200 pastors resign from Bishop Oyedepo's Winners Chapel | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 January 2012

200 pastors resign from Bishop Oyedepo's Winners Chapel

200 pastors secretly resigned enmasse from Winners Chapel in late December 2011 following a disagreement they had with the General Overseer, Bishop Oyedepo, over the re-organisation of the church.

After a general meeting in December, some pastors said they were no longer comfortable with the founder's leadership style and some new rules he implemented. Bishop Oyedepo was said to have told the pastors that anyone who wanted to leave the ministry was free to do so without any drama. A few weeks later, 200 pastors tendered their resignation letter.

Some pastors resigned to join other ministries, others to start their own churches. Bishop Oyedepo was said to have given all of them a parting gift...from N2 million to N500, 000 each, depending on how long they had served in the church. The resignations is supposed to be hush hush, so don't say you read it here, biko! :-)

76 comments:

bloglord said...

churches have turned to political grounds. but wait ohhh! y r d religious bodies so quiet with the on-goings in the society?
back to oyedepo n hs runaway pastors. well, every mallam with im kettle. i believe they all have their underlying reasons for leaving. who no go, no know.

Things are happening in Naija on all fronts o... Religious, political etc. At least the parting was amiable. May God save us all!!!!

Ezekiel said...

that is not funny especially in d body of christ. I wonder what d place of God is in all of this. I pray that God ll save his church and give his servants sense of leadership

LOL!!!!Maybe he slapped all of them!

Also wondering why they are quiet on the subsidy removal issue or are there followers not going to be affected? Jesus would have said something.

How are we sure that this is not a decole or untrue?

This pastor ehn....Lips sealed

Ms E said...

leave the things of God alone, dont be a judge!!! Linda yes u have a blog and we love u but pleasing pples eyes and ears won't get u far in God's kingdom so help urself and leave them alone!!!

Maybe they hotter up with his HUGE ego? On a more serious note religious leaders silence to me means they have been 'dining' with the devil so they no fit come out & talk

linda said...

hmmn stale gist! i just want to show myself sha :P

Social Media: Nigeria fuel protests said...

Social media widens scope of Nigeria fuel protests - Boston.com

A nationwide strike and demonstrations have unleashed years of pent-up frustrations in Nigeria over its kleptocratic leaders, and the rage has grown even stronger across social media this week.   

http://www.boston.com/business/articles/2012/01/14/social_media_widens_scope_of_nigeria_fuel_protests

Pastor Doubting Thomas said...

200 pastors cannot be wrong. They did the right thing in leaving. I pray that his hypnotised followers wake up, wise up and walk away. The money he paid to the pastors is to maintain their silence so that they don't spill his secrets to the media.

Nawa 4 dis country o....

Bishop Oyedepo is touching millions of lives through the preaching of the word of God.
And u????How are you touching and affecting them positively????Through gossip without facts???Produce the doc that days 200 pastors resigned..I sorry you really!!!!

They had turned churches 2 business organization,now the 200 pastors will starts distorbing pple because they want 2 make there own money.na wah ooo

aw said...

Chei! The parting gifts are serious. What?? Meaning he spent between 100million and 400million naira. Chei

Omo this one na seruois wahala o, another set of new generation churches. expect to hear new churches like Petrol resources ministry, Supernatural energy congregation and the list goes on. we dont need new churches abeg! Old dogs new tricks biko!!!Mba

I bet he told all 200 of them -> "You are free to go to Hell"

Is he the one that supposedly slapped out "Witch for Jesus"

CAREERS IN NIGERIA said...

And dis is suppose to be news?Haba Linda wats ur issue with Bishop Oyedepo anyway?You are always on his case.

Monkey!!! Aproko jeremere. Mmmmshew!4 ur small nkApi mind u don bring giSt naw abi.

Any pastor that remains with the quack has no integrity. Any body that continues to go to his church is a mindless moron.

Somebody get this wolf in sheep's clothing out of the news already!

Etisalat free browsing said...

Is this news that people will always be people?

Truth said...

I commend both the Bishop and the Pastors for the maturity with they handled this, even in the bible Paul and Bernabas had to separate, at the end it's all about the furtherance of the Gospel. Let no anti christ clot over this.

http://www.naijapals.com/modules/naijapals/nigeria/topic,88837.0.html
LINDA
!!!!! SEE OOOO!!!!!

Jez said...

This is a scoop... Are you sure it has nothing to do with the slapping of a witch? Nice gist Linda. I salute o!

Hmmmmmm

Hhhmmmm am I surprised?... No! Not a fan of David and never will be after seeing d vid where he slapped a lady in the name of...... ? Who knows, am just sorry for pple who forgot the meaning of Christianity and decide to worship and be blinded by dis man, who knows probably his pastors where fed up with his arrogant behavior.... Am not surprise on bit

Fearless! said...

