GISTS FROM TINAPA GRAND OPENING. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 April 2007

GISTS FROM TINAPA GRAND OPENING.

Africa's Premier Business Resort, Tinapa, an initiative of Cross River State Governor, Donald Duke, was formally commissioned on April 2nd 2007, by President Olusegun Obasanjo.

The event which held at the large emporium inside the business resort, drew crowd from all spheres of life, both international and locally.

Senator Florence Ita-Giwa, Gov Donald Duke and MrsKaine George

The event played host to alot of men of God, led by the General Overseer of Redeem, Pastor E.A Adeboye, who prayed during the foundation laying ceremony.

President Olusegun Obasanjo.

He came to the event with Governors Musa Yar'adua and Goodluck Jonathan. They are also the PDP Presidential and Vice-Presidential candidates.

Segun Arinze

Joke Silva
Segun Arinze and Joke Silva were the hosts of the event. And I heard they did a good job of entertaining the guests. Although the show started a little late because of the late arrival of Gov Donald Duke. Alli Baba was there too to thrill guests with his jokes.

Mrs Kaine george, Adebayo jones, Sen. Florence Ita-Giwa, Remi Lagos and Funmi Iyanda

Ita -Giwa, George, Remi Lagos

Funmi and Remi

Actresses Steph-Nora Okere Falana, Uche Jumbo, Ini Edo, Empress Njamah and Grace Amah

There was a Nollywood Awards and Gala Night at the event. Ini Edo won Best Support Actress for her role in Girl's Cot, while Caroline Ekanem who wasn't at the event won Best Actress for her role in Mass Destruction. Jeta Amata won Best Director for Amazing Grace.

Shan George, Ibinabo Fiberesima, Vivian Anani
Other artistes who performed at the event were D'banj, and the Girl Power Unleashed Girls like Sasha, Ashionye, Zeal, Kemistry, Niyola, Blaise etc.

Models on the runway

The Calabar Fashion Week held April 1st and 2nd at the Marina boat club and Tinapa's studio 2. The designers were Kaine George of Out of Africa, Adebayo Jones from the UK, Remi Lagos, Zizi Cardow and so many more.

Doyin Haastrup was one of the models at the fashion show. Others were Warebi Martha, biola Boris, Isio Wanogho and so many others choosen by the style team of Chalya Shagaya and Ifeoma Williams

Zizi Cardow

The media coverage of the event was massive. Most Newspapers and Magazines sent a representative to cover the event.

From March 29th to April 2nd, all hotels were fully booked.

There was also free flights for all. All you had to do was show your invitation at Arik Airlines or Virgin Nigeria counters and you get on the plane.

Activities have commensed at the resort as banks and other organisations have gotten spaces. Tinapa is a free trade zone, most of the goods will be cheaper than buying elsewhere.

This is a great initiative by donald Duke. I hope other State Governors take a cue from this and build infrastructures that would transform Nigeria and help it's trade and tourism potentials.

Kudos to 'The Duke'

8 comments:

FIRST!!!

Lovely and Glitzy pictures. I'm jealous of Mma Giwa, she seems to ge getting younger and more chic in her old age. (no pun intended) LOL!! I've got to sit up. (smile)

Linda Ikeji said...

@Calacar gal.i got those facts from...i'll tell u later.whats up with u?

Segedoo said...

I served in calabar in 2003-4. great city to live no wahala.
Then tinapa was just on paper and in DD's mind!

Anyway it's great to see it's now real. i just hope say Nigerians wont congest the place like Lag or PH.

Linda, i'd be moving to Lagos after elections. i'd get ur painting across somehow. lol.

Wow, Linda, I wonder how you keep doing this.. and I thought I was an active blogger! It seems the Tinapa opening was a beehive of events. I heard Segun Arinze is a good MC. BTW, he's actually looking fine in this pix. So Obasanjo brought his PDP politics into this thing? That's just amusing.
I expect something like this to come up in Abuja very soon. I hope it'll spread to Lagos as well. I also hope Tinapa will be able to sustain the quality with which they've started... and I'm happy Gov. Duke was able to complete this before leaving office. That's one governor I respect and I hope to get a chance to interview him one day.

CG, dat woman doesn't dress her age atimes and she also wears d wrong make-up for her skin tone. If u see d picture of d evening dress she wore at d fashion show, you'll scream. U can check purefoto.com out for more pics too.

Kafo said...

wow
this is unbelievable
i really hope it gets done and is accomplished
thanks for the update

Meadows j. said...

SEGUN ARINZE IS LOOKING RATHER SEXY IN THAT PICTURE.

The studio is open for business. Linda, you look so natural in the whole setting. Maybe you are supposed to add moviestar to ur resume!