Boko Haram Kills Three in Fresh Maiduguri Attack | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 December 2010

Boko Haram Kills Three in Fresh Maiduguri Attack

Suspected members of Boko Haram are behind the killing of three more people at a hospital in Maiduguri, police said on Wednesday. The three victims, including a senior police officer, were killed Tuesday evening when some armed men fired shots into a teaching hospital in Maiduguri, the capital of Borno State. “An investigation has already commenced but I can tell you that we believe the killings must have been carried out by the Boko Haram since it was their mode of operations,” the Borno State police public relations officer said.

Boko Haram said on its website on Tuesday it was behind the Christmas Eve bombings in Jos. The group is loosely modelled on the Taliban movement in Afghanistan.

Members of the group had, last Saturday attacked some churches in Maiduguri killing about six people. A witness said the attack was carried out by around 30 armed men. The Brigade Commander of the military task force in the town, Ibrahim Hassan Ndaliman, said his men were actually on patrol when they heard of the situation in Dala Alemderi, and they came around; but the deed was already done before they arrived. He said they were able to protect other Churches within the state capital against further attacks.

Culled from Reuters.

5 comments:

henryik20090 said...

We are definitely in the era of impunity.Whether it is "Boko Haram" or "militants",pretty much every criminal group feels it can get away with murder.This is ominous.One of the characteristics of a failed state,is the inability of the state,to ensure security through out it's territory.
Question for the government:is Nigeria a failed or a failing state.?
*Check out some posts here:http://henryik2009.wordpress.
Please leave a comment.

linda,please give us good gist not all these killings
maybe an update on rhythm unplugged or sumtin exciting...

N.I.L (Naijamum in London) said...

@Henry....
Lets not kid ourselves, Naija is a failed state.
When you have a country where few people can kill and cause havoc without fear of repercussions
OR
Where legislators concentrate on feathering their nest instead of diverting national funds to pertinent infrastucture projects OR
Where patronage and origin is more important than ability in the political process.......Definitely has failed its people!
The only reason we have not descended into more widespread violence is that individuals with oil interests desperately seek to protect their goldmine.

The situation in Nigeria is pathetic, just 2day another bomb blast in Abuja! of course we didn't dare go for the cross over night! I have my kids to think about, but come to think of it, are they even safe in their own home? It is a frustrating situation but i know ONE DAY we shall be free, and 'these' group of EVIL DOERS will be brought to book.

Sabrina Kamera CCTV said...

linda,please give us good gist not all these killings
maybe an update on rhythm unplugged or sumtin exciting...

hahahah.ist so funny
linda give me art on your blog :D