Court orders traffic offenders to forfeit vehicles to Lagos government | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 December 2015

Court orders traffic offenders to forfeit vehicles to Lagos government

Read the press statement below...
The Lagos State Environmental and Special Offences Court sitting in Ogba on Friday convicted six traffic offenders arrested by the convoy of the State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode in Ijora-Olopa area of the State on December 16, 2015, while driving against traffic. Those arrested and convicted include Mrs. Adejoke Elemoro, Mr. Ogunlana Olatunji, Mr. Ganiyu Ayokuleyin, Mr. Ogunade Segun, Mr. Akinlabi Ahmed and Mr. Sunday Uzebor.

Trial Magistrate, Mobolaji Tanimola of Court 16 in Ogba, convicted the motorists after they pleaded guilty to a one-count charge bordering on the offence filed against them by the government. Magistrate Tanimola specifically ordered the traffic offenders to forfeit their vehicles which included four cars, one motorcycle and a tricycle to the government.

The convicts had pleaded guilty to the one-count charge accusing them of driving against traffic contrary to and punishable under Section 7 (b) of the Lagos State Traffic Laws of 2012. In her judgment, Magistrate Tanimola ordered the forfeiture of the vehicles to government and a payment of N50, 000 each as an option of fine to a six-month imprisonment for driving against on-coming traffic, contrary to the laws of the State.

Both motorcyclists and a tricyclist arrested along with the motorists were ordered to forfeit their motorcycles and a tricycle to government together with the payment of N5, 000 and N30, 000 respectively as an option of fine to a one-month imprisonment each according to the laws of the State. The Magistrate held that the decision of the Court would go a long way to serve as a deterrent to other motorists who have cultivated the bad habit of contravening the Lagos State Traffic Laws, 2012.

ADEBAYO TAOFIQ
PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER LAGOS STATE TASK FORCE
DECEMBER 18, 2015

121 comments:

Ladun Liadi said...

Even with the option of fine, it is still DRACONIAN

wat sought of rubbish is that one?..just look well,that mumu judge na beta t6raffic offender

TOMJERRYSWIT said...

DTS SERIOUS。。。。TOMJERRYSWIT

Traffic offence is the last thing worrying lagosian.. Amobode plz stop chasing rats and get to business.. We need constant light and security plzzzz!!! Get busy half baked governor..

Good way to go.

Nice decision..Hopefully others will take correction @traficfreelagos

That's too stiff now. The second option is better without the option of one month prison term of course.

Very stupid ruling..y should dey forfeit wat dey hussle with..even in western world u gt a ticket n dey check if u ok..

Mufliat said...

They should better look for the money.

#Hajia Mufliat

::Native Doctor:::

Our judiciary is so unfair to the poor. Imagine... He'll have to forfeit his car, which may likely be his only source of livelihood, and still pay 50k or risk going to jail for 6months.

Seriously, if Ambode, whose convoy arrested these people allows the part of this judgement which asked them to forfeit their vehicles and motorcycles to be upheld, then he is a wicked person.

They should look for any other punishment to give them which won't involve them losing their source of livelihood. Nigeria is tough enough these days. They shouldn't add to the sufferings in the land.

Nonsense

chynwe33 said...

Jesu! Dts too much a charge for our environment n country. Hmmmmm, what if dos vehicles are fr commercial purpose dt brings return to d owners, how will dey survive after dis?
Aunty Linda publish

How harsh.

Operation Obey the Law...m#sips Orijin#

THIS MUST BE A JOKE

Hope say the Law no affect trekkers....#sips Orijin#

Habbbaaaa, Ambode... that is not a good one ooo, that's too harsh a penalty. a fine for the crime is better, you dont have to make life hard for them by forfeiting their cars... Even in the Developed countries . all they get is a ticket, might be bogus but not this kind of crazy Judgement. I will always say it. some people are above the law.

The law always applies to the poor... 50k plus their means of livelihood... 50k should be enough punishment biko.

This one na serious GOBE. But why???

Uzosafetyblog said...

Yep, gbese ree. They should go to appeal court. #IRepLIB

Wowww! Hope others learn.

This is serious oh but honestly it is the kind of approach needed for a place like Lagos and Nigeria as a whole as we are natural law breakers. On the flip side, I hope the same measures will be applied too when it has got to do with a big shot or a big name as in no matter who is involved.

I'm not a robot!
Je ne suis pas un Robot!
Abughi m Igwe obula!
Nye manyi robot debu!
Mi O yi Sé Irin!

!!!!!!!

Omo na to chose jail term o

Very good! We need this to fall in line!

Its kind of Harsh bt let the rest b warn....jst me

Forfeit vehicle to state government?
Chie thats extreme

LINDA AWUGHI M ROBOT

What kind of Kangaroo court is that? Ignorant magistrate. The crime does not fit the punishment. fine them and let them go why would you take someone car away for driving on the wrong side of the road.