​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºLmaoº°˚˚˚°º‎​°º‎​=))
LINDA I READ IT HERE and anytime I want to refer to this I will say "...Linda said..."
Shebi u like gbeborun, u don enter am today!!!

Just joking...

Errrrrrrhhh,I thot being a pastor was by God's calling and since my God is not an author of confusion,He would not cause this kain one, or maybe they have fallen by the roadside????

My own problem is that there will be 200 more churches amidst all this chaos bearing in mind that "Religion" and Politics are the cankerworms eating up Nigeria.

Religion is in quote cos I am referring to those who called themselves to God's work!

Btw,where are they getting all that money from, plus is it not church money?!
If yes,was it the church that agreed to give them these monies??????

I rest my case!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Revolution across the board!!..that's what I say..

Well its a good development for Winners' Chapel Ghana tho

www.roiskidgh.tk

Ritamaly said...

The Lord has always been faithful. Let His will be done on our churches

Glorywaves said...

Once in a while, Pastors resign from churches to pursue a different calling. This is very normal and they become friends of the ministry or not, NO BIG DEAL! This is an internal administrative move/prophetic move and should not be up for public deliberation.

Judging what you do not have details/information of is very dangerous. This man is a prophet. Be careful what you say.

The caption is very misleading like the pastors abandoned the church for some 'hidden' reason.

'Touch not my anointed and do my prophets no harm is what the bible says' (and that includes what you say about them) The wise take heed and stop, while the unwise, face all sorts and wonder where they went wrong.

Oh lord, now these pastors would go start their own church scamming more people.

Who made you a judge. It is hard for you to kick against the bricks.

Linda has always picked on Oyedepo,am really really sori 4 u tho...

Only issue I see with this is the exact number of 200. Did you verify this, and what is the source?

Linda in U̶̲̥̅̊я mind you think say you don bring gist abi. As for those of you condemning the Man of God just know that the
Punishment for despising a prophet of God awaits you. When it comes to religious matter, anything you don't know the best thing you do is "shut it"
The media has a way of tarnishing people's image. As for you "wannabe celebrity linda" get a life!!!

Glorywaves.I wuld advice u wakeup frm ur slumber.Gone are d days of backwardness.Oyedepo's arrogance is questionable and if u say touch not my anoited becos d bible said so then my dear ur leaving in a fantasy land.Wat so called mog commit in nigeria can never be done oversees becos nobodys above d law which includes God anoited men. Mog just use the bible pasage to scare u.

......dat gal wey him slap na your sister!
Gaskiya!!!
That's the reason you are always on his trail

The Great Oracle said...

Linda, for this news, you are not a witch but you a witch for......

Look, if dis "man of God" says u will die, u will die o! In 2 months or thereabout, go and ask for his forgiveness. He may slap you because he says he will slap again.

Infact you are free to go to hell. No money for you.

The sedatives wore off, the pastors saw the Light and walked away. Praise Jesus, Allelujah !!!

But seriously Linda, what is your own with this Man of God. why you hell bent on publishing things about him, things you probably heard by word of mouth? i dont get it. even if you do not agree with this mans policies does that mean you should spread news about what you havent seen or heard directly. obviously you dont read your bible, cos God condems what you r doing. If you dont have any refresshing news for us, please dont share anything rather than sharing what you dont know.

ellen said...

Judge not so u wont be judge.

LOOOL!! Ur not serious!

Oh please shut up!!! Ode moi moi! Why doesn't he give all he has to the less priviledged then. Touching pples lives my back foot mcheeeeew !

RC said...

Abeg make we hear word "touch not my annointed" and what not. 200 pastors resign from winners chapel , how is that misleading????

Linda u better be careful with the way u run ur ignorant mouth about men of God,if u do not respect man,u better respect God!!!what is 200 compared to the millions of followers that have experienced God with the preaching of bishop oyedepo..you better be careful I warn you!a word is enough....

200 pple can't be wrong and just one man will be right, this man is evil don't care what nobody has to say,anybody who watched him slap a girl in his church and even told her to go to hell and says there is nothing wrong with it is stupid and dumb and as ignorant as he is, I actually read some comment on pple telling Linda to watch what she says about him asin like God punish all of you, you want make she dey fear ordinary Man?... Somepeople see d truth and refuse to say it bcos d self claimed man of God will rain curses on them and once more I say u r all fools, I wish say una dey fear and respect God and his commandment d way u worship all dis fake pastors....... Smh btwn I love u linda some pple just don't seems to get you

@glorywaves, may you remain ignorant; where in the Bible is it written that Oyedepo is God's prophet? Show it to us please. So if any tom, dick & harry comes out and claims to be a man of God, you will believe him regardless of his actions? Are you even a Christian? Jesus must be ashamed of you.
WAKE UP GOAT! lol

2m to 500k cool money

yemtechitsolution said...

God knows those who are His own the church of God is not a place of business but a place to the people from bondage. God help us

http://yemtechitsolution.blogspot.com/

Dezzy said...

