Pastor Kumuyi re-marries | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 October 2010

Pastor Kumuyi re-marries

71 year old Deeper Christian Life Ministry founder, Pastor William Kumuyi, has re-married, 18 months after he lost his wife. The wedding to the new wife, a lady by the name Esther, who's said to be a member of his church, was reported to have taken place in the UK sometime last week. His late wife Mrs. Kumuyi died at 57 on Saturday, April 11, 2009 at her residence in the International Bible Training Centre, Ayobo, Ipaja, Lagos. - The Nation

50 comments:

O mine, i didn't even know he lost his wife...... where have i been? I can only say congratulations M.O.G!

linda are you serious? is it kumuyi himself or his son got married?cant believe this!!!!

Not to disrespect, but how credible is this information?

chichi said...

hehehehe why am i not suprised....

Nw wa ooo,at dat age?wat does he need a woman for?why not concentrate more on building the kingdom of GOD,till ur time to join ur wife comes,only GOD sees the heart of man

Grace said...

HYPOCRITES! Have yall thought of 'companionship' is it only sex yall think about. Maybe he needs a wife for 'companionship' afterall its the same bible that says it is not good for a man to be alone.

Yes the news is 1000% acurate and happened in london last week wednesday.

Good luck to him

Nonye said...

Is there anywhere in the bible that states the length of time a man should wait before he re-marries? No! Isnt better he re-married than maybe gists of him sleepin with church members flying around? o jare happy married life MOG!

Alabi Oluwasegun Leo said...

It's Biblical. Congratulations to Baba.

@ anonymous 8.52am, dont be silly! dont you know he needs a companion now more than ever, he is 71 and a pastor of one of the largest churches around,do you expect him to cook for himself and attend to some domestic issues @ his age? why do people think upside down? long hisssssssssssssss. abeg its not by force to make a comment and if you have to pls use you brain.

To the Man of God,I wish you long life in good health.

Alabi Oluwasegun Leo said...

It's Biblical. Congratulations to Baba.

happy married life to him. Good on him that he found another woman to replace his loss

His new wife is his church member. How long had he been eyeing her before he married her? While his wife was alive or after she died. Food for thought! I wish him all the best in his new union.

Surprise said...

In the book of Gen 2 v 18 God said "it is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him".

Pastor Kumuyi remmary in order to fulfil the word of God that man should not be alone. At his age he needs a companion. He needs somebody that will complete the work of God.

The work of God must move forward. He alone cannot do it. He needs the support of a companion to effective perform the duty of a pastor.

IEMBERDOO said...

Everyone sounds so sure that he took another wife for companionship,cooking e.t.c
Will y'all think same if u hear that a 71 year old politician married barely 2 years after his wifes passing??
He'll be accused of hurrying into another marriage and the new wife will be called a gold digger!!

Uche said...

Hi There, consider this 1Corinthians 7:32-35 (New King James Version)

'32 But I want you to be without care. He who is unmarried cares for the things of the Lord-how he may please the Lord. 33 But he who is married cares about the things of the world-how he may please his wife. 34 There is a difference between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman cares about the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit. But she who is married cares about the things of the world-how she may please her husband. 35 And this I say for your own profit, not that I may put a leash on you, but for what is proper, and that you may serve the Lord without distraction.'

It is getting quite common for M.O.G to remarry after the death of their wives and back it up with scripture .However when women remarry after the deaths of their partners in Nigeria, people are not as kind and have a lot of negativity in their hearts , not to talk of women of God remarrying!!!(unheard of!!). As long as women are allowed to do the same , then I would not complain. I am a married man with a lovely son but I just think the nigerian society is unfair to our ladies in some respects. Moreover why does no one quote above where Paul says it is better to serve the Lord as a single person instead we keep on hearing about not being in sin so one has to marry. Mmmh... At 71 with kids what more does anyone want than enjoy the lord and the kids one has. My dad is 66 and I would feel a lot of pain if something happens to my mum now and he decides to remarry after a while especially with all of us grown up (4 grown ups- 1 medical doctor, 2 doctors of pharmacy and 1 molecular biologist /clinical research associate)what more does he want.It is not my place to pass judgement but I sincerely pray not to be in such a situation.

Wild Boy said...

well, all the best sir...and @ them bad belle< God go judge una!

Uche said...

Further to my previous posting,'1 Cor. 6:12
'Everything is permissible for me but not everything is beneficial.
Everything is permissible for me but I will not be mastered by anything' addresses serving the Lord as well as 1st corinthians 7:32-35. Genesis 2, about man being alone does not refer to serving the Lord. Food for thought!!!, especially to all those who are saying whateva is biblical!!! All should be done within context, Remember !!!!