Isn't that a bit extreme?! Forfeiture because of contravening traffic laws?!

Smartegha said...

Lessons learnt the hard way, danfo drivers take note.

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

....and how can they procure money for feeding?

That's kind of hard, forfeiting ur vehicle.... Chai! Can't they just fine them?

Which kind seizing of car be that? It's this kind of thing that makes people join boko haram and other groups. Maybe Lagosians should sue the state for gross negligence and property damage. Cos driving on all the bad roads is damaging peoples cars and leading to loss of property due to criminal activities in traffic.

I think you meant court not Cout like in C programming...lol and the judgement is too harsh. Taking their car from the offender is not justice to me.

D+PinPointer Says: What type of judgement is this? I presume the judge wants to impress the governor. Suppose these vehicles are the means through which they derive their daily bread for themselves and family; you will just take it away from them because they violated traffic rules? This is a counter- productive ruling for goodness sake! Is there no standard of penalty that would set a precedent so that offenders will know the gravity of the punishment they will face? We copy things from the civilized world wrongly. Here in the States, I know that if I run red light, this is the amount I will pay, and if I park my car by the fire hydrant, this is how much I will pay when ticketed, and so on. Why do you people in Africa do things to destroy one another?

affido said...

i personally feel feel like this is more of extortion than it is a way to correct the offenders. Will anyone there pick prison over being with their cars?! they have given the offenders no real options. Where's the justice in this? why not just fine these ppl?

Gbam! Gbamest! This will serve as a deterrent to others and I love this! Lol!!!!!!!!!!!

Nice judgement...forfeiture!!!

Lagos state means business. This na real deterrent to others.

Its their means of survial...why take it away from them....

#AmGettingOldHere

Can u imagine
It won't work naaaa
Lets watch and see den

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Serves them right!

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Fucking Hypocrites. Forfeit car because of traffic offense...I just can't.

Enter your comment...another new style(its well o)

Which kin talk be that? It can never happen. Men struggles to reach ends meets, and government expect them to forfeit the buses because of one small offence, men!! That is what I call stealing in a high dimension.

Agent Nuel said...

I hope dis will also b applicable to d so called excorts dat follow our politicians n society elite who on daily basis break traffic laws without remorse. U ask dem to forfeit dia vehicle...so dats not bad enuf abi? Now dey go ahead to add fine to t.

anonym said...

linda, try and make sure your spellings are in order. you've had a few of those recently. It's Court, not Cout.

Hian! Nsogbu ozo abia kwanu. Linda take note!

Sunday said...

That's good this one we teach the rest people like them lesson

Ambode get sense so?
all these judgement on top say person break traffic law?
paying a fine would have been OK. nawa o.

HARSH, THE ECONOMIC SITUATION IS HARSH ENOUGH...PLS, GOVT SHOULD NOT MAKE IT WORSE FOR THE MASSES TRYING TO SURVIVE...THERE SHOULD BE LESS STRINGENT PUNISHMENTs...

@THEBEAT999FREAK

Only in Uncivilized Yoruba land, All of us abroad would have lost our cars here for ordinary traffic offence.BIZARRE!!!!

Ole government, the fines imposed on them is actually good but forfeit there vehicle that's rather harsh

tahar said...

Solve traffic issues first,before arresting people

Thats harsh tho. Just saying.

Tina(@libblogqueen) said...

See gobe.... Forfeit vehicle and still pay fine?? This is absurd

They are all crazy for giving such judgment, why take their source of livelihood from them, telling them to forfeit their vehicle to lagos state govt mtewwwww!!!

Serious law indeed!

Na wah oooo,,,dis one na daylight robbery ooooo,,which kind law be dis,,,jst because sae na d governor catch dem himself no mean say dem go come collect their vehicle fron dem giv government....dis is insane

They are all crazy for giving such judgment, why take their source of livelihood from them, telling them to forfeit their vehicle to lagos state govt mtewwwww!!!

Others will learn from it

E b like say uncle ambode na tief. So if it's a 6 million naira car, they will dash it to government abi. Chai. See tactics

The idiot governor should go and clear Apapa roads of those trailers that are causing the gridlock. Theres no other way but the 'one way' or bike which also ends up taking one way. Apapa is a mad place to visit and imagine having to do dat everyday!
So he does a one chance visit, of which his body guards must have done all the road clearing for him and innocent people must pay, right?. I repeat, Ambode lacks the political and economic will to handle and clear those trailers. Fashola did far better

The idiot governor should go and clear Apapa roads of those trailers that are causing the gridlock. Theres no other way but the 'one way' or bike which also ends up taking one way. Apapa is a mad place to visit and imagine having to do dat everyday!
So he does a one chance visit, of which his body guards must have done all the road clearing for him and innocent people must pay, right?. I repeat, Ambode lacks the political and economic will to handle and clear those trailers. Fashola did far better

This is sheer wickedness. So, after forfeiting their vehicle to the government, which on its own, is very cruel, they shall also pay N50,000 each? If that is what it is, I'll say that the punishment is too harsh and very cruel. They should file an appeal as I know that the courts abhors inhumane and cruel punishments.