Since when is it a crime for pastors to resign, or decide to move on. Instead of even stating how many are left, to show you got your story from tabloid, you only stated how many left.

Linda its funny how selective you are with your blog. There are stories of all the wanted people globally, who fled back to Naija, who are running the streets, but fear will never catch you to "blog" about them. You make good "I'm bored, whats on Linda's blog" gist, but my dear you no get liver sha!

You have to be very careful when you speak against men of God. For indeed it shows you are after a media freek. And for all those ignorant speakers I am sorry for you. Because no one has ever spoken against a prophet and gotten away with it. linda you have to be very careful.

@Ms E:Quoting you" leave the things of God alone, dont be a judge!!!". Why judge Linda? Igonarant fool. Abi na Linda tell d 200 pastors to resign. God gave u brains to reason but its obvious u use urs for something else. Poof

Touch nt my annointed..... Did linda touch him?she simply informed us.dnt b fooled like u always r,learn 2 accept d truth.nigerians worship their pastors n 4get thr is a God.

Fearless! said...

Are u a member?
What has she said?
It is news and there is freedom of speech?
Abeg go and sit down.

nnennai said...

Most nigerian pastors are thieves. I wl never gv any of them my cent nomore. I hv lrnt my lessons.

nnennai said...

U be mumu.

Is he the one that supposedly slapped "Witch for Jesus" comot

lynnpope$ said...

Linda dey bring jist, all of us dey happy, dey comment. E don concern bishop oyedepo, Una don sabi say she be gbeborun, amebo, wannabe celebrity, etc. Abegi, make una read, laugh, comment as usual, na gist.

The way Nigerians fear their pastors, if they had that same fear for God, Nigeria will not be in the bloody mess it is today you best believe. What Linda is reporting was already reported on nairaland.com and it was on the front page of nairaland and that was about a week ago. You people should leave linda alone. You say Linda should not judge pastors but you hypocrites judge women who cannot give birth or who are not yet married and what have you. Bloody hypocrites!

listen to all of u dat support d nonsense linder published n even linder herself;be very careful wit d kind of tins u say abt a man of God,if there is anytin u dont understand,SHUT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!it s amazin dat it s only christians dat kill their generals,there r tins u dont publish even if they were true;David will say publish it not in Gath lest the daughters of the philistian hear it n mock the ppl of God.lack of understandin is d problem of all of u dat are blabbin nonsense,Jesus had one of d costliest perfeum of His tym,Judahs wanted him to sell it n giv d money to d poor;Jesus told him"unfortunately u'll alwaysbhav d poor.if u have anytin against a man of God,take it to the higher Authority.fools dat dont know anytin,cant u see ur lives d way it is;linda if u like continue fooling and meddling wit fire,the day it will happen MARK MY WORDS,REMEMBER U WERE WARNED(ANOINTING BREAKS THE YOKE,BUT HAPPENS WEN UR PROBLEM IS CAUSED BY ANOINTING,;NO POWER CAN RESCUE U;I VE SEEN THIS COLLECT PPL'S LIFE SO BE CAREFUL)

na wa o..u don't need to go this far nw, anty linda! cuz u want to be famous..wher u ther wen the money was being dished out???

Ode oshi, better keep quiet mumu, ozubu, idiot don't even know where to start from...... Prophet my ass, its pple like you that make him think he's of any importance to other pple"s life

Linda, I am (and proudly) a member of the Living Faith Church. I do not know the source of your information but I wonder what can be " hushy" about 200 pastors leaving a church in less than 4 weeks! I am not aware of any such development but if indeed it is true, you can bet that it is in no way "classified" information!!!

Complete Step by step guide to FUTO Registration For Newly Admitted Students said...

Linda me i don't know your problem with men of God o. But remember you need not toil with them. Shekena. Complete Step by step guide to FUTO Registration For Newly Admitted Students

Religion - the opium of the people.
I follow Jesus and only him.

all of u get a life plzzzz

Yh he was

Yes ohhh

seun said...

Dear Linda,

With all these stories of men of God h==ehn i pity your destiny. I am a proud member of the living faith ministry and i sure know that i am on the right path.

I'm suprised at this news of yours but i surely know that something may have happend to cause this.

RUN FOR YOUR LIFE. Bishop david Oyedepo is not a man you can toy with.

sleekreek said...

@Annon Jan 14 2:30pm and Annon Jan 14 4:44pm........i don laff tire with ur comments,,,,u're so funny!!

pinkielepa14 said...

d comments r hilarious,lol

These west africans animals just keep disgracing africans all over the world with antics(prostitution,juju,child molestation...).Only a despicable man from a despicable race can publically abuse an innocent girl and go on bragging about that.Outsmarted by the young girl and unable to keep up with her intelligence and courage,this useless clown had no other option but to beat her up.What race produce such type of animal?

veev said...

*sigh*