Kevin Obosi said...

In no time the young bride will be a widow too...Do you really need a bride at this age ..I guess the guy has packs of viagra in his closet...

waoh, lots of comments...well i think its good he remarries before some human beings start some scandalous rumour. he did the right thing by finding a companion.. he couldnt have been eyeing the new wife before his wife died cos she is only 2 years younger so lets stop talking such things about a man of God ..he is an anointed man of God for that matter..wish him all the best!

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

ok...he shud focus more on working for God..not earthly things...and i hrd the deeprelife church does not really like the second marriage issue...anyhoo...work out your own salvation/faith...that's all..don't follow pastors like they r supreme beings.

Myne said...

How old is his new wife? Can we see her picture? And did they pass the church marital committee like the ordinary members?

BTW, a man doesn't need a WIFE to cook and clean. That is a job for chefs and housekeepers. I know Kumuyi is rich enough to afford help if he needs it. Na only him know why he remarried.

ChichiAga said...

To be fair, its not easy being single after being catered to by a wife aka housegirl aka whore aka cook aka nurse aka mother aka sister aka friend.

My own is that these pastors with brand new second wives should remove the stigma society places on women who marry after loosing their initial partners!

prince said...

Congratulations!!! on your re-married life daddy, besides let it be clear to everybody, instead of spreading it around like a rumor, cos wen i first saw it on pm new. it was been exaggerated as "Pastor W.F. Kumuyi Married Secretly in United Kingdom" You can see dat it sounds suspicion, so i now sought 4 mor detail on the internet b4 i can now run any comment on it.....Tnx Sir, if that us how God want's it Carry on Sir.....

Tatababe said...

I second the comments made by Uche. People won't be so quick to quote bible passages in support of the marriage if it were a 71 year old woman of God getting married to a "church memeber," all these double standards....

Segedoo said...

Ooops! What can I say? I guess it's still not good for the man to be alone.

JUST BEING ME said...

HA!I BE TOK AAM! MAKE I RUN GO FIND MY NEIGHBOUR TROUBLE SMALL! SHE BE DEEPER LIFE & THE WAY SHE BE DEY TOK EHN?...I BELIEVE SAY KUMUYI NO GO MARRY AGAIN!..NA WA FOR OUR PATORS OF NOWADAYS...JUST 18MONTHS KE? IF NA WOMAN DO THIS NOW, DEM GO CALL NAME...WAIT FOR ME LINDA, MAKE I GO DO AMEBO SMALL...*WHISTLES*...I NEVA SEE DIS KIND THING BEFORE OOO...WANDER, WANDER, WANDER...*but i hope this story be true sha ehn?...because if it backfires on me, i go give them your name sha o...lol*

DIS CLEARLY SHOWS THAT PASTOR KUMUYI IS A FAITHFUL MAN OF GOD......SOME OTHER PASTORS WILL BE DOING CORNER CORNER LOVE,THEY WILL NOT COME OUT BCS OF WAT PPLE WILL SAY.

MARRIAGE AT THIS AGE IS MORE OF COMPANIONSHIP............LONELINESS CAN KILL AT THAT AGE.............

CONGRATS TO HIM...............

I guess aggro don catch pastor so he had to remarry.

companionship, rubbishmanship...there are soo may ppl that lose their wives at dat age and don't think of rubbishmanship, infact it is so rare to find a man his age looking around for another wife candidate talk more of marrying.

If u have been married for a very long time to the same person..lets say 50 yrs..it takes a long time for the shock to clear when u lose that person talk more of getting married in 18 MONTHS. abi do they just up and marry like that?? don't they have to see d person, know the person, court the person b4 marrying d person. is dat not what all these preachers preach??

Anyways Christianity is a personal thing and nobody can verify another person's status in christ Jesus. God knows them and they all know themselves.

@uche, just pray the same thing doesnt happen to u, then u'll see how enuf ur kids are in comparison to ur wife.....and if kids r enuf, y dont u keep livin with ur dad, y did u move on with "UR" life, aint u a kid to ur parents too, aint u meant to be enuf for them and vice-versa??/??

and plssssssss dont just judge pple, to the point u're using the bible, y did u get married too, aint u caring for God's things too. if u were not married now, i might av been able to reason with u, but.....

and read ur bible further to verse 39. ur agreement or disagreement with 9ja system doesnt still make this UNBIBLICAL.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

i am so waiting to hear the good news in six months or is it in seven months time.
damn! foetus these days don't take much time to mature like they used to.

cheers to the 21st century.

