UN endorses peace process for Syria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 December 2015

UN endorses peace process for Syria

U.N. Security Council members unanimously approved a U.N. resolution Friday endorsing a peace process for Syria including a cease-fire and talks between the Damascus government and the opposition, but the draft makes no mention of the most contentious issue — the future role of Syrian President Bashar Assad.

The resolution makes clear that the blueprint it endorses will not end the conflict, deep into its fifth year with well over 300,000 killed, because "terrorist groups," including the Islamic State group and the al-Qaida-linked al-Nusra Front, are not part of the cease-fire.

U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry praised "the unprecedented degree of unity" in the council, which has been stymied in the past over a political solution in Syria, and called the resolution "a milestone."
Foreign ministers from 17 countries met for more than five hours on how to implement their call in Vienna last month for a cease-fire and the start of negotiations between the government and opposition in early January. At the same time, diplomats worked to overcome divisions on the text of the resolution.
The resulting agreement "gives the Syrian people a real choice, not between Assad and Daesh, but between war and peace," Kerry said, using the Arabic acronym for the Islamic State extremists.
"We're under no illusions about the obstacles that exist ... especially about the future of President Assad" where "sharp differences" remain, Kerry said.
He made clear that Assad must go if there is to be peace in Syria, saying that "Assad has lost the ability ... to unite the country."

But Kerry later told reporters that the United States and the opposition had eventually realized that demanding Assad's departure up front in the process was "in fact, prolonging the war."
Kerry, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and U.N. special envoy Staffan de Mistura made clear that the previously envisioned Jan. 1 start to peace talks was unlikely. De Mistura said invitations to the talks will go out in January, at least.

Kerry said a start to the talks in the middle or end of the month would be more reasonable. "In January, we expect to be at the table and implement a full cease-fire," he said.
Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon told the council that Syria was "in ruins," singling out besieged areas where "thousands of people have been forced to live on grass and weeds," which he called "outrageous."
"This marks a very important step on which we must build," Ban said of Friday's resolution.

Source: AP

42 comments:

abeg make there aprove am before dere kill dia sef finish

Noble decision.. Hope it yields something good

THE WORLD NEEDS PEACE

Hmmmm I still dey watch.......Jst Me

Great news for syria.

Nice move.I wish they'll also wade into this Burundi affair.The ish is getting messy by the day

Ooooooh! Okwu

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#It mUsT eNd iN praise

I feel for these Syrian refugees....pls let peace reign so that they can go home....chukwu nye aka

Can peace really be restored to syria?
I pray for God to help them. I can't even imagine the pain the people of the region are going through.

aproko manager said...

Un? Ok na,end time endorsement

Dats a good one. Linda take note!

Better, peace is all we need.

Wow!

Dis is wht am talking abt World leaders taking d bold difference to mak d necessary difference in d world$

With that resolution, the ISIS and other like terrorists will be defeated and peace restored to Syria.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

I wish the cease fire will include ISIS. But that ain't possible.

HEARD!!!.
Now go job 4 some peace.

HEARD!!!.
Now go job 4 some peace.

sophieluv said...

Nice move. We world needs peace.

oya nw bigups

That z a good start

Group of old men that fuck up d world

Nice one.

Good

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Good one

EDWIN edDREAMZ CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...

Those animals will never listen and thats fact....

Anonymous Personified said...

Good.

But why would they wait till the matter has escalated to this level, allowing terrorists gain lots of ground, before trying to profer solutions.

Ok good!!!

Good

About time

Abeg am tired of endorsements
I need results
Action speaks louder
Is well

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Perfect one. Am in support of dialogue and peace

Fools stop aiding isis by giving them funds using ur proxy the only people who cn change assad shld be syrians thru a free nd fair election nd nt US nd d west all ur bloody regime changes in iraq,libya etc gave birth to isis No More russia wont stand for it cz now the are cleaning ur mess!!!

Okay... May God help them

THANK GOD FOR THAT, SO THEIR PEOPLE CAN HAVE PEACE OF MIND

AUNTY LINDA....

Austin said...

ohk.. good to know they're finally doing something about syria! over 300,000 dead?! damn i think they did close to nothing!

WHEN IS THE UN GIVING SAME OF BIAFRA AGITATION

This world is coming to and end soon no doubt, Been long you saw me. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

I pray nd hpe that this would be the beginning of a beta resolution in that country