Rich 'Affluenza' teen who killed 4 people on the run with his Mum | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 December 2015

Rich 'Affluenza' teen who killed 4 people on the run with his Mum

Police have launched a manhunt for a wealthy Texas teenager described as suffering from “affluenza,” after he apparently violated the terms of his probation for causing a deadly drunk-driving accident in 2013.
Ethan Couch was 16 when he crashed his pickup truck into a group of pedestrians and another vehicle, leaving four dead and several seriously injured. He had a blood-alcohol level of nearly three times the legal limit.
The son of millionaire parents, Couch made headlines during his trial when a psychologist testifying on his behalf claimed he suffered from “affluenza” — a neologism coined from affluence and influenza, implying that financial privilege made him unable to understand the consequences of his actions.
The manhunt began after the now 18-year-old missed a mandatory meeting with his probation officer last week.
The teen was sentenced to 10 years probation for intoxication manslaughter for the 2013 incident.
A psychologist who testified on the youth's behalf at his trial claimed his condition of "affluenza" shielded him from responsibility for his actions but is not recognized as a diagnosis by the American Psychiatric Association.

Grisham said sheriff's deputies tried to search the home he shared with his mother and found the place cleaned out except for a pinball machine.
"This is a family that knows how to game the system and has done so from the start," said Tarrant County Sheriff Dee Anderson.
The FBI and US Marshals Service, which specialises in chasing fugitives, joined the search after authorities put Couch on the country’s most wanted list.
“You can run, but you’re always going to be looking over your shoulder,” Tarrant County Sheriff Dee Anderson told CNN on Thursday. “We’re not going to give up. We’re going to come after you. We’re going to find you, wherever you are,” he added.
Prosecutors had sought 20 years in prison for Couch, but judges handed him a surprise sentence of mental-health treatment and a decade of probation.
The leniency shocked many Americans, especially because the teen expressed no remorse and spent not even a night behind bars.

The controversy reignited this month after the emergence of a video showing Couch at a party taking part in a drinking game, which violated the terms of his probation.
Police showed up at his home to find it empty with no forwarding address.
The teenager’s flight, apparently with his mother, has prompted outrage across the country.
“This is egregious. ‘Affluenza’ aside, Ethan Couch appears to show blatant disregard for the law, and he must be held accountable,” said Colleen Sheehey-Church, president of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), in a statement.
Sheriff Anderson admitted the young man had slipped through the net.
“He got a big jump on us because he was gone before any of us knew that he was missing,” he said. “This is a family that knows how to game the system and has done so from the start,” he added, saying Couch may have fled the country.

Source: Reuters

51 comments:

WHAT A WORLD WE LIVE IN. END TIME THINGS

Where him dey run go?
Them go still catch am...

LINDA AWUGHIM ROBOT

Nothing like affluenza here.Seems to me he's just a spoilt brat enjoying the protection of a wealthy parent that have failed in their duty to raise him well

So sad,they should be arrested already

Darrel tom said...

Eyaa
The mum behave like a typical igbo mum. Pray they arrest him soon.

Linda's last son

Darrel tom said...

Eyaa
The mum behave like a typical igbo mum. Pray they arrest him soon.

Linda's last son

They always have names for any shi! Trying hard to defend him,rubbish.

They'd still catch him.

TOMJERRYSWIT said...

AFFLUENZA KWA?? DRuNK @ HS AGE DEN??OYIBO NO DE FAIL TO SUPRISE PERSN。TOMJERRYSWIT

Where do dey know dey r running to?

Nai be say them go run for ever na.

Lwkmd. Afflu kini. Abeg if them catch d guy make dem lock am for underground kirikiri....jst me

Too long can't just finish reading, let me quickly go say my mornin prayers, whites and d way they bring up their kids, @ age 16years oh my God.

End time omen

Since is not prison, he could have just continue with his probation, instead of being on the run

No where to hide. They will be caught and brought to book

::Native Doctor::

Some drunk teenage driver killed four persons and he only got ten years probation, and not even a day behind bars just because he's a rich kid??? That judge must be a nigerian.

Seriously Oyibo matter don tire me
U kip hearing all sorts of gist
He shld face de law

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Northern Princess 7 said...

Heya! Rip to the Victims, they should bring the boy down to Nigeria For Africa parent to train him

Ruphina said...

Like u said he is suffering from affluenza. Sophia philosophy department UNN

De shld get hold of him as fast as de can
He z a security threat

Spoilt child. I hope he is caught and this time, the judge live up to his responsibility.

Ada lolo said...

Name of disease or what? Them don start oooo with all these stupid names!

How long was he gonna run?... Crazy bunch..

His parents money won't save him dis time. Linda take note!

Hembafan said...

Na wa

sharp guy Linda observe..we go start our own lmao

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

Wat a waste of potential. Wish d parents can adopt me and forget about dis boy

Imagine this mumu. U were given probation and u're not grateful. Thank God hez on d run so that he can b caught and given the right sentence of 50years imprisonment with hard labor.

becky said...

Rich boy pikin, why won't he behave arrogantly when a jail sentence that should have been givin him was not, abegi

Some times jungle justice dey good kwa....cost that day mobs for tidy the b***h n***a

That's what happens when you have a biased system...

aproko manager said...

Make dem go meet yoruba native doctor,dem go give dem e end time location

Wait affluenza is a disease abi what? Olorun shaaanu mi o...becos u aave money it's affecting ur way of life! Really??

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Biko!

He should b caught and punish accordingly.

They will get him soon, he can not escape the law nah mtewwww!!!

Lol at Affluenza.
Fucking Shrinks.

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Negodu spoilt kid. Linda, inukwa

Americans will validate any stupid behaviour by coining a scientific name to suit it. Affluenza my a**

Goaldyn Boy said...

Ahaaa! Me I want to suffer Affluence! But don't add Influenza to it! In fact, 2016 is my year of Affluence and Opulence!!!

That's bad....

Violence everywhere. God help us.

OMG THAT'S REALLY BAD

AUNTY LINDA....

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Covering up by evil parents. I wont be surprise if we hear soon that the so called couch has killed his parents!

nekkymighty said...

Oyibo must give everything name...Odiegwu!

Muna said...

Lwkm! The other story one time was allergy to WiFi... Now this? Affluenza ish, tcheeeew

Uzosafetyblog said...

Chai bad pikin. #IRepLIB

...loooooooolx affluenza kai

What is Affluenza? If it was black people media will say we r unruly...this boy should rot in jail.

U just hit the nail der. Suffer in from affluenza Come he's white.. SMH