Buhari's ministerial choices are practical, energetic and of good reputation- The Economist | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 October 2015

Buhari's ministerial choices are practical, energetic and of good reputation- The Economist

In an article titled "Baba Go Slow", International news magazine, The Economist, praised President Buhari's ministerial nominees, saying they are all practical, energetic and mostly of good reputation. Read the full article below
Muhammad Buhari has earned the nickname “Baba Go Slow” from fellow Nigerians, for he has taken his time out of the blocks. The former military ruler, who won elections in March after promising to root out corruption, has governed alone ever since taking office in May. He said he would appoint a cabinet by the end of September.
Yet as the deadline passed he had named only one minister, for oil. And he did not have to look far to find the candidate—he picked himself. This week, at last, Nigerians were given his nominees, but not their positions in his cabinet. Finding a clean team in one of the most corrupt nations on earth is not easy, but Mr Buhari has tried. His choices are practical, energetic and of (mostly) good reputation. They include Babatunde Fashola, an ex-lawyer known for sprucing up Lagos, one of Africa’s most unruly cities, and Kayode Fayemi, the radical former head of Ekiti state. Few of the other candidates are household names, but given the track record of the politicians who ruled for the past 16 years that is no bad thing. Nigerians do not mind having waited. In the time they have been twiddling their thumbs, they have noted a “Buhari effect” whereby the nation has been terrified into better order. Power supplies have improved, leaving them in darkness less often. Oil refineries are working better too. Frayed diplomatic relations are being restored and stolen money is being hunted down. Days before the nominees were announced, the former oil minister, Diezani Alison-Madueke, was arrested in London with £27,000 in cash. She denies charges of money laundering, yet oil theft increased under her watch. For many Nigerians, her extravagant displays of jewellery and chartering of private jets epitomised all that was wrong with the old cadre of politicians. After four months alone at the helm, Mr Buhari is yet to spell out policies for the economy and oil industry. The Senate must screen the president’s selections and further choices must be made. Mr Buhari named only 21 candidates of a total of 36. He promises the rest soon. True to form, he is in no rush.

42 comments:

I concur

This article lacks meaning.

Some action please.

Only time will tell...*patientlywaiting*

Let's just hope the minsters perform well.

And some people will still not fall in line and support this turn around project.

We hear

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Omo to long to read.....

Either baba go slow or baba holdup God will helping to put things in order
sai Baba

Hahaha funny indeed.imbecilic buhari is a huge disaster.

Baba go slow wil surely deliver and I hope he fulfils d expectations of Nigerians.

Ebonty said...

Asure tete o koja ile ri, arin gbere ko nii suna. The most respected Man in Naija's political arena today-“Baba Go Slow” and Steady. God bless PMB. God bless Naija

This regime is going to be the best that Nigeria ever had.I'm optimistic coz I've seen the signs already.Nay Sayers will have no choice than to agree to this assertion of mine after 4yrs.
More yrs & good health is all I keep wishing pa Bubu

I hope the president will up with policies that will encourage and support local manufacturers. www.relmaksmereviews.com

God bless PMB.

The Economist are guided by the people they perceive to give them accurate information from Nigeria. If it happens to be someone i the ruling party this is what will be published otherwise it can be reported differently. No doubt they have some names on the list that are decent and have a track record e.g fashola, Amina Mohammed, Udo Udoma, Audu Ogbeh, kachukwu,lai mohammed but to mention fayemi actually makes you know they rely on informants. Fayemi is articulate but he is all talk, he did nothing in Ekiti and was hated by his people for how elitist he was. He was not practical and he stole with all his english. Amaechi is also as corrupt as the last government. People like fashola stole but he put things in place unlike this clueless Ambode they have now. In all honesty i am not impressed at some of the nominees and the process of screening. They all seemed unserious and laughing getting rich on tax payers money.

Let's watch n see

Nice piece. I'm all for my Able President. Linda take note!

Heard

I agree. Am proud of PMB.

ernieman said...

Is baba telling us Pa Audu Ogbeh is energetic? well, the change we sought, the change we bear for the next 4years.

Juliet Iwuno , what else do u do asides being the fastest finger on this blog . You are wasting your time and life .

fredborn you are god's sent,you have open my eyes to see the hiden things about nigeria,yorubas,igbos and hausa fulani people.thanks. may you live long fine boy.

you are not my best commenter for noting.

sexy amebo.

Hope this write up was not done by Lai Mohammed

baba hold up has spoken

It is not for BLOCKHEADS like you.

Are you not an illiterate?

Too much talk,we need actions.buhari n his media govt.

Wonders shall never end!!!

"Finding a clean team in one of the most corrupt nations on earth is not easy, but Mr Buhari has tried."

Stop replying yourself. You are surely and steadily on your way to madness

I will like to punch that Economist in the face if that's a name of a person. I don't want anybody to spoil my good mood. Next plzzzz!!!

tinko design services said...

The Lord will help this administration

I know PMB is Nigeria last chance to get it right. I hv always suported him & will always do. May God continue to streghten & guide him.

Good one.

Good one.