it!!!

viva4eva said...

LAFF WAN FINISH MY FUEL!!!

Lilyjean said...

Have you heard of Lilyjean's Been A Bad Girl?you better check it out.

She's half Senegalese now. No be West Africa? You know in here in the UK West Africans too like to hang out together, our own dey sweet pass.

ye!

E.W.O! please i don't care what anybody says, there is still something new under the sun. *folds arms*

before u start typing wrong information can u pls google 1st...
Estelle is born to senegalese mum and her dad is frm grenada.
Grenada is in southern caribbean sea and located northwest of trinida&tobago... so pls stop acting like u re wiki. shes not ghanian nor jamaican not nigerian either. i still dt think shes d one singing and i use to ve sensgalese neighbour wen i was in nigeria and to cominicate wit dem is alway issue cos dey cant speak english nor pdigin.. LET WAIT 4 d VIDEO...winkk

The song is so off,its so painful to the ears

I'm not a fan of this. Copy copy. Sounds extremely off

Please people it does not take a minute to google. Estelle Fanta Swaray is "born of a Senegalese mother and father from Grenada". So she an is African and Caribbean girl born and raised in England.

Not Nigerian, Ghanian, or S-Leone.

As for the song, it sounds ok. Seems like it was done for fun, and not a real single.

Eldorado....... said...

She is from Senegal mixed with Grenadian from Caribbean....

Isidoro said...

has any credit being given to the owner of the original sound. I understand the beats where originally by an artist known as Peter or Paul Jackson

Chief Sista said...

For real?!?!? Wow!

An english band done a cover of it too, truly shows the reach of Afro Beats. good music is good music
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGajbkFEjJM&sns=fb