Eto'o is African Footballer of the Year for the 4th time | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 December 2010

Eto'o is African Footballer of the Year for the 4th time

Eto'o, Gyang and Drogba
Eto’o's made history. Yesterday Dec 20th 2010, he was crowned African Footballer of the Year in Cairo, Egypt at a CAF awards ceremony, making him the only man in the history of African football to have won the title four times. (No other footballer has won it three times sef). The the trio of Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto’o and Asamoah Gyan battled for the coveted title.

Nigeria's Perpetual Nkwocha won the Women’s Prize.

10 comments:

Such mark in history!
Congrats to him..

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

na ah..i think asamoah shud have won. i mean what he did at the world cup that was enough. i dunno if they're only looking at club level. asamoah is my winner anyday!

Chilling said...

Congrats Sir!

Congrats Eto'o
Am really proud of you

skankmypeaceofmind said...

i love Eto'o but the truth has to be told...he didn't deserve it this time. gyan did. so sad he wasn't recognised.

Dlapikin said...

Come on y'all Eto'o had a bad world cup and so did Messi and kaka and C. Ronaldo but guess what!? they still got nominations for fifa's highest honours this year...
When the WC is played it does matters in awards but the CAF/Fifa looks at your whole year. So This being said You have to look at eto'o's 2010. He won his 4th Champions league and became the only player to do that consecutively and in two countries, the only player in the world who can say that overall!
He showed exceptional skills by playing striker, lateral, defense leading to Inter's Champions league win,which very few players can do. He is currently the highest scorer of the champion's league and of the calcio and he just won the Fifa clubs World cup alond as being nominated best player of the competition and receiving an award for fairplay. That is difficult to top.It would be completely contradictory for the fifa to give him all these awards 2 days ago and the CAF to say he is not good enough...
Right now the only thing missing to his resume is a World Cup.

doll (retired blogger) said...

well as much as i wanted Gyan to win because of his performance at the world cup. Eto did win the treble with inter. congrats Eto

Ade_Cool said...

Well deserved..worthy winner..Asamoah was very good..a warrior..but stats don't lie!!

Ayo said...

See how you put Perpetual's own under. kai!! It's a man's world.

who ever thinks asamoah should have won the african footballer of the year must be watching handball and not football..the award is for 2010 not south africa world cup dlapikin God bless u.Apologise 4 Ever comparing eto to asamoah..u cant even compare yekini plus drogba together against eto!!