Death sentences passed on 66 Nigerian soldiers for mutiny, other charges, reduced to 10 years imprisonment each | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 December 2015

Death sentences passed on 66 Nigerian soldiers for mutiny, other charges, reduced to 10 years imprisonment each

The death sentences by firing squad passed on 66 soldiers in January and March 2015 by separate General Court Martials have been commuted to 10 years imprisonment each. A statement released on Saturday, December 19, by the Acting Director Army Public Relations Colonel Sani Kukasheka Usman reads;

"It will be recalled that 71 soldiers were arraigned on several charges in joint trials. The soldiers were arraigned on several count charges that include Criminal Conspiracy, Conspiracy to commit mutiny, Mutiny, Attempt to Commit an Offence (Murder), Disobedience to Particular Orders, Insubordinate Behaviour and False Accusation, amongst others.

They were tried, discharged on some charges but found guilty and convicted on other charges which included mutiny. Out of the number, 66 were found guilty on some of the count charges and sentenced to death, while 5 were discharged and acquitted and 1 was given 28 days Imprisonment with Hard Labour (IHL).

However, following series of petitions, the Chief of Army Staff Lieutenant General Tukur Yusufu Buratai, ordered a legal review of the cases. The directive was carried out to examine the merit of each case. It was on the basis of the review and recommendations that the Chief of Army Staff commuted the death sentences of the 66 soldiers to 10 years jail term. The sentences are to run concurrently. 

The cases of other soldiers are being reviewed and will be made public once the appropriate reviews are completed.

72 comments:

Better.

This is very bad.

Beta dan death

Its much better than d death sentence abeg
Even Dasuki was nt sentenced to death upon †ђξ money he stole

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#It mUsT eNd iN praise

Hummm... it's well in the well.

Okay.
Thank God for that.

Ok! Why not pardon them totally?

Uzosafetyblog said...

Still not enough. #IRepLIB

beta dan dear but sometimes death is preferable to 9ja prisons

Wawu! I thank God for their lives, at least it's much better than the death sentence.

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

Mmmmm o ma se oooo.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Lucky them!

Thank God dis was not in military regime if not dis wouldn't b d case.

tjay'TEE Bello said...

Better. Although they should be responsible for their actions buh still Dansuki should take the blame. Even in prison, you are still gallant comerades. God bless you all.

As for Dansuki, God protect your family when you're gone... I pray!

THNK GOD DAT。。。 TOMJERRYSWIT

Good news.

Very good. Nd thank u general Tukur Buratai.

At least it's better than the former judgement.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Can't they be lenient...? Wicked nation!!!

Let d government just free this people jare, is #dansuki #dokpesi e.t.c. Better than this people??? Nonsense government. With all d money they stole dey were still granted bail, but dis soldiers dat have fought 4 nigeria are given 10yrs in imprisonment. Wicked people.

Linda our miss universe contestant is prepping well in America o, saw her interview on Enews yesterday, am pretty sure u saw it too. Pls bring update on the girls,they need all d support they can get.
Miss world too.
Is a big deal, every foreign media is carrying news on the on going miss world and miss universe but nothing is being done for them in Nigerian media.

mira said...

Soo touch...nice one TY buratai

mira said...

Nice one frm TY buratai

June said...

RIP in advance

Not bad..#rep 9ja..

useless zoo soldiers who are full with corruption, sorry to say i hate nigeria soldier i prefer police

Mayberry said...

Pls my president I think u should still ask dat d sentenced should b reduced. Dis men ve families to cater for. Pls my president

A very nice development.The one i find more irksome is the case of those khaki boys & their GOC in Borno.The boys were forced to follow a certain path that led to their ambush by BH.It was purely a calculated act.Good thing they ain't dying anymore

soft touch said...

This are the tins u get when u try to fight for this useless country called Nigeria, if I see a buyer today am ready to sell dis fucking country cheap nw nw,

10 years imprisonment is close to death too...

Better!

But the original story said that the soldiers were protesting and refused to face boko haram with inferior weapons.....they should better free those boys so that we can have enough to face boko haram

Thank God it's no longer death sentence. 10yrs is still plenty sha. They shld temper justice wt mercy pls

Dprecious said...

i think its better of... than killing them... they must have learnt there lesson too...

