Farmer reveals how 40 of her newborn lambs were killed by local dogs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 April 2016

Farmer reveals how 40 of her newborn lambs were killed by local dogs

Oxfordshire farmer, Isobel Bowden was left devastated after discovering that 40 of her new born lambs were savagely beaten and killed in one night by dogs that had been left outside by their owners. In a facebook post, the heartbroken farmer warned dog owners of the damage their pets can do when they are let loose and not controlled. She then posted graphic photos of the 40 dead lambs, and some injured ones, appealing to owners to make sure their dogs are kept indoors overnight so as to prevent another incident from happening. Read the post after the cut.

After a manic and problematic few weeks lambing and feeling completely exhausted we have just lost 40 lambs in one field to a dog attack last night . . . Fair to say that's finished me off this week ! Keep dogs shut in at night and on a lead around livestock!! Absolutely devestated !!
'I have debated with myself whether to post this but I think it's necessary to make people realise the damage dogs out of control can do,' she wrote. 'These dogs were left outside a property loose at night and this is some of the heartbreaking images of the damage they have left behind. 'It is not the dogs' fault - they are animals with instinct and it is your responsibility as owners to keep them away from livestock for their sakes as well as the poor defenceless animals that will be their prey.'
'Keep dogs shut in at night and on a lead around livestock!!, 'For the lambs that we have worked endlessly to deliver and care to be wiped out in one field overnight is truly heartbreaking, as it would be for any farmer.' 
 More photos...

33 comments:

Dee Tee said...

Hmm

Weird!

KWEEN said...

Oh my God. It's really sad. Poor little lambs :(

Eeeeeeyaaaah! So sad

So sad.

Winch dogs, sell them to Chinese restaurants they need them more than u dO

Nawa o

Nawa o

Awwwww.....so sad

daaamn! Those are some mean dogs. I hope they are taking care of. So sorry for his loss.

Too bad! Linda take note!

Eya

Pele ooo

The Sun UK is your second hone, @ lst give credit

That's some serious damage....

Ahhh!!

Fuckin Canines.
Bloody Cowards goin after n slaughtering some Hornless lambs.

Fuckin Canines.
Bloody Cowards goin after n slaughtering some Hornless lambs.
Reliably heard that the peppersouped flesh of wicked Dogs are the sweetest of em all.

La face said...

Eh ya, this is so painful. You handled it so maturely and please be strong

Not only livestock but humans aswell.....u walk ddown d street. only to see one stray dog barking @ u. For no just course,absolutely annoying....if u cnt train and groom ur dog,why. leave dem to straay about

Why get dem in d first place

I feel your pain!

Owners of dogs ought to show more responsibility for their pets.

Too bad

Eayaaah what a waste?

Lord Bsek said...

Get a licensed gun,mate.

AWWW Some loss indeed!

So sad. Dogs should be trained well

Lucile coconut oil,carrot oil and black soap Abuja 07059605320 said...

Eayaa,this is heartbreaking

nonny said...

D dog na human snd am

Am surprised she's not suing.. If she does, am sure she will win. After caring for weeks just to lose 40? If its in Nigeria... Who ever has that dog that did all this will be found by the help of one babalawo and forced to pay for the damages or else all hell will break lose

Jude Akinwole said...

I just feel it would really be unjust if she does not get some kinda compensation from the dog owners for the savagely act of their beastly dogs! The dogs too, i think, should be "de-canined" #MyTake

dessymal said...

Ooooh Lamb of god