50 Wave Making Nigerian Women on parade + Movies To Go See + When A Man Loves A Woman | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 October 2007

50 Wave Making Nigerian Women on parade + Movies To Go See + When A Man Loves A Woman

50 Wave Making Nigerian women

National Encomium, one of Nigeria's leading softsell magazines, recently published a list of Naija's wave making celebrity babes.

Here are some names on the list and what they had to say about the ladies...
1. Vivienne Chiologi
She is every man's pride and joy. Whenever she appears at any party, her garbs and accessories become subject of conversation among society ladies. She runs her Pride and Joy on V/Island, with a business acumen that is also commendable...

2. Ruth Osime
Also in her 40's, she is the style editor of This day Style on Sunday and has practically brought style to every woman's doorstep...

3. Louise Priddy
A pretty half-caste who is the proprietor of Bacchus Niteclub...

4. Chalya Shagaya
Dark and pretty, she was formerly an executive at Oando...

5. Ziz Cardow
She is an award winning designer. She is one of the designers that popularised the Ankara fabric...

6. Alali Hart
She made the Clarins range of cosmetics popular in this part. Alali loves to dress and adores the french look...

7. Ifeoma Williams
This lawyer definitely holds the key to chambers of high fashion. Ifeoma is the 1999 Face of Lux who is happily married with two sons.

8. Tundun Abiola
The lawyer daughter of MKO Abiola...

9. Linda Mesrob
This lover of Boho trend runs Skin on the Island...

10. Dunni Igbinedion
The O'Emporium boss is married with three kids...

11. Lisa Folawiyo
She is the brain behind 'Jewel by Lisa'. She is married with a kid...

12. Dakore Egbuson
A dramatic actress, Dakore is one of Nollywood's best...

13. Modupe Ozolua
Modupe, the founder of BEARS Foundation, is one of Nigeria's most celebrated woman and a body enahancement expert

14. Sade Okoya
She is the wife of of billionaire business mogul, Chief Razaq Okoya

15. Rita Dominic
She is undoubtedly one of Nollywood's most celebrated actresses...

Others include
Jennifer Obajuana
Soraya Adji
Uche Nwandison
Genevieve Nnaji
Nike Ogundoyin
Blessing Effiom
Tara Durotoye
Nona Adimora
Lanre Da Silva
Tosin Dekalu...and 25 others.

And somewhere in between, they put my name. Cool!

Anyway, I know some of this names are unknown to you but they are women making waves in various fields in Naija. One day, I'll profile some of this women properly.
Moving on...

The Future Nigeria

The big news: nominations are now being accepted! Once the website,
www.thefuturenigeria.com
was launched at the event, nominations began to be accepted from all over the country, for young Nigerian achievers aged 18 to 31 who are crashing ceilings, and breaking boundaries in different sectors.

The new 15 categories unveiled: Artist of the Year, Professional of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year (Beauty & Style), Music Producer of the Year, Screen Producer of the Year, On-Air Personality of the Year, Actor of the Year, Musician of the Year, Magazine of the Year, Journalist of the Year, Best Use of Technology, Best Use of Advocacy, Best Use of Goodwill, and Young Person of the Year. Nominations close on the 31st of October 2007.

The full details of the nomination criteria and process can be gotten from http://www.thefuturenigeria.com/, which is also where you can nominate.

Movies to go watch now

1. Tyler Perry's; Why did I get married?Starring: Janet Jackson, Tyler Perry

2. The Game Plan
Starring: The Rock

3. Michael Clayton
Starring: George Clooney

4. We Own The Night
Starring: Mark Wahlberg
Joaquin Phoenix

5. The Heartbreak Kid
Starring: Ben Stiller

6. Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Starring: Cate Blanchett

7. The Kingdom
Starring: Jennifer Garner
Jamie Foxx

8. Across The Universe
Starring: Rachel Evan Wood
Jim Sturgess

9. Resident Evil; Extinction
Starring: Milla Jovovich

10. The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising
Starring: Alexander Ludwig

When A Man Loves A Woman...by Percy Sledge (1966)

Yesterday, someone said and did something that got me thinking about how powerful a man's love can be.

I started playing 'When A Man Loves A Woman' over and over again. Smiling!

But then, reality hit me hard an hour later, when I saw a video of Mark Anthony and his ex-wife, former Miss World, Dayanara Tores, re-marrying. Y'all know they separated for a while and when they got back together, they re-newed their vows?

At their second wedding, Mark shed huge tears as his wife walked down the aisle to meet him. He was crying like a sweet crazily in love man who couldn't believe how lucky he was to be marrying his dream woman. As she got to him, Mark mouthed "You're so beautiful, I Love You So Much".