General Tukur Buratai is doing a nice job. I love his preference of 'mercy' to 'condemnation'.This move will surly unify those with bitter heart for a better Nigerian army.
More wisdom as you carry out your work.

Barr. Joe said...

Thank God for their lives

Cowards!! Whats all the big grammer for? These soldiers were sentenced to death cause they refused to go and fight bh empty handed while GEJ,Dasuki etc shared the monies meant for arms for these young soldiers to fight with amongst themselves.Forgetting that God is alive and the blood of these ones and those that have died will be upon them down to their 4th generations. Evil people

To me that is still much, but they got what they want idiots, Been long you saw me. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

9ja Parrot said...

These are victims of Dasukigate sent to prison. Nigeria!!! What a country of contradictions!!!

Shuuuuuuu
Gbege 4 dem
Not a small sentence at all
Nawa ooooo

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Tina(@libblogqueen) said...

10yrs imprisonment, dats close to death , wat will happen to their families. Linda I no be robot.......

kudos said...

Awww I pity my Heros.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Lucky them!

They should go and giv thanksgiving!

Thank God dis was not in military regime if not dis wouldn't b d case.

Yeah, saw her too, she was so posh and confident. She even gave cat Sandler diet advice, to drink green tea, lol. Am happy for her. Hope she goes far.

did anybody notice something fishy about this list,..its made up mostly of easterners,Christians and northern Christians,..very few Muslims there,..and they will always deny that there is no hidden plan to kill and reduce the amount of non Muslims,.. easterners,southerners or westerners withing the Nigerian military,..

;ABEG E LEAVE MATTER FOR MATTHIAS;

did anybody notice something fishy about this list,..its made up mostly of easterners,Christians and northern Christians,..very few Muslims there,..and they will always deny that there is no hidden plan to kill and reduce the amount of non Muslims,.. easterners,southerners or westerners withing the Nigerian military,..

did anybody notice something fishy about this list,..its made up mostly of easterners,Christians and northern Christians,..very few Muslims there,..and they will always deny that there is no hidden conspiracy or plan to kill and reduce the amount of non Muslims,.. easterners,southerners or westerners withing the Nigerian military,..

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

They should be sentenced to death by suicide atleast. Dey deserve it

This is really bad....

At least, that's better!!!
Still waiting to know what sentencing they'll give Dasuki, because if I remember well, one of the reasons these soldiers committed mutiny was because of lack of adequate weapons to use in the fight against BH. At least we know who stole the money. Let's see what they'll do to him.

Lucky them.

Ithink the one who deserves this ten years imprisonment is Dasuki... The story i know of is they refused to go fight BH without weapons which of coursecourse, our dear Dasuki didn't provide but kept for himself and his likes... So I say, scrap d fucking 10 years and let these poor people go home ... Dasuki should get 200 years

After some people embezzled the money for purchase of arms. They expected them to die like chicken at the hands of Boko haram with nothing to defend themselves. Now they are being charged 10 years for running away when it wasn't their fault. Hia!

Better dan dying. Good for them. Linda take note!

Thank God is not death sentence, but dey should reduce d number of d years,for d sake dat these soldiers were fighting for d country b4 dey committed mutiny.

They should thank their stars.. It is well

How can they kill them before? Did they kill anybody? I think we should remove death sentence from Nigerian law. Life in prisonment is ok. Let God that gave us life be the one to also take life back from us.

A least is better than the death sentence

How can they kill them before? Did they kill anybody? I think we should remove death sentence from Nigerian law. Life in prisonment is ok. Let God that gave us life be the one to also take life back from us.

Sending a soldier to war with outdated weapons while the enemy were armed with sophisticated weapons. Thank God dis didn't end up to be a death sentence

They should set them free nah aba

San sucre said...

Fair judgement. We have hope for a better Nigeria

Good. what a relief... i hate to see pple die away especially this type of death sentence

I think it is still unfair to sentence them. Total freedom is better considering the preceding circumstances. They should however be grateful unto God for what they got. God bless Nigeria.

jebs said...

How is it better 66 sentence to death!

Hmmmm wat really happening y won't dey sentence dasuki n others who stole negiria's money make dem free DS pple jooor

10 years is too much. 1 year or 2 years is ok