Ricky Martin confirms he's gay | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 March 2010

Ricky Martin confirms he's gay

"I am proud to say that I am a fortunate homosexual man. I am very blessed to be who I am," Martin, 38, said in a statement on his website, rickymartinmusic.com, on Monday. He decided to reveal the truth after working on his memoirs helped him realize that he had to be free with himself, and not keep any more secrets.  

"To keep living as I did up until today would be to indirectly diminish the glow that my kids where born with. From the moment I wrote the first phrase I was sure the book was the tool that was going to help me free myself from things I was carrying within me for a long time. Things that were too heavy for me to keep inside," he said. "Writing this account of my life, I got very close to my truth. And this is something worth celebrating."

*Cry*

16 comments:

L-VII said...

Abeg, Linda why are you crying? You mean to tell me you actually thought he was straight? Are you being for real? As fruity as he is? Really?

wannabewriter said...

duh!!!!....who did not know???...when i saw the way he was shaking in the "living la vida loca" video gaydar went off...

na wa o... why does he feel the need to tell us? he's not even fine again. what happened to all that charm.

Na today.

No news here. Just 10 years (or however long ago he made his debut on the Grammys)of living in self -denial. Good for him that he came out of the closet.

This is very old gist ooh me dear :-)

B

stephanie said...

OMG!!!!
i did not know... i m so heart broken
cos i kindda had a thing for him...
anyway hes still hot sha!!!

OC said...

sorri 4 him.! why is he even sayin it..who cares....abeg.., make person hear word!

Not a suprise at all!

Sumptuous said...

Good for him. Tyler perry should take a clue.

hum whatever i already knew this dude didn't have one iota of straightness in him. didn't you watch the young and the restless? this dude was beaming out GAYNESS all through. he's to much of a softy to be straight. its if he was straight i would have been surprised but this, its normal.

Ryan Seacrest is next!

Sasha said...

@Sumptous- i have wondered about Tyler Perry too. When i watch his movies with a lady interest/wife/girlfriend, there is something not so real about his gestures toward her. I hope he is not gay but if he is.......
For those of us that have children, let us pray for them....It is one thing knowing that a friend or acquaintance is gay but if it is your child......God help us.

I mean look at Queen Latifah, MC lyte, and the list goes on

Mrs. Marek said...

i don't know where he got the idea anyone thought he was straight LOL. If it makes it easier to breath for him then by all means, step out of the closet, the door has been open long enough.

BB said...

Another hot guy gone.....sad.

DÍÈKÓ Lagos said...

I could have told him that! save money on therapy. All this star are they thick...now he wants a comeback he has to shock the world...