President Jonathan Pledges Significant Improvement in Security, Power Supply and National Infrastructure in New Year Message | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 January 2011

President Jonathan Pledges Significant Improvement in Security, Power Supply and National Infrastructure in New Year Message

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has promised Nigerians significant improvements in security, power supply, national infrastructure, education, healthcare and employment generation in 2011.

In his new-year message to the nation, President Jonathan pledged that his administration will work even harder in the coming months to ensure that ordinary Nigerians begin to feel the tangible benefits of the economic growth recorded by the country in recent years.

The President said that the Federal Government will give particular attention to the effective implementation of the new national job creation scheme for which N50 Billion has been earmarked in the 2011 Appropriation bill to create thousands of new jobs for the country’s unemployed youth.

He said that to further boost employment, his administration will also initiate a massive national public works programme in the 36 states of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory for the renovation, rehabilitation and upgrading of schools, medical facilities, roads and other public utilities.

President Jonathan said that in addition to the N500 Billion intervention fund which has been established for the country’s power, manufacturing and aviation sectors, a $500 Million facility will also be made available to support small and growing businesses.

4 comments:

Surprise said...

GEJ, you should have risen to the occasion within this few months you became the president by fixing at least one of the major problems of Nigeria, like electricity, road, unemployment, security etc etc etc. If you have been able to solve at least one of these problems, that would have served as a plus for you. But there has been no improvement since you assumed power, rather it is getting from bad to worse. Abeg I will like to stop here before some people think say I dey opposition party.

I wish him Goodluck.

stop talking! everyone has been talking forever, and little to no action is taking place.
long hissss.

when we see some improvements, then we will know. but, until then...

I wish GEJ will promise less and act more. E don tey wey we dey hear these promises. I beg, just DO.

Get Nigeria Jobs said...

@Surprise, i think GEJ is really trying his best but there are people out there who wants to give GEJ bad names. they want to prove that he is not able to handle the security problems in Nigeria.i want to say that GEJ might have kick started some good project but like you know in naija,projects has to go true a lot of processes b4 they can commence. Well, i wish him well. Guys naija go survive.