Couple who were seriously injured in an accident 4 days to their wedding say 'I do' in the hospital (photo) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 December 2015

Couple who were seriously injured in an accident 4 days to their wedding say 'I do' in the hospital (photo)

No, she's not dead...just seriously injured. Miriam Gakenia,31, and her fiance James Mwangi, 27, had gone to buy wedding items but were injured in a road accident at Kiangwachi area along Nyeri-Nairobi highway on Tuesday, December 15. Their wedding was to take place at Dominion Towers Deliverance Church today, Saturday December 19.

Gakenia suffered a right hip joint injury and a broken right arm while Mwangi's right hand was injured. He had been treated and discharged but she could neither sit nor stand. The couple exchanged their vows at Outspan hospital today, with nurses as her bridesmaids.

"The wedding had to go on. We had prepared for six months. The devil was not going to get in the way. She would have become my wife even if she had lost her legs," Mwangi explained.

Gakenia said from her hospital bed: "I informed my doctor of the wedding and told him we were not ready to postpone it."

She said the hospital agreed to hold the wedding on its grounds. Nurses and matron Jane Wamucii escorted her to the location on her bed.

Gakenia and Mwangi had difficulties putting on their wedding rings as their hands were in casts but they exchanged their vows in what Reverend Stephen Mungai described as "a first in Nyeri".

It was also difficult for them to sign their marriage certificate and to share their wedding cake, but these paled in comparison to the exchange of vows at the emotional ceremony.
     "I have never conducted such a wedding. It shows far love can go. It is a lesson in sticking with your vision regardless of hurdles, and eventually reaching your destination," the reverend said.

The couple did not have a photo shoot after the wedding but was taken to a private room at the hospital where Mwangi sat by Gakenia's bed for hours.
Gakenia, a system administrator at Dedan Kimathi University of Technology, will remain at the hospital for six weeks.

Source: The Star Kenya

73 comments:

TOUCHING STORY IN THIS END TIME. SPEEDY RECOVERY

Science Student said...

Funniest Joke When you marry Landlord’s
Daughter cos of rent (Read and Laugh)

Awwww.... They must be so so in love!!!

Haa! This is true love. I wish them fast recovery

TOMJERRYSWIT said...

DTS a CHALNGIN ONE THUMBS UP。。。TOMJERRYSWIT

Eyahhh so sad,wish them the best in life....congrats newest couple in town.....

Mufliat said...

Eeya,HML to them

#Hajia Mufliat

Them no want their money to waste

So sweet
Nothing can stop this love.

prettygina Egbuna chinex said...

speed recover I pray ... Linda see you soon.

Wow so touching wishing them quick recovery..

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

How romantic, Nigerians why can't we be more like this?

So touching

Eyah! It's well.
Congrats to them

pbaby said...

Touching story

Eyah the devil is lair! Congratulobia to them nd happy married life to them!

aproko manager said...

Awwww end time tru love...nollywood go soon act am

congratulations

Awwwwww... Their love cannot be hindered

Northern Princess 7 said...

It just touched me, Now I know Love exist

Tot it as been murdered long ago

Pearlie said...

Ehyaa..this is called love. Happy married life to them

Northern Princess 7 said...

It just touched me, Now I know Love exist

Tot it has been murdered long ago

Eyahhhhhh, true love

Order for your 3D beddings @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available Nationwide .

Uh uhhhhhhh
Touching
What love can do
May de almighty God bless dia union and i wish dem speedy recovery

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Waoh!! this is touching, God will make u whole

Eeeeeeeeyah! I wish her a speedy recovery. Linda take note!

Mayberry said...

Love conquers all,may d gud Lord bless ur union & quick recovery to u both

Brot tears to my eyes. Aww, the devil indeed was shamed!!! The man practised for better for worse even before saying "I do". I wish them a blissful marriage

Prof Adoyi said...

Enter your comment...Inspiring. Touching. I wish dem Happy Married Life n quick recovery

Awwwwww... Now this is what is called true love... Wish the. The very best in their marriage and speedy recovery

Enter your comment...wow dats wat we call love,wish them HML and quick recovery

Prof Adoyi said...

Enter your comment...Inspiring. Touching. I wish dem Happy Married Life & quick recovery.

Prof Adoyi said...

Enter your comment...Inspiring. Touching. I wish dem Happy Married Life & quick recovery.

Prof Adoyi said...

Awwwwww, when love surpasses all challenges....I love beautiful love stories!! God bless their union

Awwwwww God bless ur union

the funny thing is e on go happen for Nigeria hahaha

Muna said...

Eiyah... Wishing them the best.Thank God he didn't c his wife as the one who brought him misfortune. Our Naija families shaa..

Wat God has join 2geda

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

See love

Lovely....may God bless u guys...I will pray for u

Eyahhhhhh, true love

Order for your 3D beddings @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available Nationwide .

All the same congrats, u made it.

iphy said...

This can't happen in Naija naaa

Phebe said...

Sometimes you just don't have enough words to describe the feeling but mehn, this is sweet and should be envied by all men (naija men).

Eeeyah... so sad. HML to them

Sir benkord said...

Story that touch........

Dey shud av waited or post poned d wedding, its okay, wishing dem a hapi. Married life.

Mr 47 said...

Congratulations and wish u guys speedy recovery. #Cheers

sophieluv said...

Devil is a big fool, Dats true love.

THAT ONE IS TRUE LOVE.

eya...best wedding of d year #truelove

Ethel said...

Now this is pure true love not the fake one guys carry @ the tip of their tongue just get a girl laid!

Ehya, I pray that she recovers quickly. HML to them.

chynwe33 said...

Chai,hml to dem, wishing dem happy home n quick recovery

Aunty linda publish

True Love! May God Bless Ur Union

Ruthyluv said...

Love is a powerful thing. Hml and quick recovery

Awwwwww so nice what the groom said!!!

Omolola said...

Indeed, devil is a liar!! Congrats to them

Can u girls do dis in reverse, 9ja girls with money love.

I wish them both speedy recovery and lots of happiness in their home.

Get rid of that excess weight and that belly fat in two weeks flat! Our products are based in nature and backed by science. Get in touch with us today via 08063140093.

Enter your comment...God bless d marriage

Thank God they put d devil to shame and speedy recovery to her!

HmL and congrats to them!

ChincoBee said...

It's good, I pray they get well soon

Chincobee.blogspot.com

The wife looks like she's still in coma... Wish dem rapid recovery.

peter okoiruele said...

yes it a lesson, this should serve others couple preparing for marriage should prayed very well before embarking on such contact. while the church on the other hand will take this as advantage to set up a fervent prayer line all couple on their list of marriage and i wish them the best in life from peter o okoiruele

harley said...

wow.thats some deep deep love mehn.hapoy blessed married life to them.

Good news

I wish her speed recovery. Chicaly49@gmail.com

kings11ng said...

Romeo and Juliet... The Kenyan version

kollins03 said...

That is tru luv.May God be with dem.

Holysaint said...

That what love is, congratulation guys and may the good Lord heal them completely.

I pray for divine healing for the couple IJN