......men and brethren, be careful of d comments you make about God's anointed....every idle word a man shall speak,he shall give account on the day of judgement....you are only trying to be biased,if the marriage was done in Nigeria,you will still complain,he can have his marriage any where he wills ....its a personal affair,not a public affair.....by the way,what has he ever done before your eyes that is right?...or just b'cos its pastor kumuyi.......watch ur words or keep quiet,if you don't want God to b angry with you like Aaron and Miriam...when they spake against Moses' wife.........

Linda, people are entitled to make their opinions/comments. But I would enjoin men/women out there not to judge my Pastor. He has not committed a crime by his remarriage. If they are conversant with the Bible, his decision to remarry is biblical. Let our people learn to put sentiments, customs and traditions aside. Don't ever judge another man. It is God alone who knows Him. Pre-adventure, the whole world or Nigeria got up one morning, and learnt or heard that Pastor Kumuyi committed immorality with one of his church members, many tongues would began wagging and saying or sorts of horrible things. So tell our people to be careful how to speak about a Man of God. A widow (if she is a true child of God) has a right to remarry if she has the need and know if it is God's will for her to re-marry. It's left with her to decide whether she wants to remarry at Age 50 or 71. Let's be careful how we talk about others.

guys make una no talk wetin una no know abot d Baba is just 69 not 71,na 1941 him Mama born am.Hapi Married Lfy to a man dat stands shoulder tall among others.

& wat stops a widow (woman) of 71 from remarrying? where did it say dat is wrong either in d scriptures or in d law of man. A man/woman is legally free from his/her dead wife/husband! people castigating dis man don't know wat it means to lose a spouse untimely! i pray some of u or ur parents don't experience it, else u would have kept quiet!!

i think its good dat he got married, he really needs somebody to be with , not that he needs to bump her , but just a companion, ... @deeperlife benelux they showed their wedding picture, she isn't even ugly.

lol @ SKANKS comment.

Really, he didn't do anything wrong, just that as a pastor many look up to him as a role model & much is expected from him.

I do read the deeper life women publication; 'MIRROR' which is very educative & one is wrought to believe that Baba loved his wife so much & the idea of replacing her with another woman esp at his age rises a lot of questions.

How did he know/meet her?

How did the courtship go without people knowing & went to wed in UK & not 9ja? w-h-y?

Will she have a child for him? I ask because, of siblings rivalry in future.

In my opinion, he should have made GOD his COMPANION....there are people around him always to keep his mind pre-occupied...it's takes a lot of energy & time to keep such a big church running smoothly & not talking about him because he is anointed,that i don't buy BECAUSE ALL PASTORS ARE MADE OF FLESH & BLOOD,SO HAVE FLAWS LIKE EVERYBODY, WE ARE ALL CALLED THE CHILDREN OF GOD & CHRIST HAS PAID THE ULTIMATE PRICE, RECONCILING US TO OUR CREATOR, HENCE WE ARE ALL A ROYAL PRIESTHOOD! It's when people idolize their pastors that is when they feel their actions should not be questioned but be accepted.
DISCLAIMER...Please refrain from an insulting or sarcastic come-back comment...i won't turn the other cheek o!
FOOD FOR THOUGHT;
If the reverse was the case, & she remarried after 2 years, won't 'stones be thrown at her?'
May her gentle soul continue to rest in the bossom of the Lord. Adieu mama...*sigh*

Why is it that when the slightest question or query is raised about a Pastor/MOG, some brainwashed idiots come along to say "Touch not my annointed", "Watch what you say about a Man of God", "Thunder will strike you" and all sorts of rubbish???

ME THINKS IT ALL BOILS DOWN TO SEX & NOT COMPANIONSHIP! BECAUSE HE CAN GET THAT BY FILLING HIS HOUSE WITH RELATIONS & WORKERS SINCE THE MONEY IS THERE TO LOOK AFTER THEM,& IMMERSE HIMSELF INTO HIS MINISTRY & 2 SONS. I HAVE SEEN WIDOWERS WHO HAVE REMAINED 'SINGLE'.I AM YET TO SEE OR HEAR A 71 YEAR OLD WIDOW RE-MARRYING IN 9JA,& WHEN YOUNGER ONES DO, PEOPLE WOULD CASTIGATE THEM, SAYING 'ABI SHE WAS WAITING FOR THE MAN TO DIE BEFORE SEF!' BUT WHEN A MAN DOES,...THIS IS WHAT WE ARE SEEING MANIFESTING IN THIS BLOG.... WHICH GOES TO PROVE THAT IT'S A MAN'S WORLD. JUST LOOK AT THE CASE OF THE ADULTERESS IN THE BIBLE, WHY WAS THE MAN WHO COMMITTED THE SIN WITH HER NOT ACCUSED ALSO? .

