Zamfara State Recruits 1,767 Prayer Warriors, To Pray For President Yar'Adua | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 February 2010

Zamfara State Recruits 1,767 Prayer Warriors, To Pray For President Yar'Adua

ZAMFARA State government has recruited 1,767 Islamic clerics to pray for the quick recovery of President Umaru Yar’Adua. Disclosing this at the 481- week Friday preaching in Gusau, the state governor, Alhaji Mahmud Aliyu Shinkafi, said the Islamic clerics would lead the special prayers in the 1,767 Friday Juma’at mosques across the state.

The state, according to Nigerian Tribune findings, will spend about N17.6 million on the prayers as each of the cleric will go home with N10,000 for the service rendered. Represented by the state Commissioner for Religious Affairs, Sheik Tukur Sani Jangebe, the governor remarked that the prayer session was necessary in view of the present situation the country was passing through.

According to the governor, the health of the president was very important for the survival of the country and, as such, he needed the prayers of Nigerians instead of playing politics with his health. The governor also directed the Islamic clerics to pray for the victims of the recent Jos mayhem.

Source: Muhammed Sabiu - TRIBUNE Newspaper.

1,767 prayer warriors? Quite unnecessary.. in my opinion...
Thoughts?

16 comments:

doll (retired blogger) said...

what a laugh! highly ridiculous....Nigeria=sad

How about 1,767 warriors to pray for the state of Nigeria? How about they pray for a change in how the government is run, the poverty, corruption, bribery, injustice, the eradication of voodoo practice? How about praying for those things? It is a mighty shame when the president can go to another country to get treatment for an illness that is killing his own people who cannot afford to pay for their treatment and worst, there is no such treatment available in his own country.

The money they are spending on these prayer no for dey useful for something tangible that benefit the people of Nigeria?

LWKMD!!!!

9JA!!! A COUNTRY WER ANYTIN CAN HAPPEN!!! U NEVA SIEZE TO EXCITE ME!!! LOL!!!

Is it dat d more number of pple prayin, d faster d prayer reaches GOD or dey r jst lookin 4 a means to squander money???
one day we will wake up & dey will tell us there is nw Ministry for Prayers & religious affairs, 1 for Christians,Another for Muslims & another for Juju worshippers, each havin its own minister , minister of state , commisioners, & even parastatals.....lol!!!

MAKE UNA NO VEX O, ME I B CHRISTIAN. I GO LIKE KNOW WHEN D CHRISTIAN OWN GO HAPPEN, ABEG DAT ONE GO B BETA OPPORTUNITY TO CHOP NATIONAL MOI-MOI BCOS WEDA U CLOSE EYE OR U NO CLOSE, OR U SPEEAK IN TONGUES OR LANGUAGE, U GO COLLECT KASH WHICH IS D KOKO INSIDE D SERVICE RENDERED........LOL!!!

wienna said...

Make dem dey deceive themselves.

F said...

You have to be kidding me... With all the poverty in Naija, the next best thing is to throw N17.6 million away? Anyway, I guess they are sowing 10k into over a thousand families but there have to be better ways of embarking on poverty alleviation.

Yinkuslolo said...

only in naija

wannabewriter said...

pure rubbish...for real is this a joke?....na wa o! so this is what they can do about the corruption and pain that has been existing in naija for years...only God will save us

wetin be dis nonsense. somebody, abeg tell me, dis na joke. dey don lose their minds o. Sebi, na d same tieves, and corrupt people wey dey 4 government, na dem dey recruit prayer warriors, dem dey craze. God go punish all of dem, one by one.

Instead of Yar'dua stepping aside in the interest of the country and allowing a healthy Johnathan to ascend to the presidency, he would rather have money squandered on "prayers". What next?

At the risk of sounding tribalist, these Hausas have really gone too far with their desparate attempts to hold on to power at any cost including the country. After decades under Hausa rule, not one hospital exists in Naija that is capable of taking care of a sick Yar'dua.

Tariq said...

Wow, Are we really leaving in 21st century? Well, I must say both Islam and Christianity preaches prayer but there is a Hausa proverb that says "Allah yace tashi in taimake ka" meaning "God say get up and I will help you in other words put the efforts and try hard and i will help you accomplish what you want". I think it’s in the quaran but I’m not certain. Anyway the point here is Mr. Yaradua should have taken care of himself early in his life not rely on prayer now. Also, the stupid Governor should have use that money to build a hospital for those Nigerians that are less privileged to fly to Saudi Arabia for medical checkup. And to you people who collect the money for the prayers, I will say it’s about time they get a piece (atom size) of the Nigerian pie.

tankojjetty said...

Unnecessary???
I think i'd do anything to bring Yar'Adua back ASAP.
The polity is suffering & unstable because of him.
I'd rather you pray too if you can.

PS>Atleast he's not using the money to buy private jets or building houses

please,am lagos based so sumone should come up with dis initiative here in lagos.
and d money will definitely be higher.3 days fasting and prayer...lol
few bucks for my pocket.
d president will die at his suposed time,nevertheless
i cant just believe this.......
only in nija do we hear such nonsense.LWKMD

The problem with all of una be say u fucking like to complain to much all you nigerians una to dey complain with no action? so becauase dem they prey for the president its now a crime or its now nonses na all of una they put down 9ja. Not the government

Hausas are becoming a joke to Nigerians, and people around the world. They will do anything to remain in power, despite the fact that some of the worse leaders have been hausa, babangida, abacha, yar'adua, they do nothing for the country, corruption, which is what they are known for. The Nigerian terrorist, his father is an example of what hausas do with the country's money. Their children are some of the worse, they don't do anything, except squander their parent's money. I hope Nigeria will continue to be on the terrorist list, especially the Northerners, bcos a lot of them are getting out of hand, if it will take westerners to put them in check, so be it.

They try to fool people with their stupid humility, enough is enough. Someone mentioned at least, Yar'adua is not buying private jets, are u kidding me? so you are ok, for someone to rule a country, who has no idea what it means to be a leader, and his responsiblities. Am I missing something here, tell me what he has done for the country eversince he's been in office, tell me what his policies are, tell me what changes he's made to better the country and her people. As far as I'm concerned, all I hear about him is the fact that he keeps flying out of the country to get treatment, which is ok, but can Nigerians know what's going on with their leader. Some people say, they want Yar'adua back, bcos nothing is going on in the country, when he was in office, nothing was going on too, so these people must be blinded.

Yar'adua was not capable from the beginning to be in power, and that's the reason I blame Obansanjo for his selfish decision. Of course, the hausas will want hausa in office, bcos they don't care about the country, they've had their way for so long, and they have the whole country wraped around their fingers.

I hope Yar'adua will recover soon, but there's no way, he's coming back to office. This dude is not capable to lead a country, and is as simple as this, let the vice president be sworn in office. I'm just amazed by how some Nigerians can't apply common sense. They are some of the well read group of people, but what happened to their common sense? This comes to prove, you can have all the degrees in the world, but still be a fool at heart. Some of them, if not most of them make absolutely no sense. The person that said, is it a crime to pray for your president, don't u get it, that's not the point. The problem is not the fact that, they are praying, the problem is that they are spending that much money, that can be used to better the country. I'm sure they are not only praying for him to recover, but for him to come back to office, bunch of nonsense. Hausas, get used to the fact that, you guys time is over. There's a big difference between a developed country, and a developing country, Nigeria has a long way to go. I'm thankful, I'm not on that side of the world.