Chyke
City: Unknown

This is callous, wicked and a stupid judgement. They can pay fine...yes. But why collect their vehicles. Its a stupid law

Olu

Justice speaks I guess.

That judge no serious o! Ahn ahn! After fine! Shuoooo!! Still forfeit the motor!

make I hear

kingsworldwide said...

Such a shame. Our laws instead of being corrective is now punitive. At this rate we will have a poor mans revolution in our hands 3 years tops.

Hia!

Madness and oppression. why should they forfeit their vehicles? some corrupt officials will either sell those cars. end time judgement.

FRESH said...

That's rascality.The offence has a penalty which is a fine.

Rosie Said......This court order is outrageous!!!!!! Why would these people forfeit their vehicles to Lagos state gov? just impound the cars and release them when they pay a fine.

Queen said...

Oma ga oh!!!Dis will serve as a big lesson for others... I just pity them shaa chai

Sir benkord said...

Kilode Mr ambode....???

Rosie Said......This court order is outrageous!!!!!! Why would these people forfeit their vehicles to Lagos state gov? just impound the cars and release them when they pay a fine.This Judge sef.........Your eye service is too much jooh.

9ja Parrot said...

Robbing Peter to pay Paul?! What a senseless judgement! Forfeiture of vehicles?!!!

Good to hear, well treated.

If u hear!!!! Does it mean Lagos state don't have a standard law? So if abode arrest motorist there punishment is different from when lastma arrest traffic offender..that's bs.in as much as am not in support of what d traffic offenders did I think this judgement is wrong and too rigid..

~make I go take one bottle of star beer~

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Hopefully this serves as a deterrent!!

In all sincerity, they did wrong but taking over their property should not be the penalty. This may be the only means of livelihood , The driver of the bus may not be the owner of the vehicle, the driver should be punished instead and not the owner.

The individuals ( private cars) should just be punished by being remanded for some time or made to pay fines. Seizing their only means of transportation is not a sound judgement when everybody is struggling to survive.

Government / Governor should be more focused on getting rid of whatever is causing the blockage on the road. And not adding to the woes of the suffering masses.

Some big guys have their tankers lining the roads and workers need to get to work, I may have done the same who knows when in their shoes

Ambode should do something to make him popular and not create negative image. In America, your driver license gets suspended for a period of time and you pay fine and not forfeit your property .

The judge over did it by the judgement. This should be looked into. A fine is appropriate in order not to jeopardize the image of the political party involved. These people did their best to get the governor where he is today.

Judgement should be reviewed, it's too harsh. We all worked hard to get Ambode there, a judge should not use his / her overzealousness to tarnish the image of the governor .

These people should pay fines and drivers of public transport should be made to serve sentences and pay fine because in most cases they are not the owner of the vehicles. Or how come somebody will commit offence and another will be made suffer the consequence?

The private cars, should be made to pay "affordable fees".

Government should find lasting solution to the causes of traffic jams on these routes then it can mete out good punishment to offenders.

For good governance , justice should be tampered with mercy before these trend continues and the government becomes unpopular

They jst had the rotten luck of being in the wrong place at the right time' to be caught.

this is not fair, why not just the 50k payment alone. forfeiting the cars for who to use them. God dey oooo.

Wow!!... This one is tough oo..#rep 9ja..

aproko manager said...

E don reach so? End time law

Mayberry said...

My dear Governor pls tamper justice wit mercy,this is might jus b their only means of survivor

This forfeiture of vehicle is too much nah. At least paying fine is okay. Please tamper judgement with mercy.

Just like that, you want them to pay #50, 000, and forfeit their vehicles. Why I'm not in support of driving against traffic/going against state laws, I sincerely wonder how effective and speedy the courts act when such cases involves the poor, and the minority class in the society. when will they start acting in similar context for the billions in looted funds and misappropriation of tax payers funds?

it is so pathetic that Lagos state traffic law will render citizens in the to be more than they are.... cos there is no sense in taken over vehicles that people had sweat so much to buy just because they violate a stupid traffic law... ordinarily a sensible person does not need to drive against traffic if roads has been in perfect motor-able conditions... if the state government had put better system of making the road less congested. what a stupid people we elected to lead us.... all they keeps doing is to make the citizens more poor.... just for violating a traffic law, a person who sweated so much to buy a car will go back jumping public bus... ??????

