Chocolate City visits Jos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 February 2010

Chocolate City visits Jos

On Tuesday, February 2, 2010, rappers MI, Jesse Jagz and Ice Prince, will be visiting Jos, the capital of Plateau to assess the situation first hand while bringing relief items to the displaced citizens camp.

Leading Entertainment Company, Chocolate City, home to the three of Nigeria’s biggest Hip-Hop acts, has condemned, in its entirety, the recent sectional violence that erupted in Jos, Plateau State.

Speaking on behalf of the team, MI (Jude Abaga), stressed the need for unity especially in this trying period of the nation. “What upsets us is the fact that Jos used to be the most peaceful spot in Nigeria [and] has now become a religious warzone. I grew up in Jos and didn’t understand that there was a difference between a Muslim and a Christian. I didn’t know that there were ‘Christian areas’ or ‘Muslim areas’. It was just one Jos.”

In a related situation, the Chocolate City C.E.O, Audu Maikori, has announced a series of fundraising concerts to be held this February, in collaboration with other music stakeholders, in Lagos and Abuja. The concerts are aimed to raise funds, essential items of need for the victims and also launch a ‘STOP THE VIOLENCE’ campaign.

STOP THE VIOLENCE is aimed at sensitizing and educating the youth against being used for violence especially by political groups or sectional groups to the detriment of Nigeria and Nigerians (drawing from the Mutallab scandal where a brilliant 23 year old Nigerian was used by the Al Qaeda to attempt to blow up a Detroit-bound Delta Airline plane on the December 25, 2009.

“Nigeria is the giant of Africa in more ways than one. We intend to use our music and our artistes to restore lost cultural and ethical values to our youth.”

3 comments:

wannabewriter said...

okay....this is what i'm talking about!...i am begining to fall inlove with M.I he is real and has shown it's not just about making money but giving back....hopefully the others can follow suit

My thots exactly!!! Now we are really talking. I posted a comment on bellanaija asking what the artiste from Jos are doing. good to see M.I. is leading way.

kassy said...

Haba!That's wat i wana hear.MI,u're the bomb,chocolate city thank u for giving hope 2 the hopeless.