Who has seen that video?

After the wedding, he said the day was even more beautiful for him than their first wedding because Dayanara was giving him another chance at happiness. (She had walked out of the marriage for reasons best known to them).

But the thing is; less than TWO years after that spectacular wedding, Mark went to Puerto Rico to get a VERY quick divorce from Dayanara, so he could marry J LO.

What does that say about men's attention/love span?

I listened to this song over and over and over again. And I've been trying to analyse the lyrics. Some of us have loved and been loved but how realistic are this words?

Let's break it down together

When a man loves a woman
Can't keep his mind on nothin' else (I agree...to an extent...but that won't stop him from...?)

He'd trade the world
For a good thing he's found (Hmmm...?)

If she is bad, he can't see it
She can do no wrong (Really?)

Turn his back on his best friend
If he puts her down (It's possible...)

When a man loves a woman
Spend his very last dime (He will spend his dime...but 'his very last dime'? lol)

Trying to hold on to what he needs
He'd give up all his comforts
And sleep out in the rain
If she said that's the way It ought to be (I only see a man sleeping out in the rain for me...in my dreams)

When a man loves a woman
I give you everything i got (yeah)

Trying to hold on
To your precious love

Baby please don't treat me bad (I won't baby...but maybe you will)
When a man loves a woman

Deep down in his soul
She can bring him such misery (that's true...but his...will still be working! lol)

If she is playing him for a fool
He's the last one to know
Loving eyes can never see (hmmmm....ok!)

Yes when a man loves a woman
I know exactly how he feels
'cause baby, baby, baby I am a man
When a man loves a woman

Let me ask this question: Who is more foolish when in love? Men or women?

23 comments:

Linda,Linda, you will kill me with laughter. At a point, i thought i was listening to Klint De Drunk sing(refer to your additions in paranthesis to the beautiful song).Well i feel its vice versa cause when a man loves a woman(true love),she does no wrong,he doesn't see her doing any wrong and wont listen to any advice. Its the same with the woman too if it's she in love.None exceeds the other,forget any logic people might want to put into it.we love same way infact i have met some guys that that love to the extent that you can call them stupid not just women.most people think its only women that can be blinded by love.Capital NO,men too.

ExcitedJade said...

sweet girl... both oh, and nice meeting u darl. u're such a darl

Aramide said...

uhm uhm EXCUSE ME!

I love ur blog! Where have i been? I mean i always knew of lindaikeji.blogspot just never read hehehe

We have the same blogging style - kinda

Great stuff - enjoy xx

james kwasi said...

It amazes me when I think of how many men and women are going apart on this planet all in the name of divorce. I have a strong believe that the real meaning of the word 'love' is still very much unknown to man. Considering the word 'love' scripturally, it simply means 'God'. God is love and love is God.Then I will simply put it this way that love is seeing your fellow human being as your very self.In other words, if I see you linda just like myself then, if I should in any way wrong you it means I have wronged my self.If a man and a woman really sees each other like themselves, they would accept each other just like they are.Before I put my fingers off the keyboard, let me say all the musicians that sings about love only sings about it, if you check their private lives, you can't find TRUE LOVE.
byeeeeeeee,jamesm

Ms. Catwalq said...

Who is more foolish? is that a rhetorical question? Cos the fact that more females than males have posts on this and related topics should tell you something

What I find really amusing about some of the people who make these lists, is that while some are genuinely women to be watched, perhaps even emulated, some of them are clearly on the list because of men they're sleeping with, married to or fathered by.

women are more foolish!!!

definitely a man, women are stronger and can deal with strong emotions, i have seen men in love ( badly in love) and boy they are def badly in love. i believe we must stand in love not fall

both are foolish.but men are more selfish,they usally think about WHAT & HOW the relationship will benefit them in the long run,while the women r too blinded by 'love'to think about "long term effects".

Meadows j. said...

BTW, I HATE THAT SONG 'WHEN A MAN LOVES A WOMAN' AHHHH AWFUL!!!.

abeg women are d foolishest lol(my English teacher will b ashamed). But really it is easier for men to misbehave than women. That part in the song where it says he will leave his best friend for you is a big lieeeeeeeeeee. A big lie from the pit of hell.it is always ''bros b4 hoes'' so forget it oh. Girls however will stop talking to their girlfriends all because of their boufriends which I must say is really stupid. I had a friend who alienated all her girls cos of her man and today he has left not just alone but without any girl friends. Girls are foolish oh when it comes to men but small small we go begin open eye lol.

