Relationship Question. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 October 2007

Relationship Question.

If someone broke your trust, how do you learn to trust them again?

Please share your thoughts.

19 comments:

ibiluv said...

if enuff remorse is shown and the person does genuinely seem to seek to regain ur trust.....

first u try to forgive,once u can go beyond forgiveness...trust could be regained...no one is without flaws

LADYBRILLE.com said...

Good Q. Their actions will show if they can be trusted again. First a recognition and apology for breaking your trust. Second, from that point on, if they say what they say, mean what they say and DO what they say, I think you can trust them again.

it's not easy o,especially if you and the person have come a long way.
it will take time and the special grace of God.
you can forgive the person but it is not easy to forget.
the person(the offender) can make it easier by being remorseful and repentant.

SARAH MAGES said...

Linda, if given a second chance to trust again i would be half-hearted. I will begin to refresh my memories to the days my Trust was betrayed. My instincts will definitely disturb me not to trust the person wholly but to give mere chance.

Without being a stirrer, i would lke to say that i hope this has nothing to do with your ex..... PLS with how you were treated by him (from your blog entry), forget it please. People don't change, especially not from things like that.

I will say also that it is important to forgive, it msy sound selfish but by forgiving you can move forward. However it is crucial to leave the past in the past. It ALWAYS leads to more and even deeper heartbreak.

forgive Linda please. And open your heart to better possibilities. Something tells me you're on the right track. May God give you the wisdom to make the right decisions.

Mr.Fineboy said...

You don't. Unless of course, you're absolutely convinced that the first time was a one-off. Great blog, loving it. Why is this my first time here??? Going thru ur archives....;-)

like most people have said, the offender has to show heartfelt remorse and his/her actions following will go a long way in determining if they can be trusted. one will just have to decide if that person is worth the risk of being trusted again

it depends on d 'crime' committed...some are more forgivable than d others...for me...one night stand/one of flings by my partner is a crime but a forgivable one...persistent or long term or babies out of wedlock is an unforgivable crime....

...because a heart is broken..and it may never heal....

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 10:44 and 12:13, this is not about me...im just asking a general question.
@mr fineboy, welcome to my blog.

Nonesuch said...

Can one really trust again? There wil always be that little doubt at the back of your mind. Did I see you at Masha Rdabt in black talking on the phone yesterday at about past 5pm?

YankeeNaija said...

It would have to depend on how much of my trust was broken. There are some actions where trust can never be regained, the relationship is completely severed, never to be mended. I think it all depends on what the individual did.

cally-waffybabe said...

I'd forgive the person, but i'd never trust them again.

Also, thank me for bringing mr fineboy here (although he forgot to mention that) *sulking and pouting at mr fineboy*

Hugs
xxx

we are not decieved linda that question was totally about you we are all in this together aint nothing to be shy abi.trust me it is very hard to separate your social /life from your blog life otherwise why blog. its an outlet

lemonade factory said...

well once trust is broken it takes alot to still trust a person,only thing is u need to forgive then u dont just let ur guard down so u dont get disappointed a second time,trust me sometimes its easier to be friends with someone who has broken ur trust,u tend to know wat they can do!!!!

Linda Ikeji said...

@Cally, thanks for bringing that man here o.
@anon 3:32...aint trying to deceive u babes...just trying to understand more
@shola, pls get in touch

i wish i could answer that one honestly but as i am a victim of such circumstance.......

i am tryna trust again. It is not easy at all.....

maybe cos am blind to that remorse y'all are talkin about.

i think to trust again? u will need time to heal , then be able to listen to watever explanations, forgive, then try BITCH hard to forget....

A.G..

Simple. . . Don't trust them again.

well it will take time for me to forget, but the Bible has said it all.
if it happen again & again, God knowns that i'll keep my distance with this person until further notice.