Gbam!

What kind of nonsense judgement was that? Where in the world has anyone seen such a judgement ? Tomorrow you will tell a company owner to forfeit his company because he didn't pay complete tax maybe. Funny set of people

Stupid judgment

This Ambode has no clue. His government is wicked and clueless. FASHOLA did not seize anybody's car before he fixed Lagos traffic.

Frank said...

That judgement is stupid and I believe the magistrate overstepped her boundary. There should be stipulated penalties for traffic offences as done in any civilised country.

Arrant noncence and stupidity you can't live in APAPA or Ijora without doing one way the Govt has failed in its duty to clear trailers off the roads so the only way to get around is one way al those living in APAPA are guilty Police Navy bankers Ashawo doctors etc

This is too much Nah. All this just to please the governor haba. A fine alone should have been enough Nah.

kings4tary said...

kai. too bad.

ROTFL. ghen ghen. this will serve as a deterrent to others.

That must be a joke. forfeit vehicle NOOOO way

Okay ooo

About those danfo .hope dey rre reading this sha?

Enter your comment...okay

Moyosore said...

#shoroniyen

Rubbish....common free them cars, forgive them atleast they know better now so as others. Will they sell the cars or will Ambode drive them? Pls release the cars.....Tanchu

olu said...

Do we have traffic laws or do we just make them up as we go along. I'm all for cracking down on traffic offenders, but making people give up their cars/bikes, their source of livelihood, is something else entirely. Heavy fines are in order (maybe even jail time), but this borders on cruelty. Plus I highly doubt the same punishment would be met out to some "connected" somebodies. Government go confisticate someone's Panamera or Range... #ifihear

Kentomah said...

Why must they forfeit their vehicles? That's only a minor traffic offence? The option of a fine should always be available. Just because the governor was present does not make the offence worse. Even the amount of fine stated here is unreasonably exhorbitant. Kilode? They didn't commit vehicular homicide? Abi, were they driving while intoxicated? This story can not be true. I am sure there is an option of fine. If not, i want to guarantee the offenders a free representation in court. See ya.

Forfeit vehicle. Hmmm,kill them then

Lobatan....

This is pure madness!!! I work in Apapa and the traffic is exceptional. It is obvious that the Governor does not have solution to the problem as he has lost control of the situation. The truck blocks the road totally overnight and the law enforcement can not stop these trucks and Tankers from breaking the law. I get to my office before 5:30am and as at then, the road is already blocked.Today at exactly 5:14 am, this traffic from Apapa had gotten to Fadeyi. Why is this Government pretending and doing a kind on drama for at all level. Precisely 3 weeks back, a woman slumped and died in this traffic around 8pm right in front of seven up due to accumulated stress.This judgement is strange, why can't they arrest all this truck that blocked the road indiscriminately.One of these truck failed brake somewhere around Achakpo inside Ajegunle on Tuesday and killed a couple right in front of there house at about 5:45 am.The trucks have gone ahead to make use of the inner street for their activities. so sad we have a government that care less and do not understand the problem talk less having solutions. please post this....not scared of their proposed social media bill

Amy said...

Ambode is causing more harm than good. He is clueless. Why seize a traffic offender's car? All these kain judges be acting anyhow.

gbemi said...

Nigeria is doomed! Our government learn absolutely nothing from other world leaders...even with all the money they spend making pointless trips-Nothing! Pls our so called leaders should let the whites come re-colonize us and educate our youths! These half wit old men obviously have NO idea how to run a country! and our justice system? A big joke!even bigger disgrace.

As for dumbbode, I always knew Fasholas tenure was a 'enjoy it while it last' situation dumb ass 'selfie' governor!

That's why there are lawyers...did they have lawyers to defend them? Let there be an appeal and a case against the judge. Ambode you are disgracing the legacy of APC in Lagos. Tinubu and Fashola set precedence of being better than their pre-decessor you have proven to be the exception.

Just kukuma execute them lets know there's no place for the poor in naija. Which kind tiff tiff and oppression be that?

Shit just got real. Men go humble

smiles23 said...

It will serve as a lesson to others. Now they will obey simple instruction. Whoever support these people rather than support the judgement of the govt definitely doesn't want the growth of the State. Things must change! People must learn to be dieciplined. Shikena

Never heard a more ridiculous thing. Forfeit ur car, go to jail for a traffic ticket!!!! Nigeria is the butt of all jokes right now. It is outrageous!!!

Very apt word choice Fred. Just cos they were arrested by the governor's escort. Who is this obscene judge? Ridiculous

Suurrreeeeee. Like this happens to everyone. Like you have never had a traffic offense. We all know this judgement will not deter anyone. It's straight overkill