Man recounts how he fled his marriage after many years of unhappiness | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 April 2016

Man recounts how he fled his marriage after many years of unhappiness

A man has recounted how he endured marriage for so many years and finally freed himself after waiting for all his kids grow up and leave home. He also left his properties and cash for his wife who he said he had second thoughts about almost immediately after they got married. According to him,
"I was having second thoughts about the marriage almost immediately. I was thinking about asking for an annulment, but then we got pregnant. So I stuck it out for 20 years.
I did really well for myself during that time. I was making $100,000 per year as a lawyer. That was a lot of money in the sixties. We lived on the finest street in Charlotte. But I was still miserable. So the moment the kids were grown, I took off. I left my wife everything. I left her the house, the bank account, the Mercedes, everything. I didn't even say goodbye. I just dictated a note to my secretary, called the Rolls Royce dealership, and told them to pick up the car at the airport.  I flew to New York with nothing but $800, screaming: Free at last, free at last, free at last!"
Source: Instagram | Humansofny

72 comments:

Na so. * it's well*

Not reason enough

Only a white man can do such a crazy thing lol.

Tosin said...

Eh... This one strong o

Visit TheMcHub blog for varieties of articles, news and def celeb gist

Shuuuuuuuu free at last... ... God hate divorce......

............. For better for worse.........

Ngozin said...

Hahaha o lawd!! Awww free at last mehhhnn! Bless your heart for being thoughtful and not breaking your home until kids were grown and left everything for the MRs too.

JOYOUS said...

THIS MAN SEF! LOL AT SCREAMING FREE AT LAST

Hahahahahaha this got me laffing....at free at last!

Lol.
Signed
#LibBadBoy

nyfemy said...

Having second thoughts about d marriage almost immediately* y would u marry someone nd ve second thoughts almost immediately..some pple just rush in and rush out or can't wait to leave....u can't just see someone and u ve strong attraction and it's mistaken for love and u marry...marriage is an institution no one graduates from..its only school u get ur certificate without taking lessons...God help us all to be wise...just saying generally doe*

It's well

Chicken,can't even face his problem, he ran away and thought he's free,no,u left a woman and kid to wonder what they did wrong for years!that feeling of guilt! Piece by piece by kelly clarkson describes him perfectly

You are not Happy with your marriage and you fled. Instead of fixing it.

He is the one wearing the shoe after all! Linda take note!

His palaver

His palaver

Eric Uroh said...

Smh, life

Monemi said...

Rubbish, where is d wisdom in all this. Grey hair is wisdom if found in d way of righteousness.

Hahahaha lol. ..A lot of people are in this marriage thin suffering and smiling. If not for procreation trust me lots won't get married. But with God as a foundation I believe a happy marriage can be achieved!

Wooooooooooooooooooooowwwww! (Jaw drops to the floor). Is there any other specie of human being I am yet to meet or read about?

sir i know how it feels like when u break loose of a horrible marriage .......i can imagine the kind of woman you got yourself involved with ..and that was a long time to endure for me you played byt he marriage vows "for better for worse"

To leave his wife everything is so considerate and shows he was really not happy whatever d reason. I believe him but if na Naija man, they wld say his wife Jazzed him.truth sayer

Queen of Queens said...

That bad? Sorry sir.

He looks like the owner of play boy mansion or so

Of what benefit is this post.

Good for him

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

Well said and well done. But we need to hear the woman's side of the story.

Lolz come collect medal man...cos fucked up marriage is a fucking war and u just survived..

Imagine...marital bondage aint child's play

Posh Queen said...

Mehn! Guess d marriage was hell after all.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Lol. Na wa o! Mistakes we make at times.

Naughty man

Some marriages are bondage sha

Congratulations my friend. I was in the same situation like you but I had to finally run away when my last daughter turned 17 she is now 18. Because men don`t cry people are not aware of how miserable some men are in their marriage. Because women are the ones doing all the talking and they are so loud that people hear them. The breath of freedom is exciting. I wish you good luck in all your future undertakings. Stay blessed.

Marie said...

Wait until she catch u. I swear u will return in a suitcase. Don't dare a desperate woman!!!

He was unhappy but still had children wit wife Hmmm

anonymous said...

Agbaya , mumu, idiot.

I can't help but giggle
Free at last...nothing like freedom.
I respect this man...he was there for the kids endured 20 years of bondage and when it was time to move on he left everything for his wife.

Miss Boss said...

That's pathetic mehn!

He need to see a psychologist.

Free from what and to do what? Mumu!

Wait o. Stop consoling yourself aunty linda. Go and marry o. Your mates have grand children already. Stop deceiving your old self

PrettyChi said...

Nawaooo

Foreverboss said...

huh?! life and its intricacies. i get fascinated by events every time.

If the woman was dat horrible then why waste ur 20yrs with ha? Tell dat young girl u flee with dat God is watching ha.

#DEE said...

I don't understand married people, u sleep with her n ve kids not oneor two, yet ur not happy in the marriage. U need to be flogged.

dattivgurl said...

Wow

dattivgurl said...

That's deep

dattivgurl said...

That's deep

Were ni eleyi share!

White people and thier ways...#onMYway...

Arsenal said...

Lol free at 80s.

sparkle said...

One sentence. Mid life crisis.

This is out come of not marring somebody u love. Lesson to all

Heya he'd hv come to marry me.

Oya go kill urself nau

Yes @chinelo is a lesson for all

This is why men cheat.

He should have been cheating

I can cheat for Africa but I am cautious

I pay the women off, so they're employees in a sense

A monogamous marriage can be boring as hell, especially with the wrong person

Crazy if you ask me

Lesson for all? What lesson is there to learn?. Him having a second thought then,(20 years ago) didn't state nor insinuate that he didn't love her.

He is lying to d world dat d woman was unbearable. He didn't even focus on d positive. He didn't even identify y dy were fighting or reasons behind d divorce. He is giving excuse which has no connection bcos he would ve stated dat. Y do I sense dat didn't made his wife happy dat wat led to it bcos he felt miserable can u imagine.. Unbelievable!!!

Hahahaha! Remember mature single girls like us who are pressured by the society daily ooo. Is marriage really that pathetic?! Happy for yu though. LMAO!

Sunset ☀️ said...

How do you know? Are u God? Is because of stupid statements like this that many women still stay in an abusive relationship.

Atuo, na you go kill yourself and die. You obviously don't know the importance of family. Tueh!

A lot of people stay in miserable marriage because of their children. Some wait till the kids are independent before leaving the marriage. Fact!

Thank you onyx. Ladies seems to carried away by him leaving all his money for her, but that's dumb tho. Everyone deserves happiness but running away from a 20year old marriage and your kids is cowardly

ThankGod for ur life o...I understand. being with a horrible partner is like a bondage

But wen u hear a news of hw a woman or man died in an abusive relationship, u will be d first to ask why she /he didn't leave d said relationship. Until dia demise...God hates divorce nt d ppler who ddivorce...U nid to listen to Meyes Monroe sermon on relationship problems

The difference is, he left her everything, a black man will live his wife without a penny but will be busy giving the girlfriend money. You see the difference. He left didn't left her in poverty.

When is time to fuck, they sharpen their stupid dicks,useless men

Marriage is now like to ride a bicycle, hard to crack

So, who's the winner and who's the sinner? The kids are grown, and the bad wife keeps everything without breaking a sweat.