'Books for Christmas? What the heck is that?' Child's reaction to present becomes internet hit | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 December 2010

'Books for Christmas? What the heck is that?' Child's reaction to present becomes internet hit

This is a footage of a 3year old boy loosing his Christmas cheer over receiving books as Christmas gift. He excitedly rips the wrapping paper off the gifts, which turns out to be three books. He was expecting toys, not books.
"Books? Books for Christmas? What the heck is that?" he booms, looking incredulously at the offending items...lol. Watch his reaction...too cute.

17 comments:

lol.. Same feelings been going around lately among kids..

ahahahaha...

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

haha this is soo funny "what the heck is that" poor boy...honestly i hate books too can't blame him..he's looking for toys...haha soo funny!

awww, we cant blame the little guy, he probably wanted an airplane or something! anyway thats an upset cute kid.(thats an unfair thing to say i know)

TeeTee said...

And they laughing instead of them to tell him off ungrateful little child!

Lizzy said...

This is a serious case o.Please the little girl want toys for the christmas.lol.
http:fggckazaureoldgirlslagoschapter.blogspot.com

NaijaScorpio said...

I don't this it's cute. Christmas is so commercialized in this America it is utterly ridiculous and when i have kids, i will not partake in the foolishness.

I think he's a little spoiled. Some children don't get anything at all for Christmas and those books would have made them smile for days. Those parents should have used this opportunity to teach him a lesson about being appreciative of what God gives us instead of just laughing. I know I would have received a spanking from my mother if I had the nerve to act that way (not that I ever got any Christmas presents anyway).

...it is funny BUT the parents should start teaching him how to be grateful for any gift. Oh well...he's just a kid

Kay said...

Wel, well, well..... gone are the days when kids used to love receiving books for Christmas. back in the early 80s, my Dad bought me a lot of books like Enid Blyton series, Kidnapped, King Solomon's mines, Jane Eyre, My Book of Bible Stories, David Copperfield, Puzzle books Scrabble games. My mother also bought me some books on Samuel Ajayi Crowther, and Herbert Macaulay, and I will forever be grateful to them, because reading immnsely in my formative years has broadened my horizon and is responsible for my well-developed diction, my inquisitive inclination, and writing skills today.

It is a pity that children would rather have PS3 and Xbox console sets today, and that is very dangerous to a child's cognitive and emotional developmentas well as his or her creativity. I don't think I want to expose my child to such at a young age. It is not a good idea.
I'm serious.

It may be funny now but in a few yrs it wont be. I blame the parents for not stopping him in his tracks, telling him to be grateful for what he got. Instead of finding it very hillarious and turning it into an internet 'hit'. I can bet the boy has loads of stuff already.

We now have a generation of kids with too many things/toys who appreciate none and this is how it starts.
my parents would have told me off and i probably wont get anything again for a long time to come.

And 3yrs old isnt too early to start teaching appreciation.

Na wa o...Nigerians una too much! Small boy like this should start appreciating books at his age because other kids might not even get anything. There is a time for everything and I am sure he would get to a stage where he will appreciate books if he is the Reading type - if not, I'm sure he will find other hobbies. All the bookworms we have in NIgeria, no credible genius. Where are our BIll Gates equivalent? We rely on almost eveything from the west and yet we want to act as if the books we have been reading makes us stand out. Abeg jare...I love books and even read more than my husband and yet he is more knowledgeable about stuff because of his well rounded formative education in the uk. he does not need books to tell him to be inquisitive - he learnt that at school.There is a balance and as NIgerians, we don't seem to understand that. Smh!!! Now we have concluded a very young boy will never appreciate books because he wants what his damn mates play with at this age.

this is not funny at all....anyway i blame his parents...they are busy laughing....instead of calling him to order....a lot of kids dont even have a piece of paper to write with.....mschewwww

nonsense parents.....if na me...na soso books dat pickin go dey get until e grow up

Teaser said...

I love the kid. He knows what he wants and he spoke his mind. Cruel parents! He should have Kung Fued the damn Christmas tree :)

Kay said...

@ Anon December 22, 2010 6:38 PM

I have watched documentaries that explain years of research that have concluded that encourafing a child to read at an early age develops their intellect. So don't come here to downplay such an irrefutable fact. It has worked for so many people and it needs to be encouraged in Nigerian homes and schools nationwide. Don't you think that this is the reason why a misinformed Information Minister can brazenly thank GEJ for bringing facebook to Nigeria ??

Young parents in this forum, encourage your chile to read books and encyclopaedia, watch documentaries, and play games that develop the mind from an early age. Your child will thank you for it at 25! I kid you not!!

Food for thought, please!!!

Hmmm.....books for a 3 year old?...

me too i go protest!..shiooo! ..lol

kids at this age wants coloring & cut-out cartoon books that would keep them interested & occupied.

In my opinion, i prefered he was given toys for xmas gifts until he starts school & would appreciate them more. Becox, he might end up tearing the books without reading them at all!