How do i put this, men are by nature not monogamous. Ask any woman and let them be honest, especially based on their past experience. ladies, do you honestly, genuinely think that a man is monogamous in nature? most of you i am sure (speaking from the heart) would say "you dont think men are monogamous in nature" then why do you get disappointed when men cheat. Also speaking straight from the heart, every secular man lives by the rule " what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas". If there is the chance that he will not get caught, then he will cheat, except the woman does not appeal. To cut the long story short, all that love song we men sing is just for that moment (we truly feel love, but it doesn't stop us feeling like boning someone else), put him in an uncompromising situation and watch him stray without blinking. So please let's stop deceiving ourselves and call a spade a spade. Sorry had to burst your bubble, just thought it was important to voice it as it is. No gimmicks just pure unadulterated gaddem truth.

No love is everlasting except the love of God! Kapish!

Ms. Catwalq said...

CATWALQ ACADEMIE IV IS HERE!!!!

@linda,its ENCOMIUM MAG NOT NATIONAL ENCOMIUM,the national was dropped over 4yrs ago.
@the list,well sometimes i disagree with those kinda lists.whats the likes of nona adimora oding on that list?hw has she contributed to society with no job.i could pick out ten names that shudnt be there but oh well i guess i shudnt hate!

Adiba said...

I think its traditionally believed that things like "generational curses" exist....I personally think its bull that someone would blame thier misfortune on their grandfather...he's just looking for some excuse to make...Yes somewhere in the old testament In Jeremiah 32:18 "You show love to thousands but bring the punishment for the fathers' sins into the laps of their children after them" and then another contradicting one in 2 Kings 14:6 "Fathers shall not be put to death for their children, nor children put to death for their fathers; each is to die for his own sins." The message is confusing but I would agree with the latter. Although, personally I like to think of things like this as destiny or fate it's no one's fault that's just how the guys life was planned out to be.

Linda

Love is complex. One sure thing is that it is not that flowery feeling of romance.

I recently witnessed real love at a hospital the other day when I went to visit a woman who had been in a accident.

Linda, this man was washing her clothes, bathing her, bringing food that he cooked, etc. All this when he did not have to do anything. All this when there was enough help around. We were honestly shocked.

Only God knows what she touched in the man's soul, but I know that that what I was looking was not many couples today will do.

You Linda...can you honestly do that for a man?

women r naturally intouch with their emotions....but when a man falls, he falls HARD!....speaking from experience....every single word in that song is true bcos i am living it right now...and yes, u can never do no wrong in his eyes, he will choose u above n e and everything.

I understand u doubting those words Linda bcos u've been hurt b4, but honey, when u find that real man that'll love u deeply and completely, that song will sound quite normal for u, take it from me! And it absolutely helps plenty is he is God fearing too.

Nma

Linda Ikeji said...

@nma, I dont think there's anyone who believes in love more than I do.and Ive felt the power of a man's love...im even trying to get myself out of one now.Love is beautiful, we just need to find the right someone to share it with.
@anon 3:19,I will do a lot for a man who's worth it.

Looks like stellasgroove was reading my mind. I thought about Nona Adimora too when I read the lsit coz the only thing that springs to my mind when I hear her name is "that woman with veryyyyy bad fashion sense".Something is always hanging out.
But then, if I am right, she did have a column on Thisday newspaper called "Ask Nona".That is some form of contribution to the society.

yeah,to begin wth i will say this,Linda u are 1 of the best out of the bloggers out here,u really deserve to be appreciated.I always take my time to come on bcos i know i will spend the time i have to browse to read ur blogs and it's always full and educating...

Getting to the topic at hand,I think I agree wth the second to the last blogger(nma),she said it all.I too believe in love,I'm a fan of love and i'm in love in love and like someone said GOD is Love and I dont see wat situation dat will stop me from believing dat notion but if we find the right person all the sords in dat song then sounds right but how do we find the right love is the question?They say love dont exist,it's a big lie,it's like saying God doesnt exist and it's only a mad man will say dat...

But to find love,we all have to get back to God bcos without His help we cant get it but how many people wants to obey Him butwe always want it our way and we get it wrong and we lament and say love dont exist.

To love,means;Humility,Long-suffering,Endurance just these three but there are more and I stop to ask just these three qualities,can it all be find in a single person?Let's think about it,thanks.
Yembel.

Just want to express my total abhorrence to the term 'half Caste', which you ascribed to one of the ladies in your list. please in the future avoid using such, it is very insulting just as the n word. nuff said

I see nothing wrong with the word half caste, the term is used to describe mixed race people in Nigeria. I don't think Nigerians should give half caste special treatment, leave people alone. Although the word Nigger is bad but it is still being used in America but Not Nigeria NONSENCE.