IN NIGERIA, WE OPERATE AN EXTENDED FAMILY SYSTEM, SO THE NEW WIFE WOULD COME WITH HER OWN 'BAGGAGES' BECAUSE WOMEN BEING WHAT THEY ARE, WOULD COME WITH HER RULES & WAYS WHICH MIGHT NOT GO DOWN WELL WITH THE LOYALIST OF THE FIRST WIFE & THERE MIGHT BE CLASH, STRIFE & GRUDGE. LOOK AT SARAH & HAGAR;THAT IS WHY THERE IS THIS GENERATIONAL FEUD TODAY BTW THE XTAINS & MUSLIMS..ISHMAEL VS ISAAC,SO AM AFRAID THAT DIVISION SHOULD NOT HAPPEN IN DEEPER LIFE CHURCH!I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF ANY SCANDAL ABOUT THEM UNLIKE SOME CHURCHES.

PASTOR KUMIYI SHOULD HAVE STAYED ALONE & KEPT THE 'CANDLE' BURNING FOR HIS WIFE ESPECIALLY BECAUSE OF HIS AGE. I BELIEVE HIS WIFE WOULD HAD DONE THE SAME FOR HIM. THIS CASE CANNOT BE COMPARED TO THAT OF PASTOR ORITSHEJAFOR WHO REMARRIED A MEMBER OF HIS CHURCH WHEN HIS WIFE DIED,BECAUSE HE WAS STILL VERY YOUNG & NO KIDS YET IN THE MARRIAGE BEFORE HER DEMISE.

he is not 71.he is jst 60+ n u guys remember nt 2 say wat u dnt knw.u mite sin against God.Remember wat d bible says abt speakin ill of a man of God.be Careful guys.he also has d rite to re-marry.Happy married life pastor kumuyi.

he is not 71.he is jst 69 n u guys remember nt 2 say wat u dnt knw.u mite sin against God.Remember wat d bible says abt speakin ill of a man of God.be Careful guys.he also has d rite to re-marry.

Nwogu Jude said...

I would sincerely advise that people watch what they say about renown men of God. Someone of Kumuyi's spiritual stature should be given due respect! We don't know what he discussed and agreed with God before going on to take the decision (which is biblical, anyway). U might need to read up or study his life to know the kind of person he is. Y'all might also need to ask Pastor Dr. Uma Ukpai what God showed him (in the Spirit) about Pastor Kumuyi. I have been under Baba Kumuyi's ministry before and I know what stuff he is made of.

Even if U are sure that U have every right to condemn a man of God of his stature, please make due recourse to what happened to the children that mocked Elisha in II KIngs 2:23,24.

Be wise.

Kay said...

Watch what you say about anointed prophets of GOD. You did not create them, so do NOT judge them, so as to avoid the fury of Our Creator.

Kevin Obosi said...

@KAY: What makes you think he's the 'MAN OF GOD' I find that very blasphemous...Am appalled by your ignorance...

Dont judge, he is a man. that is God business to judge not ours

shellyjosh said...

i was totally surprised when i heard the news, but come to think of it, if agro catch pastor kumuyi isnt he better for him to get a stable partner rather than jumping 4rm one lady to another..... if he decides to marry @ 69(not 70) he is entitiled to it coz where he lives in IBTC Ayobo can be so lonely without someone in the house with him. I am not a "dont check ur pastor person" but i just think this is one aspect of his life that he is entitled to choose for himself.... moreso the new wife was also a widow & she is 65yrs so she wnt be waiting to procreate or would her sex drive be that high...

I wish Pastor & Dr(Mrs)W.F kumuyi a happy re-marriage...

na wa oh see aproco finish. why do people concern themselves with pples lives. mind your life and face your business

Please pple should be careful what they say concerning the man of God. Everyone is criticizing Pastor Kumuyi for re-marrying, how will you feel wen you hear of him sleeping around with church members or ladies around. Please watch wat you say and dont attract God's judgement. Daddy Kumuyi I wish you a perpetual marital bliss in Jesus name (Amen)

tantric masѕage іs one gеt-go fοotѕtep that you can νery hefty, and mellіfluouѕ.
Noω, foг the otheг slоρe of the coіn ;
ԁiѵing іntο the агe
unsсentеd and are wagerer suitаble foг maѕsaging іnjuries.

Check out my weblog: webpage